DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 04/27/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-19, and 21-25 are pending and have been examined.
This action is Final.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.
120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues that the pending claims are patent-eligible under the August 6, 2025 USPTO guidance because the claimed machine-learning operations encompass AI processing that cannot practically be performed in the human mind and therefore should not be treated as a mental process. Applicant further asserts that the amendments add a practical technological application by reciting increased efficiency and accuracy resulting from sharing feature vectors among the decoders and enhanced mutual-transfer learning. Applicant does not separately distinguish particular claims in the eligibility section, but submits that the claims generally, as amended, are eligible under 101.
Examiner Response to Argument 1: The examiner has considered the arguments set forth above. After considering the arguments as well as the amendments, the examiner hereby withdraws the rejection for 101.
Argument 2: The applicant argues that the cited combination does not teach or suggest the claimed shared multi-task architecture of independent claims 1, 5, and 19, particularly a unified encoder supporting both semantic segmentation and natural-language generation while the different decoders use the encoder outputs differently. Applicant emphasizes that Shazeer does not disclose the claimed unified encoder, Wang generates an answer prediction based on human dialogue input rather than generating text from a single final encoder feature vector, and Vinyals discloses only a single-task image-captioning system in which a classification-trained CNN supplies its final hidden representation to an RNN decoder. Applicant contends that Vinyals’s classification-oriented final representation collapses spatial information and is materially different from Teichmann’s segmentation architecture, which must preserve fine-grained spatial information; therefore, the references do not explain how to combine a segmentation decoder using intermediate or spatial features with an NLP decoder using the final feature vector in the claimed shared encoder arrangement. Applicant consequently submits that independent claims 1, 5, and 19 are allowable and that the dependent claims are likewise allowable because they incorporate all limitations of the independent claims.
Examiner Response to Argument 2: The examiner has considered the applicant’s argument but does not find it persuasive because it mischaracterizes the rejection. As shown, Vinyals is not relied upon to teach semantic segmentation or to route segmentation output into the natural-language decoder. Teichmann teaches the separate semantic-segmentation decoder, while Vinyals teaches the separate NLP decoder operating on the final encoder feature vector to generate text. Teichmann expressly discloses a unified encoder shared by classification and semantic-segmentation tasks, demonstrating that one encoder can support both global and spatially detailed tasks through different task-specific decoders. Teichmann also preserves the spatial detail needed for segmentation through skip connections that extract “high resolution features from the lower layers” and combine them with the encoder’s final features. Thus, the segmentation decoder uses both intermediate and final feature vectors, while the NLP decoder independently operates on the final feature vector. Furthermore, Teichmann teaches the shared multi-task architecture, including a unified encoder that produces shared features for multiple task-specific decoders, and further teaches that the segmentation decoder uses both the final encoded features and intermediate, higher-resolution features supplied through skip connections. Vinyals separately teaches a natural-language decoder that generates text from the encoder’s final feature vector. Thus, the combination teaches different decoders making different use of the shared encoder features: the segmentation decoder uses both intermediate and final feature vectors, while the NLP decoder operates on the final feature vector. Vinyals is not treated as the base architecture with segmentation merely added. Rather, it’s known text decoder is incorporated into Teichmann’s shared multi-task architecture to generate text from the shared image features. Wang is relied upon for the disclosed uses of the generated text, and Shazeer provides the broader computer-implemented multi-task framework. Accordingly, the cited combination teaches the claimed shared architecture and differing decoder-feature usage, and the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Office action:
identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the
prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention
pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-18, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-10789427-B2 by Shazeer et. al. (referred herein by Shazeer) in view of NPL reference “Multinet: Real-time joint semantic reasoning for autonomous driving.” by Teichmann et. al. (referred herein as Teichmann) in view of US-11562147-B2 by Wang (referred herein as Wang) further in view of NPL reference “Show and tell: A neural image caption generator.”, by Vinyals et. al. (referred herein as Vinyals).
Regarding claim 1, Shazeer teaches:
A computer implemented system for interpreting data using machine learning, comprising: a camera for capturing images; a machine; and one or more processors; one or more memories; and one or more computer executable instructions [Shazeer, col. 1, lines 40-44] “one innovative aspect … can be embodied in a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or more computers to implement a machine learning model”, AND [Shazeer, col. 8 line 66, col. 9 line 1] “An image input modality network is a neural network that is configured to deepen a received input image feature depth using one or more convolutional layers”, wherein the examiner interprets one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions to be the same as one or more processors, one or more memories, and computer-executable instructions, and interprets a received input image to be the same as an image captured by a camera).
embedded on the one or more memories, wherein the computer executable instructions are configured to execute: ([Shazeer, col 14 lines 16-20] “The essential elements of a computer are a central processing unit for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.” wherein the examiner interprets “central processing unit for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices” to be the same as “memories, wherein the computer executable instructions are configured to execute”.)
each comprising different interpretations of the data, and the different tasks comprise semantic segmentation and generating text data; ([Shazeer, col. 6] “input text segment … to be parsed … an output modality neural network … may be configured to generate a text output” AND [Shazeer, col 5 lines 20-26] “machine learning tasks include speech recognition, image classification, machine translation, or parsing. For example, the multi task multi modal machine learning model 100 may receive text inputs corresponding to a machine translation task, e.g., an input text segment in an input natural language to be translated into a target natural language, or text inputs corresponding to a parsing task, e.g., an input text segment to be parsed.”, wherein the examiner interprets parsing the input segment and generating a text output to be the same as semantic segmentation generating text data). wherein the examiner interprets “machine learning tasks include speech recognition, image classification, machine translation, or parsing” to be the same as “different interpretations of the data, and the different tasks” because they are both related to different segmentation tasks. The examiner further interprets “… an input text segment in an input natural language to be translated into a target natural language … an input text segment to be parsed” and “an output modality neural network … may be configured to generate a text output” to be the same as “comprise semantic segmentation and generating text data” because they are both directed to multiple “machine learning tasks” that provide different “image classification,” “machine translation,” and “parsing” interpretations of the data and that use an “output modality neural network … configured to generate a text output” as text data corresponding to those different interpretations of the data.)
Shazeer does not teach a unified encoder comprising a neural network encoding data of the images into a plurality of feature vectors …, wherein the unified encoder is trained using machine learning including mutual transfer learning to generate the feature vectors useful for performing, based on the feature vectors, a plurality of different tasks
Teichmann teaches a unified encoder comprising a neural network encoding data of the images into a plurality of feature vectors …, wherein the unified encoder is trained using machine learning including mutual transfer learning to generate the feature vectors useful for performing, based on the feature vectors, a plurality of different tasks ([Teichmann, page 1] “we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks”, AND [Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders”, wherein the examiner interprets unified architecture where the encoder is shared and rich features … shared among all task to be the same as a unified encoder that produces a plurality of feature vectors reused across multiple different tasks.)
… comprising an intermediate feature vector and a final feature vector … ([Teichmann, page 4], “The segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture [35]. Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low resolution segmentation of size 39×12 using a 1×1 convolutional layer. This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers [9]. Skip connections are utilized to extract high resolution features from the lower layers. Those features are first processed by a 1×1 convolution layer and then added to the partially upsampled results.”, wherein the examiner interprets “Features Scale 2 78 × 24 × 256,” “Features Scale 3 156 × 48 × 128,” and “high resolution features from the lower layers” to be the same as an intermediate feature vector because they are both directed to feature representations generated at lower encoder layers before the terminal encoded representation and supplied to the segmentation decoder through skip connections. The examiner further interprets “Encoded Features 39 × 12 × 512” and “the features produced by the encoder” used to produce the “low resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12” to be the same as a final feature vector because they are both directed to the deepest encoded feature representation output by the encoder and supplied to the segmentation decoder to generate the initial low-resolution segmentation.)
a plurality of decoders, including a semantic segmentation decoder and a natural language processing decoder, connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network interpreting the feature vectors so as to decode one or more of the feature vectors to output one of the interpretations, ([Teichmann, page 1] “This is done by incorporating all three task into a unified encoder-decoder architecture. We name our approach MultiNet … The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders”, wherein the examiner interprets the “unified encoder-decoder architecture” with “rich features that are shared among all task” and “task-specific decoders” to be the same as “a plurality of decoders, including a semantic segmentation decoder, … connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network interpreting the one or more feature vectors so as to decode one or more of the feature vectors to output one of the interpretations” because they are both directed to a deep CNN encoder that produces shared feature representations (feature vectors) which are fed into multiple task-specific decoder neural networks (for classification, detection, and semantic segmentation), each decoder taking the shared features as input and producing its own task-specific interpretation as output.)
wherein the semantic segmentation decoder performs the semantic segmentation using both the intermediate feature vector and the final feature vector, (([Teichmann, Fig 2, and pages 3-4] “Encoded Features 39 × 12 × 512, … Features Scale 2 78 × 24 × 256 … Features Scale 3 156 × 48 × 128,” and “The segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture [35]. Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low resolution segmentation of size 39×12 using a 1×1 convolutional layer. This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers [9]. Skip connections are utilized to extract high resolution features from the lower layers. Those features are first processed by a 1×1 convolution layer and then added to the partially upsampled results.”, wherein the examiner interprets “The segmentation decoder … Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low resolution segmentation... [t]his output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers” to be the same as the “semantic segmentation decoder performs the semantic segmentation” because they are both directed to a segmentation-specific decoder processing encoder features to generate a pixel-level segmentation output. The examiner further interprets wherein the examiner interprets “high resolution features from the lower layers,” including “Features Scale 2 78 × 24 × 256” and “Features Scale 3 156 × 48 × 128,” to be the same as the intermediate feature vector because they are both directed to encoder feature representations generated at lower encoder layers before the terminal encoded representation. The examiner further interprets “Encoded Features 39 × 12 × 512” used to “produce a low resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12” to be the same as “the final feature vector” because they are both directed to the terminal encoded feature representation supplied to the segmentation decoder to form the initial segmentation output. Finally, the examiner interprets the lower-layer features being “added to the partially upsampled results” produced from the encoded features to be the same as “using both the intermediate feature vector and the final feature vector” because they are both directed to generating the semantic-segmentation result by combining the terminal encoder representation with earlier, higher-resolution encoder representations.)
an output to the machine comprising the semantic segmentation an output to the machine comprising the semantic segmentation … ([Teichmann, page 1, Introduction] “Fig. 1: Our goal: Solving street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation in one forward pass.” AND [Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN …which produce their outputs in real-time. “, wherein the examiner interprets “segmentation” done by the “CNN” to “produce their outputs” to be the same as “output to the machine comprising the semantic segmentation”, because both are providing segmentation of the scene into different categories using a machine.).
… providing navigation or instructions to the machine; ([Teichmann, page 1] “we argue that computational times are very important in order to enable real-time applications such as autonomous driving.”, wherein the examiner interprets real-time applications such as autonomous driving to be the same as providing navigation or instructions to the machine.).
and wherein sharing of the feature vectors among the decoders ([Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders,” wherein the examiner interprets the rich features produced by the shared encoder to be the same as the feature vectors because they are both directed to numerical representations extracted from image data by the encoder; and wherein the examiner interprets the rich features being “shared among all task” and “utilized by task-specific decoders” to be the same as sharing of the feature vectors among the decoders because they are both directed to multiple task-specific decoders receiving and using common feature representations generated by the shared encoder.)
enhances the mutual transfer learning enabling more efficient and more accurate performance of the tasks. ([Teichmann, page 2], “Multi-task learning techniques aim at learning better representations by exploiting many tasks.”, [Teichmann, page 1] “Our approach is also very efficient, allowing us to perform inference at more then 23 frames per second. … Our approach is able to benefit from sharing computations, allowing us to perform inference in less than 45 ms for all tasks, … show state-of-the-art performance in road segmentation”; wherein the examiner interprets benefiting from shared computations, performing inference in less than 45 milliseconds for all tasks, and improving the efficiency of joint training to be the same as enabling more efficient performance of the tasks because they are both directed to reducing the computation or training resources required to perform multiple machine-learning tasks. The examiner also interprets state-of-the-art road-segmentation performance to be the same as “enabling more accurate performance of the tasks” because they are both directed to improving the quality and predictive performance of task-specific outputs.)
Teichmann does not teach and the natural language processing decoder generates the text data by operating on a single input that is the final feature vector received from the unified encoder
Vinyals teaches and the natural language processing decoder generates the text data by operating on a single input that is the final feature vector received from the unified encoder; ([Vinyals, page 3156] “An ‘encoder’ RNN reads the source sentence and transforms it into a rich fixed-length vector representation, which in turn is used as the initial hidden state of a ‘decoder’ RNN that generates the target sentence.”, [Vinyals, page 3157] “Hence, it is natural to use a CNN as an image “encoder”, by first pre-training it for an image classification task and using the last hidden layer as an input to the RNN decoder that generates sentences (see Fig. 1). We call this model the Neural Image Caption, or NIC.”, [Vinyals, page 3159] “The image I is only input once” AND [Vinyals, page 3163] “the CNN to extract features that are relevant to horse-looking animals.”, wherein the examiner interprets “last hidden layer” of the CNN image encoder, which is provided as the only image input (“image I is only input once”) to “the CNN to extract features”, and RNN decoder that “generates sentences,” to be the same as a single final feature vector produced by a unified encoder that is supplied as the sole input to a natural language processing decoder that generates text data.)
Shazeer and Teichmann do not teach and the text data, wherein the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, captioning the images, communicating with a human operator of the machine;
Wang teaches:
and the text data, wherein the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, captioning the images, communicating with a human operator of the machine;
and the text data, wherein the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, , ([Wang, col 2, lines 35-37] “yielding mixed results in tasks, such as VQA, visual reasoning, and image retrieval.”, wherein the examiner interprets image retrieval to be the same as searching the images captured by the camera).
captioning the images, … ([Wang, col 16, lines 54-57] “The text data may also include one or more captions 352 relating or corresponding to the image data 350.”, wherein the examiner interprets captions 352 relating … to the image data 350 to be the same as captioning the images).
communicating with a human operator of the machine ([Wang, col. 3, lines 46-48] “The visual dialogue model 140 can operate with an AI-based machine agent to hold a meaningful dialogue with humans in natural, conversational language about visual content.”, wherein the examiner interprets meaningful dialogue with humans in natural, conversational language about visual content to be the same as communicating with a human operator of the machine).
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to computer-implemented, machine-learning systems that interpret image data with neural networks.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer to include the unified architecture for classification, detection, and segmentation disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently reuse a single set of learned visual features for multiple perception tasks in real time, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 1] “Our approach is also very efficient, allowing us to perform inference at more then 23 frames per second.”). It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the natural language processing to text process disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively enable natural-language interaction and text-based search/captioning over camera images produced by the system, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col. 3, lines 46-48, col. 16, lines 54-57] “The visual dialogue model 140 can operate with an AI-based machine agent to hold a meaningful dialogue with humans in natural, conversational language about visual content. … The text data may also include one or more captions 352 relating or corresponding to the image data 350.”). It would have also been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the RNN for sentence generation disclosed by Vinyals. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently generate natural-language descriptions directly from the shared image feature vectors produced by the encoder, using a dedicated text decoder, as suggested by Vinyals ([Vinyals, [3157, 3161]] “Hence, it is natural to use a CNN as an image ‘encoder’, by first pre-training it for an image classification task and using the last hidden layer as an input to the RNN decoder that generates sentences (see Fig. 1). We call this model the Neural Image Caption, or NIC. … We have presented NIC, an end-to-end neural network system that can automatically view an image and generate a reasonable description in plain English.”).
Regarding claim 2, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The computer implemented system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Wang further teaches:
wherein the different interpretations comprise at least one of a different classification or a conversion of the data into a different data format. ([Wang, Abstract] “The model generates an encoded visual dialogue input from the unified contextualized representation using visual dialogue encoding layers...” AND [Wang, col 15, line 49-54] “the module 330 generates, from the unified contextualized representation and using a first self- s attention mask associated with discriminative settings of the transformer encoder network or a second self-attention mask associated with generative settings of the transformer encoder network, an answer prediction”, wherein the examiner interprets “generative settings of the transformer encoder network, an answer prediction” to be the same as “different interpretations comprising at least one of a different classification or a conversion of the data into a different data format,” as both terms refer to generating outputs that transform the input data into different forms, such as classifications or predictions, to provide an appropriate response or interpretation of the input.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art, because they are all directed to interpreting data using machine learning in a unified encoder-decoder architecture to perform multiple tasks.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “visual dialogue encoding layers” used to generate answer predictions in response to dialogue inputs disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively improve task-specific processing for interpreting complex multi-modal inputs, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col 15, line 49-54] “the module 330 generates, from the unified contextualized representation… generative settings of the transformer encoder network, an answer prediction”).
Regarding claim 3, The system of claim 1, wherein the data comprises first image data, and the different interpretations further comprise second image data. [Teichmann, Abstract] “Towards this goal, we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” AND [Teichmann, Page 1, Introduction] “In this paper we take an alternative approach and design a network architecture that can very efficiently perform classification, detection and semantic segmentation simultaneously. This is done by incorporating all three tasks into a unified encoder-decoder architecture. We name our approach MultiNet”, wherein the examiner interprets “joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation” to be the same as “different interpretations further comprise second image data,” as both terms describe processing image data and producing multiple types of outputs with multiple image inputs, which aligns with the concept of generating different interpretations of the data in the claim.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems for interpreting data to generate multiple outputs using machine learning techniques.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to effectively process image data to produce multiple types of outputs, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, Abstract] “an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” AND [Teichmann, Page 1, Introduction] “This is done by incorporating all three tasks into a unified encoder-decoder architecture. We name our approach MultiNet”).
Regarding claim Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Vinyals further teaches …and the text data is used for image captioning ([Vinyals, Abstract and page 1] “Automatically describing the content of an image” and “a generative model … that can be used to generate natural sentences describing an image…It generates complete sentences in natural language from an input image,” wherein the examiner interprets “generate natural sentences describing an image” and “generates complete sentences in natural language from an input image” to be the same as “the text data is used for image captioning” because they are both directed to generating textual sentence data that describes the content of an image and thereby provides a caption for the image.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals do not teach wherein the different tasks comprise image reconstruction.
Bagci teaches wherein the different tasks comprise image reconstruction ([Bagci, Abstract] “Capsule networks allow for the preservation of information about the input by replacing max-pooling layers with convolutional strides and dynamic routing, allowing for the reconstruction of an input image from output capsule vectors.”; and “The present invention … extends the masked reconstruction to reconstruct the positive input class,” wherein the examiner interprets “the reconstruction of an input image from output capsule vectors” and “masked reconstruction to reconstruct the positive input class” to be the same as “the different tasks comprise image reconstruction” because they are both directed to a neural-network task that reconstructs image data from feature-vector outputs generated during image processing.)
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches A computer implemented system for interpreting data using machine learning, comprising: an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) for an artificial neural network, the ASIC comprising one or more processors and one or more memories configured to execute: ([Wang, page 6] “processor 310 may additionally or alternately include … an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) … that provides accelerated performance when evaluating neural-network models.”, wherein the examiner interprets an ASIC that accelerates evaluation of neural-network models to be the same as the claimed ASIC that houses processors and memories configured to execute the artificial neural network).
Wang does not teach a unified encoder comprising a neural network encoding data into a plurality of feature vectors, wherein the unified encoder is trained using machine learning to generate the feature vectors useful for performing a plurality of different tasks each comprising different interpretations of the data;
a unified encoder comprising a neural network encoding data into a plurality of feature vectors, and a plurality of decoders including a semantic segmentation decoder and a natural language processing decoder connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network interpreting the one or more feature vectors so as to decode one or more of the feature vectors to output one of the interpretations, wherein the semantic segmentation decoder performs the semantic segmentation using both the intermediate feature vector and the final feature vector;.
Teichmann teaches:
wherein the unified encoder is trained using machine learning to generate the feature vectors useful for performing a plurality of different tasks each comprising different interpretations of the data; ([Teichmann, page 1] “we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks”, AND [Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders”, wherein the examiner interprets the “unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” and “encoder … deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task” to be the same as “a unified encoder comprising a neural network encoding data into one or more feature vectors, wherein the unified encoder is trained using machine learning to generate the one or more feature vectors,” because a “deep CNN” is a machine-learned neural network that processes input data into “rich features” (feature vectors) that are shared. The examiner further interprets the “joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation” performed by “task-specific decoders” operating on those shared rich features to be the same as “a plurality of different tasks each comprising different interpretations of the data,” because classification, detection, and semantic segmentation are three different interpretation tasks applied to the same encoded data using the shared feature vectors.)
and a plurality of decoders including a semantic segmentation decoder and a natural language processing decoder connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network interpreting the one or more feature vectors so as to decode one or more of the feature vectors to output one of the interpretations, ([Teichmann, page 1] “This is done by incorporating all three task into a unified encoder-decoder architecture. We name our approach MultiNet … The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders”, wherein the examiner interprets the “unified encoder-decoder architecture” with “rich features that are shared among all task” and “task-specific decoders” to be the same as “a plurality of decoders, including a semantic segmentation decoder, … connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network interpreting the one or more feature vectors so as to decode one or more of the feature vectors to output one of the interpretations” because they are both directed to a deep CNN encoder that produces shared feature representations (feature vectors) which are fed into multiple task-specific decoder neural networks (for classification, detection, and semantic segmentation), each decoder taking the shared features as input and producing its own task-specific interpretation as output.)
wherein the semantic segmentation decoder performs the semantic segmentation using both the intermediate feature vector and the final feature vector ([Teichmann, Fig 2, and pages 3-4] “Encoded Features 39 × 12 × 512, … Features Scale 2 78 × 24 × 256 … Features Scale 3 156 × 48 × 128,” and “The segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture [35]. Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low resolution segmentation of size 39×12 using a 1×1 convolutional layer. This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers [9]. Skip connections are utilized to extract high resolution features from the lower layers. Those features are first processed by a 1×1 convolution layer and then added to the partially upsampled results.”, wherein the examiner interprets “The segmentation decoder … Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low resolution segmentation... [t]his output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers” to be the same as the “semantic segmentation decoder performs the semantic segmentation” because they are both directed to a segmentation-specific decoder processing encoder features to generate a pixel-level segmentation output. The examiner further interprets wherein the examiner interprets “high resolution features from the lower layers,” including “Features Scale 2 78 × 24 × 256” and “Features Scale 3 156 × 48 × 128,” to be the same as the intermediate feature vector because they are both directed to encoder feature representations generated at lower encoder layers before the terminal encoded representation. The examiner further interprets “Encoded Features 39 × 12 × 512” used to “produce a low resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12” to be the same as “the final feature vector” because they are both directed to the terminal encoded feature representation supplied to the segmentation decoder to form the initial segmentation output. Finally, the examiner interprets the lower-layer features being “added to the partially upsampled results” produced from the encoded features to be the same as “using both the intermediate feature vector and the final feature vector” because they are both directed to generating the semantic-segmentation result by combining the terminal encoder representation with earlier, higher-resolution encoder representations.)
and wherein sharing of the feature vectors among the decoders ([Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders,” wherein the examiner interprets the rich features produced by the shared encoder to be the same as the feature vectors because they are both directed to numerical representations extracted from image data by the encoder; and wherein the examiner interprets the rich features being “shared among all task” and “utilized by task-specific decoders” to be the same as sharing of the feature vectors among the decoders because they are both directed to multiple task-specific decoders receiving and using common feature representations generated by the shared encoder.)
enhances the mutual transfer learning enabling more efficient and more accurate performance of the tasks. ([Teichmann, page 2], “Multi-task learning techniques aim at learning better representations by exploiting many tasks.”, [Teichmann, page 1] “Our approach is also very efficient, allowing us to perform inference at more then 23 frames per second. … Our approach is able to benefit from sharing computations, allowing us to perform inference in less than 45 ms for all tasks, … show state-of-the-art performance in road segmentation”; wherein the examiner interprets benefiting from shared computations, performing inference in less than 45 milliseconds for all tasks, and improving the efficiency of joint training to be the same as enabling more efficient performance of the tasks because they are both directed to reducing the computation or training resources required to perform multiple machine-learning tasks. The examiner also interprets state-of-the-art road-segmentation performance to be the same as “enabling more accurate performance of the tasks” because they are both directed to improving the quality and predictive performance of task-specific outputs.)
Wang and Teichmann do not teach the natural language processing decoder generates text data by operating on a single input that is the final feature vector.
Vinyals teaches the natural language processing decoder generates text data by operating on a single input that is the final feature vector ([Vinyals, page 3156] “An ‘encoder’ RNN reads the source sentence and transforms it into a rich fixed-length vector representation, which in turn is used as the initial hidden state of a ‘decoder’ RNN that generates the target sentence.”, [Vinyals, page 3157] “Hence, it is natural to use a CNN as an image “encoder”, by first pre-training it for an image classification task and using the last hidden layer as an input to the RNN decoder that generates sentences (see Fig. 1). We call this model the Neural Image Caption, or NIC.”, [Vinyals, page 3159] “The image I is only input once” AND [Vinyals, page 3163] “the CNN to extract features that are relevant to horse-looking animals.”, wherein the examiner interprets “last hidden layer” of the CNN image encoder, which is provided as the only image input (“image I is only input once”) to “the CNN to extract features”, and RNN decoder that “generates sentences,” to be the same as a single final feature vector produced by a unified encoder that is supplied as the sole input to a natural language processing decoder that generates text data.)
Regarding claim 7, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The computer implemented system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Wang further teaches encoder is modular so that the unified encoder can be transmitted between different ones of the processors and executed or trained on each of the different ones of the processors, and the decoders can be executed on different ones of the processors. ([Wang, col 6, lines 2-15] “In some embodiments, processor 310 and/or memory 320 may include distributed, virtualized, and/or containerized computing resources. Consistent with such embodiments, processor 310 and/or memory 320 may be located in one or more data centers and/or cloud computing facilities... machine-readable media that includes executable code that when run by one or more processors (e.g., processor 310) may cause the one or more processors to perform the methods described in further detail herein.”, wherein the examiner interprets “distributed, virtualized, and/or containerized computing resources” and “processor 310 and/or memory 320... located in one or more data centers and/or cloud computing facilities” to be the same as “the system comprises a distributed network of the processors,” as both are directed to systems enabling processing across multiple physical or virtual computing environments. Additionally, the examiner interprets “machine-readable media that includes executable code that when run by one or more processors... may cause the one or more processors to perform the methods described in further detail herein” to be the same as “the unified encoder is modular so that the unified encoder can be transmitted between different ones of the processors and executed or trained on each of the different ones of the processors,” as both describe mechanisms allowing functionality to be deployed across different processors.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems for deploying and executing machine learning models across distributed computing environments.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the use of “distributed, virtualized, and/or containerized computing resources” disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently enable scalable training and execution of the unified encoder across distributed processors, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col 6, lines 2-15] “processor 310 and/or memory 320 may include distributed, virtualized, and/or containerized computing resources”).
Regarding claim 8, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches: one of the decoders comprises a semantic segmentation decoder executing a decoder convolution layer and deconvolution layers, the semantic segmentation decoder: receives the intermediate feature vector and passing the intermediate feature vector through the decoder convolution layer to form a first output; receives the final feature vector and passing the final feature vector through one a first one of the deconvolution layers to form a second output; ([Teichmann, page 3-4, sec 3.2] “By increasing the input size of our image to 1248 × 348, we effectively apply our feature generator to each spatial location of the image [51] [35]. The result is a grid of 39 × 12 features, each corresponding to a spatial region … The segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture [35]. Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low-resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12 using a 1 × 1 convolutional layer. This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers.”, wherein the examiner interprets “the segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture... given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low-resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12 using a 1 × 1 convolutional layer” to be the same as “receives the intermediate feature vector and passing the intermediate feature vector through the decoder convolution layer to form a first output,” as both describe initial processing of encoder-generated features using features and a segmentation decoder. Additionally, “this output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers” is interpreted to be the same as “receives the final feature vector and passing the final feature vector through one a first one of the deconvolution layers to form a second output,” as both describe refining outputs through deconvolution (a.k.a. transposed convolution) layers.)
concatenates the first output and the second output to form a combined output; and passes the combined output through at least a second one of the deconvolution layers to form the one of the interpretations. ([Teichmann, page 4, sec 3.3] “Thus it can be implemented inside the CNN pooling. The result is an end-to-end trainable system which is faster. The features pooled by the RoI align are concatenated with the initial prediction and used to produce a more accurate prediction. The second prediction is modeled as offset, its output is added to the initial prediction.”, wherein the examiner interprets “the features pooled by the RoI align are concatenated with the initial prediction” to be the same as “concatenates the first output and the second output to form a combined output,” as both describe combining intermediate and subsequent results into a unified representation using concatenation. Additionally, “used to produce a more accurate prediction” and “its output is added to the initial prediction” is interpreted to be the same as “passes the combined output through at least a second one of the deconvolution layers to form the one of the interpretations,” as both describe refining predictions through further processing to generate a final output.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to NN based systems that perform semantic segmentation using encoder-generated feature maps and decoder architectures with convolution and deconvolution (upsampling) layers to produce refined segmentation outputs.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture…Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low-resolution segmentation… This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to effectively improve semantic segmentation accuracy and spatial resolution by combining intermediate and upsampled feature outputs in a decoder with convolution and deconvolution layers, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 3-4] “Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low-resolution segmentation… This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers.”).
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals do not teach wherein: the data comprises an image; the unified encoder executes a plurality of encoder convolution layers so as to output a first one of the feature vectors comprising the intermediate feature vector after a first plurality of the convolution layers and the final feature vector after all the convolution layers;.
Bagci teaches wherein: the data comprises an image; the unified encoder executes a plurality of encoder convolution layers so as to output a first one of the feature vectors comprising an intermediate feature vector after a first plurality of the convolution layers and a final feature vector after all the convolution layers; ([Bagci, col 6, line 31-38] “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the input to the SegCaps network is a 512x512-pixel image, which is depicted in FIG. 2 as a slice of a CT Scan. This image is passed through a 2D convolutional layer which produces 16 feature maps of the same spatial dimensions. This output forms the first set of capsules, with a single capsule type represented by a grid of 512x512 capsules, each of which is a 16-dimensional vector. This is then followed by the first convolutional capsule layer.”, wherein the examiner interprets “the input to the SegCaps network is a 512x512-pixel image” to be the same as “the data comprises an image,” as both describe image data being processed by the encoder. Additionally, “the 2D convolutional layer which produces 16 feature maps of the same spatial dimensions” is interpreted to be the same as “the unified encoder executes a plurality of encoder convolution layers to output a first one of the feature vectors comprising an intermediate feature vector,” as both involve convolutional processing resulting in an intermediate representation. Finally, “this is then followed by the first convolutional capsule layer” is interpreted to be the same as “a final feature vector after all the convolution layers,” as both describe subsequent processing leading to a final output representation.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, Bagci, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems for processing image data through encoders and decoders to generate task-specific outputs.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “the 2D convolutional layer which produces 16 feature maps of the same spatial dimensions” disclosed by Bagci, and the “low-resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12 using a 1 × 1 convolutional layer” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently generate intermediate feature vectors for processing by downstream decoders, as suggested by Bagci ([Bagci, col 6, line 3] “This image is passed through a 2D convolutional layer which produces 16 feature maps of the same spatial dimensions.”).
Regarding claim 9, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci teaches The system of claim 8, (see rejection of claim 8).
Wang further teaches:
wherein another one of the decoders comprises a natural language processing decoder: receives only the final feature vector; flattens the final feature vector to form a flattened feature vector; passes the flattened feature vector through a fully connected layer to reduce a number of dimensions and form a reduced dimension feature vector; concatenates the reduced dimension feature vector with a previous hidden state and previous hidden word, if necessary; to form a concatenated layer ([Wang, col 5, lines 33-38] “For example, the encoder 332 may receive from the input sequence module 336 an output, e.g., an encoded vector representation of a concatenation of the image 350, the image caption 352 and the dialogue history 354.”, wherein the examiner interprets “an encoded vector representation of a concatenation of the image 350, the image caption 352 and the dialogue history 354” to be the same as “concatenates the reduced dimension feature vector with a previous hidden state and previous hidden word, if necessary; to form a concatenated layer,” as both describe combining multiple sources of data, including contextual or historical elements, into a unified, concatenated, representation for further processing.)
inputs the concatenated layer to a bidirectional GRU layer to form a GRU output; and passes the GRU output through at least one fully connected layer so as to reduce a dimensions and form another of the interpretations comprising a word output. ([Wang, col 8, lines 7-27] “the structure 400 can adopt visually-grounded MLM and NSP learning objectives to train the unified transformer encoder 450 for effective vision and dialogue fusion using two types of self-attention masks (e.g., 334). The unified transformer encoder 450 may employ bidirectional and sequence-to-sequence (or referred to as “seq2seq”) self-attention masks for the discriminative and generative settings, respectively. For example, in the discriminative settings, all of the utilities (e.g., image input 410 (depicted as “I”), dialog history 420 (depicted as “H,”), user question 430 (depicted as “Q,”) and answer option (depicted as “A,”)) are not masked (denoted by non-patterned shape), and thus, all are available for attention processing. In the generative settings, all with the exclusion of the answer option are not masked and available for attention processing. In this regard, the answer option is masked using seq2seq self-attention masks. The outputs are further optimized with a ranking optimization module to further fine-tune on the dense annotations.”, wherein the examiner interprets “the unified transformer encoder 450 may employ bidirectional and sequence-to-sequence (or referred to as “seq2seq”) self-attention masks” to be the same as “inputs the concatenated layer to a bidirectional GRU layer to form a GRU output,” as both describe bidirectional processing of input data to generate an output (GRU is a form of bidirectional processing). Additionally, “the outputs are further optimized with a ranking optimization module to further fine-tune on the dense annotations” is interpreted to be the same as “passes the GRU output through at least one fully connected layer so as to reduce a dimensions and form another of the interpretations comprising a word output,” as both describe further processing to refine the final output representation (either word output or annotations).
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, Bagci, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems for processing data through encoders and decoders to generate outputs for tasks such as natural language processing or image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 8 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci to include the “an encoded vector representation of a concatenation of the image 350, the image caption 352 and the dialogue history 354” disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively combine image and contextual data to improve downstream processing and generate richer outputs, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col 5, lines 33-38] “the encoder 332 may receive from the input sequence module 336 an output, e.g., an encoded vector representation of a concatenation of the image 350, the image caption 352 and the dialogue history 354.”)
Regarding claim 10, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci teach The system of claim 9, (see rejection of claim 9).
Teichmann further teaches wherein another one of the decoders comprises an image reconstruction decoder: successively deconvolutes the final feature vector through a plurality of deconvolution layers so as to reconstruct the data comprising an image. ([Teichmann, page 4, sec 3.4] “The segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture [35]. Given the features produced by the encoder, we produce a low resolution segmentation of size 39 × 12 using a 1 × 1 convolutional layer. This output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers [9]. Skip connections are utilized to extract high resolution features from the lower layers. Those features are first processed by a 1 × 1 convolution layer and then added to the partially upsampled results.”, wherein the examiner interprets “this output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers” to be the same as “successively deconvolutes the final feature vector through a plurality of deconvolution layers,” as both describe using transposed convolutions (also known as deconvolutions) to process outputs and achieve reconstruction. Additionally, the examiner interprets “the segmentation decoder follows the main ideas of the FCN architecture” and “added to the partially upsampled results” to be the same as “so as to reconstruct the data comprising an image,” as both describe using segmentation techniques and upsampling to generate a final reconstructed output. )
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, Bagci, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems for processing data through encoders and decoders to reconstruct outputs such as images.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify system of claim 9 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci to include the process where “this output is then upsampled using three transposed convolution layers” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently reconstruct high-resolution images from encoded features, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 4, sec 3.4] “Skip connections are utilized to extract high resolution features from the lower layers. Those features are first processed by a 1 × 1 convolution layer and then added to the partially upsampled results.”).
Regarding claim 11, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci teaches The system of claim 10, (see rejection of claim 10).
Wang further teaches wherein hidden layers in the image reconstruction decoder and the semantic segmentation decoder are equipped with RELU activation. ([Wang, col 9, lines 14-18] “Lastly, visual features with its position features and segment identifier are mapped to an embedding with the same dimension separately via a two-layer liner layer with ReLU activation and further combined with layer normalization.”, wherein the examiner interprets “a two-layer liner layer with ReLU activation” to be the same as “hidden layers in the image reconstruction decoder and the semantic segmentation decoder are equipped with RELU activation,” as both describe layers within the network that incorporate ReLU activation functions to process and transform input data. )
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, Bagci, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems for processing data in neural networks with activation functions to enhance performance.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 10 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci to include the “a two-layer liner layer with ReLU activation” disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively enhance the image segmentation and reconstruction, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col 9, lines 14-18] “ visual features with its position features and segment identifier are mapped to an embedding with the same dimension separately via a two-layer liner layer with ReLU activation and further combined with layer normalization.”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shazeer in view of Teichmann in view of Wang in view of Vinyals in view of Bagci further in view of NPL reference “Pyramid Scheme Parsing Network” by Zhao et al (referred herein as Zhao).
Regarding claim 12, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci teaches The system of claim 8, (see rejection of claim 8).
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci do not teach wherein the unified encoder comprises a spatial pyramid pooling layer after the convolution layers.
Zhao teaches wherein the unified encoder comprises a spatial pyramid pooling layer after the convolution layers. ([Zhao, page 2884, sec 3.2] “The pyramid pooling module fuses features under four different pyramid scales. The coarsest level highlighted in red is global pooling to generate a single bin output. The following pyramid level separates the feature map into different sub-regions and forms pooled representation for different locations. The output of different levels in the pyramid pooling module contains the feature map with varied sizes. … Finally, different levels of features are concatenated as the final pyramid pooling global feature.”, wherein the examiner interprets “the pyramid pooling module fuses features under four different pyramid scales” to be the same as “the unified encoder comprises a spatial pyramid pooling layer” and “the coarsest level highlighted in red is global pooling to generate a single bin output” and “the following pyramid level separates the feature map into different sub-regions and forms pooled representation for different locations” to be the same as “a spatial pyramid pooling layer after the convolution layers,” as both terms are directed to pooling features at multiple spatial scales to generate a unified representation.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, Bagci, Zhao, and the instant application because they are all directed to systems that enhance feature extraction and representation in convolutional neural networks by pyramid pooling features at multiple spatial scales.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 8 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and Bagci to include the “the pyramid pooling module fuses features under four different pyramid scales” disclosed by Zhao. One would be motivated to do so to effectively capture multi-scale spatial features for improved downstream processing, as suggested by Zhao ([Zhao, page 2884, sec 3.2] “Finally, different levels of features are concatenated as the final pyramid pooling global feature.”).
Regarding claim 13, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches wherein the different tasks comprise terrain classification ([Teichmann, Abstract] “Towards this goal, we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” AND [Teichmann, Page 1, Introduction] “In this paper we take an alternative approach and design a network architecture that can very efficiently perform classification, detection and semantic segmentation simultaneously. This is done by incorporating all three tasks into a unified encoder-decoder architecture. We name our approach MultiNet”, wherein the examiner interprets “semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” to be the same as “terrain classification,” as semantic segmentation can divide an image into different terrains, such as grass, forest, crop, or body of water, and “joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation” to be the same as “different interpretations comprising at least one of text data, second image data, or semantic segmentation,” as both terms describe processing image data and producing multiple types of outputs, including semantic segmentation, which aligns with the concept of generating different interpretations of the data in the claim.)
Wang further teaches and image captioning. ([Wang, col 2, lines 56-62] “the subject technology can first encode the image input into a series of detected objects and feed them into a unified transformer encoder together with a corresponding image caption and multi-turn dialogue history.”, wherein the examiner interprets. “encode the image input into a series of detected objects and feed them into a unified transformer encoder together with a corresponding image caption and multi-turn dialogue history input” to be the same as “image captioning,” as both are directed to systems that process multi-task functionalities using a shared encoding approach )
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems that use machine learning models to perform multiple tasks such as terrain classification and image captioning using shared encoder architectures.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include “approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture” by Teichmann to include the process of encoding “the image input into a series of detected objects and … a corresponding image caption” disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively feed detected objects in the image along with the captions, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col 2, lines 56-62] “the subject technology can first encode the image input into a series of detected objects and feed them into a unified transformer encoder together with a corresponding image caption and multi-turn dialogue history.”)
Regarding claim 14, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches wherein the unified encoder comprises a RES NET neural network, an Xception neural network, or a MobileNet neural network. ([Teichmann, page 3, sec 3.1] “We perform experiments using versions of VGG16 [58] and ResNet [22] architectures. Our first VGG encoder uses all convolutional and pooling layers of VGG16”), wherein the examiner interprets “ResNet architectures” to be the same as “RES NET neural network,” as both are directed to unified architectures/encoders comprising of RES NET.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems using neural network architectures to encode data for machine learning tasks.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “ResNet architectures” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to robustly test and comprise of a RES NET neural network, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 3, sec 3.1] “We perform experiments using versions of VGG16 [58] and ResNet [22] architectures.”)
Regarding claim 15, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches further comprising a machine coupled to or including one of the processors, wherein the machine comprises a vehicle, a spacecraft, a weapon, an aircraft, a robot, a medical device, an imaging device or camera, a rover, a sensor, an actuator, an intelligent agent, or a smart device in one or more smart buildings, wherein the machine utilizes one or more of the interpretations for operation of the machine. ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “applications such as autonomous driving. Towards this goal, we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks … Fig. 1: Our goal: Solving street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation in one forward pass”, wherein the examiner interprets “applications such as autonomous driving” and “solving street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation in one forward pass” to be the same as “wherein the machine comprises a vehicle” and “utilizes one or more of the interpretations for operation of the machine,” as both are directed to using interpretations, such as street classification and vehicle detection, for the operation of a vehicle.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems using machine learning models to perform tasks enabling the operation of various machines.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “applications such as autonomous driving” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to effectively enable machine learning systems to support real-time operation and decision-making for machines, such as vehicles, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “Towards this goal, we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks…street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation”).
Regarding claim 16, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches further comprising an apparatus coupled to or including one of the processors and utilizing the interpretations for operation of the apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises at least one machine selected from a machine performing automated manufacturing, devices controlled by a control system, one or more devices used in banking, one or more devices supplying power or controlling power distribution, or one or more devices in an automotive or aerospace system. ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “While most approaches to semantic reasoning have focused on improving performance, in this paper we argue that computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.”, wherein the examiner interprets “real time applications such as autonomous driving” to be the same as “one or more devices in an automotive ... system,” as both are directed to apparatuses that utilize interpretations for automotive operation.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems that use machine learning models to perform real-time tasks for controlling apparatuses, such as automotive or aerospace systems.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “real time applications such as autonomous driving” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to effectively enable automatic, real-time control and operation of apparatuses using machine learning interpretations, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.”).
Regarding claim 17, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 15, (see rejection of claim 15).
Teichmann further teaches comprising a control system actuating motion of the machine in response to the interpretations. ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “While most approaches to semantic reasoning have focused on improving performance, in this paper we argue that computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.”, wherein the examiner interprets “real time applications such as autonomous driving” to be the same as “a control system actuating motion of the machine in response to the interpretations,” as both are directed to systems where the interpretations are used to control and actuate the motion of a machine, such as a vehicle.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems that process data to control the motion of machines based on machine learning interpretations.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 15 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “real time applications such as autonomous driving” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to effectively enable control systems to actuate machine motion in real-time based on data-driven interpretations, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.”)
Regarding claim 18, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Wang further teaches further comprising a display displaying the interpretations and a camera for capturing the data. ([Wang, col 2, lines 40-44] “Specifically, each image in a visual dialogue dataset is associated with up to 10 dialogue turns, which contains much longer contexts than either VQA or image captioning.”, wherein the examiner interprets “each image in a visual dialogue dataset” to be the same as “a camera for capturing the data” and “associated with up to 10 dialogue turns” to be the same as “a display displaying the interpretations,” as both are directed to systems that involve capturing visual data and presenting interpretations or interactions based on that data.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to systems that involve capturing visual data and displaying interpretations to enable user interaction or decision-making.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “each image in a visual dialogue dataset is associated with up to 10 dialogue turns” disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively capture and present visual data alongside contextual interpretations for enhanced user interaction, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col 2, lines 40-44] “Specifically, each image in a visual dialogue dataset is associated with up to 10 dialogue turns, which contains much longer contexts than either VQA or image captioning.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teichmann in view of Vinyals further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 19, Teichmann teaches:
A method for interpreting data using machine learning, comprising: training a unified encoder, comprising neural network, using one or more machine learning models, to generate one or more training feature vectors useful for performing, based on the one or more feature vectors, a plurality of different tasks each comprising different interpretations of training data; ([Teichmann, page 1, Abstract] “we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks.”, wherein the examiner interprets “encoder … shared amongst the three tasks” to be the same as a unified encoder trained once and reused across multiple tasks in the manner claimed)
encoding new data, using the unified encoder, into one or more feature vectors, to generate the one or more feature vectors useful for performing the plurality of different tasks each comprising the different ones of the interpretations of the new data, and ([Teichmann, page 1] “we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks”, AND [Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders”, wherein the examiner interprets “a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” and “rich features that are shared among all task … utilized by task-specific decoders” to be the same as “encoding new data, using the unified encoder, into one or more feature vectors, to generate the one or more feature vectors useful for performing the plurality of different tasks each comprising the different ones of the interpretations” because they are both directed to a single shared encoder (the unified encoder/deep CNN) that produces feature representations (rich features/feature vectors) reused across multiple different tasks (joint classification, detection, and semantic segmentation), each task having its own decoder that outputs a different interpretation of the same encoded data.)
interpreting the one or more feature vectors, using a plurality of decoders including a semantic segmentation decoder … connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network outputting a different one of the interpretations of the new data, ([Teichmann, page 1], “This is done by incorporating all three task into a unified encoder-decoder architecture. We name our approach MultiNet … The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders”, wherein the examiner interprets “a unified encoder-decoder architecture” with “rich features that are shared among all task” and “task-specific decoders” to be the same as “interpreting the one or more feature vectors, using a plurality of decoders including a semantic segmentation decoder … connected to the unified encoder, each of the decoders comprising a neural network outputting a different one of the interpretations of the new data” because they are both directed to a deep CNN encoder (the unified encoder) that produces shared feature representations (the one or more feature vectors) which are fed into multiple task-specific decoder neural networks (the plurality of decoders, including a semantic segmentation decoder), each decoder taking the shared features as input and producing its own task-specific output (a different one of the interpretations of the new data)).
outputting the interpretations to a machine coupled to a camera, wherein the interpretations comprise an identification of an environment of the machine… ([Teichmann, page 1, Introduction] “visual perception is going to play a key role in the development of self-driving cars.” AND [Teichmann, Fig. 1 caption] “Figure 1: Our goal: Solving street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation in one forward pass.” AND [Teichmann, Abstract] “Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders, which produce their outputs in real-time.” wherein the examiner interprets a self-driving car that relies on visual perception with “task-specific decoders … [that] produce their outputs in real-time” to be the same as “outputting the interpretations to a machine coupled to a camera” because they are both directed to a vision-based machine (a vehicle equipped with cameras) receiving decoder outputs that interpret the captured images. The examiner further interprets “street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation” to be the same as “identification of an environment of the machine” because they are all semantic interpretations that describe the surrounding road environment in which the machine (self-driving vehicle) operates.)
… providing navigation or instructions to the machine …([Teichmann, page 1] “computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.” wherein the examiner interprets “real time applications such as autonomous driving” to be the same as “providing navigation or instructions to the machine” because both involve using model outputs (e.g., classification, detection, and segmentation of the scene) to control or guide the vehicle’s motion in real time.)
wherein the unified encoder is trained using at least one of: mutual transfer learning comprising propagating a gradient across orthogonal task specific parameter spaces, ([Teichmann, page 4] “Our joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps. This has the practical advantage that we are able to use different training parameters for each decoder.”, wherein the examiner interprets computing separate forward passes for each task while “the gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps” and “different training parameters for each decoder” to be the same as “mutual transfer learning comprising propagating a gradient across orthogonal task specific parameter spaces” because they are both directed to a multi-task training process in which each task-specific decoder has its own parameter space (task-specific parameters) while a shared gradient signal is propagated back through the common encoder parameters across those distinct task-specific spaces.)
or the machine learning comprising a first model for performing a first one of the different tasks and a second model for performing a second one of the different tasks, ([Teichmann, page 3] “Our approach shares a common encoder over the three tasks and has three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task.”, wherein the examiner interprets “three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task” to be the same as “a first model for performing a first one of the different tasks and a second model for performing a second one of the different tasks” because they are both directed to multiple task-specific neural-network models (decoders) that share a unified encoder but perform different tasks on the encoded features.)
and the training of the unified encoder alternates between the first model and the second model after an epoch or trains both methods each epoch. ([Teichmann, page 4] “Our joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps.”, AND [Teichmann, page 6] “we fine-tune the encoder using just one of the three losses segmentation, detection and classification and compare their performance … In the second part we compare joint training of all three decoders with individual inference…”, wherein the examiner interprets “fine-tune the encoder using just one of the three losses” to be the same as “alternates between the first model and the second model after an epoch” because both describe training the shared encoder using one task’s loss at a time. The examiner further interprets “joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently” with gradients added during back-propagation to be the same as “trains both methods each epoch” because both describe a process in which examples from multiple tasks are processed within the same training schedule so that the unified encoder is updated using gradients from more than one task during each epoch.)
Teichmann does not teach …and a natural language processing decoder… wherein the natural language processing decoder generates one of the interpretations comprising text data by operating on a single input that is a final one of the feature vectors from the unified encoder, … and the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, captioning the images, … or communicating with a human operator of the machine, …
Vinyals teaches, …and a natural language processing decoder…wherein the natural language processing decoder generates one of the interpretations comprising text data by operating on a single input that is a final one of the feature vectors from the unified encoder, and ([Vinyals, page 3156], “An ‘encoder’ RNN reads the source sentence and transforms it into a rich fixed-length vector representation, which in turn is used as the initial hidden state of a ‘decoder’ RNN that generates the target sentence.”, [Vinyals, page 3157], “Hence, it is natural to use a CNN as an image “encoder”, by first pre-training it for an image classification task and using the last hidden layer as an input to the RNN decoder that generates sentences (see Fig. 1). We call this model the Neural Image Caption, or NIC.”, [Vinyals, page 3159], “The image I is only input once” AND [Vinyals, page 3163], “the CNN to extract features that are relevant to horse-looking animals.”, wherein the examiner interprets “last hidden layer” of the CNN image encoder, which is provided as the only image input (“image I is only input once”) to “the CNN to extract features”, and RNN decoder that “generates sentences,” to be the same as a single final feature vector produced by a unified encoder that is supplied as the sole input to a natural language processing decoder that generates text data because they are both directed to architectures in which an encoder network processes an image into a single fixed-length feature representation (the last hidden layer/feature vector). In both cases, that vector is then provided as the only input to a decoder neural network which outputs a natural-language sentence as the textual interpretation of that image.)
Vinyals does not teach … and the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, captioning the images, … or communicating with a human operator of the machine, …
Wang teaches … and the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, captioning the images, … or communicating with a human operator of the machine, …
Wang teaches and the text data is used to perform at least one of searching the images captured by the camera, ([Wang, col. 2, lines 35–37] “yielding mixed results in tasks, such as VQA, visual reasoning, and image retrieval.”, wherein the examiner interprets “image retrieval” to be the same as “searching the images captured by the camera” because they are both directed to using learned text/visual representations to search for and retrieve images from a collection of captured images.)
captioning the images, ([Wang, col. 16, lines 54–57] “The text data may also include one or more captions 352 relating or corresponding to the image data 350.”, wherein the examiner interprets “captions 352 relating or corresponding to the image data 350” to be the same as “captioning the images” because they are both directed to generating text captions that describe associated images.)
… or communicating with a human operator of the machine, ([Wang, col. 3, lines 46–48] “The visual dialogue model 140 can operate with an AI-based machine agent to hold a meaningful dialogue with humans in natural, conversational language about visual content.”, wherein the examiner interprets “hold a meaningful dialogue with humans in natural, conversational language about visual content” to be the same as “communicating with a human operator of the machine” because they are both directed to a machine agent using generated text to converse with a human about visual (image) data.)
Teichmann, Vinyals, Wang, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to methods for interpreting image data using a unified encoder and multiple neural-network decoders to produce both visual and textual interpretations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method claim 19 disclosed by Teichmann to include the RNN decoder disclosed by Vinyals. One would be motivated to do so to effectively generate natural-language descriptions of images directly from the shared feature vectors produced by the unified encoder, as suggested by Vinyals ([Vinyals, page 3157, page 3161] “using the last hidden layer as an input to the RNN decoder that generates sentences … an end-to-end neural network system that can automatically view an image and generate a reasonable description in plain English.”).
It would have also been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method claim 19 disclosed by Teichmann to include the AI-based machine agent disclosed by Wang. One would be motivated to do so to effectively use the generated text data for image search, captioning, and natural-language interaction with a human operator about the machine’s visual environment, as suggested by Wang ([Wang, col. 3, lines 46-48] “operate with an AI-based machine agent to hold a meaningful dialogue with humans in natural, conversational language about visual content.”).
Regarding claim 21, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals teach The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches wherein the machine comprises a vehicle, a spacecraft, a weapon, an aircraft, a robot, a medical device, a machine performing automated manufacturing, one or more devices used in banking, one or more devices supplying power or controlling power distribution, or a smart device in one or more smart buildings. ([Teichmann, page 1] “computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.”, AND [Teichmann, page 1] “Current advances in the field of computer vision have made clear that visual perception is going to play a key role in the development of self-driving cars … Figure 1: Our goal: Solving street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation in one forward pass.”, wherein the examiner interprets “applications such as autonomous driving” and “self-driving cars … solving street classification, vehicle detection and road segmentation in one forward pass” to be the same as “wherein the machine comprises a vehicle …” because they are both directed to a machine that is specifically a vehicle (a self-driving car) that uses the interpreted outputs (street classification, vehicle detection, road segmentation) for its operation. The examiner further notes that the claim recites a group (“a vehicle, a spacecraft, a weapon, an aircraft, a robot, a medical device, a machine performing automated manufacturing, one or more devices used in banking, one or more devices supplying power or controlling power distribution, or a smart device in one or more smart buildings”), and that teaching one member of this group (a vehicle) is sufficient to meet the limitation as written, since the prior art system implemented on a vehicle falls within the claimed set of machine types.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to computer-implemented neural-network systems that interpret image or sensor data to control or assist operation of machines (including vehicles and other automated devices).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “applications such as autonomous driving” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to effectively adapt the general perception and interpretation system for deployment on concrete autonomous machines such as vehicles that require real-time visual perception for safe operation, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 1] “computational times are very important in order to enable real time applications such as autonomous driving.”).
Regarding claim 23, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teach The system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches:
wherein the unified encoder is trained using the machine learning ([Teichmann, page 1] “Our approach is very simple, can be trained end-to-end…” AND [Teichmann, page 4] “MultiNet training follows a classic fine-tuning pipeline.” wherein the examiner interprets “can be trained end-to-end” and “MultiNet training follows a classic fine-tuning pipeline” to be the same as “the unified encoder is trained using the machine learning” because they are both directed to training the shared encoder of the network using machine-learning optimization procedures.)
comprising a first model for performing a first one of the different tasks and a second model for performing a second one of the different tasks, ([Teichmann, page 3] “Our approach shares a common encoder over the three tasks and has three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task.”, wherein the examiner interprets “three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task” to be the same as “a first model for performing a first one of the different tasks and a second model for performing a second one of the different tasks” because they are both directed to multiple task-specific neural-network models (decoders) that share a unified encoder but each performs a different task.).
and the training of the unified encoder alternates between the first model and the second model after an epoch [Teichmann, page 5] “we fine-tune the encoder using just one of the three losses segmentation, detection and classification and compare their performance…”, wherein the examiner interprets “fine-tune the encoder using just one of the three losses” to be the same as “the training of the unified encoder alternates between the first model and the second model after an epoch” because both describe training the shared encoder with one task’s loss (one model) at a time in separate phases, which corresponds to alternating task-specific training over epochs.)
or trains both methods each epoch. ([Teichmann, page 4] “Our joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps.” AND [Teichmann, page 5] “In the second part we compare joint training of all three decoders with individual inference…”, wherein the examiner interprets “joint training implementation [that] computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently” with gradients added during back-propagation and “joint training of all three decoders” to be the same as “trains both methods each epoch” because both describe a process in which examples from multiple tasks (multiple models) are processed within the same training schedule and their gradients are combined to update the shared encoder during each training epoch.)
Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to multi-task neural-network systems that use a shared encoder trained with machine learning to support multiple different task-specific models or decoders.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system claim 1 disclosed by Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals to include the “our approach shares a common encoder over the three tasks and has three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently improve the shared encoder’s performance by alternately or jointly training it with losses from multiple task-specific models, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 3] “our approach shares a common encoder over the three tasks and has three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task”).
Regarding claim 24, Wang, Teichmann, and Vinyals teach The system of claim 5, (see rejection of claim 5).
Teichman further teaches wherein the unified encoder ([Teichmann, page 3] “Our approach shares a common encoder over the three tasks and has three branches, each implementing a decoder for a given task.”, wherein the examiner interprets “common encoder over the three tasks” to be the same as “the unified encoder” because both describe a single shared encoder network whose parameters are reused across multiple tasks.)
is trained using mutual transfer learning ([Teichmann, page 4] “Our joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps. This has the practical advantage that we are able to use different training parameters for each decoder.”, wherein the examiner interprets “joint training implementation” with gradients from multiple tasks being added during back-propagation to be the same as “mutual transfer learning” because both describe a regime where learning signals from different tasks are shared through a common encoder so that training on one task benefits the others via the shared parameters.)
comprising gradient propagation across orthogonal task-specific parameter spaces ([Teichmann, page 4] “computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps. This has the practical advantage that we are able to use different training parameters for each decoder.”, wherein the examiner interprets performing forward passes “for each of the three tasks independently” with “different training parameters for each decoder” and then adding gradients during back-propagation to be the same as “gradient propagation across orthogonal task-specific parameter spaces” because each decoder has its own distinct (task-specific) parameter space while the shared encoder receives gradient contributions from all tasks, so gradients propagate from separate task-specific parameter areas into the common encoder, transferring information across tasks.)
and the different tasks comprise commonalities or utilize shared information ([Teichmann, page 1] “we present an approach to joint classification, detection and semantic segmentation using a unified architecture where the encoder is shared amongst the three tasks” AND [Teichmann, page 1] “The encoder is a deep CNN, producing rich features that are shared among all task. Those features are then utilized by task-specific decoders.”, wherein the examiner interprets “encoder … shared amongst the three tasks” and “rich features that are shared among all task … utilized by task-specific decoders” to be the same as “the different tasks comprise commonalities or utilize shared information” because both describe multiple tasks (classification, detection, semantic segmentation) that rely on common, shared feature representations produced by the unified encoder, i.e., the tasks share information via the encoder’s features and thus comprise commonalities in their learned representations.)
Wang, Teichmann, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to multi-task neural-network systems in which a shared (unified) encoder is trained using learning signals from multiple related tasks so that the tasks share information via common learned feature representations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system claim 5 disclosed by Wang, Teichmann, and Vinyals to include the “our joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps. This has the practical advantage that we are able to use different training parameters for each decoder” disclosed by Teichmann. One would be motivated to do so to efficiently implement mutual transfer learning with gradient propagation across task-specific parameter spaces so that related tasks can exploit shared information in the unified encoder, as suggested by Teichmann ([Teichmann, page 4] “our joint training implementation computes the forward passes for examples corresponding to each of the three tasks independently. The gradients are only added during the back-propagation steps.”).Regarding claim 25, Shazeer, Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals teaches The computer implemented system of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Teichmann further teaches wherein the increased efficiency enables performance of the tasks on an autonomous vehicle. ([Teichmann, Abstract, page 1] “Our approach is also very efficient, allowing us to perform inference at more then 23 frames per second.”, [Teichmann, page 1] “Our approach is able to benefit from sharing computations, allowing us to perform inference in less than 45 ms for all tasks.”, [Teichmann, Title, page 1] “MultiNet: Real-time Joint Semantic Reasoning for Autonomous Driving.”, [Teichmann, Abstract, page 1013] “computational times are very important in order to enable real-time applications such as autonomous driving.”, AND [Teichmann, page 1] “visual perception is going to play a key role in the development of self-driving cars.”, wherein the examiner interprets Teichmann's approach being “very efficient, allowing us to perform inference at more then 23 frames per second” while “sharing computations, allowing us to perform inference in less than 45 ms for all tasks” to be the same as “the increased efficiency enables performance of the tasks,” and interprets Teichmann's system for “Autonomous Driving” directed to “real-time applications such as autonomous driving” and “the development of self-driving cars” to be the same as “on an autonomous vehicle,” because they are both directed to a computationally efficient shared-encoder architecture whose increased efficiency enables the multiple perception tasks to be performed in real time deployed on a self-driving/autonomous vehicle).
Wang, Teichmann, Vinyals, and the instant application are analogous art because they are all directed to multi-task neural-network systems in which a shared (unified) encoder is trained using learning signals from multiple related tasks so that the tasks share information via common learned feature representations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the computer-implemented system of Shazeer, as modified by Teichmann, Wang, and Vinyals, to include the use in an autonomous vehicle as disclosed by Teichmann. One would have been motivated to do so to apply the combined shared-encoder architecture to an autonomous vehicle in order to leverage the increased computational efficiency to perform multiple perception tasks, such as semantic segmentation, object detection, classification, and language-based interpretation, within the real-time constraints required for self-driving vehicles, thereby improving processing speed, reducing computational overhead, and enabling practical deployment of the multi-task system in an autonomous driving environment. Such a modification merely applies the known advantages of the combined multi-task architecture to the well-established field of autonomous vehicles and would have yielded the predictable result of enabling efficient real-time operation on a self-driving vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVAN KAPOOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126