DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 18, “the groove” should be --the groove portion--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “pair of terminal electrodes” appears to be present on one main surface as shown in Figs. 1-3 and not on “main surfaces”.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces” is indefinite and unclear how “the pair of terminal electrodes” is present on “the mains surfaces”. As best understood from Figs. 1-3 and the specification, the examiner will interpret “the pair of terminal electrodes” is present one main surface.
Claim 1 recites “no terminal electrode is formed in the groove” is indefinite and unclear whether the term “terminal electrode” being singular is the same from one of “a pair of terminal electrodes”. The examiner suggests clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0240591] in view of Odahara [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0078643].
Regarding Claim 1, Ishima et al. shows a multilayer coil component (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an element body (2) formed by laminating a plurality of insulator layers (12a-12f, Paragraph [0028]) and having a pair of end surfaces (2a, 2b) facing each other (see Fig. 1), a pair of main surfaces (2c, 2d) facing each other (see Fig. 1), and a pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f) facing each other (see Fig. 1), one of the main surfaces (2c) being a mounting surface (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0022]);
a coil (10) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3) with a coil axis (10a) extending along a facing direction (Fig. 3 is a facing direction or direction D3) of the pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f, see Figs. 1-3); and
a pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) connected to the coil (see Figs. 1-3) and disposed in recessed portions (21-24, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0025]) formed on the mounting surface on the respective end surface sides of the element body (see Figs. 1-3), wherein
each of the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) have a thickness in the facing direction (element 3 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 32 or 31, respectively, and element 4 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 42 or 41, respectively, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below),
wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see 112 rejections above, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below, thickness T3 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 22, 24 and present on element 2c shown as present P or thickness a, T4 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 21, 23 and present on element 2c).
Ishima et al. does not explicitly disclose the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove.
Odahara shows an electronic component (Figs. 10A-10B applying the teachings from Fig. 14 and Figs. 11-13, Paragraphs [0122]-[0123], see Drawings 2-3 below) teaching and suggesting the element body (12) has a groove portion (see Fig. 14, element S1 have a groove portion GP) provided on the mounting surface (Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below, Paragraph [0028]), the groove portion (groove portion GP) is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes (24b, 24a, 26 and 20a, 20b, 22, see Fig. 14 or 22, 20a-20g and 26, 24a-24g, see Fig. 10A) and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface (see Drawing 2 or Drawing 3 below, Paragraphs [0122]-[0123]), and a depth (thickness T1) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness T2) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below clearly shows thickness T1 is smaller than thickness T2) and wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see Fig. 10A and Drawing 3 below, thickness of each of elements 22, 20a-20g and 26, 24a-24g is a thickness of conductor parts extending into recessed portions in the facing direction, and present on element S1, see also Fig. 2 for reference), and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove (see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below, one of element 24a, 24b, 20a, and 20b is not formed in groove portion GP).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces, wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove as taught by Odahara for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. to inhibit air from being left trapped in the solder, mounted on the circuit board more firmly, and with eddy-current loss inhibited and reduction in the Q factor is inhibited (Paragraphs [0114]-[0116]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ishima et al. shows in the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4), end portions (31e, 41e, R1, R3 or 32e, 42e, R2, R4) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-3) are curved when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0038], [0040], [0073]).
Regarding Claim 5, Odahara shows the element body (12) exists between the pair of terminal electrodes (24b, 24a, 26 and 20a, 20b, 22, see Fig. 14 or 22, 20a-20g and 26, 24a-24g, see Fig. 10A) and the groove portion (groove portion GP, see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below) when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs. 14, 10A, and Drawings 2-3 below, element 12 exists between elements 24b, 24a, 26 and 20a, 20b, 22 and groove portion GP and element 12 exists between elements 22, 20a-20g and 26, 24a-24g and groove portion GP).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0240591] in view of Watanabe et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0311841] and Odahara [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0078643].
Regarding Claim 1, Ishima et al. shows a multilayer coil component (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an element body (2) formed by laminating a plurality of insulator layers (12a-12f, Paragraph [0028]) and having a pair of end surfaces (2a, 2b) facing each other (see Fig. 1), a pair of main surfaces (2c, 2d) facing each other (see Fig. 1), and a pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f) facing each other (see Fig. 1), one of the main surfaces (2c) being a mounting surface (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0022]);
a coil (10) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3) with a coil axis (10a) extending along a facing direction (Fig. 3 is a facing direction or direction D3) of the pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f, see Figs. 1-3); and
a pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) connected to the coil (see Figs. 1-3) and disposed in recessed portions (21-24, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0025]) formed on the mounting surface on the respective end surface sides of the element body (see Figs. 1-3), wherein
each of the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) have a thickness in the facing direction (element 3 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 32 or 31, respectively, and element 4 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 42 or 41, respectively, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below),
wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see 112 rejection above, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below, thickness T3 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 22, 24 and present on element 2c shown as present P or thickness a, T4 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 21, 23 and present on element 2c).
Ishima et al. does not explicitly disclose the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove.
Watanabe et al. shows a surface mount inductor (Figs. 1-3 and Drawing 4 below) teaching and suggesting the element body (12) has a groove portion (121b, 124b, Paragraph [0025]) provided on the mounting surface (12b, see Figs. 1-3), the groove portion (121b, 124b) is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes (13, 14 or 11b, 11c, see Figs. 1-3) and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface (see Fig. 1, elements 121b, 124b extends over front surface and back surface in the W-direction), and a depth (Paragraph [0027], 50 μm) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (height H1 is a quarter or more of height H0 and height H0 is equivalent to T (height), Paragraphs [0027], [0035], therefore height H0 is equal to 2.0 mm and height H1 is 0.5 mm) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (a depth of 50 μm is smaller than a height H1 of 0.5 mm, also Figs. 2-3 clearly shows that a depth of elements 121b, 124b is smaller than a thickness of elements 11b, 11c), and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove (see Figs. 1-3, element 13, 14 or 11b, 11c is not formed in element 121b, 124b).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove as taught by Watanabe et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. to increase creepage distance so that short circuit can be suppressed, improve withstand voltage, and reduce bending or vibration to improve reliability (Paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, the combination of Ishima et al. and Watanabe et al. clearly shows in Drawing 4 below when elements 121b, 124b of Watanabe et al. is applied to Fig. 3 of Ishima et al. teaches a depth (Paragraph [0027], 50 μm of Watanabe et al.) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness T3 of Ishima et al. and height H1 is a quarter or more of height H0 and height H0 is equivalent to T (height), Paragraphs [0027], [0035], therefore height H0 is equal to 2.0 mm and height H1 is 0.5 mm of Watanabe et al.) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (elements 121b, 124b of Watanabe et al. is smaller than thickness T3 of Ishiima et al., see Drawing 4 and a depth of 50 μm is smaller than a height H1 of 0.5 mm, also Figs. 2-3 clearly shows that a depth of elements 121b, 124b is smaller than a thickness of elements 11b, 11c of Watanabe et al.) to increase creepage distance so that short circuit can be suppressed, improve withstand voltage, and reduce bending or vibration to improve reliability (Paragraph [0032]).
Moreover, Odahara shows an electronic component (Figs. 10A-10B applying the teachings from Fig. 14 and Figs. 11-13, Paragraphs [0122]-[0123], see Drawings 2-3 below) a depth (thickness T1) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness T2) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below clearly shows thickness T1 is smaller than thickness T2) and wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see Fig. 10A and Drawing 3 below, thickness of each of elements 22, 20a-20g and 26, 24a-24g is a thickness of conductor parts extending into recessed portions in the facing direction, and present on element S1, see also Fig. 2 for reference), and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove (see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below, one of element 24a, 24b, 20a, and 20b is not formed in groove portion GP).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction as taught by Odahara for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. to inhibit air from being left trapped in the solder, mounted on the circuit board more firmly, and with eddy-current loss inhibited and reduction in the Q factor is inhibited (Paragraphs [0114]-[0116]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ishima et al. shows in the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4), end portions (31e, 41e, R1, R3 or 32e, 42e, R2, R4) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-3) are curved when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0038], [0040], [0073]).
Regarding Claim 5, Watanabe et al. shows the element body (12) exists between the pair of terminal electrodes (13, 14 or 11b, 11c) and the groove portion (121b, 124b) when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs 1-3, element 12 exists between elements 13, 14 or 11b, 11c and elements 121b, 124b).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0240591] in view of Imada [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0214182].
Regarding Claim 1, Ishima et al. shows a multilayer coil component (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an element body (2) formed by laminating a plurality of insulator layers (12a-12f, Paragraph [0028]) and having a pair of end surfaces (2a, 2b) facing each other (see Fig. 1), a pair of main surfaces (2c, 2d) facing each other (see Fig. 1), and a pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f) facing each other (see Fig. 1), one of the main surfaces (2c) being a mounting surface (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0022]);
a coil (10) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3) with a coil axis (10a) extending along a facing direction (Fig. 3 is a facing direction or direction D3) of the pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f, see Figs. 1-3); and
a pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) connected to the coil (see Figs. 1-3) and disposed in recessed portions (21-24, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0025]) formed on the mounting surface on the respective end surface sides of the element body (see Figs. 1-3), wherein
each of the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) have a thickness in the facing direction (element 3 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 32 or 31, respectively, and element 4 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 42 or 41, respectively, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below),
wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see 112 rejection above, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below, thickness T3 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 22, 24 and present on element 2c shown as present P or thickness a, T4 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 21, 23 and present on element 2c).
Ishima et al. does not explicitly disclose the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove.
Imada shows a coil component (Figs. 1-8 and Drawings 5-6 below) teaching and suggesting the element body (2) has a groove portion (20) provided on the mounting surface (element 21 is the mounting surface, see Figs. 1-8), the groove portion (20) is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes (5a, 5b having elements 8, 9, Paragraph [0068]) and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface (see Figs. 1-8), and a depth (thickness T1 measured from the bottom surface to line L1, element 20 has a tapered portion therefore a portion of element 20 from the tapered portion is considered a thickness T1, see Figs. 5 and 8, Paragraph [0036], claim 8) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness T2 measured from the bottom surface to line L2) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (see Figs. 5 and 8 and Drawings 5-6 below, thickness T1 is smaller than thickness T2 of elements 5a, 5b), and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove (see Figs. 1-8, element 5a, 5b, 8 or 9 is not formed in element 20).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove as taught by Imada for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. to increase creepage distance so that short circuit can be suppressed, disperse compressive stress, reduce bending or vibration to improve reliability, and improve the entry of a potting resin thereby inhibiting formation of a void (Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ishima et al. shows in the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4), end portions (31e, 41e, R1, R3 or 32e, 42e, R2, R4) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-3) are curved when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0038], [0040], [0073]).
Regarding Claim 5, Imada shows the element body (2) exists between the pair of terminal electrodes (5a, 5b having element 7) and the groove portion (20) when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs 1-8, element 2 exists between elements 5a, 5b having element 7 and element 20).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0240591] in view of Kim et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0284467] and Odahara [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0078643].
Regarding Claim 1, Ishima et al. shows a multilayer coil component (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an element body (2) formed by laminating a plurality of insulator layers (12a-12f, Paragraph [0028]) and having a pair of end surfaces (2a, 2b) facing each other (see Fig. 1), a pair of main surfaces (2c, 2d) facing each other (see Fig. 1), and a pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f) facing each other (see Fig. 1), one of the main surfaces (2c) being a mounting surface (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0022]);
a coil (10) disposed in the element body (see Figs. 1-3) with a coil axis (10a) extending along a facing direction (Fig. 3 is a facing direction or direction D3) of the pair of side surfaces (2e, 2f, see Figs. 1-3); and
a pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) connected to the coil (see Figs. 1-3) and disposed in recessed portions (21-24, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0025]) formed on the mounting surface on the respective end surface sides of the element body (see Figs. 1-3), wherein
each of the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4) have a thickness in the facing direction (element 3 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 32 or 31, respectively, and element 4 have a thickness T3 or element a, T4 for element 42 or 41, respectively, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below),
wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see 112 rejection above, see Fig. 3 and Drawing 1 below, thickness T3 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 22, 24 and present on element 2c shown as present P or thickness a, T4 of each of elements 3, 4 is a thickness of conductor parts extending into elements 21, 23 and present on element 2c).
Ishima et al. does not explicitly disclose the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove.
Kim et al. shows a surface mount inductor (Figs. 1A-1E and Drawing 7 below) teaching and suggesting the element body (see Fig. 1E) has a groove portion (121) provided on the mounting surface (top portion can be a mounting surface), the groove portion (121) is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes (130, see Fig. 1E) and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface (see Fig. 1E), and a depth (Paragraph [0058], depth D is 3% of thickness T) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness of element 130 is greater than thickness T) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (depth D is 3% of thickness T and thickness of element 130 is greater than thickness T therefore depth D is smaller than thickness of element 130, Paragraphs [0049], [0058]), and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove (see Figs. 1A-1E, element 130 is not formed in element 121).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the element body has a groove portion provided on the mounting surface, the groove portion is disposed between the pair of terminal electrodes and extends over one of the side surfaces and another side surface, and a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction, and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove as taught by Kim et al. for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. to disperse compressive stress concentrated on the internal electrodes (Paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, the combination of Ishima et al. and Kim et al. clearly shows in Drawing 7 below when element 121 of Kim et al. is applied to Fig. 3 of Ishima et al. teaches a depth (Paragraph [0058], depth D is 3% of thickness T of Kim et al.) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness T3 of Ishima et al. and thickness of element 130 is greater than thickness T of Kim et al.) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (element 121 of Kim et al. is smaller than thickness T3 of Ishima et al., see Drawing 7 and depth D is 3% of thickness T and thickness of element 130 is greater than thickness T therefore depth D is smaller than thickness of element 130, Paragraphs [0049], [0058] of Kim et al.) to disperse compressive stress concentrated on the internal electrodes (Paragraph [0047]).
Moreover, Odahara shows an electronic component (Figs. 10A-10B applying the teachings from Fig. 14 and Figs. 11-13, Paragraphs [0122]-[0123], see Drawings 2-3 below) a depth (thickness T1) of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness (thickness T2) of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction (see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below clearly shows thickness T1 is smaller than thickness T2) and wherein the thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes is a thickness of conductor parts extending into the recessed portions, in the facing direction, and present on the main surfaces (see Fig. 10A and Drawing 3 below, thickness of each of elements 22, 20a-20g and 26, 24a-24g is a thickness of conductor parts extending into recessed portions in the facing direction, and present on element S1, see also Fig. 2 for reference), and wherein no terminal electrode is formed in the groove (see Fig. 14 and Drawings 2-3 below, one of element 24a, 24b, 20a, and 20b is not formed in groove portion GP).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a depth of the groove portion in a facing direction of the pair of main surfaces is smaller than a thickness of each of the pair of terminal electrodes in the facing direction as taught by Odahara for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Kim et al. to inhibit air from being left trapped in the solder, mounted on the circuit board more firmly, and with eddy-current loss inhibited and reduction in the Q factor is inhibited (Paragraphs [0114]-[0116]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ishima et al. shows in the pair of terminal electrodes (3, 4), end portions (31e, 41e, R1, R3 or 32e, 42e, R2, R4) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-3) are curved when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Figs. 1-3, Paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0038], [0040], [0073]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim et al. shows the element body (see Fig. 1E) exists between the pair of terminal electrodes (130) and the groove portion (121) when viewed from the facing direction of the pair of side surfaces (see Fig. 1E, body exists between elements 130 and element 121).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Odahara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [JP 2018-107411].
Regarding Claim 3, Odahara shows the groove portion (groove portion GP) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right portion of groove portion GP) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 14), a bottom surface part (maximum depth of groove portion GP) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 14), and a connecting part (regions between left and right portion of groove portion GP and maximum depth of groove portion GP) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 14).
Ishima et al. in view of Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0052]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Odahara to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggesting the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions (17 or Paragraph [0100]) that are provided (see Figs. 5A-5B or Paragraph [0100]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Odahara to form electrodes with high dimensional accuracy on the bottom surface at low cost (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Odahara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0182535] (hereinafter as “Tachibana ‘535”).
Regarding Claim 3, Odahara shows the groove portion (groove portion GP) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right portion of groove portion GP) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 14), a bottom surface part (maximum depth of groove portion GP) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 14), and a connecting part (regions between left and right portion of groove portion GP and maximum depth of groove portion GP) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 14).
Ishima et al. in view of Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana ‘535 shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0044]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana ‘535 for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Odahara to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana ‘535 shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggesting the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions (17) that are provided (see Figs. 5A-5B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided as taught by Tachibana ‘535 for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Odahara to form electrodes with high dimensional accuracy on the bottom surface at low cost (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [JP 2018-107411].
Regarding Claim 3, Watanabe et al. shows the groove portion (121b, 124b) has a pair of side surface parts (124b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-3), a bottom surface part (121b) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Figs. 1-3), and a connecting part (corner between elements 121b, 124b) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Figs. 1-3).
Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0052]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggesting the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions (17 or Paragraph [0100]) that are provided (see Figs. 5A-5B or Paragraph [0100]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara to form electrodes with high dimensional accuracy on the bottom surface at low cost (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0182535] (hereinafter as “Tachibana ‘535”).
Regarding Claim 3, Watanabe et al. shows the groove portion (121b, 124b) has a pair of side surface parts (124b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-3), a bottom surface part (121b) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Figs. 1-3), and a connecting part (corner between elements 121b, 124b) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Figs. 1-3).
Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana ‘535 shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0044]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana ‘535 for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana ‘535 shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggesting the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions (17) that are provided (see Figs. 5A-5B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided as taught by Tachibana ‘535 for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Odahara to form electrodes with high dimensional accuracy on the bottom surface at low cost (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Imada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [JP 2018-107411].
Regarding Claim 3, Imada shows the groove portion (20) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right portion of element 20) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-8), a bottom surface part (maximum depth of element 20) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Figs. 1-8), and a connecting part (regions between left and right portion of element 20 and maximum depth of element 20) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Figs. 1-8).
Ishima et al. in view of Imada shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0052]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Imada to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Imada shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggesting the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions (17 or Paragraph [0100]) that are provided (see Figs. 5A-5B or Paragraph [0100]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Imada to form electrodes with high dimensional accuracy on the bottom surface at low cost (Paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Imada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0182535] (hereinafter as “Tachibana ‘535”).
Regarding Claim 3, Imada shows the groove portion (20) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right portion of element 20) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Figs. 1-8), a bottom surface part (maximum depth of element 20) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Figs. 1-8), and a connecting part (regions between left and right portion of element 20 and maximum depth of element 20) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Figs. 1-8).
Ishima et al. in view of Imada shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana ‘535 shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0044]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana ‘535 for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Imada to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Imada shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana ‘535 shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggesting the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions (17) that are provided (see Figs. 5A-5B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Imada to form electrodes with high dimensional accuracy on the bottom surface at low cost (Paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishima et al. in view of Kim et al. and Odahara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tachibana [JP 2018-107411].
Regarding Claim 3, Kim et al. shows the groove portion (121) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right portion of element 121) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1E), a bottom surface part (maximum depth of element 121) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1E), and a connecting part (regions between left and right portion of element 121 and maximum depth of element 121) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1E).
Ishima et al. in view of Kim et al. and Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the connecting part is curved.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the groove portion (15) has a pair of side surface parts (left and right elements 15b) facing each other in a facing direction of the pair of end surfaces (see Fig. 1), a bottom surface part (15a) connecting the pair of side surface parts (see Fig. 1), and a connecting part (left and right elements 15c) connecting the pair of side surface parts and the bottom surface part (see Fig. 1), and the connecting part (left and right elements 15c) is curved (Paragraph [0052]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting part is curved as taught by Tachibana for the coil component as disclosed by Ishima et al. in view of Kim et al. and Odahara to disperse stress concentration so strength can be improved (Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishima et al. in view of Kim et al. and Odahara shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not explicitly disclose the groove portion is one of a plurality of groove portions that are provided.
Tachibana shows a coil component (Figs. 5A-5B) teaching and suggestin