DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13-19 and 34-39 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 8411245 B2) and Maeda (US 20130148063 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-19 and 34-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 8411245 B2) in view Maeda (US 20130148063 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a rear-view mirror (303 of fig. 3, as described in details in figures 4, 5, 6A, and 6B) and modular monitor system (307 of fig. 3, as described in details in figures 4, 5, 6A, and 6B) for enhanced viewing by a vehicle operator of areas within or exterior to a bus or public transit vehicle (figures 15-22) comprising:
a rear-view mirror mounted forward of the vehicle operator (303 of fig. 3), the rear-view mirror having a first area with a first reflectivity not less than about 20% and disposed a predetermined distance from the center of the rear-view mirror to form a lower offset area and a second area with a second reflectivity not less than about 20% (see the left display area of the mirror in figures 15-22. It is noted that the first reflectivity not less than 20% and the second reflectivity not less than 20% are well-known in the art. To support the well-known in the art, US 20090015736 A1 by Weller et al. is provided; see figs. 18-19 and paragraph [0124]);
a housing (300 of fig. 3) including a rim (301 of fig. 3) configured to support said rear-view mirror (303 of fig. 3) and including a monitor frame (615 of figs. 6A and 6B) attachment area aligned with the first area of the rear-view mirror (the left display area of the mirror in figures 15-22) and securing a monitor frame (615 of figs. 6A and 6B), the monitor frame comprises a corrugated structure (615 o fig. 6A and 6B);
a display assembly (617 of figs. 6A and 6B) having the monitor frame (615 of figs. 6A and 6B) connectable to a monitor (613 of figs. 6A and 6B) to position the monitor (613 and 615 of figs. 6a and 6B) in the lower offset area and to securely align with the first area of the rear-view mirror having the first reflectivity (615 and 617 of figs. 6A and 6B, see the left display area the mirror in figures 15-22), the display assembly (617 of figs. 6A and 6B) and the monitor frame (615 of figs. 6A and 6B) connectable to an interior portion of the housing (315 and 316 of fig. 3) thereby securing the monitor and the monitor frame and aligning the monitor (615, 617, and 618 of figs. 6A and 6B) with the first area of the rear-view mirror in the lower offset area of the rear-view mirror (the left display area of the mirror in figures 15-22);
a mirror unit backing (315 of fig. 3, having a mirror backing unit) configured to mount the rear-view mirror and modular monitor system with a vehicle (fig. 28, a vehicle), wherein at least a portion of the display assembly is disposed between the rim and the mirror unit backing (617 of figs. 6A and 6B, 301 and 315 of fig. 3); and
a first image capture device mounted at a first location on the vehicle and configured to capture and transmit at least a first image to said monitor module (Col. 9, line 65-Col. 10, line 5), the first image being displayable on said monitor module through the first area of said rear-view mirror (the captured first image is displayed on the monitor on the left of the mirror as shown in figures 21 and 22).
It is noted that Lee does not teaches the mirror unit backing having a plurality of holes to provide audio output.
Maeda teaches the mirror unit backing having a plurality of holes to provide audio output (58 of fig. 1, [0023] Two openings 58 are provided in the rear of housing 10 to allow egress of sound from the speaker unit, housed in the speaker housing unit 143).
Taking the teachings of Lee and Maeda together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mirror unit backing having the plurality of holes (58 of fig. 1) of Maeda into the rear-view mirror and module monitor system (fig. 3) of Lee to provide the compact rear-view mirror and monitor system.
Regarding claim 35, Lee discloses a rear-view mirror (303 of fig. 3, as described in more details in figures 4, 5, 6A, and 6B) and modular monitor system (307 of fig. 3, as described in more details in figures 4, 5, 6A, and 6B) for enhanced viewing by a vehicle operator of areas within or exterior to a bus or public transit vehicle (examples in figures 15-22) comprising:
a rear-view mirror mounted forward of the vehicle operator (303 of fig. 3), the rear-view mirror having a first area with a first reflectivity not less than about 20% and disposed a predetermined distance from the center of the rear-view mirror to form a lower offset area and a second area with a second reflectivity not less than about 20% (see the left display area of the mirror in figures 15-22);
a housing (300 of fig. 3) including a rim (301 of fig. 3) configured to support said rear-view mirror (303 of fig. 3) and including a monitor frame (615 of figs. 6A and 6B) attachment area aligned with the first area of the rear-view mirror (the housing for securing the monitor frame,615 of figs. 6A and 6B, and the monitor frame comprises a corrugated structure, 615 o fig. 6A and 6B);
a display assembly (617 of figs. 6A and 6B) having a monitor frame (615 of figs. 6A and 6B) connectable to a monitor (613 of figs. 6A and 6B) to position the monitor (613 and 615 of figs. 6a and 6B) in the lower offset area and to securely align with the first area of the rear-view mirror having the first reflectivity (615 and 617 of figs. 6A and 6B, see the left display area of the mirror in figures 15-22), the display assembly (617 of figs. 6A and 6B) the display assembly connectable to the housing (315 and 316 of fig. 3) thereby securing the monitor and the monitor frame (613 and 615 of figs. 6A and 6B) and aligning the monitor with the first area of the rear-view mirror (the left display area of the mirror as shown in figures 15-22), the display assembly has a first longitudinal direction (the long length of the display assembly, 617 of fig. 6A and 6B) and a substantially rectangular cavity having a second longitudinal direction (the rectangle area of the display assembly has a second longitudinal direction as a short length, 617 of figs. 6A and 6B), the monitor frame has a third longitudinal direction (the long length of the monitor frame, 615 of figs. 6A and 6B), the first longitudinal direction and the third longitudinal direction are substantially parallel to each other (the long length of the display assembly 617 and the long length of the monitor frame are parallel, 617 and 615 of figs. 6A and 6B) and the second longitudinal direction and the third longitudinal direction are substantially perpendicular to each other (the short length of the display assembly, 617 of figs. 6A and 6B, is perpendicular to the long length of the monitor frame, 615 of figs. 6A and 6B);
a mirror unit backing (315 of fig. 3, having a mirror backing unit) configured to mount the rear-view mirror and modular monitor system with a vehicle (fig. 28, a vehicle), wherein at least a portion of the display assembly is disposed between the rim and the mirror unit backing (607-615 of figs. 6A and 6B); and
a first image capture device mounted at a first location on the vehicle and configured to capture and transmit at least a first image to said monitor module (Col. 9, line 65-Col. 10, line 5), the first image being displayable on said monitor module through the first area of said rear-view mirror (the captured first image is displayed on the monitor on the left of the mirror as shown in figures 21 and 22).
It is noted that Lee does not teaches the mirror unit backing having a plurality of holes to provide audio output.
Maeda teaches the mirror unit backing having a plurality of holes to provide audio output (58 of fig. 1, [0023] Two openings 58 are provided in the rear of housing 10 to allow egress of sound from the speaker unit, housed in the speaker housing unit 143).
Taking the teachings of Lee and Maeda together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mirror unit backing having the plurality of holes (58 of fig. 1) of Maeda into the rear-view mirror and module monitor system (fig. 3) of Lee to provide the compact rear-view mirror and monitor system.
Regarding claims 14 and 36, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein the display assembly is connected to one of the housing or a mirror frame holding the mirror from the exterior (301 of fig. 3).
Regarding claims 15, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein the display assembly is configured to support the rear-view mirror (607-615 of figs. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claims 16 and 37, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, wherein the display assembly includes a frame to receive and be mounted to the monitor module to secure the monitor to the first area of the mirror without touching or pressing against the rear-view mirror (615 of figs. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claims 17 and 38, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein display assembly enables a flat monitor to be secured and aligned with the first area of the rear-view mirror (613 of figs. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claims 18 and 39, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein the mirror unit backing mounts the housing of the rear-view mirror and modular monitor system (315 and 316 of fig. 3).
Regarding claims 19, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein the monitor is flat or convex to match the rear-view mirror (303 and 307 of fig. 3).
Regarding claim 34, Lee and Maeda teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches wherein the display assembly has a first longitudinal direction (the long length of the display assembly, 617 of fig. 6A and 6B) and a substantially rectangular cavity having a second longitudinal direction (the rectangle area of the display assembly has a second longitudinal direction as a short length, 617 of figs. 6A and 6B), the monitor frame has a third longitudinal direction (the long length of the monitor frame, 615 of figs. 6A and 6B), the first longitudinal direction and the third longitudinal direction are substantially parallel to each other (the long length of the display assembly 617 and the long length of the monitor frame are parallel, 617 and 615 of figs. 6A and 6B) and the second longitudinal direction and the third longitudinal direction are substantially perpendicular to each other (the short length of the display assembly, 617 of figs. 6A and 6B, is perpendicular to the long length of the monitor frame, 615 of figs. 6A and 6B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang et al. (US 20110156893 A1) discloses the display assembly is provided that is configured to detect the presence of another device having its own display and to automatically mimic the content the device's display. This configuration is particularly useful for cellular telephones and the like equipped with Bluetooth technology providing a plethora of functionality, such as GPS, navigation, and internet access. A full navigation system may be provided with corresponding display and operator interface(s). In a related embodiment, a step-by-step text representation of directions to a desired destination is provided. In at least one related embodiment, an assembly is provided with a speaker for providing directions via audio means.
Timoneda (US 20180093613 A1) discloses the display (2), e.g., a LED display, can be located behind a transflective element (22). FIG. 3 shows the display (2) located in a rear-view mirror (21) which comprises a housing having a rear cover (20) and a front panel or frame (24). A display (2) and a transflective element (22) either allows the reflection of a part of the light and/or allows the transmission of lights therethrough. This transflective element (22), generally known as a half mirror or a one-way mirror, is shown mounted on the display (2) in front of the display (2) and fit together between the rear cover (20) and front frame (24) by means of a rubber pad (23).
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425