DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0386227) and Kamalasanan et al (US 2013/0015431).
Regarding claim 1, Eum et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, i.e. a first electrode, a cathode, i.e. a second electrode, and an organic layer, i.e. an interlayer, disposed between the anode and cathode ([0018] and [0276] - Table 2). The organic layer comprises the following ([0276] - Table 2):
hole injection layer / hole transport layer / light emitting layer / auxiliary electron
transport layer / electron transport layer / electron injection layer,
where the auxiliary electron transport layer corresponds to the recited first electron transport layer, and the electron transport layer corresponds to the recited second electron transport layer. From the above stacking of layers, it is clear that the auxiliary electron transport layer or first electron transport layer and the electron transport layer or second electron transport layer are directly in contact with each other.
The auxiliary transport layer comprises the following compound ([0019], [0061], [0044], and Page 6 – Compound 5):
.
This compounds corresponds to the compound represented by Formula 1:
,
where:
X12 and X13 are N;
X11 is C(R15), where R15 is H;
L11 and L12 are single bonds;
L13 is an unsubstituted benzene ring;
a11, a12, and a13 are one (1);
Ar11 and Ar12 are unsubstituted phenyl groups; the integers b11 and b12 are both one (1); and
R11 and R12 are hydrogen.
The group:
,
is represented by Formula 1A-1:
,
where:
R13 and R14 are methyl groups, i.e. C1 alkyls; and
c11 and c13 are three (3).
The reference teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above; however, the reference does not disclose that the electron transport layer, i.e. the recited second electron transport layer, comprises a compound represented by Formula 2.
Lee et al discloses an organic light emitting device, where the electron transport layer comprises the following compound (Abstract, [0026] [0093], [0098], [0091], and Page 24):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula 2:
,
where:
X21 to X26 are N;
L21 and L22 are single bonds;
a21 and a22 are both one (1); and
Ar21, Ar22, Ar23 and Ar24 are unsubstituted phenyl groups.
CY21 corresponds to recited Formula 2A-20:
.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following compound (Page 45):
This compound is identical to the compound discussed above, i.e.
X21 to X26 are N;
L21 and L22 are single bonds;
a21 and a22 are both one (1); and
Ar21, Ar22, Ar23 and Ar24 are unsubstituted phenyl groups,
except for the position that the triazine rings bond to the spirobifluorene, i.e. in this compound CY21 corresponds to recited Formula 2AA-19:
.
The reference discloses that the use of these compounds improves the efficiency, low driving voltage, and lifetime characteristics of the organic light emitting device ([0025]).
Given that both Eum et al and Lee et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices comprising electron transport layers, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit the presence of other compounds in the electron transport layer, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compound as taught by Lee et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in the electron transport layer in order to improve the efficiency, the driving voltage, and lifetime characteristics of the device disclosed by Eum et al by with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combined disclosures of Eum et al and Lee et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above; however, Eum et al does not disclose that the electron transport layer, i.e. the recited second electron transport layer, comprises a Li complex as recited in the present claims.
Kamalasanan et al discloses that doping electron transport material with n-dopant lithium quinolates such as (Abstract, [0021], [0043], and [0041] – Compounds 1, 2 and 5):
and
,
i.e. Li metal complexes, improves the electron mobility of the electron transport material in organic light emitting devices (Abstract, [0015], and [0064]). Furthermore, compounds such as Compounds 1, 2, and 5 above have high thermal stability and high crystallization temperature, and are therefore, particularly favored for organic light emitting device because aggregation and crystallization affects device stability and lifetime ([0121]).
Given that both Eum et al and Kamalasanan et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices comprising electron transport layers, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit the presence of other compounds in the electron transport layer, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the Li complexes as taught by Kamalasanan et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such complexes in the electron transport layer of the organic light emitting device disclosed by Eum et al in order to improve device stability and lifetime with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses the following compound:
,
which corresponds to Formula 1-1 of the claims:
Regarding claim 10, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. In the compound disclosed by Lee et al, the groups represented by:
and
,
both correspond to Formula 2B-1:
.
Regarding claim 11, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses the compound:
,
which corresponds to Compound M-1-1 of the present claims.
Furthermore, as discussed above, Lee et al discloses the compound:
.
This compound does not correspond to Formula M-2-18 of the present claims:
,
i.e. the claimed compound possesses two (2) phenylene linking groups not present in the compound disclosed by the reference. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to the following formula ([0006] – Chemical Formula 1):
,
where L1 and L2 can be single bonds or unsubstituted arylene groups having 6 to 20 carbon atoms ([0010] and [0064]-[0065]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where L1 and L2 are both C6 arylenes, i.e. phenylene groups, and therefore, the reference discloses compound M-2-18 of the claims.
Regarding claim 12, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses the compound:
.
The reference does not disclose that this compound has a glass transition temperature of about 110 to 160 ºC. However, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by the present claims, and therefore, the compound necessarily possesses a glass transition temperature within the recited range.
The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed compound, and therefore, the claimed physical property would naturally arise and be achieved by the compound. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position; and (2) it would be the Office's position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 13, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses that the auxiliary electron transport layer, i.e. recited first electron transport layer, is between the light emitting layer and the electron transport layer, i.e. recited second electron transport layer.
Regarding claim 15, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses an organic light emitting device with the following layers:
anode / hole injection layer / hole transport layer / light emitting layer / auxiliary electron transport layer / electron transport layer / electron injection layer / cathode.
The hole transport and hole injection layers correspond to the recited hole transport region and are found between the anode, i.e. recited first electrode, and the light emitting layer. The auxiliary electron transport layer, the electron transport layer and the electron injection layer correspond to the recited electron transport region, and are between the light emitting layer and the cathode, i.e. recited second electrode.
Regarding claim 17, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Eum et al discloses that the light emitting layer comprises a host and a dopant based on a metal complex, exemplified as Ir(ppy)3, i.e. a phosphorescent dopant ([0062] and [0268]).
Regarding claim 18, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Eum et al discloses a display comprising the disclosed organic light emitting device ([0019]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900), Lee et al (US 2019/0386227), and Kamalasanan et al (US 2013/0015431) as applied to claims 1, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-18 above, and in view of Yamada et al (US 2010/0033081).
The discussion with respect to of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al as set forth in Paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 16, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses that the organic light emitting device comprises a hole transport region, where the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer. However, the reference does not disclose that the organic light emitting device comprises two (2) hole transport layers as recited in the present claims.
Yamada et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a pair of electrodes, a plurality of organic layers, including a light emitting layer, and two (2) hole transport layers ([0067]-[0068]). The second hole transport layer is laminated adjacent to the light emitting layer on the anode side of the light emitting layer, and the first hole transport layer is adjacent to the second hole transport layer ([0068]). A material having an ionization potential close to that of an anode is used in the first hole transport layer and a material having a wide bad gap is used in the second hole transport layer ([0069]). Accordingly, the reference discloses a first hole transport layer comprising a first hole transport material and a second hole transport layer comprising a second hole transport material different from the first. The arrangement of the two (2) hole transport layers results in holes being injected from the anode into the organic layer and entrapment of carriers and excitons in the light emitting layer ([0070]-[0071]). As a result reduction in driving voltage and improvement in external quantum efficiency is obtained ([0072]-[0073]).
Given that both Eum et al and Yamada et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices comprising hole transport layers, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit the presence of other layers in the organic light emitting device, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of two (2) hole transport layers as taught by Yamada et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize two (2) such hole transport layers in the organic light emitting device disclosed by Eum et al in order to reduce driving voltage and improve the external quantum efficiency of the device disclosed by Lee et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900), Lee et al (US 2019/0386227), and Kamalasanan et al (US 2013/0015431) as applied to claims 1, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-18 above, and in view of Shin et al (US 2012/0049192).
The discussion with respect to of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al as set forth in Paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 19, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. While Eum et al discloses a display device, the reference does not disclose that the display apparatus comprises a thin film transistor as recited in the present claims ([0019]).
Shin et al discloses a display apparatus comprising a thin film transistor (Abstract). The thin film transistor comprises a source electrode, a drain electrode and an active layer (Abstract). The transistor further comprises an organic light emitting device, where the first electrode of the organic light emitting device is connected to the drain electrode ([0048]). The reference discloses that the flat panel display apparatus comprising the thin film transistor easily provides uniform electrical characteristics and uniform display characteristics.
Given that both Eum et al and Shin et al are drawn to display devices comprising organic light emitting devices, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit other device elements, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the thin film transistor as taught by Shin et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device disclosed by Eum et al to include the thin film transistor disclosed by Shin et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900), Lee et al (US 2019/0386227), and Kamalasanan et al (US 2013/0015431) as applied to claims 1, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-18 above, and in view of Ishida et al (US 2009/0108747).
The discussion with respect to of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al as set forth in Paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 20, the combined disclosures of Eum et al. Lee et al, and Kamalasanan et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. While Eum et al discloses a display device, the reference does not disclose that the display apparatus comprises a functional layer, where the functional layer is a color filter as recited in the present claims ([0019]).
Ishida et al discloses that an electroluminescent display, or an organic light diode display generally, includes a base substrate, an organic member, e.g. a color filter on the substate, a gas barrier layer, and an organic electroluminescent unit on the gas barrier layer ([0003]).
In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Eum et al to include a color filter, as doing so would amount to nothing more than use of a known display element for its intended use, in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900) in view of Pflumm et al (US 2011/0095282).
Regarding claim 1, Eum et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, i.e. a first electrode, a cathode, i.e. a second electrode, and an organic layer, i.e. an interlayer, disposed between the anode and cathode ([0018] and [0276] - Table 2). The organic layer comprises the following ([0276] - Table 2):
hole injection layer / hole transport layer / light emitting layer / auxiliary electron
transport layer / electron transport layer / electron injection layer,
where the auxiliary electron transport layer corresponds to the recited first electron transport layer, and the electron transport layer corresponds to the recited second electron transport layer. From the above stacking of layers, it is clear that the auxiliary electron transport layer or first electron transport layer and the electron transport layer or second electron transport layer are directly in contact with each other.
The auxiliary transport layer comprises the following compound ([0019], [0061], [0044], and Page 6 – Compound 5):
.
This compounds corresponds to the compound represented by Formula 1:
,
where:
X12 and X13 are N;
X11 is C(R15), where R15 is H;
L11 and L12 are single bonds;
L13 is an unsubstituted benzene ring;
a11, a12, and a13 are one (1);
Ar11 and Ar12 are unsubstituted phenyl groups;
b11 and b12 are both one (1); and
R11 and R12 are hydrogen.
The group:
,
is represented by Formula 1A-1:
,
where:
R13 and R14 are methyl groups, i.e. C1 alkyls; and
c11 and c13 are three (3).
The reference teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above; however, the reference does not disclose that the electron transport layer, i.e. the recited second electron transport layer, comprises a compound represented by Formula 2.
Pflumm et al discloses an organic electroluminescent device, where the electron transport layer comprises a triazine derivative as an electron transport material in combination with an organic alkali-metal compound (Abstract, [0007-[0008], and [0011]).
The triazine derivative is exemplified as (Page 5- Compound 2):
.
This compound corresponds to the compound represented by Formula 2:
,
where:
X21 to X26 are N;
L21 and L22 are single bonds;
a21 and a22 are both one (1); and
Ar21, Ar22, Ar23 and Ar24 are unsubstituted phenyl groups.
CY21 corresponds to recited Formula 2AA-17:
.
The organic alkali compound is exemplified as ([0060], [0068], and [0073] - 179 and 180):
and
,
and corresponds to the recited Li complex.
The combination of the triazine derivative and organic alkali-metal compound results in simultaneously obtaining high efficiencies and long lifetimes ([0007]), as well as reduced operating voltages ([0008]).
Given that both Eum et al and Pflumm et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices comprising electron transport layers, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit the presence of other compounds in the electron transport layer, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compounds as taught by Pflumm et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in the electron transport layer of the organic light emitting device disclosed by Eum et al in order to improve the efficiency, lifetime, and operating voltage of the device with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses the following compound:
,
which corresponds to Formula 1-1 of the claims:
Regarding claim 10, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. In the compound disclosed by Pflumm et al, the groups represented by:
and
,
both correspond to Formula 2B-1:
.
Regarding claim 12, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses the compound:
.
The reference does not disclose that this compound has a glass transition temperature of about 110 to 160 ºC. However, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by the present claims, and therefore, the compound necessarily possesses a glass transition temperature within the recited range.
The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed compound, and therefore, the claimed physical property would naturally arise and be achieved by the compound. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position; and (2) it would be the Office's position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding claim 13, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses that the auxiliary electron transport layer, i.e. recited first electron transport layer, is between the light emitting layer and the electron transport layer, i.e. recited second electron transport layer.
Regarding claim 14, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Eum et al discloses that the electron transport layer, i.e. the recited second electron transport layer, comprises a Alq3, i.e. a metal containing material ([0276] – Table 2).
Regarding claim 15, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses an organic light emitting device with the following layers:
anode / hole injection layer / hole transport layer / light emitting layer / auxiliary electron transport layer / electron transport layer / electron injection layer / cathode.
The hole transport and hole injection layers correspond to the recited hole transport region and are found between the anode, i.e. recited first electrode, and the light emitting layer. The auxiliary electron transport layer, the electron transport layer and the electron injection layer correspond to the recited electron transport region, and are between the light emitting layer and the cathode, i.e. recited second electrode.
Regarding claim 17, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Eum et al discloses that the light emitting layer comprises a host and a dopant based on a metal complex, exemplified as Ir(ppy)3, i.e. a phosphorescent dopant ([0062] and [0268]).
Regarding claim 18, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Eum et al discloses a display comprising the disclosed organic light emitting device ([0019]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900) and Pflumm et al (US 2011/0095282) as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 above, and in view of Yamada et al (US 2010/0033081).
The discussion with respect to Eum et al and Pflumm et al as set forth in Paragraph 10 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 16, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Eum et al discloses that the organic light emitting device comprises a hole transport region, where the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer. However, the reference does not disclose that the organic light emitting device comprises two (2) hole transport layers as recited in the present claims.
Yamada et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a pair of electrodes, a plurality of organic layers, including a light emitting layer, and two (2) hole transport layers ([0067]-[0068]). The second hole transport layer is laminated adjacent to the light emitting layer on the anode side of the light emitting layer, and the first hole transport layer is adjacent to the second hole transport layer ([0068]). A material having an ionization potential close to that of an anode is used in the first hole transport layer and a material having a wide bad gap is used in the second hole transport layer ([0069]). Accordingly, the reference discloses a first hole transport layer comprising a first hole transport material and a second hole transport layer comprising a second hole transport material different from the first. The arrangement of the two (2) hole transport layers results in holes being injected from the anode into the organic layer and entrapment of carriers and excitons in the light emitting layer ([0070]-[0071]). As a result reduction in driving voltage and improvement in external quantum efficiency is obtained ([0072]-[0073]).
Given that both Eum et al and Yamada et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices comprising hole transport layers, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit the presence of other layers in the organic light emitting device, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of two (2) hole transport layers as taught by Yamada et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize two (2) such hole transport layers in the organic light emitting device disclosed by Eum et al in order to reduce driving voltage and improve the external quantum efficiency of the device disclosed by Pflumm et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900) and Pflumm et al (US 2011/0095282) as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 above, and in view of Shin et al (US 2012/0049192).
The discussion with respect to Eum et al and Pflumm et al as set forth in Paragraph 10 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 19, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. While Eum et al discloses a display device, the reference does not disclose that the display apparatus comprises a thin film transistor as recited in the present claims ([0019]).
Shin et al discloses a display apparatus comprising a thin film transistor (Abstract). The thin film transistor comprises a source electrode, a drain electrode and an active layer (Abstract). The transistor further comprises an organic light emitting device, where the first electrode of the organic light emitting device is connected to the drain electrode ([0048]). The reference discloses that the flat panel display apparatus comprising the thin film transistor easily provides uniform electrical characteristics and uniform display characteristics.
Given that both Eum et al and Shin et al are drawn to display devices comprising organic light emitting devices, and given that Eum et al does not explicitly prohibit other device elements, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the thin film transistor as taught by Shin et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device disclosed by Eum et al to include the thin film transistor disclosed by Shin et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum et al (US 2018/0053900) and Pflumm et al (US 2011/0095282) as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 17-18 above, and in view of Ishida et al (US 2009/0108747).
The discussion with respect to Eum et al and Pflumm et al as set forth in Paragraph 10 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 20, the combined disclosures of Eum et al and Pflumm et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. While Eum et al discloses a display device, the reference does not disclose that the display apparatus comprises a functional layer, where the functional layer is a color filter as recited in the present claims ([0019]).
Ishida et al discloses that an electroluminescent display, or an organic light diode display generally, includes a base substrate, an organic member, e.g. a color filter on the substate, a gas barrier layer, and an organic electroluminescent unit on the gas barrier layer ([0003]).
In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Eum et al to include a color filter, as doing so would amount to nothing more than use of a known display element for its intended use, in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the claim objection and 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejection set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Applicants argue that Eum et al and Lee do not disclose that: (i) the first and second electron transport layers are in direct contact with each other; (ii) CY21 is a group represented by one of Formulas 2AA-17 to 2AA-22; and (iii) the second electron transport layer comprises a lithium complex. However, firstly, as discussed in the rejections above, Eum et al discloses an organic light emitting device with the following stacking of layers:
hole injection layer / hole transport layer / light emitting layer / auxiliary electron
transport layer / electron transport layer / electron injection layer.
The auxiliary electron transport layer corresponds to the recited first electron transport layer, and the electron transport layer corresponds to the recited second electron transport layer. From the above stacking of layers it is clear that the auxiliary electron transport layer (first electron transport layer) and the electron transport layer (second electron transport layer) are directly in contact with each other.
Secondly, as discussed in the rejections above, Lee et al discloses: the following compounds:
.
In these compounds CY21 corresponds to recited Formulas 2A-20 and 2AA-19:
,
,
respectively.
Thirdly, regarding the Li complex, as set forth in the rejections above, this deficiency in Eum et al is remedied by Kamalasanan et al. Specifically, the reference discloses that lithium complexes such as:
and
,
improve the electron mobility of the electron transport material of the electron transport layer Additionally, these compounds have high thermal stability and high crystallization temperature, and are therefore, particularly favored for organic light emitting device because aggregation and crystallization affects device stability and lifetime.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786