Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2020/0081748) and further in view of Barrow-Williams (US 10,037,228).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches: A central processing unit (CPU) comprising: circuitry to:
cause a graphics processing unit (GPU) to reserve a set of streaming multiprocessors (SMs) within the GPU (¶ 188, “Volta MPS provides control for MPS clients to specify what fraction of the GPU (GPU fraction 2108, GPU fraction 2110, and GPU fraction 2112) is necessary for execution”) to perform one or more software threads based (¶ 191, “the parallel processing unit 2200 is a multi-threaded processor that is implemented on one or more integrated circuit devices”), at least in part, on one or more indications of a number of SMs to be included in the set of SMs (Figure 21, ¶ 188, “GPU fraction 2108, GPU fraction 2110, and GPU fraction 2112”), wherein the one or more indications are provided by the CPU to the GPU via an application program interface (API) (¶ 202, “a host processor executes a driver kernel that implements an application programming interface (API) that enables one or more applications executing on the host processor to schedule operations for execution on the parallel processing unit 2200”) for one or more contexts for performing the one or more software threads (¶ 220, “define groups of threads explicitly at sub-block (e.g., as small as a single thread) . . . so that libraries and utility functions can synchronize safely within their local context without having to make assumptions about convergence”).
Johnson does not teach; however, Barrow-Williams discloses: a number of SMs to be included in the set of SMs (col. 16:50-54, “‘deep allocation’ preferentially assigns CTAs associated with the same grid to a minimum number of different SMs 310 to generally maximize cache affinity for both TLB caching as well as data caching”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of a number of SMs to be included in the set of SMs, as taught by Barrow-Williams, in the same way to the one or more indications, as taught by Johnson. Both inventions are in the field of GPU scheduling, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “improving GPU utilization and performance in certain applications,” as indicated by Barrow-Williams (col. 19:53-54).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson teaches: The CPU of claim 1, wherein the set of SMs is to be reserved, at least in part, by a multi-process service (MPS) serving one or more clients for performing the one or more software threads and a server to reserve the set of SMs (¶ 187, “a multi-process service environment 2100 using Volta Multi-Process Service (MPS 2118) is a feature of the Volta GV100 architecture enabling improved performance and isolation for multiple compute applications sharing the GPU”), the one or more clients providing the one or more indications (¶ 188, “olta MPS provides control for MPS clients to specify what fraction of the GPU (GPU fraction 2108, GPU fraction 2110, and GPU fraction 2112) is necessary for execution”), wherein the circuitry is further to cause the GPU to reserve based, at least in part, on the one or more indications, a subset of the set of SMs within the GPU for the one or more contexts to perform the one or more software threads prior to scheduling performance of the one or more software threads by the GPU (¶ 188, “This control to restrict each client to only a fraction of the GPU execution resources reduces or eliminates head-of-line blocking where work from one MPS client may overwhelm GPU execution resources”).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson teaches: The CPU of claim 1, wherein the one or more indications comprise environment variable data set by one or more software programs for performing the one or more software threads (¶ 188, “Volta MPS provides control for MPS clients to specify what fraction of the GPU (GPU fraction 2108, GPU fraction 2110, and GPU fraction 2112) is necessary for execution”) and provided via the API for the one or more contexts (¶ 202, “An application may generate instructions (e.g., API calls) that cause the driver kernel to generate one or more tasks for execution by the parallel processing unit 2200”).
Regarding claim 4, Barrow-Williams teaches: The CPU of claim 1, wherein circuitry is further to combine the one or more contexts with one or more other contexts corresponding to one or more other software threads (col. 13:45-48, “A resource manager (RM) 454 within driver 103 is configured to pack the one or more thread programs, each assigned to a TMD 452, into one GPU context 450 for simultaneous execution within a single GPU context”).
Regarding claim 5, Barrow-Williams teaches: The CPU of claim 4, wherein the one or more contexts are combined based, at least in part, on many-to-one context mapping (col. 16:25-29, “a particular PA page is mapped into two or more VA spaces. In such a usage model, the PA page comprises a shared memory page having two or more different virtual address representations in corresponding execution contexts”).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson teaches: The CPU of claim 1, wherein one or more multi-process service (MPS) clients provide the one or more indications via the API for the one or more contexts for performing the one or more software threads to a MPS server (¶ 187, “Starting with Kepler GK110 GPUs, NVIDIA introduced a software-based multi-process service (MPS) and MPS server that allowed multiple different CPU processes (application contexts) to be combined into a single application context and run on the GPU, attaining higher GPU resource utilization”), the MPS server to manage access to the set of SMs by the one or more software threads (¶ 187, “The MPS 2118 may be used to implement improved thread convergence in accordance with the methods disclosed herein”).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson teaches: The CPU of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to execute a daemon process to communicate with one or more clients associated with the one or more software threads (¶ 187, “This process acts as the intermediary to submit work 2120 to the work queues 2122 inside the GPU 2124 for concurrent kernel execution”).
Claims 14 recites commensurate subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Johnson teaches: the group of SMs comprises two or more cores and memory (¶ 215, “each of the SM 2500 modules may implement an L1 cache. The L1 cache is private memory that is dedicated to a particular SM 2500”).
Claims 8-13, 15-18, and 20-31 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 1-7, 14, and 19. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/JACOB D DASCOMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198