DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13-16, 19-22, and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao, PH., Chang, PL. (2017). Video Enhancement via Super-Resolution Using Deep Quality Transfer Network. In: Lai, SH., Lepetit, V., Nishino, K., Sato, Y. (eds) Computer Vision – ACCV 2016. ACCV 2016, hereinafter, ‘Hsiao’ in view of KWON et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2010/0150473 A1, hereinafter, ‘Kwon’ and further in view of Ho et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0111546 A1, hereinafter, ‘Ho’.
Consider Claims 1, 7, 13 19 and 25, Hsiao teaches One or more processors, comprising: circuitry (e.g., see computing device noted on page 193 lines 16-22) to: obtain, from one or more storage locations (e.g., see, e.g., see computing device noted on page 193 lines 16-22) a pixel of a prior upsampled frame of a video and a corresponding pixel of a current input frame of the video; and generate an upsampled output frame of the video (e.g., see at least page 187 paragraph 2 and page 189 paragraph 2 and the abstract)(i.e., as noted in the conclusion, Hsiao’s objective is achieved because “the proposed CNN model consists of modules including generation and selection of HR pixel candidates, fusion with LR input, residual learning and bidirectional architecture. )
However, Hsiao does not specifically teach to calculate, for the current input frame of the video, an exposure adjustment value; provide the exposure adjustment value for the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video, as input to one or more neural networks that infer one or more blending weights to blend at least one pixel of the current input frame of the video and at least one corresponding pixel of the prior upsampled frame of the video; and generate an upsampled output frame of the video by applying the one or more inferred blending weights to the at least one pixel of the current input frame of the video and the at least one corresponding pixel of the prior upsampled frame of the video.
In analogous art, Kwon teaches a technology of blending a high dynamic range (HDR) image or a plurality of images captured with different exposure settings to create multiple images-e.g., see at least 0003- “The generating of the at least one multi-exposure image may include generating the at least one multi-exposure image by generating a weight to perform image blending corresponding to each of the at least one area of interest and processing the HDR image or the plurality of images captured with different exposure settings according to the weight”.-0020.
In analogous art, Ho further teaches using AI to learn to blend the data and learning to generate the blending weight – 0040 and see also the abstract for a broader overview.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, given the teachings of Kwon and Ho to modify Hsiao to try to calculate, for the current input frame of the video, an exposure adjustment value; provide the exposure adjustment value for the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video, as input to one or more neural networks that infer one or more blending weights to blend at least one pixel of the current input frame of the video and at least one corresponding pixel of the prior upsampled frame of the video; and generate an upsampled output frame of the video by applying the one or more inferred blending weights to the at least one pixel of the current input frame of the video and the at least one corresponding pixel of the prior upsampled frame of the video for the purpose of improving image processing (e.g., image resolution).
Consider claim 2, 8, 14 20 and 26, Hsiao teaches the claimed invention except the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the exposure adjustment value comprises an exposure value calculated for at least the current input frame of the video.
In analogous art Kwon teaches in 0044 “A HDR image or a plurality of images with different exposures are received (in 410). Where the plurality of images with different exposures are acquired, the exposure times may be adjusted so that the dynamic ranges of the images acquired respectively at the exposure times overlap each other”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try wherein the exposure adjustment value comprises an exposure value calculated for at least the current input frame of the video for the purpose of blending the images.
Consider claim 3, 9, 15, 21 and 27, Hsiao teaches the claimed invention except wherein the exposure value is used to adjust brightness values of the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video.
In analogous art Kwon teaches in 0006 “Various methods of generating HDR images exist, and one such method is to expand the dynamic range of images by blending a plurality of images with different exposure settings.” A dynamic range (DR) of a digital image is defined as a ratio of a brightness of a darkest pixel of the digital image with respect to a brightness of a brightest pixel of the digital image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try wherein the exposure value is used to adjust brightness values of the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video for the purpose of adjusting the dynamic range.
Consider Claims 4, 10, 16, 22 and 28, Hsiao teaches the claimed invention except wherein the circuitry is further to use one or more neural networks to infer blending weights for corresponding pixels of at least the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video, based, at least in part, on the adjusted brightness values.
In analogous art, Kwon teaches generating a weight with respect to the exposure values – e.g., see at least 0003 and 0020.
However, Kwon does not specifically teach wherein the blending weights are inferred.
In analogous art, Ho teaches using AI to learn to blend the data and learning to generate the blending weight – 0040 and see also the abstract for a broader overview.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hsiao as modified by Kwon and further modified by Ho to achieve the result wherein the circuitry is further to use one or more neural networks to infer blending weights for corresponding pixels of at least the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video, based, at least in part, on the adjusted brightness values for the purpose of improving image processing.
7. Claim(s) 5-6, 11-12, 17-18, 23-24, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao, PH., Chang, PL. (2017). Video Enhancement via Super-Resolution Using Deep Quality Transfer Network. In: Lai, SH., Lepetit, V., Nishino, K., Sato, Y. (eds) Computer Vision – ACCV 2016. ACCV 2016, hereinafter, ‘Hsiao’ in view of KWON et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2010/0150473 A1, hereinafter, ‘Kwon’ and further in view of Ho et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0111546 A1, hereinafter, ‘Ho’ and further in view of Kalantari et al US Patent Pub. No.:2019/0096046, hereinafter, ‘Kalantari’.
Consider Claims 5, 11, 17, 23 and 29, Hsiao as modified by Kwon and further modified by Ho teaches the claimed invention except wherein the circuitry is further to increase a color range of one or more output frames generated based at least in part upon the blending weights for the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video.
In analogous art, Kalantari teaches to increase a color range of one or more output images generated based at least in part upon the blending weights for the current input image and the prior upsampled image (e.g., see estimating blending weights with respect to color noted in at least -0058, 0105 and 0123-0124).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hsiao as modified by Kwon and further modified by Ho and further modified by Kalantari to achieve the result wherein the circuitry is further to increase a color range of one or more output frames generated based at least in part upon the blending weights for the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video for the purpose of improving the image.
Consider Claims 6, 12, 18, 24 and 30, Hsiao as modified by Kwon and further modified by Ho teaches the claimed invention except wherein the blending weights are applied to color values from the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video, and wherein the color values are determined in part using an accumulation of values determined using a rendering application-provided exposure value.
In analogous art, Kalantari teaches wherein the blending weights are applied to color values from the current input image and the prior upsampled image(e.g., see estimating blending weights with respect to color noted in at least -0058, 0105 and 0123-0124), and wherein the color values are determined in part using an accumulation of values determined using a rendering application-provided exposure value(e.g., see reconstruction application 0088 and 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hsiao as modified by Kwon and further modified by Ho and further modified by Kalantari to achieve the result wherein the blending weights are applied to color values from the current input frame of the video and the prior upsampled frame of the video, and wherein the color values are determined in part using an accumulation of values determined using a rendering application-provided exposure value for the purpose of improving the image.
Conclusion
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646