DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, 31, 32, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tak et al. (US 2009/0072349 A1) in view of Fu et al. (US 2009/0227105 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Tak discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3), comprising:
a bottom electrode material of a storage node (123);
a fill material (113) formed within a cavity formed by the bottom electrode material, wherein:
sidewalls of the cavity and a bottom surface of the cavity are formed by the bottom electrode material (see Fig. 3)
the fill material completely fills the cavity (see Fig. 3); and
side surfaces of the fill material and a bottom surface of the fill material are in direct physical contact with only the bottom electrode material (see Fig. 3)
a dielectric material (203) formed on the bottom electrode material and the fill material, wherein the dielectric material is in direct physical contact with a top surface of the bottom electrode material, side surfaces of the bottom electrode material, and a top surface of the fill material (see Fig. 3); and
a top electrode material (303).
Tak does not disclose a multilayer barrier material as claimed.
Fu discloses using multilayer barrier materials (“barrier” comprising both “a titanium oxynitride layer (TiON)” and “a tantalum oxynitride (TaON) Layer”, ¶ 0059). There was a benefit to using a multilayer barrier material in that it prevents diffusion between metals and dielectrics (¶ 0007 of Fu). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to use a multilayer barrier material between the top electrode and the dielectric material of Tak such that the multilayer barrier material is formed on the dielectric material and the top electrode is formed on the multilayer barrier material and in direct physical contact with a layer of the multilayer barrier material for this benefit. Fu further discloses that the multilayer barrier material has an oxygen content in a range of between 3-60 atomic % of the barrier material (oxygen is 33 atomic % of both TiON and TaON).
Regarding claim 31, Tak in view of Fu does not disclose the effects of a barrier material on the breakdown voltage of the dielectric material. However, as the composition of the barrier material is identical to that claimed, is should therefore similarly increase the breakdown voltage. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 32, Tak further discloses wherein the apparatus is a single-sided pillar capacitor (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 34, Fu further discloses wherein each layer of the multilayer barrier material is formed using a titanium oxynitride material (¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 35, Fu further discloses wherein the oxygen content in the multilayer barrier material is in a range between 3-60 atomic % of the titanium oxynitride material (oxygen is 33 atomic % of TiON).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 29, 31-32, and 34-35 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tak et al. in view of Fu et al. has been made, as discussed above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815