DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s RCE submission filed on 12/08/2025 has been entered.
Status of Claims
A reply was filed on 12/08/2025. The amendments to the claims have been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 15-21 are pending in the application with claims 16-21 withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 15 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite “the generated iodide ion being trapped by the generating and trapping component”. The claims later recite “a generating and trapping component which generates an iodide ion from [] organic iodine and traps the generated iodide ion[]”. It is unclear how the latter limitation differs from the previously recited limitation (see also Applicant’s Remarks, pp. 8-9).
Claim 1 recites “wherein the generating component has a content of 0.07 mass% or more with respect to the generating and trapping component”. It is unclear what feature the “content” is referring to in the claim. For example, it is unclear if the claim is intending to recite the first trapping agent comprises 0.07 mass% or more of the “generating component”, the rest “generating and trapping component”, or another interpretation.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the generating and trapping component is a nonvolatile liquid”. Parent claim 1 previously recites “wherein the generating and trapping component is an ionic liquid”. It is unclear the relationship between the “nonvolatile liquid” and the “ionic liquid”. For example, it is unclear if claim 2 is intending to further specify that the “ionic liquid” is nonvolatile, if the “generating and trapping component” comprises multiple liquids, or another interpretation.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the generating component has an oxidation-reduction potential of lower than 0.54 V, which is a standard electrode potential at which iodine is reduced”. It is unclear if the “oxidation-reduction potential” of the “generating component” is referring to a standard redox potential (i.e., determined using a standard hydrogen electrode) of the “generating component” or another measure. The oxidation-reduction behavior of a substance depends on the conditions of, for example, the solution, the electrodes, etc. It is therefore unclear the conditions under which the “generating component” need have an oxidation-reduction potential of lower than 0.54V. For example, it is unclear if the claim is intending to recite “wherein the generating component has a standard oxidation-reduction potential of lower than 0.54 V”.
Claim 10 recites “a radioactive substance removal filter configured to remove a radioactive substance in the gas”. It is unclear the relationship between the “radioactive substance” and the previously recited “organic iodine” (parent claim 1), “aerosol”, and “inorganic iodine”.
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means”, but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a generating component, which is a component different from the generating and trapping component, and which generates an iodide ion from the organic iodine at least at 100°C to 130°C, the generated iodide ion being trapped by the generating and trapping component” in claim 1 and “a generating component, which is different from the generating and trapping component, and which generates an iodide ion from the organic iodine at least at 100°C to 130°C, the generated iodide ion being trapped by the generating and trapping component” in claim 15. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (see [0032], [0036]).
If Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP Publication No. 2017-223535 (“Fukui”) in view of US Publication No. 2009/0127202 (“Bruchertseifer”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Fukui (previously cited) (see FIG. 1) discloses a nuclear power structure, comprising:
a nuclear power structure main body (4) ([0017]); and
an iodine trapping apparatus (30) configured to trap organic iodine in a gas ([0012]), wherein
the iodine trapping apparatus comprises
a first trapping agent, disposed in a first vessel (1), capable of trapping the organic iodine which is disposed in the first vessel ([0012], [0018]), wherein the first trapping agent contains
a generating and trapping component (3) (e.g., “ionic liquid”, “trihexyl(tetradecyl)phosphonium chloride”) which generates an iodide ion from the organic iodine and traps the generated iodide ion ([0022]; the instant specification at paragraphs [0029], [0037] discloses trihexyl(tetradecyl)phosphonium chloride as a suitable “generating and trapping component”), and
wherein the generating and trapping component is an ionic liquid (e.g., “trihexyl(tetradecyl)phosphonium chloride”) containing quaternary phosphonium as a cation ([0022]; see also Remarks, pp. 12-13).
Fukui does not appear to disclose the first trapping agent also contains a “generating component” as recited in claims 1 and 15. Bruchertseifer (previously cited) is similarly directed towards an iodine trapping agent comprising a “generating and trapping component” (e.g., “phase transfer catalyst”, “soluble ion-exchanger agent”) which generates an iodide ion from the organic iodine ([0006], [0010], [0030]). Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping agent further comprises a “generating component” (e.g., “nucleophilic agent”), which is a component different from the “generating and trapping component”, and which generates an iodide ion from the organic iodine at least at 100°C to 130°C, the generated iodide ion being trapped by the “generating and trapping component” ([0008]; Bruchertseifer teaches the “generating component” may be N2H5OH, N2HOH, or (NH4)2S, which the instant specification at paragraph [0036] as suitable “generating components”). Bruchertseifer further teaches including the “generating component” or a mixture of different “generating component” and “generating and trapping components” provides the advantages of reducing organic iodine to non-volatile iodide ions in a wide range of temperatures and pHs ([0006]). It would have therefore been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to include the “generating component” as taught by Bruchertseifer in Fukui’s first trapping agent for the benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Fukui in order to enhance organic iodine trapping capabilities, as suggested by Bruchertseifer, would have been obvious to a POSA.
The modified Fukui appears to be silent as to the relative concentrations of the “generating and trapping component” and the “generating component”. However, it would have been obvious to a POSA to have a first trapping agent comprising 0.07 mass% or more of the “generating component” since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. A POSA would have been aware that the “generating and trapping component” and the “generating component” each react with the organic iodine differently. For example, Bruchertseifer teaches that the “generating component” operates by reducing organic iodides (e.g., CH3I) and iodate to non-volatile iodide ions in a wide range of temperatures and pH ([0006], [0025]) and further suggests varying the amount of the “generating component” relative to the “generating and trapping component” in order to obtain optimum organic iodide decomposition and retention of iodide ions ([0028], [0034]). Therefore, the skilled artisan would have therefore been capable of adjusting the amount of the “generating component” relative to the “generating and trapping component” based on the desired reactions. Additionally, as discussed in the prior Office actions, there is no evidence that the claimed “generating component” content is critical. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping apparatus according to claim 1. Fukui discloses the “generating and trapping component” is a nonvolatile liquid ([0022]). Bruchertseifer teaches the “generating component” is a first reducing agent ([0006]; see also the instant specification at paragraph [0036] which discloses N2H5OH, N2HOH, or (NH4)2S as suitable “first reducing agents”). Thus, Fukui’s iodine trapping apparatus, modified to include a “generating component” as taught by Bruchertseifer, would have resulted in the features of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping apparatus according to claim 1. Bruchertseifer teaches the “generating component” may be N2H5OH, N2HOH, or (NH4)2S, which the instant specification at paragraph [0036] discloses as suitable “generating components”. Thus, in view of the above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, as Bruchertseifer’s taught “generating components” are disclosed in the instant specification as suitable “generating components”, it follows that the modified Fukui’s “generating component” (e.g., Bruchertseifer’s N2H5OH, N2HOH, or (NH4)2S) has an oxidation-reduction potential of lower than 0.54 V, which is a standard electrode potential at which iodine is reduced. Thus, Fukui’s iodine trapping apparatus, modified to include a “generating component” as taught by Bruchertseifer, would have resulted in the features of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping apparatus according to claim 1. Fukui discloses the “generating and trapping component” is hydrophobic ([0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping apparatus according to claim 1. Fukui discloses a second trapping agent (2) capable of trapping at least one component of aerosol further contained in the gas and inorganic iodine, which is an aqueous solution containing a second reducing agent ([0007], [0018], [0028]; the instant specification at paragraph [0046] discloses scrubber water as a suitable “second trapping agent”).
Regarding claim 10, Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping apparatus according to claim 1. Fukui discloses the iodine trapping apparatus is a filtered containment venting apparatus including (see FIG. 1):
the first vessel which is configured to trap at least one component of aerosol further contained in the gas and an inorganic iodine ([0018]), accommodate a second trapping agent (2) which is an aqueous solution containing a second reducing agent ([0007], [0018], [0028]; the instant specification at paragraph [0046] discloses scrubber water as a suitable “second trapping agent”), and communicate with the nuclear power structure main body through a venting pipe (9) open to an inside of the second trapping agent ([0018], [0028]), and
a radioactive substance removal filter (10) configured to remove a radioactive substance in the gas ([0030]), and
wherein the first trapping agent is disposed above the second trapping agent ([0034]).
Claim 7, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer further in view of JP Publication No. 2016-186427 (“Wada”).
Regarding claim 7, Fukui in view of Bruchertseifer teaches the iodine trapping apparatus according to claim 6. Fukui discloses the second trapping agent is scrubbing water ([0007], [0018], [0028]), but appears to be silent as to the pH of the scrubbing water. Wada (previously cited) (see FIGS. 1, 4) is similarly directed towards an iodine trapping apparatus (10) comprising scrubbing water (12) for trapping aerosols contained in a gas from a nuclear power structure main body (2) ([0015], [0054]). Wada teaches the second trapping agent has an alkaline pH ([0020], [0043]). Wada further teaches the alkaline scrubbing water provides the advantages of stably trapping iodine ([0018]-[0021]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use alkaline scrubbing water, as taught by Wada, in the modified Fukui’s iodine trapping apparatus for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Fukui in order to enhance iodine trapping in the scrubbing water, as suggested by Wada, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome some, but not all, of the prior 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of record and have created new issues as discussed above. Examiner notes that, upon further consideration, claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (see also Remarks, p. 10).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the combination of Fukui and Bruchertseifer are unpersuasive. In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Fukui discloses a first trapping agent containing a “generating and trapping component” that is an ionic liquid containing quaternary phosphonium as a cation (e.g., “trihexyl(tetradecyl)phosphonium chloride”) ([0022]; see also Remarks, pp. 12-13); Bruchertseifer establishes that including a “generating component” (e.g., Bruchertseifer’s “nucleophilic agent”) to a first trapping agent that contains a “generating and trapping component” (e.g., Bruchertseifer’s “phase transfer catalyst”, “soluble ion-exchanger agent”) provides the advantages of reducing organic iodine to non-volatile iodide ions in a wide range of temperatures and pHs ([0006]). Accordingly, the combination of Fukui with Bruchertseifer results in a first trapping agent comprising a “generating and trapping component” (e.g., Fukui’s “trihexyl(tetradecyl)phosphonium chloride”) that is an ionic liquid containing quaternary phosphonium as a cation and a “generating component” (e.g., Bruchertseifer’s “nucleophilic agent”) which is different from the “generating and trapping component” as recited in claims 1 and 15.
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 272-3191, on Monday-Thursday from 7:30AM-5:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646