Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 19-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 20150027757 A1) in view of Ganesan (US 20210035911 A1) and Chen (US 20210066181 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a substrate (Fig. 1, 10) comprising: a layer of glass (Para. 26 "glass core 10") having a first side (upper surface of 10) and a second side opposite the first side (lower surface of 10); a through glass via (14) extending from the first side of the layer of glass to the second side of the layer of glass; a conductive metal within the TGV (plating layer 20; para. 26 "a plating layer 20 formed on… the through via holes 14") that electrically couples the first side of the layer of glass with the second side of the layer of glass; a pad (upper portion of 20 formed in via hole 14; see attached figure) coupled with the conductive metal at the first side of the layer of glass, wherein a layer of dielectric material (insulative layer 30 disposed on upper surface of glass core 10) is between at least a portion of the pad and the first side of the layer of glass (Shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the pad is vertically overlapping with the TGV along a vertical axis through the TGV (Fig. 1 shows the pad vertically overlapping with the TGV in the vertical direction), and a buildup layer over the pad (Additional insulating layers 30 above glass core, via and pad). However, Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen does not disclose wherein the pad extends laterally beyond a first outermost side and a second outermost side of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side the buildup layer having a bridge die therein.
On the other hand, Ganesan discloses a bridge die (Fig. 2J, 240) in a buildup layer (280) on a glass substrate (220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin according to the teachings of Ganesan such that the buildup layer would include a bridge die therein, in order to bridge communication between neighboring devices.
Shin in view of Ganesan still does not disclose wherein the pad extends laterally beyond a first outermost side and a second outermost side of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side. On the other hand, Chen discloses a pad (Fig. 1A, 113a) extending laterally beyond a first outermost side (left side of TGV 112) and a second outermost side (right side of TGV 112) of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side (Shown in Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shin in view of Ganesan according to the teachings of Chen such that the pad would extend laterally beyond first and second outermost sides of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side, in order to form a large pad contact surface which would facilitate consistent contact between the pads and the electrical components coupled to them.
Regarding claim 2, Shin discloses wherein the pad includes the conductive metal (Fig. 1 shows via hole and pad to be formed of a singular plating layer 20; para. 38 "The plating layer 20 may be formed of a material with excellent conductivity such a copper").
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses wherein the conductive metal completely fills the TGV (Shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Shin discloses wherein the layer of dielectric material is completely between the pad and the first side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows insulating layer 30 is completely between all portions of the pad and the glass core), wherein the pad is not directly coupled with the first side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows no part of the pad directly coupled to the glass core).
Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses wherein the pad is a first pad, and wherein the layer of dielectric material is a first layer of dielectric material; and further comprising: a second pad (lower portion of 20 formed in via hole 14; see attached figure) coupled with the conductive metal at the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows the second pad coupled to plating layer 20 within the via), wherein a second layer of dielectric material is between at least a portion of the second pad and the second side of the glass layer (Fig. 1 shows insulating layer 30 is completely between all portions of the second pad and the glass core).
Regarding claim 6, Shin discloses wherein the second pad is not directly coupled with the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows insulating layer 30 is completely between all portions of the second pad and the glass core).
Regarding claim 7, Shin discloses wherein the second layer of dielectric material is completely between the second pad and the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows insulating layer 30 is completely between all portions of the second pad and the glass core), wherein the second pad is not directly coupled with the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows no part of the second pad directly coupled to the glass core).
Regarding claim 8, Shin discloses wherein the first layer of dielectric material completely covers a surface of the first side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows upper insulating layer 30 completely covering the top surface of the glass core), and wherein the second layer of dielectric material completely covers a surface of the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows lower insulating layer 30 completely covering the lower surface of the glass core).
Regarding claim 9, Shin discloses wherein the TGV is a plurality of TGVs (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of TGVs meeting all the limitations of claims 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 10, Shin in view of Ganesan discloses the substrate of claim 1. However, Kim in view of Ganesan does not explicitly disclose wherein the dielectric material has a thickness between 2-100 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin such that the dielectric material would have a thickness between 2-100 µm in order to have a thickness sufficient to absorb the stresses on the package during manufacturing, while also maintaining a sufficiently thin package. Furthermore, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Shin in view of Ganesan discloses the substrate of claim 1. However, Kim in view of Ganesan does not explicitly disclose wherein pad has a width of at least 5 µm. However, it is merely an obvious design choice to provide a pad with a width of at least 5 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin such that the pad would have a width of at least 5 µm in order to ensure the pads are large enough to make secure connections despite warping due to heat.
Regarding claim 19, Shin discloses a package comprising: a substrate (Fig. 1, 10) comprising: a layer of glass (Para. 26 "glass core 10") having a first side (upper surface of 10) and a second side opposite the first side (lower surface of 10); a through glass via (14) extending from the first side of the layer of glass to the second side of the layer of glass; a conductive metal within the TGV (plating layer 20; para. 26 "a plating layer 20 formed on… the through via holes 14") that electrically couples the first side of the layer of glass with the second side of the layer of glass; a first pad (upper portion of 20 formed in via hole 14; see attached figure) coupled with the conductive metal at the first side of the layer of glass, wherein a first layer of dielectric material (insulative layer 30 disposed on upper surface of glass core 10) is between at least a portion of the first pad and the first side of the layer of glass (Shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the first pad is vertically overlapping with the TGV along a vertical axis through the TGV (Fig. 1 shows the pad vertically overlapping with the TGV in the vertical direction); and a second pad (lower portion of 20 formed in via hole 14; see attached figure) coupled with the conductive metal at the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows the second pad coupled to plating layer 20 within the via), wherein a second layer of dielectric materials between at least a portion of the second pad and the second side of the layer of glass (Fig. 1 shows insulating layer 30 is completely between all portions of the second pad and the glass core); and a buildup layer coupled with the first pad and the first layer of dielectric material (Additional insulating layers 30 above glass core, via, pad, and insulating layer disposed on the glass core). However, Shin does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one routing layer within the buildup layer being electrically coupled with the first pad, the buildup layer having a bridge die therein.
On the other hand, Ganesan discloses wherein at least one routing layer (Fig. 2J, 230) within a buildup layer (comprises 230 and 280) on a glass substrate (glass patch 220) is electrically coupled with a first pad (219), and the buildup layer having a bridge die (240) therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin according to the teachings of Ganesan such that at least one routing layer within the building layer would be electrically coupled with the first pad, the buildup layer would include a bridge die therein, in order to bridge communication between neighboring devices.
Shin in view of Ganesan still do not disclose wherein the pad extends laterally beyond a first outermost side and a second outermost side of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side. On the other hand, Chen discloses a pad (Fig. 1A, 113a) extending laterally beyond a first outermost side (left side of TGV 112) and a second outermost side (right side of TGV 112) of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side (Shown in Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shin in view of Ganesan according to the teachings of Chen such that the pad would extend laterally beyond first and second outermost sides of the TGV in a cross-section view, the second outermost side laterally opposite the first outermost side, in order to form a large pad contact surface which would facilitate consistent contact between the pads and the electrical components coupled to them.
Regarding claim 20, Shin discloses wherein the buildup layer is the first buildup layer, and further comprising: a second buildup layer coupled with the second pad and the second layer of dielectric material (Additional insulating layers 30 below glass core, via, pad and insulating layer disposed on the glass core).
Regarding claim 21, Shin discloses wherein the first pad and the second pad include the conductive metal (Fig. 1 shows via hole and pad to be formed of a singular plating layer 20).
Regarding claim 23, Shin discloses wherein the conductive metal is copper or a copper alloy (para. 38 "The plating layer 20 may be formed of a material with excellent conductivity such a copper").
Regarding claim 25, Shin in view of Ganesan discloses the substrate of claim 1. However, Kim in view of Ganesan does not explicitly disclose wherein the dielectric material has a thickness between 2-100 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin such that the dielectric material would have a thickness between 2-100 µm in order to have a thickness sufficient to absorb the stresses on the package during manufacturing, while also maintaining a sufficiently thin package. Furthermore, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 20150027757 A1) in view of Ganesan (US 20210035911 A1) and Chen (US 20210066181 A1) as applied to claims 1-11, 19-21, 23, and 25 above, and further in view of Imayoshi (US 20170018492 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen discloses the package of claim 19. However, Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the dielectric material is an ABF.
On the other hand, Imayoshi discloses the package of claim 19, wherein the dielectric material is in ABF (Fig. 2 shows an insulative resin layer 7 disposed on a glass core 1 penetrated by vias 3; para. 110 "An ABF made up of epoxy resin was used as a material for the insulative resin layer 7"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen according to the teachings of Imayoshi such that the dielectric material would be an ABF, in order to take advantage of its lower coefficient of thermal expansion to absorb stresses due to heat during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 26, Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen discloses the package of claim 1. However, Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the dielectric material is an ABF.
On the other hand, Imayoshi discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the dielectric material is in ABF (Fig. 2 shows an insulative resin layer 7 disposed on a glass core 1 penetrated by vias 3; para. 110 "An ABF made up of epoxy resin was used as a material for the insulative resin layer 7"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Shin in view of Ganesan and Chen according to the teachings of Imayoshi such that the dielectric material would be an ABF, in order to take advantage of its lower coefficient of thermal expansion to absorb stresses due to heat during manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Shin does not meet the limitations of claim 1 concerning a layer of dielectric material being between at least a portion of the pad and the first side of the layer of glass, and the pad extending laterally beyond both a first outermost side and a second outermost side of the TGV, nor does Shin meet the limitations of claim 19 concerning the pad extending laterally beyond both a first outermost side and a second outermost side of the TGV. Applicant explained their understanding of Shin to include via holes 14 and formation grooves 12 both being filled with plating layer 20. Applicant explained that Shin does not teach a layer of dielectric material being between at least a portion of the pad and the first side of the layer of glass because the formation grooves 12 filled with plating layer 20 are not separated from the surface of the glass core 10 by a layer of dielectric material. Alternatively, Applicant argued that if the combination of the through holes 14 and the formation grooves 12 filled with plating layer 20 are interpreted to read on Applicant’s TGV and the trace above the first insulating layer 30 is interpreted to read on Applicant’s pad, the trace above the first insulating layer 30 would not extend laterally beyond outermost sides of the combination of the through holes 14 and the formation grooves 12 filled with plating layer 20. Applicant additionally argued that the combination of Shin and Ganesan does not teach a bridge die in the build-up layer, because Applicant understands Ganesan’s bridge die 240 as being in an encapsulation layer 280 and not in a build-up layer.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Examiner does not assert that the TGV includes the formation groove 12 or its plating layer 20. Examiner instead asserts that the TGV comprises the portion of plating layer 20 that is in the through via hole 14. For this reason, Applicant’s arguments that depend on the formation groove defining the position of the TGV or the lateral boundaries of the TGV are not persuasive, because Examiner has not alleged that the formation groove is part of the TGV.
Regarding Ganesan’s bridge die 240, Examiner asserts that the term “buildup layer” is not sufficiently defined in the art or in the specification so as render Ganesan’s encapsulation layer 280 an unreasonable equivalent. Furthermore, paragraph 107 of the instant application describes the buildup layer including an encapsulated bridge or an encapsulated die, which Examiner asserts can reasonably be said about Ganesan’s bridge die 240 in encapsulation layer 280.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817