Attorney’s Docket Number: T100616US01
Filing Date: 10/18/2021
Applicant: Dadvand
Examiner: Marcos D. Pizarro
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the amendment filed on 6/3/2026.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Amendment Status
The amendment filed on 6/3/2026 in reply to the non-final rejection in paper no. 15, mailed on 3/4/2026, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-3 and 5-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvin (US 2016/0079193) in view of Beck (US 2015/0279797).
Regarding claim 1, Arvin (see, e.g., fig. 1-6) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a method comprising:
Providing an array of electronic devices 100 on a wafer, and
Electrolytically depositing tin on exposed sidewalls of a copper seed layer and a copper bump (see, e.g., pars. 0060-0061/ll.1-4)
wherein:
Each device includes a diffusion barrier layer 108 on the wafer, the seed layer 110 on the barrier layer, and the copper bump 114 on the seed layer, and
Sidewalls of the barrier layer 108 are free of tin
Arvin, however, fails to teach the steps of immersing the devices in a tin electrolyte to chemically dissolve an exposed portion of the seed layer in the electrolyte and simultaneously form a layer of tin on the sidewalls of the bump. Beck (see, e.g., par. 0066) teaches that tin layers deposited by immersing the devices in a tin electrolyte are less sensitive to whisker growth, which would reduce undesired circuit shorts between copper bumps. The electrolyte chemically dissolves exposed surfaces of the metal layers and chemically displaces electrons from sidewalls of the bump. The displaced electrons combine with tin ions in the electrolyte to form a layer of tin on sidewalls of the bump. See, e.g., Beck: par. 0036 and 0057.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the step of immersing the devices in the method of Arvin, as suggested by Beck, to reduce undesired circuit shorts between the copper bumps.
Regarding claim 2, Beck (see, e.g., par.0076) teaches immersion times of no more than 10 minutes.
Regarding claim 3, Beck teaches rising the devices with water (see, e.g., par. 0032).
Regarding claim 5, Arvin shows the method further comprising depositing a photoresist (PR) layer on the seed layer via spin coating (see, e.g., par. 0051/ll.1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Arvin shows the method further comprising etching to form openings in the PR layer (see, e.g., par. 0051/ll.4-6).
Regarding claim 7, Arvin shows the method further comprising depositing copper in the openings and on the seed layer 110 to form a copper bump bond 114 (see, e.g., par. 0051/ll.7-8 and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Beck (see, e.g., par. 0029) suggests forming a Ni layer in the openings and on the Cu bump.
Regarding claim 9, Arvin (see, e.g., fig. 2) teaches forming a solder cap 116 in the openings and on the bump 114; and Beck (see, e.g., par. 0029) suggests forming a Ni layer in the openings and on the bump. They, however, fail to teach forming a Pd layer in the openings and on the Ni layer. In a similar embodiment, Beck teaches that a Pd layer would provide good wettability to the solder cap (see, e.g., par. 0071).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to include the steps of forming a Pd layer in the method of Arvin/Beck to provide good wettability for the solder cap.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Arvin shows that the PR and an exposed portion of the diffusion barrier are removed via an etching process (see, e.g., pars. 0058 and 0067).
Regarding claim 12, Arvin (see, e.g., figs. 1-6) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a method comprising:
Providing an array of electronic devices 100 comprising a silicon wafer, and
Electrolytically depositing tin on exposed sidewalls of a copper seed layer 110 and a copper bump 114 (see, e.g., pars. 0060-0061/ll.1-4)
wherein:
Each device includes a TiW diffusion barrier layer 108 on the wafer, the seed layer 110 on the barrier layer, and the bump 114 on the seed layer, and
Sidewalls of the barrier layer 108 are free of tin
Arvin, however, fails to teach the steps of immersing the devices for less than 10 minutes in a tin electrolyte, and rising the devices with water. See also the comments stated above in paragraphs 6, 7 and 9 with respect to claims 1 and 3, which are considered repeated here.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, see the comments stated above in paragraphs 10-12 with respect to claims 5-7, which are considered to be repeated here.
Regarding claims 15-17, see the comments stated above in paragraphs 13-16 with respect to claims 8-11, which are considered to be repeated here.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues:
Beck (¶0057) discloses depositing Sn on Cu from an aqueous immersion type plating bath comprising Sn ions. There is no disclosure of dissolving an exposed portion of a Cu seed layer simultaneously with the deposition of Sn. Based on the teachings of Beck, a Sn layer would be deposited on the exposed Cu seed layer instead of dissolving the exposed Cu seed layer. The figures and description of Beck do not disclose any exposed Cu seed layer and its removal.
The examiner responds:
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the instant case, the rejection is based on the combination of Arvin and Beck. Arvin (see, e.g., fig. 3) provides the copper bump structure 114 having the exposed copper seed layer 110, while Beck (¶0057) teaches performing immersion-type tin plating on a copper surface. As Beck explains in ¶0057, during immersion plating of tin onto copper, copper is oxidized/dissolved while Sn(II) ions are reduced to form metallic tin. Beck further explains in ¶0036 that, in an immersion-type reaction, copper is oxidized while the metal ions are reduced and deposited onto the copper surface.
Thus, when the immersion-type tin-plating process taught by Beck is applied to the copper bump structure of Arvin, the exposed copper including the seed layer of Arvin necessarily participates in the redox reaction: the exposed copper is oxidized/dissolved while the tin ions are reduced and deposited as tin. The dissolution of the exposed copper and deposition of tin therefore occur as part of the same chemical reaction, rather than as separate sequential steps.
Accordingly, the combination of Arvin and Beck teaches, or at minimum inherently results in, chemically dissolving the exposed portion of the copper seed layer simultaneously with forming the tin layer on the sidewalls of the copper bump. The applicant’s argument is, therefore, not persuasive.
Conclusion
This action is made final. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marcos D. Pizarro/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814
MDP/mdp
August 13, 2026