Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that in regard to claim 1 that the combination of Lin and Iguchi prior art, does not teach the limitation of “two or more base modules, each of the two or more base modules comprising an emission surface in said common layer, wherein each emission surface of the two or more base modules is configured to emit light through the corresponding active layer, wherein the active layers of the two or more base modules are separated.”
In response to this argument, the Examiner directs the applicant’s attention to the combination of Lin and Iguchi prior art, which teaches the limitation of “two or more base modules (14), each of the two or more base modules (14) comprising an emission surface in said common layer, each base module (14) comprising a layer stack with a first layer (11), an active layer (12), and a second layer (13), wherein the first layer (11) is connected to a first contact (19N) and the second layer (13) is connected to a second contact (19P), the first contact (19N) and the second contact (19P) forming a pair of contacts arranged on a surface opposite an emission side of the corresponding base module (14), wherein each emission surface of the two or more base modules (14) is configured to emit light through the corresponding active layer (12), wherein the active layers (12) of the two or more base modules (14) are separated (see Iguchi, Fig.1 as shown below, ¶ [0031]- ¶ [0032], and ¶ [0070]).”
In addition, during patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000). While the claims of issued patents are interpreted in light of the specification, prosecution history, prior art and other claims, this is not the mode of claim interpretation to be applied during examination. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, F.3d, 2004 WL 1067528 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004) (The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.) This means that the words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless applicant has provided a clear definition in the specification. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) >; Chef America, Inc. v. Lamb-Weston, Inc., 358 F.3d 1371, 1372, 69 USPQ2d 1857 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The Examiner would further point out that “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Therefore, the combination of Lin and Iguchi prior art reference does meet all the limitation in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-11, 13, 15 -17, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. 2019/0115508 A1, hereinafter refer to Lin) in view of Iguchi (U.S. 2019/0371777 A1, hereinafter refer to Iguchi).
Regarding Claim 1: Lin discloses a µ-display or p-LED display module (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown below and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a full-surface target matrix formed on a first carrier (102), which comprises a plurality of pairs of contact elements (204a/204b/304a/304b), each pair of contact elements (204a/204b/304a/304b) associated with an occupy-able location (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0064]);
one or more µ-LED modules (204) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0064]), each µ-LED module (204) comprising:
one or more base modules (semiconductor layers), each base module (semiconductor layers) comprising a layer stack with a first layer (204n/ n-type semiconductor layer), an active layer (quantum well layer), and a second layer (p-type semiconductor layer), wherein the first layer (204n/ n-type semiconductor layer) is connected to a first contact (204b/304b) and the second layer (p-type semiconductor layer) is connected to a second contact (204a/304a), the first contact (204b/304b) and the first contact (204b/304b) forming a pair of contacts arranged on a surface opposite an emission side of the corresponding base module (semiconductor layers) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0064]),
wherein the one or more base modules (semiconductor layers) comprise a common layer (204n), said common layer (204n) including the emission sides of each of the one or more base modules (semiconductor layers) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0064]); and
at least one sensor element (304) with a pair of contact elements (304a/304b) and comprising a size substantially corresponding to the at least one base module (semiconductor layers) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0064]);
wherein a subset of the plurality of pairs of contact elements (204a/204b/304a/304b) is connected to pairs of contacts (note: the integral contact elements structure of Lin is equivalent to the claimed limitation of separable pairs of contact elements and pairs of contacts because making separable contact layers is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise integral layer unless there are new or unexpected results) of the at least one base module of the one or more µ-LED modules (204) such that at least one pair of contact elements between two adjacent pairs of contact elements connected to pairs of contacts (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above),
the at least one base module (semiconductor layers) is connected to the pair of contact elements (304a/304b) of the at least one sensor element (304) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above, ¶ [0059]- ¶ [0060], and ¶ [0064]).
Lin is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein two or more base modules, each of the two or more base modules comprising an emission surface in said common layer, wherein each emission surface of the two or more base modules is configured to emit light through the corresponding active layer, wherein the active layers of the two or more base modules are separated.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed two or more base modules, each of the two or more base modules were known to comprise an emission surface in said common layer, wherein each emission surface of the two or more base modules is configured to emit light through the corresponding active layer, wherein the active layers of the two or more base modules are separated in order to improve light emitting efficiency.
For support see Iguchi, which teaches two or more base modules (14), each of the two or more base modules (14) comprising an emission surface in said common layer, each base module (14) comprising a layer stack with a first layer (11), an active layer (12), and a second layer (13), wherein the first layer (11) is connected to a first contact (19N) and the second layer (13) is connected to a second contact (19P), the first contact (19N) and the second contact (19P) forming a pair of contacts arranged on a surface opposite an emission side of the corresponding base module (14), wherein each emission surface of the two or more base modules (14) is configured to emit light through the corresponding active layer (12), wherein the active layers (12) of the two or more base modules (14) are separated (see Iguchi, Fig.1 as shown below, ¶ [0031]- ¶ [0032], and ¶ [0070]).
Thus, Lin and Iguchi each disclose a one or more µ-LED modules, each µ-LED module comprising one or more base modules. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the two or more µ-LED modules of Iguchi could have been substituted for the one or more µ-LED modules of Lin because both µ-LED modules serve the purpose emitting light. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution and the substitution achieves the predictable result of improving light emitting efficiency.
Regarding Claim 6: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein at least seven µ-LED modules (311/312/313), each with four base modules, and at least two µ-LED modules (311/312/313), each with three base modules, are positioned and electrically connected to the target matrix (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown above).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal rows and columns arrangements of one or more base module through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired device performance because the rows and columns arrangements of one or more base module is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Regarding Claim 8: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein a position occupied by the at least one sensor element (304) is framed by at least one base module (semiconductor layers) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein a plurality of sensor elements (304) are formed as part of sensor means formed on said first carrier (102) to receive electromagnetic radiation incident on a first side of said first carrier (102) (note: the device circuitry which comprises one or more transistors that generates electromagnetic radiation during operation) (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein the µ-LED modules (204) comprise base modules (semiconductor layers), which are configured as subpixels (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above and Fig.3).
Regarding Claim 11: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein a location of the target matrix is configured as a subpixel of a pixel (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above and Fig.3).
Regarding Claim 13: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein the at least one sensor element (304) is configured as a vital sign monitoring sensor (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 15: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein the base module (semiconductor layer) comprises the first layer (204n/ n-type semiconductor layer), which is formed on a second carrier (202) and on which an active transition layer (quantum well layer) is formed and on which the second layer (p-type semiconductor layer) is formed, the first contact (204a) being connected to a surface region of the second layer (p-type semiconductor layer) which faces away from the second carrier (202), the second contact (204b) being connected to a surface region of the first layer (204n) which faces away from the second carrier (202) (see Lin, Figs.2A, 2C, and 4A as shown above).
Regarding Claim 16: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein the second contact (204b) is formed by means of a dielectric (116) to the transition layer (quantum well layer) and to the second layer (p-type semiconductor layer), electrically insulated from and on the surface region of the second layer (p-type semiconductor layer) remote from the second carrier (202) (see Lin, Figs.2A, 2C, and 4A as shown above).
Regarding Claim 17: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein the respective sensor element (304) is adapted in the form of a µ-photodiode, or in the form of a phototransistor, or in the form of a photoconductor, or in the form of an ambient light sensor, or in the form of an infrared sensor, or in the form of an ultraviolet sensor, or in the form of a proximity sensor, or in the form of an infrared component (see Lin, Figs.2A and 4 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 30: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein the first carrier (50) includes an adhesive (insulating layer 55), a lacquer, or a soldering material to promote adhesion between the first carrier (50) and the one or more µ-LED modules (14) (see Iguchi, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 31: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi further teaches wherein one or more second µ-LED modules (14), the one or more second µ-LED modules (14) being shaped differently than the one or more µ-LED modules (see Iguchi, Fig.1 as shown above).
Note: the configuration of the claimed one or more µ-LED modules was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed one or more µ-LED modules was significant.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. 2019/0115508 A1, hereinafter refer to Lin) and Iguchi (U.S. 2019/0371777 A1, hereinafter refer to Iguchi) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 13 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 2019/0235677 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu).
Regarding Claims 2, 3, 4, and 5: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a plurality of full-surface target matrices formed on the first carrier and of equal or different size to one another are formed along rows and columns with target matrix-occupy-able locations at respective distances from one another (as claimed in claim 2);
wherein the at least one base module forms rectangles in a matrix plane, and in µ-LED modules any number of base modules adjacent to each other along a common side are grouped together (as claimed in claim 3);
wherein at least one µ-LED module comprises four base modules in two rows and two columns (as claimed in claim 4);
wherein at least one µ-LED module comprises three base modules in two rows and two columns (as claimed in claim 5).
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed arrangements of one or more base module and at least one sensor element were known in order to improve sensitivity of the touch point detection and reduce overall thickness of the micro LED touch panel display.
For support see Liu, which teaches wherein a plurality of full-surface target matrices (30) formed on the first carrier (200) and of equal or different size to one another are formed along rows and columns with target matrix-occupy-able locations at respective distances from one another (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown below, ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0026], and ¶ [0039]) (as claimed in claim 2);
wherein the at least one base module (311/312/313) forms rectangles in a matrix plane, and in µ-LED modules (311/312/313) any number of base modules adjacent to each other along a common side are grouped together (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown below, ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0026], and ¶ [0039]) (as claimed in claim 3);
wherein at least one µ-LED module (311/312/313) comprises four base modules in two rows and two columns (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown below, ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0026], and ¶ [0039]) (as claimed in claim 4);
wherein at least one µ-LED module (311/312/313) comprises three base modules in two rows and two columns (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown below, ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0026], and ¶ [0039]) (as claimed in claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin, Iguchi, and Liu to enable disclosed rows and columns arrangements of one or more base module and at least one sensor element as taught by Liu in order to improve sensitivity of the touch point detection and reduce overall thickness of the micro LED touch panel display.
Regarding Claim 7: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as applied to claim 6 above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein in that at least two positions which are unoccupied by base modules are produced, at which in each case the at least one sensor element is positioned and electrically connected.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed at least two positions were known to be unoccupied by base modules and at which in each case the at least one sensor element to be positioned and electrically connected in order to improve sensitivity of the touch point detection and reduce overall thickness of the micro LED touch panel display.
For support see Liu, which teaches wherein in that at least two positions which are unoccupied by base modules (311/312/313) are produced, at which in each case the at least one sensor element (32) is positioned and electrically connected (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0031]- ¶ [0035]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin, Iguchi, and Liu to enable at least two positions to be unoccupied by base modules and at which in each case the at least one sensor element to be positioned and electrically connected as taught by Liu in order to improve sensitivity of the touch point detection and reduce overall thickness of the micro LED touch panel display.
Regarding Claim 14: Lin as modified teaches a µ-display or µ-LED display module as applied to claim 13 above. The combination of Lin and Iguchi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein said vital sign monitoring sensor is disposed within a display screen or behind a rear surface of a display screen, and said vital sign monitoring sensor is adapted to measure one or more vital sign parameters of a user placing a body part to a front major surface of the display screen at said vital sign monitoring sensor.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed vital sign monitoring sensor were known to be disposed within a display screen or behind a rear surface of a display screen, and said vital sign monitoring sensor to be adapted to measure one or more vital sign parameters of a user placing a body part to a front major surface of the display screen at said vital sign monitoring sensor in order to improve sensitivity of the touch point detection and reduce overall thickness of the micro LED touch panel display.
For support see Liu, which teaches wherein said vital sign monitoring sensor is disposed within a display screen or behind a rear surface of a display screen, and said vital sign monitoring sensor is adapted to measure one or more vital sign parameters of a user placing a body part to a front major surface of the display screen at said vital sign monitoring sensor (see Liu, Figs.1 and 3 as shown above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin, Iguchi, and Liu to enable the vital sign monitoring sensor to be disposed within a display screen or behind a rear surface of a display screen, and said vital sign monitoring sensor to be adapted to measure one or more vital sign parameters of a user placing a body part to a front major surface of the display screen at said vital sign monitoring sensor as taught by Liu in order to improve sensitivity of the touch point detection and reduce overall thickness of the micro LED touch panel display.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812