DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed 9 June 2026 have been entered. The amendments cancel the new matter of the previous claims, thereby overcoming the 112(a) rejection of the previous office action. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, and 13-19 remain pending.
Applicant’s figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grise (US 2,662,481).
Regarding claim 1, Grise discloses a self-suction pump system with a liquid conveying unit (centrifugal pump, c 1 ln 2) for conveying a liquid (liquid supply, c 3 ln 44), wherein the liquid conveying unit comprises at least one liquid conveying rotor (impeller 5, c 2 ln 5), with a vacuum pump unit (priming pump, c 3 ln 15) which is, at least in an initial operation state (pumping gas in order to fill chamber 4 with fluid, c 3 ln 51-62), configured to supply the liquid conveying unit with the liquid (id.), wherein at least in the initial operation state, the vacuum pump unit is configured to transport a gas (pump gas, c 3 ln 51-62) from one side of the liquid conveying unit to the other side (gas pumped from suction pipe out of holes 39, c 3 ln 51-62), through the liquid conveying rotor (via holes 37 in impeller 5, c 3 ln 63), and with a non-return valve (fig 2, check valve 15, c 3 ln 38), which is arranged at a liquid outlet (outlet 13, c 3 ln 35-38) of the liquid conveying unit,
Wherein the vacuum pump unit comprises at least one gas inlet (openings 37 in the impeller and inlet port 36, c 3 ln 53-54) through which the gas flows into the vacuum pump unit at least in the initial operation state (when power is initially applied to the shaft 19, the priming pump functions, c 3 ln 45-55),
And at least one gas outlet (outlet port 38 with holes 39, c 3 ln 54-60) through which the gas flows out of the vacuum pump unit at least in the initial operation state (c 3 ln 45-55)
wherein a gas outlet (fig 2, conduit 40, c 3 ln 57) of the vacuum pump unit is arranged with respect to a liquid conveying path (path along outlet 13) downstream of the non-return valve (40 discharges to outlet 13 above check valve 15, c 3 ln 55-60), wherein the pump system comprises a housing unit (casing 1, c 2 ln 20), which accommodates the liquid conveying unit and a gas conveying rotor (priming pump rotor 33, c 3 ln 15-38), wherein the housing unit defines a liquid inlet (fig 1, inlet 10) and a liquid outlet (outlet 13 is above check valve 15 and receives both gas and liquid, c 3 ln 58),
and comprising a drive unit (power source for drive shaft 19, c 3 ln 45-46) which, at least in the initial operation state (priming of pump), drives the liquid conveying unit (at end of priming, the impeller is driven by the shaft 19, c 3 ln 66-70) and the vacuum pump unit (priming pump is driven by shaft 19, c 3 ln 45-46), wherein the drive unit comprises a drive shaft (19, c 3 ln 45-46), which is configured for driving the liquid conveying unit and the vacuum pump unit (shaft 19 drives the vacuum pump rotor 33, c 3 ln 20-21, the vacuum pump rotor drives the impeller of the centrifugal pump, c 3 ln 65-70),
wherein the liquid conveying rotor comprises a hub (hub of impeller, c 3 ln 65 as well as its fasteners 30/31), via which the liquid conveying rotor is mounted to the drive shaft (19) on an end of the drive shaft (fig 1, impeller is positioned on the end of shaft 19; a posita would recognize that “end of the drive shaft” is not limited to members which cover the butt end of a shaft, but routinely describe collars, bearings, sleeves, that encircle the shaft near or in the region of the butt face of a shaft; the phrase is not limited to the arrangement of applicant’s impeller 24 on the butt end of the drive shaft shown in applicant’s fig 1),
wherein a gap (gap occupied by annular rings 35, c 3 ln 25) is arranged between the hub and the housing unit (fig 1, space with rings 35 is axially between the hub of impeller, 5, and housing in at least an axial direction),
wherein the liquid conveying unit is spaced apart from the housing unit by the gap (fig 4 shows the annular gap outside of the radius of 35 which is between the pump housing and an outer circumferential surface of the hub),
wherein the gap (gap occupied by annular rings 35) separates a first receiving space (portion of pump chamber 32 which holds impeller 5, c 3 ln 58-62) of the housing unit, in which the liquid conveying rotor (5) is arranged, from a second receiving space (space within hollow hub 26 of impeller 5, c 3 ln 17), in which the gas conveying rotor (rotor 33 is within hollow hub 26, c 3 ln 16-21) is arranged, wherein the gap realizes a gas inlet (inlet port 36, c 3 ln 50-54) of the vacuum pump unit,
wherein the vacuum pump unit (33) conveys the gas through the gap (c 3 ln 50-54) and through the liquid conveying rotor (c 3 ln 50-58), at least in the initial operation state (during priming, id.).
Wherein the vacuum pump unit is self-sealing by means of the liquid (holes 39 pass air or gas but restrict the flow of liquid; c 3 ln 39-44, 58-63; therefore once the centrifugal pump is primed, the restrictions of holes 39 prevent liquid from passing to the priming pump, c 3 ln 62-63), wherein a liquid film is created by means of the liquid during operation of the vacuum pump unit that seals the gap (liquid is pumped into the vacuum pump chamber, but liquid flow through holes 39 is restricted; therefore the vacuum pump chamber fills with liquid and binds the hub of the impeller to the priming pump, c 3 ln 60-67; this is the same relationship described by applicant’s “self-sealing” in their published application, par 0019; since the vacuum pump chamber in hollow hub 26 fills with liquid, the gap which holds annular rings 35 would also fill with liquid as it is also within said hollow hub 26).
Regarding claim 4, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 1, wherein in a continuous operation state (operation after priming, c 3 ln 60-70) that follows the initial operation state, the drive unit (powered drive shaft 19, c 3 ln 45-46) is configured to drive the liquid conveying unit and the vacuum pump unit (shaft 19 drives impeller 5 and rotor 33 after priming as the rotors bind together for rotation post priming, c 3 ln 60-70).
Regarding claim 6 dependent on claim 1, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to the self-suction pump system according to wherein the liquid conveying unit (impeller 5) and the vacuum pump unit (rotor 33) are operatively connected to the drive shaft directly (impeller 5 binds to the shaft via rotor of the priming pump, c 3 ln 60-70; under a BRI the impeller 5 connection meets the meaning of “directly” because there are no intervening mechanical transmissions or intermediate shafts that affects the speed of rotation or mechanical advantage of the impeller vs the shaft; ).
Regarding claim 8, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 1, wherein the vacuum pump unit comprises at least one gas conveying rotor (rotor 33 conveys gas, c 3 ln 45-60).
Regarding claim 11, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 1, wherein at least in the initial operation state (priming).
Grise does not explicitly recite that the vacuum pump unit is configured to provide a negative pressure which keeps the non-return valve closed. Nevertheless, Grise disclose that spring (17) holds valve (16) to the seat until sufficient pressure is built up to open the valve (c 2 ln 20-31), and that sufficient pressure comes after the air has been drawn out of the centrifugal pump and water drawn into the volute thereby priming the centrifugal pump (c 4 ln 45-70). Inherently, as the priming pump draws air from volute until water is drawn into volute, will create a negative pressure because the priming pump will be working to move that mass of fluid to fill the pump against gravity. Therefore, it is clear that the pressure generated by the priming pump against check valve (16) would further seat valve (16), even though the valve was already biased closed by spring (17), until the centrifugal pump creates enough positive pressure to open valve (16).
This arrangement is similar to applicant’s figure 1; wherein applicant discloses that in a resting state valve 50 is seated closed (Applicant’s fig 1 and Applicant’s Spec, pg 11, ln 20-21); wherein the vacuum pump unit draws gas along 12 in order to draw liquid 56 from feed conduit 44 (Applicant’s Spec, pg 12 ln 4-6). The drawing of liquid 56 from conduit 44 inherently creates a negative pressure sufficient to draw liquid. That negative pressure provides more force to hold valve 50 to its seat (Applicant’s Spec, pg 12 ln 10). Examiner notes that the negative pressure does not close valve (50) because the valve is already closed in the resting state prior to the start of priming. Therefore, the Grise apparatus meets the claimed, “the vacuum pump unit provides a negative pressure which keeps the non-return valve closed.”
Regarding claim 13, Grise discloses a method for operating a self-suction pump system according to claim 1, wherein the self-suction pump system comprises the liquid conveying unit (centrifugal pump), by which the liquid is conveyed, and the vacuum pump unit (priming pump), by which the liquid conveying unit is supplied with the liquid (priming the liquid pump, c 4 ln 60-65), at least in the initial operation state, wherein the method comprises the steps of the gas (air) being transported from one side (inlet 10) of the liquid conveying unit (centrifugal pump) to the other (the other side of hole 37), at least in the initial operation state, through the liquid conveying rotor (air is pulled through holes 37 in the impeller 5 during priming, c 4 ln 50-55) by the vacuum pump unit (c 4 ln 50-60).
Regarding claim 14, Grise discloses a self-suction pump system, with a liquid conveying unit (centrifugal pump, c 1 ln 2) for conveying a liquid (liquid, c 3 ln 44), wherein the liquid conveying unit comprises at least one liquid conveying rotor (impeller 5, c 2 ln 5), with a vacuum pump (priming pump, c 3 ln 15) unit which is, at least in an initial operation state (initial primping of the centrifugal pump, c 3 ln 51-62), configured to supply the liquid conveying unit with the liquid (id.), wherein at least in the initial operation state, the vacuum pump unit is configured to transport a gas (pump gas, c 3 ln 51-62) along the liquid conveying unit through the liquid conveying rotor (via holes 37 in impeller 5, c 3 ln 63), and with a non-return valve (fig 2, check valve 15, c 3 ln 38), which is arranged at a liquid outlet (outlet 13, c 3 ln 35-38) of the liquid conveying unit,
Wherein the vacuum pump unit comprises at least one gas inlet (openings 37 in the impeller and inlet port 36, c 3 ln 53-54) through which the gas flows into the vacuum pump unit at least in the initial operation state (when power is initially applied to the shaft 19, the priming pump functions, c 3 ln 45-55),
And at least one gas outlet (outlet port 38 with holes 39, c 3 ln 54-60) through which the gas flows out of the vacuum pump unit at least in the initial operation state (c 3 ln 45-55)
… wherein the pump system comprises a housing unit (casings 1, c 2 ln 20), which accommodates the liquid conveying unit and a gas conveying rotor (priming pump rotor 33, c 3 ln 15-38), wherein the housing unit defines a liquid inlet (10) and a liquid outlet (outlet 13 is above check valve 15 and receives both gas and liquid c 3 ln 58),
And comprising a drive unit (powered drive shaft 19, c 3 ln 45-46) which, at least in the initial operation state (priming of pump), drives the liquid conveying unit (at end of priming, the impeller is driven by the shaft 19, c 3 ln 66-70) and the vacuum pump unit (priming pump is driven by shaft 19, c 3 ln 45-60), wherein the drive unit comprises a drive shaft (19, c 3 ln 45-46), which is configured for driving the liquid conveying unit and the vacuum pump unit (shaft 19 drives the vacuum pump rotor 33, c 3 ln 20-21, the vacuum pump rotor drives the impeller of the centrifugal pump, c 3 ln 65-70),
Wherein the liquid conveying rotor comprises a hub (hub of impeller, c 3 ln 65 as well as its fasteners 30/31) via which the liquid conveying rotor is mounted to the drive shaft on an end of the drive shaft (fig 1, impeller is positioned on the end of shaft 19; a posita would recognize that “end of the drive shaft” is not limited to members which cover the butt end of a shaft, but routinely describe collars, bearings, sleeves, that encircle the shaft near or in the region of the butt face of a shaft; the phrase is not limited to the arrangement of applicant’s impeller 24 on the butt end of the drive shaft shown in applicant’s fig 1) , wherein a gap (gap occupied by annular rings 35, c 3 ln 25) is arranged between the hub and the housing unit (fig 1, space with rings 35 is axially between the hub of impeller, 5, and housing in at least an axial direction),
Wherein the liquid conveying unit is spaced apart from the housing unit by the gap (fig 4 shows the annular gap outside of the radius of 35 which is between the pump housing and an outer circumferential surface of the hub),
wherein the gap (gap occupied by annular rings 35) separates a first receiving space (portion of pump chamber 32 which holds impeller 5, c 3 ln 58-62) of the housing unit, in which the liquid conveying rotor (5) is arranged, from a second receiving space (space within hollow hub 26 of impeller 5, c 3 ln 17), in which the gas conveying rotor (rotor 33 is within hollow hub 26, c 3 ln 16-21) is arranged, wherein the gap realizes a gas inlet (inlet port 36, c 3 ln 50-54) of the vacuum pump unit,
wherein the vacuum pump unit (33) conveys the gas through the gap (c 3 ln 50-54) and through the liquid conveying rotor (c 3 ln 50-58), at least in the initial operation state (during priming, id.),
Wherein the vacuum pump unit is self-sealing by means of the liquid (holes 39 pass air or gas but restrict the flow of liquid; c 3 ln 39-44, 58-63; therefore once the centrifugal pump is primed, the restrictions of holes 39 prevent liquid from passing to the priming pump, c 3 ln 62-63), wherein a liquid film is created by means of the liquid during operation of the vacuum pump unit that seals the gap (liquid is pumped into the vacuum pump chamber, but liquid flow through holes 39 is restricted; therefore the vacuum pump chamber fills with liquid and binds the hub of the impeller to the priming pump, c 3 ln 60-67; this is the same relationship described by applicant’s “self-sealing” in their published application, par 0019; since the vacuum pump chamber in hollow hub 26 fills with liquid, the gap which holds annular rings 35 would also fill with liquid as it is also within said hollow hub 26).
Grise is silent on at least in the initial operation state (initial primping of the centrifugal pump, c 4 ln 33-34), the vacuum pump unit is configured to provide a negative pressure which keeps the non-return valve closed.
Nevertheless, Grise disclose that spring (17) holds valve (16) to the seat until sufficient pressure is built up to open the valve (c 2 ln 20-31), and that sufficient pressure comes after the air has been drawn out of the centrifugal pump and water drawn into the volute thereby priming the centrifugal pump (c 4 ln 45-70). Inherently, as the priming pump draws air from volute until water is drawn into volute, will create a negative pressure because the priming pump will be working to move that mass of fluid to fill the pump against gravity. Therefore, it is clear that the pressure generated by the priming pump against check valve (16) would further seat valve (16), even though the valve was already biased closed by spring (17), until the centrifugal pump creates enough positive pressure to open valve (16).
This arrangement is similar to applicant’s figure 1; wherein applicant discloses that in a resting state valve 50 is seated closed (Applicant’s fig 1 and Applicant’s Spec, pg 11, ln 20-21); wherein the vacuum pump unit draws gas along 12 in order to draw liquid 56 from feed conduit 44 (Applicant’s Spec, pg 12 ln 4-6). The drawing of liquid 56 from conduit 44 inherently creates a negative pressure sufficient to draw liquid. That negative pressure provides more force to hold valve 50 to its seat (Applicant’s Spec, pg 12 ln 10). Examiner notes that the negative pressure does not close valve (50) because the valve is already closed in the resting state prior to the start of priming. Therefore, the Grise apparatus meets the claimed, “the vacuum pump unit provides a negative pressure which keeps the non-return valve closed.”
Regarding claim 19, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 1, wherein the non-return valve (fig 2, 15) comprises a receiving space (13), which is arranged away from a conduit (volute 12) for conveying the liquid and which, in an open state of the non-return valve (fig 2, check valve 15 opens outwardly, therefore it moves into outlet 13 when it opens), accommodates a non-return element (13 accommodates spring 17, crossbar 19, of check valve, c 2 ln 20-30) of the non-return valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grise.
Regarding claim 16, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claims 5, wherein the vacuum pump unit comprises at least one gas conveying rotor (rotor 33). Grise does not disclose the gas conveying rotor is implemented integrally with the drive shaft.
Grise teaches that rotor 33 is fixed to shaft 19 (Grise, c 3 ln 20). The courts have held that in prior art comprising several parts rigidly secured together, making those parts integral is obvious as a matter of design choice (In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make integral the rigidly connected rotor 33 and shaft 19 of Grise and thereby efficiently transfer rotational energy from shaft to hub.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grise in view of Niskanen (US 4,273,562).
Regarding claim 15, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 1. Grise does not teach wherein the vacuum pump unit is embodied as a screw pump.
Nevertheless, Grise discloses the vacuum pump unit embodied as a vane pump (c 3 ln 20-25). Niskanen discloses a gas pump unit (free gases separate from suction opening and discharged through by bypass flow 12, c 2 ln 10-25) embodied as a screw pump (screw 5, id.). Both the vane pump and the screw pump function as gas pumps as known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the screw pump (5) of Niskanen for the vane pump of Grise as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable result of providing a rotating priming pump capable of producing suction at the startup of a coaxial centrifugal pump. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 17, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 15, wherein the vacuum pump unit comprises at least one gas conveying rotor (rotor 33, c 3 ln 21). Grise does not disclose the gas conveying rotor is implemented as a helix-shaped elevation of the drive shaft, the gas conveying rotor and the drive shaft together forming a screw of the screw pump.
Nevertheless, Grise discloses the vacuum pump unit embodied as a vane pump (c 3 ln 20-25). Niskanen discloses a gas conveying rotor (fig 1, hub 4, free gases separate from suction opening and discharged through by bypass flow 12, c 2 ln 10-25), implements as a helix-shaped (screw 5 meets a broad interpretation of the term helix shaped) elevation of the drive shaft (10), the gas conveying rotor (hub 4) and the drive shaft (10) together forming a screw of the screw pump (screw 5, id.). Both the vane pump and the screw pump function as gas pumps as known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the screw pump (5) of Niskanen for the vane pump of Grise as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable result of providing a rotating priming pump capable of producing suction at the startup of a coaxial centrifugal pump. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grise in view of Reynders (US 2006/0039810).
Regarding claim 18, Grise discloses the self-suction pump system according to claim 1. Grise does not teach wherein the non-return valve is embodied as a non-return ball valve. Nevertheless, Grise disclosed the non-return valve embodied as a spring check valve (c 2 ln 25-32) which differs from the claimed device by the substitution of a non-return ball valve for the spring check valve. Reynders teaches a discharge non-return valve embodied as a non-return ball valve (ball 32, par 0025). Both the spring check valve and the non-return valve ball function as discharge check valves, and both are known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the non-return ball valve (32) of Reynders for the spring check valve of Grise for the predictable result of a having a non-return discharge valve (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, 9 June 2026) with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 14, 19 have been considered but are not convincing.
Applicant argues on page 9, that Gris does not teach “the gas inlet is realized through a gap,” which because the gas inlet for Gris is the bores/opening 37, 34 within the impeller 5. Applicant’s arguments are not responsive to the interpretation applied in the last rejection. Applicant has overlooked that the previous rejection cites the space occupied by rings 35 as said gap. Under a new interpretation of Gris, the gap is taught by the axial gap occupied by annular rings (fig 4, 35). Fluid flows through port (37) and through the gap space occupied by rings (35) in order to reach the vacuum pump rotor (33). The gap meet the claimed structure of separating the hub and the housing unit, by separating the elements in an axial direction. Said gap separates the space occupied by the impeller (5) and the space occupied by the vacuum pump rotor (33) in at least the axial direction. Therefore, the axial gap occupied by rings (35) meets the limitation gap as claimed, with further details shown in the rejection above. Applicant’s arguments are inapplicable to the space occupied by annular rings (35). And there is no call to reconsider the current rejection on this point.
Page 10, Applicant argues the same point for bores/opening 37/34 of Gris for claim 14, without any further discussion. As above, applicant’s arguments do not address the rejection of record regarding the annular rings (35). Applicant’s arguments are inapplicable to the space occupied by annular rings (35). And there is no call to reconsider the current rejection on this point.
Applicant then argues that the other secondary references do not cure the deficiencies in Gris, for the points noted above. Applicant provided no further arguments. Since the rejection under Gris was modified in order to address the amended claims, these arguments for the other secondary references are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746