Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1,3,5-6,9-11,13,15-16 and 19-20] is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad (US 20220038866 A1) in view of Tao (US 20230023919 A1) further in view of Kadiri (US 20210068003 A1).
In regards to claim 1 and 11, Prasad teaches A method comprising: configuring, by a user equipment (UE), a multicast radio bearer (MRB) for one or more multicast and broadcast services (MBSs) in a wireless network, wherein an MRB configuration enables feedback for the one or more MBSs; [0048] The core network 130 or the base stations 110 may include a multicast radio bearer-unicast data radio bearer (MRB-DRB) module 138 for transmitting, to one or more UEs 120, multicast data via a multicast channel and receiving, from the one or more UEs 120, feedback in response to transmitting the multicast data. The MRB-DRB module 138 may also identify a first access stratum layer associated with the feedback. The MRB-DRB module 138 may further select a unicast channel or the multicast channel for a re-transmission at a second access stratum layer in response to identifying the first access stratum layer. Additionally, the MRB-DRB module 138 may re-transmit, to the one or more UEs 120, the multicast data via the multicast channel or the unicast channel based on the selection.
establishing the MRB and a UE protocol stack for an active MBS based on the MRB configuration upon detecting one or more activation conditions, wherein the MRB is associated with one or two channels comprising a multicast channel and a unicast channel; [0036] the one or more UEs may provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) feedback, or radio link control (RLC) status feedback to a base station based on receiving an initial multicast data transmission on a multicast channel associated with an MRB. In such examples, the base station may identify an access stratum layer, such as an RLC layer, a PDCP layer, or a medium access control (MAC) layer, associated with the feedback received from the one or more UEs, receiving data packets of the active MBS through the established MRB in a multi-cast service area [0070] a number of UEs served by a base station, UE capability (for example, whether the UE supports the MRB), a total number of UEs of a group of UEs providing multicast feedback, radio channel conditions, or coverage conditions, comprising one or more serving cells. [0039] A BS may provide communications coverage for a macro cell, a pico cell, a femto cell, and another type of cell.
a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network; [0087] The receiver 1010 may include a set of radio frequency (RF) chains that are coupled with or otherwise utilize a set of antennas (for example, the set of antennas may be an example of aspects of the antennas 234a through 234t described with reference to FIG. 2). [0088] The transmitter 1020 may transmit signals generated by the communications manager 1015 or other components of the wireless communication device 1000. In some examples, the transmitter 1020 may be collocated with the receiver 1010 in a transceiver.
Prasad does not teach reconfiguring the MRB to change a type of the MRB upon detecting one or more reconfiguration conditions; and releasing the MRB upon detecting one or more releasing conditions.
However, Tao does teach reconfiguring the MRB to change a type of the MRB upon detecting one or more reconfiguration conditions; and releasing the MRB upon detecting one or more releasing conditions [0073] In one scenario, such as the reception of a certain multicast/broadcast service for a certain UE, the network configure the UE from PTM reception to PTP reception, either in the granularity of the multicast/broadcast service or specific MRB serving the multicast/broadcast service. The configuration of step 1 may include the release of PTM type RLC bearers and the addition of PTP type RLC bearers for all MRBs or specific MRB serving the multicast/broadcast service, and wherein the configured MRB enables feedback for the active MBS with a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP)-based retransmission, [0107] The UE generates a corresponding PDCP status report (PDCP SR) according to the receiving status of the corresponding PDCP entity. The UE sends the PDCP SR to the peer PDCP entity in the network side through the type 1 or PTP type RLC bearer, and wherein the UE protocol stack includes one MRB PDCP entity, [0056] The QoS Flow data are mapped to one or more MRBs by the SDAP entity associated with the multicast/broadcast service (note that each QoS Flow can only be mapped to one specific MRB), and each MRB is associated with one PDCP entity, releasing the MRB by: releasing the MRB PDCP entity for the MRB; releasing corresponding one or two RLC entities for the MRB; [0053] The UE performs configuration of the local protocol stack according to the above configuration, for example, establishing a MRB, or modifying an existing MRB, releasing or suspending an existing MRB; establishing an RLC bearer, or modifying an existing RLC bearer, suspending or releasing an existing RLC bearer, and releasing associated one or two logic channels for the MRB. [0082] The above-mentioned disabling operation may correspond to the RLC bearer release operation in the existing standard, that is, the operation further corresponds to the release of the associated RLC entity or entities and the release of the corresponding LCH
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Prasad and Tao before him or her, to modify the method of Prasad to include reconfiguration of MRB as taught by Tao.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network transmission. (Paragraph 0074 by Tao)].
Prasad and Tao do not teach wherein the MRB is configured with a type comprising a split MRB, a multicast traffic channel (MTCH), or dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) type.
However, Kadiri teaches wherein the MRB is configured with a type comprising a split MRB, a multicast traffic channel (MTCH), or dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) type. [0005] Dependent on the selected mode and/or quality of service, the base station may select a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for transmission of the traffic in a unicast mode (e.g., to a particular UE) or a multicast radio bearer (MRB) for transmission of the traffic in a broadcast/multicast mode. wherein the reconfiguration conditions comprising performing UE state transition to a UE CONNECTED state and receiving a command to modify the MRB; [0074] The base station may determine whether to use multicast/broadcast techniques or unicast techniques based on a QoS associated with the multicast/broadcast traffic as well as connected states of UEs. Dependent on the selected mode (e.g., multicast/broadcast and/or unicast), the base station may utilize a data radio bearer (DRB) or multicast radio bearer (MRB) for communication of the traffic. Further, the services and bearer (MRB or DRB) configurations may be configured for various UEs using either RRC signaling or multicast control channel (MCCH) procedures.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Prasad, Kadiri and Tao before him or her, to modify the method of Prasad and Tao to include configuration of MRB as taught by Kadiri.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve communication quality. (Paragraph 0041 by Kadiri)].
In regards to claim 4 and 14, Prasad, Kadiri and Tao teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Prasad also teaches wherein the configured MRB enables feedback for the active MBS with a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP)-based retransmission, and wherein the UE protocol stack includes one MRB PDCP entity. [0036] Aspects of the present disclosure are directed to re-transmitting multicast data in response to feedback received from one or more UEs. In some examples, the one or more UEs may provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) feedback, or radio link control (RLC) status feedback to a base station based on receiving an initial multicast data transmission on a multicast channel associated with an MRB. In such examples, the base station may identify an access stratum layer, such as an RLC layer, a PDCP layer, or a medium access control (MAC) layer, associated with the feedback received from the one or more UEs.
In regards to claim 5 and 15, Prasad, Kadiri and Tao teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Prasad also teaches wherein the MRB is established with a multicast channel and a unicast channel, and wherein the UE protocol stack further includes two radio link control (RLC) entities that one for multicast data packets of the multicast channel and one for unicast data packets of the unicast channel. [0064 and FIG 4] The PDCP layer may optionally perform robust header compression (RoHC) functions and security functions, as well as other functions. The PDCP layer communicates with the RLC layer via an RLC channel. The RLC layer may contain segments and reassemble packet segmentation as well as perform ARQ error control procedures (shown as Segm. ARQ in FIG. 4). The RLC sublayer may be configured to support different transmission modes, such as an unacknowledged mode (UM) and an acknowledged mode (AM). Fig 4 shows the multicast and unicast PDU sessions with Segm. ARQ within the RLC layer of each.
In regards to claim 6 and 16, Prasad, Kadiri and Tao teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Prasad also teaches wherein the MRB is established with a single channel selecting from a multicast channel and a unicast channel, and wherein the UE protocol stack further includes one RLC entity. [0036] The re-transmission channel may be the multicast channel or a unicast channel associated with a DRB. The base station may select the re-transmission channel at the RLC layer or the MAC layer based on an access stratum layer associated with the feedback. In some examples, the base station may select the multicast channel or the unicast channel for re-transmitting the multicast data based on one or more of a number of UEs served by the base station, a number of UEs providing multicast feedback, or a radio channel condition.
In regards to claim 9 and 19, Prasad, Kadiri and Tao teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Prasad also teaches wherein the configured MRB enables feedback for the active MBS with a PDCP-based retransmission, and wherein the UE protocol stack includes one MRB PDCP entity, and wherein the reconfiguring the MRB comprising reconfiguring the MRB PDCP entity to update one or two corresponding RLC entities accordingly for the MRB. [0036] Aspects of the present disclosure are directed to re-transmitting multicast data in response to feedback received from one or more UEs. In some examples, the one or more UEs may provide hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) feedback, or radio link control (RLC) status feedback to a base station based on receiving an initial multicast data transmission on a multicast channel associated with an MRB. In such examples, the base station may identify an access stratum layer, such as an RLC layer, a PDCP layer, or a medium access control (MAC) layer, associated with the feedback received from the one or more UEs.
In regards to claim 3 and 13, Prasad, Kadiri and Tao teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Prasad also teaches wherein the release conditions comprising: stop of the active MBS, leaving the multi-cast service area, losing interest in multicast services, an indication of stop receiving the active MBS, receiving a command to release the MRB, and performing a state transition away from a UE CONNECTED state. [0070] In one such example, the MRB enabled base station may switch to the DRB when only one UE is using the multicast service of the MRB enabled base. In some such examples, one or more UEs may leave a coverage area of the MRB enabled base station, such that a number of UEs using the multicast service is less than a multicast threshold.
In regards to claim 10 and 20, Prasad, Kadiri and Tao teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Prasad also teaches performing the MRB reconfiguration based on the RRC reconfiguration message, [0073] In the example of FIG. 5, an RRC configuration may map the MRB to the DRB. That is, the base station may notify the UE of a switch from the DRB to the MRB, or vice versa, using RRC signaling or MAC-CE signaling. Transmitting an indication of the switch between the MRB and the DRB via control signaling may be an example of a hard switch. In this example, the hard switch maintains service continuity.
Prasad does not teach transitioning to a UE CONNECTED state; sending an indication of interest in the one or more MBS; receiving an RRC reconfiguration message of an MRB reconfiguration for the MRB.
However, Kadiri teaches transitioning to a UE CONNECTED state; sending an indication of interest in the one or more MBS; [0044] A method of wireless communication at a UE is described. The method may include receiving, from a base station, a traffic indication that multicast/broadcast traffic is available for the UE, receiving, from the base station, a state indication that identifies whether the UE is to be in a CONNECTED mode state in order to receive the multicast/broadcast traffic, and receiving the multicast/broadcast traffic while in one of an IDLE, INACTIVE, or CONNECTED mode state, consistent with the state indication, receiving an RRC reconfiguration message of an MRB reconfiguration for the MRB [0126] The RAN node may deliver service to UEs based on MRB or DRB with reliable retransmission based on feedback received from RRC_CONNECTED state UEs 115. For MRB to DRB and DRB to MRB switching, the UE 115 may be notified using RRC or MAC-CE messaging. Using a MRB bearer, transmissions and retransmissions may be either broadcast or unicast depending on a bearer type configuration.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Prasad, Kadiri and Tao before him or her, to modify the method of Prasad and Tao to include configuration of MRB as taught by Kadiri.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve communication quality. (Paragraph 0041 by Kadiri)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but could be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466