DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on December 29, 2025. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13-16, and 19 have been amended. No claims were added or cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmqvist, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040158355) in view of Jones, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8639416) and further in view of Kovanen, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220389685) and further in view of Ohiwa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11105072).
Regarding claim 1, Holmqvist, et al. teaches: A computer-implemented method, comprising receiving, by one or more processors, and from an electronic control module (ECM) of a vehicle location data determined by a location sensor of the vehicle (Paragraph [0049]: "on board vehicle (1) [vehicle] sensors […] on board vehicle rotating laser optic sensor (71) [location sensor] for accurate position determination of the vehicle in three dimensions X, Y and Z in a fixed to ground coordinate system (41) [first coordinates]")
determining, by the controller, and based on work event data received from the ECM, that the vehicle engaged in a work event associated with a material, at the particular time; (Paragraph [0101]: "… unloading is that the vehicle (1) has moved a given further distance since the first occurrence of measurements representing elements in the DTM (821) where the element volume is measured not to allow further unloading, alternatively that the entire surface is empty [engaged in a prior event with work material], […] the most remote border of the unloading zone (194) has been passed, with required margins, by the measurements of the scanning laser rangefinder (81) [second coordinates - measured with scanning laser rangefinder]. The unloading can start at this most remote border [work zone boundary].")
determining, by the controller, and based on zone data maintained by the controller that indicates predefined boundaries of a work zone, (Paragraph [0061]: "…reconnaissance path (111) [path determined by processor] is inserted after some initial static paths possibly required in order to get the vehicle sufficiently near the current loading or unloading zone [boundaries within work zone]. […] the objective is to detect a feasible point, the attack point (1222) on the material volume (181) where the bucket (142) [work tool point] can start to penetrate during a dynamic loading path (122)")
that the second coordinates of the work tool point at the particular time were within the predefined boundaries of the work zone during the work event (Paragraph [0061]: "…a reconnaissance path (111) is inserted after some initial static paths possibly required in order to get the vehicle sufficiently near the current loading or unloading zone [boundaries within work zone]. […] the objective is to detect a feasible point, the attack point (1222) on the material volume (181) where the bucket (142) [work tool point] can start to penetrate during a dynamic loading path (122)")
adjusting, by the controller, the zone data associated with the work zone, by changing a material amount value indicating an amount of the material stored in the work zone based on the work event (Paragraph [0093]: "…measurements representing terrain model elements inside loading (193) or unloading (194) zone are used to create and update the developing layer (1) of the DTM model inside such a zone representing the material volume model [zone data - material amount value]. The purpose is primarily to collect fresh data for the currently forthcoming approach path (121), loading path (122), or unloading movement (123) [changing material amount value]. […] shape and size of the material volume (181) might have changed [material stored in work zone]").
Holmqvist, et al. does not teach wherein, proximate to a midpoint of the vehicle, and the location data indicates first coordinates of the location sensor point at a particular time; the work tool and the work tool point are positioned proximate to a front end of the vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (GNSS guidance and machine control), Jones, et al. teaches: proximate to a midpoint of the vehicle, and the location data indicates first coordinates of the location sensor point at a particular time; (Col. 20, lines 40-44: "…movable baseline (759) can be defined between a vehicle antenna (753) and an implement antenna (756) as shown [offset distance between vehicle GNSS sensor and work tool GNSS sensor]" ; Col. 4, lines 6-13: "…first GNSS antenna and the second GNSS antenna [global navigation satellite system - location sensor system] […] calculating an actual position at the center of the vehicle [midpoint of vehicle])
the work tool and the work tool point are positioned proximate to a front end of the vehicle; (Col. 23, lines 56-61: "The sensors (1007), (1009), (1011) located on the articulated arm (1005) [front arm - front end of vehicle] are electrically connected to the guidance CPU (1016) and provide the additional data necessary for the guidance CPU (1016) to determine the position (including elevation) and attitude of the bucket (1010) [work tool is positioned relative to front end of vehicle].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holmqvist, et al. to include the teaching of Jones, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of using a sensor system consisting of global navigation satellite systems (GNSSs) in order to control work machines (Jones, et al. Col. 2, lines 1-17).
The combination of Holmqvist, et al. and Jones, et al. does not teach operations of a worksite controller separate from an ECM of a vehicle, the location sensor is positioned at a location sensor point on the vehicle, identifying, by the worksite controller, a predefined offset distance between the location sensor point and a work tool point on with a work tool of the vehicle, wherein: the work tool point is without a second location sensor; determining, by the worksite controller, what a heading of the vehicle was at the particular time, based on a series of locations, along a path traveled by the vehicle, indicated by: the first coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by the location data; and at least one preceding set of coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by previous location data received from the ECM of the vehicle; determining, by the worksite controller, and without using additional location sensor input corresponding to the work tool point, what second coordinates of the work tool point were at the particular time.
In a similar field of endeavor (worksite situational awareness), Kovanen, et al. teaches: operations of a worksite controller separate from an ECM of a vehicle, (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine].")
the location sensor is positioned at a location sensor point, identifying, by the worksite controller, a predefined offset distance between the location sensor point and a work tool point on with a work tool of the vehicle, wherein: the work tool point is without a second location sensor; (Paragraph [0080]: "… position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]." ; Paragraph [0066]: "The positioning system PS further comprises at least one tracking apparatus TA, i.e. one more tracking apparatuses TA arranged in the worksite (13). The tracking apparatus TA tracks or monitors reference points RP and marker points MP and especially the identification data and locations thereof relative to the tracking apparatus TA in the worksite (13) Based on the initialization of the tracking the tracking apparatus TA tracks the locations of the at least one identified reference point RP in the worksite (13) and the at least one identified marker point MP in the machine [worksite and work vehicle tracking system]." ; Fig. 2, Paragraph [0091]: "However, each of the tracking apparatuses TA1, TA2 could comprise only a single tracking device [without a second location sensor] to track the respective reference point RP1, RP2, RP3 locations and marker point MP1, MP2 locations." ; Paragraph [0150]: "It may be affected on the achievable accuracy level of the determined location and orientation of the machine in the worksite [...] by the area of detected surroundings used as well as by the distances between the tracked locations and the apparatuses tracking [offset distance]")
determining, by the worksite controller, what a heading of the vehicle was at the particular time, based on a series of locations, along a path traveled by the vehicle, indicated by: the first coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by the location data; and at least one preceding set of coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by previous location data received from the ECM of the vehicle; (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]. ; Paragraph [0082]: "…position determination unit PDU [electronic control module] […] The data acquired by the machine may for example regard to data acquired by at least one sensor SM (FIG. 1), i.e. one or more sensors SM possibly installed in the machine for determining position and/or orientation and/or inclination and/or heading of the machine [heading of vehicle based on one sensor]." ; Paragraph [0180]: "…position determination unit PDU, the accuracy relating to the current location and orientation of the machine in the worksite (13) with an accuracy of the location and orientation of the machine regarding a previously saved or stored georeferenced spatial data [preceding location data by ECM of vehicle]." ; Paragraph [0077]: "The locations relative to the location of the tracking apparatus are, for example, three dimensional coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracking apparatus [coordinates].")
determining, by the worksite controller, and without using additional location sensor input corresponding to the work tool point, what second coordinates of the work tool point were at the particular time, (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]." ; Paragraph [0197]: "…the data related to the at least one tracking apparatus TA and/or the at least one environment modelling apparatus EM may comprise data resolved by any position determination unit and/or any apparatus by tracking the respective apparatus and/or as a result of any calculations relating to the respective apparatus and/or accuracy level and/or validity of at least one of the previously mentioned data herein [determining new location of vehicle by using previous worksite controller calculations and not by additional sensor input]." ; Paragraph [0077]: "The locations relative to the location of the tracking apparatus are, for example, three dimensional coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracking apparatus. Alternatively, the locations may be three-dimensional coordinates in the worksite coordinate system WCS [offset locations using worksite controller using coordinates]" ; Paragraph [0180]: "…the accuracy criterion is fulfilled, it may further be determined a threshold level for each accuracy level to determine how the georeferenced spatial data should be updated in each case. Such threshold level might be for example error of margin in determined accuracy level. For example, if it is determined that the tool's real location in the worksite coordinate system is within 20 mm, the threshold might be 20 mm, 40 mm or even 80 mm [calculating tool point location using prior data].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al. and Jones, et al. to include the teaching of Kovanen, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the situational awareness of work machines and working tools at a worksite (Kovanen, et al. Paragraph [0013]).
The combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. does not teach by: a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point indicated by the location data, wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance; identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading; and determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle.
In a similar field of endeavor (work vehicle display control), Ohiwa, et al. teaches: by: a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point indicated by the location data, wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 7, lines 61-67: “Bucket position detector (41) detects a position of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected. Bucket position detector (41) detects the position of teeth (7A) of bucket (7) as the position of bucket (7), for example [center point of coordinate at location sensor point].” ; Col. 19, lines 3-7: “In a step (S2), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. In a step (S3), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates [radius of circle is equal to pre-defined offset distance].”)
identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 7, lines 61-67: “Bucket position detector (41) detects a position of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected. Bucket position detector (41) detects the position of teeth (7A) of bucket (7) as the position of bucket (7), for example [center point of coordinate at location sensor point].” ; Col. 8, lines 60-67: “Moreover, display controller (43) may determine whether or not the work assistance information becomes close to boundary (441) of display area (440), based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator [position as a function of a intersection of line extending from center point of circle along heading direction].”)
and determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 8, lines 60-67: “Moreover, display controller (43) may determine whether or not the work assistance information becomes close to boundary (441) of display area (440), based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator [position as a function of a intersection of line extending from center point of circle along heading direction].” ; Col. 19, lines 3-7: “In a step (S2), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. In a step (S3), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates [determining coordinates of work tool point relative to the coordinates of position on circle].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. to include the teaching of Ohiwa, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operability of the work vehicle during various vehicle configurations (Ohiwa, et al. Col. 5, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 2, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the location sensor point, proximate to the midpoint of the vehicle, is on a cab of the vehicle (Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 6-13: "… first GNSS antenna and the second GNSS antenna [global navigation satellite system - location sensor system] […] calculating an actual position at the center of the vehicle [midpoint of vehicle]" ; Jones, et al. Process Block (270), Fig. 5, Col. 11, lines 23-28: "…process block (270), using the computed roll angle and a known antenna height (based on the installation in a given vehicle (10)), the actual position at the center of the vehicle (10) projected to the ground [proximate to midpoint of vehicle] may be calculated. This position represents a true ground position of the vehicle (10)." ; Jones, et al. Col. 23, lines 56-61: "…sensors (1007), (1009), (1011) located on the articulated arm (1005) [front arm - front end of vehicle] […] guidance CPU (1016) to determine the position (including elevation) and attitude of the bucket (1010) [work tool is positioned relative to front end of vehicle].").
Regarding claim 4, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the work event data indicates one or more of: payload data associated with the work tool, movement data associated with movements of the work tool, or hydraulic pressures associated with the work tool (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0059]: "…main action of the vehicle control computer (211) is based on the vehicle and implement control data list (971) [work event data] […] hydraulic pressure levels [hydraulic pressures] for the movement of the load handling implement (14) [work tool].").
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. does not explicitly teach the method wherein the first coordinates of the location sensor at the particular time were outside the predefined boundaries of the work zone. However, Holmqvist, et al. teaches a DTM computer (82) which receives coordinate based measurements from a scanning laser rangefinder (81) in order to determine the location of work zones and which continuously monitors the work vehicle when it breaches the boundaries set by the designated loading or unloading zones (Paragraph [0064]). Therefore, these teachings would have made it obvious to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. to include the process in which the first coordinates determined by the location sensor are outside the boundaries of the work zone based on the motivation to improve the process by which autonomous work machines can use intelligent means to handing load handling and transportation at a worksite.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. does not explicitly teach the method in wherein the first coordinates of the location sensor at the particular time were within second predefined boundaries of a second work zone indicated by the zone data. However, Holmqvist, et al. teaches a DTM computer (82) which receives coordinate based measurements from a scanning laser rangefinder (81) in order to determine the location of work zones and which continuously monitors the work vehicle when it breaches the boundaries set by the designated loading or unloading zones (Paragraph [0064]). Therefore, these teachings would have made it obvious to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. to include the process in which the first coordinates determined by the location sensor are within second boundaries of a second work zone based on the motivation to improve the process by which autonomous work machines can use intelligent means to handing load handling and transportation at a worksite.
Regarding claim 7, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining what the heading of the vehicle was at the particular time comprises adjusting an existing value of the heading, previously determined based on the at least one preceding set of coordinates, (Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 14-24: "…computing a steering control command based on a proportionality factor multiplied by a difference in a desired position versus an actual position [previously determined heading], plus a second proportionality factor multiplied by a difference in a desired heading versus an actual heading, the second proportionality factor ensuring that when the vehicle attains the desired position the vehicle is also directed to the desired heading [adjusting existing value of heading]" ; Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 41-45: "…(heading) data, including coordinates defined in relation to a geodesic coordinate system and rotation about X, Y, and Z axes [preceding set of coordinates]." ; Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past headings].")
based on an angle between the first coordinates and a most recent set of coordinates indicated by the at least one preceding set of coordinates (Jones, et al. Col. 15, lines 50-59: "…roll gyro (e.g., (430)) for measuring rate-of-change of the roll angle [angle change between coordinates - preceding set measurements], […] initialized to the current GNSS-derived roll angle [based on first coordinates] and then subsequently steered to the GNSS roll angle [most recent set of coordinates]").
Regarding claim 8, Holmqvist, et al. teaches: A computing system, comprising: (Paragraph [0049]: "…position determination system (7) [position determination system]" ; Paragraph [0050]: "system (8) for measuring, modeling and analysing terrain, material volumes and obstacles […] DTM, in a terrain model- or DTM-computer (82) [computer].")
receiving from an electronic control module (ECM) of a vehicle location data determined by (Paragraph [0049]: "…position determination system (7) [system] with an on board vehicle rotating laser optic sensor (71) [location sensor] for accurate position determination of the vehicle in three dimensions X, Y and Z in a fixed to ground coordinate system (41) [first coordinates]")
determining, based on work event data received from the ECM, that the vehicle engaged in a work event associated with a material at the particular time; determining, based on zone data maintained by the controller that indicates predefined boundaries of a work zone, that the second coordinates of the work tool point at the particular time were within the predefined boundaries of the work zone during the work event; (Paragraph [0101]: "…unloading is that the vehicle (1) has moved a given further distance since the first occurrence of measurements representing elements in the DTM (821) where the element volume is measured not to allow further unloading, alternatively that the entire surface is empty [engaged in a prior event with work material], […] the most remote border of the unloading zone (194) has been passed, with required margins, by the measurements of the scanning laser rangefinder (81) [second coordinates - measured with scanning laser rangefinder]. The unloading can start at this most remote border [work zone boundary].")
and adjusting the zone data associated with the work zone, by changing a material amount value indicating an amount of the material stored in the work zone based on the work event (Paragraph [0093]: "…measurements representing terrain model elements inside loading (193) or unloading (194) zone are used to create and update the developing layer (1) of the DTM model inside such a zone representing the material volume model [zone data - material amount value]. The purpose is primarily to collect fresh data for the currently forthcoming approach path (121), loading path (122), or unloading movement (123) [changing material amount value]. […] shape and size of the material volume (181) might have changed [material stored in work zone]").
Holmqvist, et al. does not teach one or more processors; and memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: a location sensor of the vehicle, wherein: the location data is determined by the location sensor of the vehicle, and the location sensor is positioned at a location sensor point proximate to a midpoint of the vehicle, and the location data indicates first coordinates of the location sensor point at a particular time; and the work tool and the work tool point are positioned proximate to a front end of the vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (GNSS guidance and machine control), Jones, et al. teaches: one or more processors; (Fig. 16, Col. 16, lines 54-56: "…microprocessors (526) [processors]")
and memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: (Col. 10, lines 24-28: "…control system (100) to perform any initialization or configuration that may be necessary for a particular installation, including the configuration of an internal log file within the memory of the sensor system (20) [memory storing executable instructions].")
what first coordinates of a location sensor of the vehicle were at a particular time, (Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past locations].")
a location sensor of the vehicle (Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past locations].")
wherein: the location data is determined by the location sensor of the vehicle, and the location sensor is positioned at a location sensor point proximate to a midpoint of the vehicle, and the location data indicates first coordinates of the location sensor point at a particular time (Col. 20, lines 40-44: "…movable baseline (759) can be defined between a vehicle antenna (753) and an implement antenna (756) as shown [offset distance between vehicle GNSS sensor and work tool GNSS sensor], […] other predetermined locations on the vehicle (10) [vehicle]"; Col. 4, lines 6-13: "…first GNSS antenna and the second GNSS antenna [global navigation satellite system - location sensor system] […] calculating an actual position at the center of the vehicle [midpoint of vehicle]"; Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past locations].")
and the work tool and the work tool point are positioned proximate to a front end of the vehicle (Col. 23, lines 56-61: "The sensors (1007), (1009), (1011) located on the articulated arm (1005) [front arm - front end of vehicle] are electrically connected to the guidance CPU (1016) and provide the additional data necessary for the guidance CPU (1016) to determine the position (including elevation) and attitude of the bucket (1010) [work tool is positioned relative to front end of vehicle].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holmqvist, et al. to include the teaching of Jones, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of using a sensor system consisting of global navigation satellite systems (GNSSs) in order to control work machines (Jones, et al. Col. 2, lines 11-17).
The combination of Holmqvist, et al. and Jones, et al. does not teach operations of a worksite controller separate from an ECM of a vehicle, identifying a predefined offset distance between the location sensor point and a work tool point on a work tool of the vehicle, wherein: the work tool point is without a second location sensor, determining what a heading of the vehicle was at the particular time, based on a series of locations, along a path traveled by the vehicle, indicated by: the first coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by the location data; and at least one preceding set of coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by previous location data received from the ECM of the vehicle; determining what second coordinates of the work tool point were at the particular time.
In a similar field of endeavor (worksite situational awareness), Kovanen, et al. teaches: operations of a worksite controller separate from an ECM of a vehicle, determining, by the worksite controller, (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine].")
identifying a predefined offset distance between the location sensor point and a work tool point on a work tool of the vehicle, wherein: the work tool point is without a second location sensor, (Paragraph [0080]: "When the position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]." ; Paragraph [0066]: "The positioning system PS further comprises at least one tracking apparatus TA, i.e. one more tracking apparatuses TA arranged in the worksite (13). The tracking apparatus TA tracks or monitors reference points RP and marker points MP and especially the identification data and locations thereof relative to the tracking apparatus TA in the worksite (13) Based on the initialization of the tracking the tracking apparatus TA tracks the locations of the at least one identified reference point RP in the worksite (13) and the at least one identified marker point MP in the machine [worksite and work vehicle tracking system]." ; Fig. 2, Paragraph [0091]: "However, each of the tracking apparatuses TAl, TA2 could comprise only a single tracking device [without a second location sensor] to track the respective reference point RPl, RP2, RP3 locations and marker point MPl, MP2 locations." ; Paragraph [0150]: "It may be affected on the achievable accuracy level of the determined location and orientation of the machine in the worksite [...] by the area of detected surroundings used as well as by the distances between the tracked locations and the apparatuses tracking [offset distance]")
determining what a heading of the vehicle was at the particular time, based on a series of locations, along a path traveled by the vehicle, indicated by: the first coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by the location data; and at least one preceding set of coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by previous location data received from the ECM of the vehicle; (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]. ; Paragraph [0082]: "…position determination unit PDU [electronic control module] […] The data acquired by the machine may for example regard to data acquired by at least one sensor SM (FIG. 1), i.e. one or more sensors SM possibly installed in the machine for determining position and/or orientation and/or inclination and/or heading of the machine [heading of vehicle based on one sensor]." ; Paragraph [0180]: "…position determination unit PDU, the accuracy relating to the current location and orientation of the machine in the worksite (13) with an accuracy of the location and orientation of the machine regarding a previously saved or stored georeferenced spatial data [preceding location data by ECM of vehicle]." ; Paragraph [0077]: "The locations relative to the location of the tracking apparatus are, for example, three dimensional coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracking apparatus [coordinates].")
determining what second coordinates of the work tool point were at the particular time (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]." ; Paragraph [0197]: "…the data related to the at least one tracking apparatus TA and/or the at least one environment modelling apparatus EM may comprise data resolved by any position determination unit and/or any apparatus by tracking the respective apparatus and/or as a result of any calculations relating to the respective apparatus and/or accuracy level and/or validity of at least one of the previously mentioned data herein [determining new location of vehicle by using previous worksite controller calculations and not by additional sensor input]." ; Paragraph [0077]: "The locations relative to the location of the tracking apparatus are, for example, three dimensional coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracking apparatus. Alternatively, the locations may be three-dimensional coordinates in the worksite coordinate system WCS [offset locations using worksite controller using coordinates]" ; Paragraph [0180]: "…accuracy criterion is fulfilled, it may further be determined a threshold level for each accuracy level to determine how the georeferenced spatial data should be updated in each case. Such threshold level might be for example error of margin in determined accuracy level. For example, if it is determined that the tool's real location in the worksite coordinate system is within 20 mm, the threshold might be 20 mm, 40 mm or even 80 mm [calculating tool point location using prior data]." ; Paragraph [0105]: "The farther the reference points RP are from one line in three-dimensional space, the better the accuracy is to be achieved [line; extends away from coordinates].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al. and Jones, et al. to include the teaching of Kovanen, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the situational awareness of work machines and working tools at a worksite (Kovanen, et al. Paragraph [0013]).
The combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. does not teach by: determining a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point indicated by the location data wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance; and identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading; and determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle.
In a similar field of endeavor (work vehicle display control), Ohiwa, et al. teaches: by: determining a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point indicated by the location data wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 7, lines 61-67: “Bucket position detector (41) detects a position of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected. Bucket position detector (41) detects the position of teeth (7A) of bucket (7) as the position of bucket (7), for example [center point of coordinate at location sensor point].” ; Col. 19, lines 3-7: “In a step (S2), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. In a step (S3), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates [radius of circle is equal to pre-defined offset distance].”)
identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 7, lines 61-67: “Bucket position detector (41) detects a position of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected. Bucket position detector (41) detects the position of teeth (7A) of bucket (7) as the position of bucket (7), for example [center point of coordinate at location sensor point].” ; Col. 8, lines 60-67: “Moreover, display controller (43) may determine whether or not the work assistance information becomes close to boundary (441) of display area (440), based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator [position as a function of a intersection of line extending from center point of circle along heading direction].”)
and determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 8, lines 60-67: “Moreover, display controller (43) may determine whether or not the work assistance information becomes close to boundary (441) of display area (440), based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator [position as a function of a intersection of line extending from center point of circle along heading direction].” ; Col. 19, lines 3-7: “In a step (S2), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. In a step (S3), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates [determining coordinates of work tool point relative to the coordinates of position on circle].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. to include the teaching of Ohiwa, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operability of the work vehicle during various vehicle configurations (Ohiwa, et al. Col. 5, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 9, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 8, wherein: the location sensor point, proximate to the midpoint of the vehicle, is on a cab of the vehicle (Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 6-13: "…first GNSS antenna and the second GNSS antenna [global navigation satellite system - location sensor system] […] calculating an actual position at the center of the vehicle [midpoint of vehicle]" ; Jones, et al. Col. 11, lines 23-28: "…using the computed roll angle and a known antenna height (based on the installation in a given vehicle (10)), the actual position at the center of the vehicle (10) projected to the ground [proximate to midpoint of vehicle] may be calculated. This position represents a true ground position of the vehicle (10)." ; Jones, et al. Col. 23, lines 56-61: "…sensors (1007), (1009), (1011) located on the articulated arm (1005) [front arm - front end of vehicle] […] guidance CPU (1016) to determine the position (including elevation) and attitude of the bucket (1010) [work tool is positioned relative to front end of vehicle].").
Regarding claim 11, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 8, wherein the first coordinates of determined by the location sensor at the particular time were are outside the predefined boundaries of the work zone (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0064]: "…DTM computer (82) [computer - evaluating based on coordinates] […] scanning laser rangefinder (81) [sensor] […] continuously evaluate criteria for obstacle detection or any possible intrusion of the vehicle or machine outside the obstacle free or loading or unloading areas [determined outside boundaries of work zone].").
Regarding claim 12, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 8, wherein determining what the heading of the vehicle was at the particular time comprises adjusting an existing value of the heading, previously determined based on the at least one preceding set of coordinates, (Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 14-24: "…computing a steering control command based on a proportionality factor multiplied by a difference in a desired position versus an actual position [previously determined heading], plus a second proportionality factor multiplied by a difference in a desired heading versus an actual heading, the second proportionality factor ensuring that when the vehicle attains the desired position the vehicle is also directed to the desired heading [adjusting existing value of heading]" ; Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 41-45: "…(heading) data, including coordinates defined in relation to a geodesic coordinate system and rotation about X, Y, and Z axes [preceding set of coordinates]."; Jones, et al. Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past headings].")
based on an angle between the first coordinates and a most recent set of coordinates indicated by the at least one preceding set of coordinates (Jones, et al. Col. 15, lines 50-59: "…roll gyro (e.g., (430)) for measuring rate-of-change of the roll angle [angle change between coordinates - preceding set measurements], […] initialized to the current GNSS-derived roll angle [based on first coordinates] and then subsequently steered to the GNSS roll angle [most recent set of coordinates]").
Regarding claim 13, Holmqvist, et al. teaches: A worksite controller, comprising: zone data associated with a work zone on a worksite, the zone data indicating: (Figs. 6-7, Paragraph [0093]: "…those measurements representing terrain model elements inside loading (193) or unloading (194) zone are used to create and update the developing layer (1) of the DTM model inside such a zone [zones] […] purpose is primarily to collect fresh data [zone data] for the currently forthcoming approach path (121), loading path (122), or unloading movement (123).")
predefined boundaries of the work zone; (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0019]: "…borders [boundaries] […] obstacle-free zone (191) and zones for reconnaissance (192) and loading (193) [work zones],")
and an amount of a material stored at the work zone; (Figs. 6-7, Paragraph [0093]: "…measurements representing terrain model elements inside loading (193) or unloading (194) zone are used to create and update the developing layer (1) of the DTM model inside such a zone representing the material volume model [material volume amount in zone].")
receiving, from an electronic control module (ECM) of a vehicle, a vehicle report indicating work event data associated with a particular time and location data; (Paragraph [0062]: "…mission computer also sends a report point (1211) message (973) to the DTM computer [vehicle report] […] loading operation [work event data], a loading path message (982) with estimated coefficients (9821) for an analytic approximation of the ground surface at the vehicle loading point and a loading height profile data list (9822) with z-coordinates for points on the material volume (181) surface along the loading direction from the attack point (1222) [location data]")
determining, based on the work event data, that the vehicle engaged in a work event associated with the material at the particular time; (Paragraph [0101]: "…unloading is that the vehicle (1) has moved a given further distance since the first occurrence of measurements representing elements in the DTM (821) where the element volume is measured not to allow further unloading, alternatively that the entire surface is empty [engaged in a prior event with work material at particular time])
determining, based on the zone data, that the second coordinates of the work tool point on the work tool at the particular time were within the predefined boundaries of the work zone; (Paragraph [0061]: "…a reconnaissance path (111) [geographical location] is inserted after some initial static paths possibly required in order to get the vehicle sufficiently near the current loading or unloading zone [boundaries within work zone]. […] the objective is to detect a feasible point, the attack point (1222) on the material volume (181) where the bucket (142) [work tool point] can start to penetrate during a dynamic loading path (122)")
and adjusting, in the zone data, an indication of the amount of the material stored at the work zone based on the work event data (Paragraph [0093]: "…measurements representing terrain model elements inside loading (193) or unloading (194) zone are used to create and update the developing layer (1) of the DTM model inside such a zone representing the material volume model [zone data - material amount value]. The purpose is primarily to collect fresh data for the currently forthcoming approach path (121), loading path (122), or unloading movement (123) [changing material amount value]. […] shape and size of the material volume (181) might have changed [material stored in work zone]").
Holmqvist, et al. does not teach one or more processors, and memory storing, and computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determined by a location sensor of the vehicle, wherein: the location sensor is positioned at a location sensor point proximate to a midpoint of the vehicle, and the location data indicates first coordinates of the location sensor point at the particular time; and the work tool and the work tool point are positioned proximate to a front end of the vehicle; determining what second coordinates of the, work tool point were at the particular time, by; and during the work event that the vehicle previously engaged.
In a similar field of endeavor (GNSS guidance and machine control), Jones, et al. teaches: one or more processors; (Col. 10, lines 38-42: "…controller (102) [controller] […] computer or processor [processor]")
and memory storing: (Col. 10, lines 38-42: "…controller (102) [controller] […] memory [memory]")
and computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: (Col. 10, lines 38-42: "…controller (102) [controller] […] computer or processor [processor]" ; Col. 12, lines 25-31: "…computer program code containing instructions [computer-executable instructions]")
determined by a location sensor of the vehicle, wherein: the location sensor is positioned at a location sensor point proximate to a midpoint of the vehicle, and the location data indicates first coordinates of the location sensor point at the particular time; (Col. 20, lines 40-44: "A movable baseline (759) can be defined between a vehicle antenna (753) and an implement antenna (756) as shown [offset distance between vehicle GNSS sensor and work tool GNSS sensor]" ; Col. 4, lines 6-13: "…first GNSS antenna and the second GNSS antenna [global navigation satellite system - location sensor system] […] calculating an actual position at the center of the vehicle [midpoint of vehicle]" ; Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past locations].")
and the work tool and the work tool point are positioned proximate to a front end of the vehicle; (Col. 23, lines 56-61: "The sensors (1007), (1009), (1011) located on the articulated arm (1005) [front arm - front end of vehicle] are electrically connected to the guidance CPU (1016) and provide the additional data necessary for the guidance CPU (1016) to determine the position (including elevation) and attitude of the bucket (1010) [work tool is positioned relative to front end of vehicle].")
determining what second coordinates of the, work tool point were at the particular time, by (Figs. 13-14, Col. 19 line 60 to Col. 20, line 1: "A moving baseline (732) [determination process] is defined between points on each, e.g., between a vehicle antenna (753) and an implement antenna (756). […] derived from the differences between the vehicle antenna (753) location (X1, Y1, Z1) and the implement antenna location (X3, Y3, Z3), or other predetermined point locations on the vehicle (10) and the implement (728) [work tool point].”).
and during the work event that the vehicle previously engaged in (Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [work event that vehicle previously engaged in].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holmqvist, et al. to include the teaching of Jones, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of using a sensor system consisting of global navigation satellite systems (GNSSs) in order to control work machines (Jones, et al. Col. 2, lines 1-17).
The combination of Holmqvist, et al. and Jones, et al. does not teach operations of a worksite controller separate from an ECM of a vehicle, identifying a predefined offset distance between the location sensor point and a work tool point on a work tool of the vehicle, wherein: the work tool point is without a second location sensor, determining a heading of the vehicle at the particular time.
In a similar field of endeavor (worksite situational awareness), Kovanen, et al. teaches: operations of a worksite controller separate from an ECM of a vehicle, (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine].")
identifying a predefined offset distance between the location sensor point and a work tool point on a work tool of the vehicle, wherein: the work tool point is without a second location sensor, (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]." ; Paragraph [0197]: "… the data related to the at least one tracking apparatus TA and/or the at least one environment modelling apparatus EM may comprise data resolved by any position determination unit and/or any apparatus by tracking the respective apparatus and/or as a result of any calculations relating to the respective apparatus and/or accuracy level and/or validity of at least one of the previously mentioned data herein [determining new location of vehicle by using previous worksite controller calculations and not by additional sensor input]." ; Paragraph [0077]: "The locations relative to the location of the tracking apparatus are, for example, three dimensional coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracking apparatus. Alternatively, the locations may be three-dimensional coordinates in the worksite coordinate system WCS [offset locations using worksite controller using coordinates]" ; Paragraph [0180]: "…accuracy criterion is fulfilled, it may further be determined a threshold level for each accuracy level to determine how the georeferenced spatial data should be updated in each case. Such threshold level might be for example error of margin in determined accuracy level. For example, if it is determined that the tool's real location in the worksite coordinate system is within 20 mm, the threshold might be 20 mm, 40 mm or even 80 mm [calculating tool point location using prior data]."; Paragraph [0105]: "The farther the reference points RP are from one line in three-dimensional space, the better the accuracy is to be achieved [line; extends away from coordinates].")
determining a heading of the vehicle at the particular time (Paragraph [0080]: "…position determination unit PDU resides in the computer reachable by any wired or wireless network, the physical location of the position determination unit PDU may be selected freely, the position determination unit PDU may thus be inside or outside of the worksite (13) [worksite controller outside machine]." ; Paragraph [0197]: "… the data related to the at least one tracking apparatus TA and/or the at least one environment modelling apparatus EM may comprise data resolved by any position determination unit and/or any apparatus by tracking the respective apparatus and/or as a result of any calculations relating to the respective apparatus and/or accuracy level and/or validity of at least one of the previously mentioned data herein [determining new location of vehicle by using previous worksite controller calculations and not by additional sensor input]." ; Paragraph [0077]: "The locations relative to the location of the tracking apparatus are, for example, three dimensional coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracking apparatus. Alternatively, the locations may be three-dimensional coordinates in the worksite coordinate system WCS [offset locations using worksite controller using coordinates]" ; Paragraph [0180]: "…accuracy criterion is fulfilled, it may further be determined a threshold level for each accuracy level to determine how the georeferenced spatial data should be updated in each case. Such threshold level might be for example error of margin in determined accuracy level. For example, if it is determined that the tool's real location in the worksite coordinate system is within 20 mm, the threshold might be 20 mm, 40 mm or even 80 mm [calculating tool point location using prior data]."; Paragraph [0105]: "The farther the reference points RP are from one line in three-dimensional space, the better the accuracy is to be achieved [line; extends away from coordinates].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al. and Jones, et al. to include the teaching of Kovanen, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the situational awareness of work machines and working tools at a worksite (Kovanen, et al. Paragraph [0013]).
The combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. does not teach determining a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point, wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance; identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading; determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle.
In a similar field of endeavor (work vehicle display control), Ohiwa, et al. teaches: determining a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point, wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 7, lines 61-67: “Bucket position detector (41) detects a position of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected. Bucket position detector (41) detects the position of teeth (7A) of bucket (7) as the position of bucket (7), for example [center point of coordinate at location sensor point].” ; Col. 19, lines 3-7: “In a step (S2), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. In a step (S3), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates [radius of circle is equal to pre-defined offset distance].”)
identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 7, lines 61-67: “Bucket position detector (41) detects a position of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected. Bucket position detector (41) detects the position of teeth (7A) of bucket (7) as the position of bucket (7), for example [center point of coordinate at location sensor point].” ; Col. 8, lines 60-67: “Moreover, display controller (43) may determine whether or not the work assistance information becomes close to boundary (441) of display area (440), based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator [position as a function of a intersection of line extending from center point of circle along heading direction].”)
determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle; (Col. 10, lines 9-15: “Work assistance information (91) represents a facing angle compass. The facing angle compass indicates whether or not work vehicle (101) directly faces design topography data. Furthermore, when work vehicle (101) does not directly face the design topography data, the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle [circle having center points].” ; Col. 8, lines 60-67: “Moreover, display controller (43) may determine whether or not the work assistance information becomes close to boundary (441) of display area (440), based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator [position as a function of a intersection of line extending from center point of circle along heading direction].” ; Col. 19, lines 3-7: “In a step (S2), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. In a step (S3), display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates [determining coordinates of work tool point relative to the coordinates of position on circle].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. to include the teaching of Ohiwa, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operability of the work vehicle during various vehicle configurations (Ohiwa, et al. Col. 5, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 14, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: The worksite controller of claim 13, wherein the worksite controller determines: based on at least one of the location data or other data received from the ECM of the vehicle (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0049]: "on board vehicle (1) [vehicle] sensors where such a vehicle is provided with a position determination system (7) [vehicle ECM]")
the heading of the vehicle at the particular time (Jones, et al. Col. 20, lines 40-44: "…movable baseline (759) can be defined between a vehicle antenna (753) and an implement antenna (756) as shown [offset distance between vehicle GNSS sensor and work tool GNSS sensor]" ; Jones, et al. Col. 4, lines 6-13: "…first GNSS antenna and the second GNSS antenna [global navigation satellite system - location sensor system] […] calculating an actual position at the center of the vehicle [midpoint of vehicle]" ; Jones, et al. Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past locations with respect to time]."; Jones, et al. Col. 22, lines 41-51: "…positioning the bucket (1010) of an excavator (1004) at a stake (1024) (FIG. 23) and programming a desired elevation level based on the X, Y and Z coordinates of the stake [work tool point location data]. […] relative coordinates can be converted to absolute coordinates using, for example, an absolute position of a benchmark or monument reference point [direct geographical location data].").
Regarding claim 15, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: the computer executable instructions cause the one or more processors to determine the heading of the vehicle at the particular time based on a series of locations, along a path traveled by the vehicle, indicated by: the first coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated in the vehicle report; (Jones, et al. Col. 11, lines 3-12: "System (22a) computes its position, denoted p1 (x1, y1, z1). […] the secondary receiver and antenna system (22b) computes its position, denoted (p2, y2 , z2). Referring now to block (230), optionally additional receiver and antenna system(s) (22) compute their respective positions, denoted p3 (x3 , y3 , z3), ... Pn(xn, ym, zn) [coordinate determinations by GNSS based sensors mounted on vehicle]. […] heading is computed as the vector perpendicular to the vector joining the two positions, in the horizontal plane (assuming they are aligned with the vehicle (10)) [heading calculation with vehicle].")
and at least one preceding set of coordinates, of the location sensor point, indicated by one or more previously- received vehicle reports (Jones, et al. Col. 30, lines 30-33: "Previously-recorded terrain models can be archived for future reference, including prescriptions for future maintenance activity and saved guide paths for vehicles [can determine past headings].")
Regarding claim 16, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: The worksite controller of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise determining, based on determining one or more additional geographical coordinates of the work tool point over a period of time, that at least one additional work event associated with the material occurred at a location outside the predefined boundaries of the work zone (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0064]: "…compare currently received measurements from the scanning laser rangefinder (81) with the already available dynamic terrain model when in the obstacle free zone (191), and also to continuously evaluate criteria for obstacle detection or any possible intrusion of the vehicle or machine [compare locations of tool point over period of time] outside the obstacle free or loading or unloading areas [determined outside boundaries of work zone].").
Regarding claim 17, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 16, and in a further embodiment, teach: The worksite controller of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise at least one of automatically adjusting, in the zone data the predefined boundaries of the work zone to encompass the location, or automatically creating, in the zone data, a new work zone that encompasses the location (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0093]: "…On the other hand it would be of value if neighbouring loading or unloading zone elements not centrally involved in the previous run still have become updated in the model during such a run to be used for e.g. planning further reconnaissance paths in this area [creating new zone].").
Regarding claim 18, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 16, and in a further embodiment, teach: The worksite controller of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise via a user interface of the worksite controller, to at least one of: adjust the predefined boundaries of the work zone to encompass the location, or to create a new work zone that encompasses the location (Jones, et al. Col. 25, lines 15-27: "…GUI (1017) [user interface of controller], e.g., as a graphical grading depiction showing existing and final grade elevation lines and cut and fill zones similar to those shown in FIG. 23 [initial zone boundaries]. […] method returns to cut and/or fill the rest of the site at (1066) until the design elevation is reached [adjust work zone boundaries until dead zone is eliminated].")
presenting a suggestion (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0063]: "…vehicle control computer requests [presents suggestion], for the return path (124) and its constituent bucket movements, a new vehicle and implement control data list [parameters for adjusted zone movements]").
Regarding claim 19, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: The worksite controller of claim 13, wherein: the work zone is a first work zone, (Holmqvist, et al. Fig. 6, Paragraph [0019]: "…zones for reconnaissance (192) and loading (193) [first work zone - loading]")
the amount of the material is a first amount of the material stored at the first work zone, the zone data further indicates: (Holmqvist, et al. Fig. 6, Paragraph [0019]: "…material volume (181) subject to be loaded from by the system [first amount of material stored at first work zone] […] zones for reconnaissance (192) and loading (193) [first work zone - loading]")
second predefined boundaries of a second work zone on the worksite; (Holmqvist, et al. Fig. 7, Paragraph [0020]: "…zones for reconnaissance (192) and unloading (194) [second work zone - unloading]")
and a second amount of the material stored at the second work zone, and the operations further comprise: (Holmqvist, et al. Fig. 7, Paragraph [0020]: "…material volume (181) subject to receive material in an unloading operation from the system [second amount of material stored at second work zone] […] zones for reconnaissance (192) and unloading (194) [second work zone - unloading]")
determining, based on the second coordinates of the work tool point at the particular time and one or more additional coordinates of the work tool point over a period of time, that the vehicle moved a particular amount of the material from the first work zone to the second work zone; (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0064]: "…another duty for the DTM computer (82) is to compare currently received measurements from the scanning laser rangefinder (81) with the already available dynamic terrain model when in the obstacle free zone (191), and also to continuously evaluate criteria for obstacle detection or any possible intrusion of the vehicle or machine [compare locations of tool point over period of time]" ; Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0050]: "…recording terrain surface, material volumes and obstacles and, based on this during a mission more or less continuously collected information and prior mappings of the area [additional geographical locations of work tool], at autonomous loading and unloading of material [transferring material from first work zone to second work zone]")
decrementing, in the zone data, a first indication of the first amount of the material stored at the first work zone based on the particular amount of the material; (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0050]: "…height profile for the material volume [first amount of material] […] loading path [first work zone - loading]")
and incrementing, in the zone data, a second indication of the second amount of the material stored at the second work zone based on the particular amount of the material (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0050]: "…otherwise most optimum emptying point (1232) for the bucket [calculations based on second amount of material stored at second work zone - unloading]").
Regarding claim 21, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the worksite controller, a type of the work event based on the work event data, (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0050]: "…DTM-computer (82) [controller] […] measuring, and recording terrain surface, material volumes and obstacles [work event data] […] based on this during a mission [work event]")
wherein the worksite controller adjusts the material amount value based on the type of the work event (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0050]: "…controlling the load handling implement (14), a height profile for the material volume along the intended path of the bucket during the loading path and movement of vehicle and bucket [worksite controller adjust machine for material amount value based on type of work event]").
Regarding claim 22, Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: The computing system of claim 8, wherein the work event data indicates one or more of: payload data associated with the work tool, movement data associated with movements of the work tool, or hydraulic pressures associated with the work tool (Holmqvist, et al. Paragraph [0025]: "…mission computer (6) in control of the mission program [work event data used by computer], […] detailed movement of the vehicle along these paths as for planning the movements of the bucket in loading/unloading operations [movement data associated with the movements of the work tool]").
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmqvist, et al. (U.S.
Patent Application Publication No. 20040158355), Jones, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8639416), Kovanen, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220389685), and Ohiwa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11105072) in view of Hanna, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210099828).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. teaches: The worksite controller of claim 19, based on the second coordinates of the work tool point and the one or more additional coordinates of the work tool point over a second period of time (Paragraph [0064]: "…compare currently received measurements from the scanning laser rangefinder (81) with the already available dynamic terrain model when in the obstacle free zone (191), and also to continuously evaluate criteria for obstacle detection or any possible intrusion of the vehicle or machine [compare locations of tool point over period of time] outside the obstacle free or loading or unloading areas.").
The combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. does not teach wherein the operations further comprise determining an average work cycle time associated with transport of the material from the first work zone to the second work zone by the vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor (management of assets at a worksite using mobile geofences), Hanna, et al. teaches: wherein the operations further comprise determining an average work cycle time associated with transport of the material from the first work zone to the second work zone by the vehicle (Paragraph [0065]: "Cycle time [work cycle time] […] cycle time per asset including: the number of dumping trips and loading trips; total and average time traveling to the loading site [first work zone], to the dumping site [second work zone], to the parking site; total and average time at the loading site, at the dumping site, and at the parking site [average work cycle time].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. to include the teaching of Hanna, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the tracking of mobile and stationary work vehicles at a worksite using geolocation data and geofences (Hanna, et al. Paragraphs [0002], [0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant asserted that amended claims 1, 8, and 13 were patentable over Holmqvist, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040158355) in view of Jones, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8639416) and in further view of Kovanen, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220389685) because the references did not meet the claim limitations of “determining a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point indicated by the location data, wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance”, “identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading”, and “determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle”. Please note that Ohiwa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11105072) was cited in order to teach these features. In Ohiwa, et al., the location of the work tool is identified through the use of a display on a work assistance information (91) unit, which enables a process of “…the facing angle compass indicates an amount of displacement by way of a rotation angle indicated by an arrow inside a circle” (Col. 10, lines 9-15), in which the location sensor, or bucket position detector (41), enables a position measurement “…of bucket (7) with respect to the body of the work vehicle based on information of the three relative angles as detected. Particularly, the position of bucket (7) in the vehicular body coordinate system is detected”, or at the center point of the coordinate at the location sensor point” (Col. 7, lines 61-67), in which the radius of the circle is equal to a defined offset distance through the determination of “…calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system. […] calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates” (Col. 19, lines 3-7). The process continues in which the position of the tool as a function of an line intersection extending from the center of the circle along a heading direction is given by the process in which “…based on a position (coordinate values in a display area) of an intersection between display area (440) and an imaginary line that connects the detected position of bucket (7) to the position of the viewpoint (reference position described above) of the operator” (Col. 8, lines 60-67). Additionally, the second coordinates of the work tool point can be determined by repeating the step of “calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the vehicular body coordinate system”, in which a “…display controller (43) calculates the position of bucket (7) and the position of teeth (7A) on the global coordinates (Col. 19, lines 3-7). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Ohiwa, et al. with Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., and Kovanen, et al. because Holmqvist, et al. teaches an on board vehicle device which determines the position of a work vehicle using a three-dimensional coordinate system (Paragraph [0049]), Jones, et al. teaches a process of recording past guide path data for vehicles for future use (Col. 30, lines 30-33), Kovanen, et al. teaches the process of determining the heading of the work vehicle with respect to a particular time, based on the first and preceding sensor points provided by the vehicle’s ECM (Paragraphs [0080], [0082], [0180], and [0077]).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Holmqvist, et al., Jones, et al., Kovanen, et al., and Ohiwa, et al. reads on the claim limitations of “determining a circle having a center point at the first coordinates of the location sensor point indicated by the location data, wherein a radius of the circle is equal to the predefined offset distance”, “identifying a position, on a circumference of the circle, that intersects a line extending from the center point of the circle along a direction indicated by the heading”, and “determining the second coordinates of the work tool point as coordinates of the position on the circumference of the circle”, as stated in amended claims 1, 8, and 13, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sherlock (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200392703) teaches a work vehicle for tracking a payload through a dump cycle having an implement, a volume sensor, a location tracker, an operation sensor, and a computing device.
Nishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210270013) teaches a working vehicle containing processing circuity which products the motion of the shovel and an associated alert regarding the future areas corresponding to the shovel’s location.
Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663