DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the after-final amendment filed 2/20/2026 in which Claims 8-16, 18-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-16, filed 9/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 8-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0174295 to Baek et al (“Baek”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,804,635 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0069047 to Yang et al (“Yang”) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,609,604 to Ha et al (“Ha”).
As to Claim 8, Baek teaches a display apparatus comprising: a display panel that has a first surface and has a second surface opposite to the first surface (the display module having a front surface and a back surface opposite to the front surface, see ¶ 0018) and
a set assembly disposed on the second surface and comprising an opening (the openings HA, HM, and HP (see, e.g., FIG. 3B) into which an electronic module ID-T [set assembly] is inserted, see ¶ 0186; the electronic module ID-T is disposed on a back surface MP-TB of the protective layer MP-T. The electronic module ID-T may be disposed to overlap the active area AA of the display module DD-T at the back surface MP-TB of the protective layer MP-T, see ¶ 0187).
Baek does not expressly disclose a display panel that has a first surface including a first display area and wherein the second surface includes a second display area which overlaps with the first display area in a plan view.
Kim teaches a display panel that has a first surface including a first display area and wherein the second surface includes a second display area which overlaps with the first display area in a plan view (at least one (for example, the second display 320) of a plurality of displays in an electronic device may be formed at the inner surface of the cover 340, for example, the surface facing the body 330 when the cover 340 is closed toward the electronic device 300. Referring to FIG. 3C, another (for example, the fifth display 370) of the plurality of displays in the electronic device may be formed at the outer surface of the cover 340, for example, the surface facing the outside of the body 330 when the cover 340 is closed, see Col. 26, lines 19-28; when the display 320 is folded to face the display 310 in the electronic device 300, the other surface of the display 320 among the plurality of displays, that is, the outer surface of the display 370, may be disposed at the facing surface of the display 320, see Col. 27, lines 7-11 ; Figure 3C);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek with Kim to teach a display panel that has a first surface including a first display area and wherein the second surface includes a second display area which overlaps with the first display area in a plan view. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a plurality of displays with a front and back surface transparent area (see Col. 26, lines 16-17).
Baek and Kim do not expressly disclose a set assembly exposing the second display area of the second surface opposite the first surface.
Yang teaches a set assembly exposing the second display area of the second surface opposite the first surface (The display panel 100 may include a first surface S1 and a second surface S2 opposite to the first surface S1. The first surface S1 may be the display surface of the display panel 100. The display device may further include a photosensitive element 200 [set assembly]. The photosensitive element 200 may be located on the second surface S2 side of the display panel 100. The photosensitive element 200 may correspond to the position of the first display region DA1. In one embodiment, the photosensitive surface of the photosensitive element 200 may correspond to the position of the effective light-transmission region LA [set assembly exposing the second display area], see ¶ 0185; The effective light-transmission region LA may be a region on the display panel 100 that can both display and effectively emit light, see ¶ 0060; the first display region DA1 mainly corresponds to the photosensitive element (such as a front camera, an infrared sensor device, and a fingerprint recognition device), the light required by the photosensitive element during operation may need to pass through the first display region DA1, see ¶ 0143).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek and Kim with Yang to teach a set assembly exposing the second display area of the second surface opposite the first surface. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to realize the under-screen integration of the photosensitive elements to meet the higher requirements of the photosensitive elements on the light transmittance of the display panel, see ¶ 0067).
Baek, Kim and Yang do not expressly disclose a display panel including a first display area and including a second display area which overlaps with the first display area in a plan view; and wherein the first display area displays a first image and the second display area displays a second image, wherein the first display area comprises a first portion area, a second portion area, and a third portion area located between the first portion area and the second portion area, and wherein the third portion area overlaps with a folding axis.
Ha teaches a display panel including a first display area and including a second display area which overlaps with the first display area in a plan view (The display area DA may include a first display surface DA1 folded with respect to a folding axis FX and a second display surface DA2 and a third display surface DA3, which are spaced apart from each other with the first display surface DA1 therebetween, see Col. 6, lines 37-41; When the display device DD is folded, the second display surface DA2 and the third display surface DA3 may face each other, see Col. 7, lines 3-6. Figure 2B illustrates second display surface DA2 and third display surface DA3 overlapping in a plan view); and wherein the first display area displays a first image and the second display area displays a second image (The display area DA is an area on which the image IM is displayed, see Col. 6, lines 32-33. Fig. 1 illustrates an image displayed on second display surface DA2 and third display surface DA3), wherein the first display area comprises a first portion area, a second portion area, and a third portion area located between the first portion area and the second portion area, and wherein the third portion area overlaps with a folding axis (The display area DA may include a first display surface DA1 folded with respect to a folding axis FX and a second display surface DA2 [first portion area] and a third display surface DA3 [second portion area], which are spaced apart from each other with the first display surface DA1 [third portion area] therebetween, see Col. 6, lines 37-41; When the display device DD is folded, the second display surface DA2 and the third display surface DA3 may face each other, see Col. 7, lines 3-6. Figure 2B illustrates second display surface DA2 and third display surface DA3 overlapping in a plan view. Fig. 2A illustrates folding area FA overlapping folding axis FX).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek, Kim and Yang with Ha to teach a display panel including a first display area and including a second display area which overlaps with the first display area in a plan view; and wherein the first display area displays a first image and the second display area displays a second image, wherein the first display area comprises a first portion area, a second portion area, and a third portion area located between the first portion area and the second portion area, and wherein the third portion area overlaps with a folding axis. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for in the second state, the display module may be folded so that each of the second display surface and the third display surface faces the inside (see Col. 2, lines 32-34).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0174295 to Baek et al (“Baek”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,804,635 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0069047 to Yang et al (“Yang”) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,609,604 to Ha et al (“Ha”) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0272407 to Park et al (“Park”).
As to Claim 9, Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha depending on Claim 8, Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha do not expressly disclose further comprising a cover panel disposed between the display panel and the set assembly, wherein the cover panel continuously extends on the second surface of the display panel to cover the opening. Park teaches further comprising a cover panel disposed between the display panel and the set assembly, wherein the cover panel continuously extends on the second surface of the display panel to cover the opening (a functional layer is disposed below the display panel 100…The patterned film 350 [cover panel] may substantially prevent components or the like from being seen from the above, and may protect the display panel 100, see ¶ 0058; the patterned film 350 does not have an opening portion [cover panel continuously extends on the second surface of the display panel to cover the opening], such that only a part of the light reflected from the finger 40 passes through the patterned film 350 and reaches the optical fingerprint sensor 200 [set assembly], see ¶ 0078. Figure 3 illustrates the patterned film 350 [cover panel] between the display panel 100 and the optical fingerprint sensor 200 [set assembly]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha with Park to teach further comprising a cover panel disposed between the display panel and the set assembly, wherein the cover panel continuously extends on the second surface of the display panel to cover the opening. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to realize the under-screen integration of the photosensitive elements to meet the higher requirements of the photosensitive elements on the light transmittance of the display panel, see ¶ 0067).
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0174295 to Baek et al (“Baek”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,804,635 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0069047 to Yang et al (“Yang”) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,609,604 to Ha et al (“Ha”) and in further view of WIPO Patent Publication 2021/088472 to Liu et al (“Liu”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 10, Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha depending on Claim 8, Baek, Choi, Yang and Ha do not expressly disclose a substrate; a pixel circuit layer disposed on the substrate and comprising a first pixel circuit which includes a plurality of first thin-film transistors and a second pixel circuit which includes a plurality of second thin-film transistors; a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer and comprising a first display element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second display element connected to the second pixel circuit; and wherein a number of the plurality of first thin-film transistors in the first pixel circuit is greater than a number of the plurality of second thin-film transistors in the second pixel circuit.
Liu teaches a substrate (a display substrate, see Abstract); a pixel circuit layer disposed on the substrate and comprising a first pixel circuit which includes a plurality of first thin-film transistors and a second pixel circuit which includes a plurality of second thin-film transistors (the 2T1C pixel circuit refers to a pixel circuit including two transistors…the JTKC pixel circuit refers to a pixel circuit comprising j transistors, see ¶ 0035);
a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer and comprising a first display element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second display element connected to the second pixel circuit (a first sub-pixel 24 is connected to a first pixel circuit, and a second sub-pixel 25 is connected to a second pixel circuit, see ¶ 0019; the first sub-pixel 24 may include a first electrode … the first organic light-emitting layer is located on the first electrode [display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer] …The second sub-pixel 25 may include a third electrode … The second organic light emitting layer is located on the third electrode [display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer], see ¶ 0031)
wherein a number of the plurality of first thin-film transistors in the first pixel circuit is greater than a number of the plurality of second thin-film transistors in the second pixel circuit (the number of transistors in the first pixel circuit 26 [second thin film transistors in second pixel circuit] is less than or equal to the number of transistors in the second pixel circuit 27 [first thin-film transistors in first pixel circuit], see ¶ 0034).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha with Liu to teach a substrate; a pixel circuit layer disposed on the substrate and comprising a first pixel circuit which includes a plurality of first thin-film transistors and a second pixel circuit which includes a plurality of second thin-film transistors; a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer and comprising a first display element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second display element connected to the second pixel circuit; and wherein a number of the plurality of first thin-film transistors in the first pixel circuit is greater than a number of the plurality of second thin-film transistors in the second pixel circuit. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to avoid a significant boundary between display brightness differences of two adjacent display areas and improving the display effect (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 11, Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu depending on Claim 10, Liu teaches wherein the substrate comprises a first area and a second area disposed adjacent to the first area (the display substrate 2 includes a first display area 21, a second display area 22 and a third display area 23, and the second display area 22 is located between the first display area 21 and the third display area 23, see ¶ 0018, Fig. 2), the first pixel circuit and the second pixel circuit overlap the first area, the first display element overlaps the first area, and the second display element overlaps the second area (the first display region 21 includes…a first pixel circuit 26 arranged in an array [first display element overlaps the first area]…second display area 22 includes a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel arranged in an array [second display element overlaps second area], the first pixel circuit 26 and the second pixel circuit 27 [first pixel circuit and second pixel circuit overlaps the first area], see ¶ 0019).
As to Claim 12, Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu depending on Claim 11, Yang teaches wherein the pixel circuit layer further comprises a connection line extending from the first area to the second area and connecting the second pixel circuit to the second display element (The first pixel circuit C1 located in the second display region DA2 may be electrically connected to the first light-emitting element L1 located in the first display region DA1 through a connection line CL, see ¶ 0078), and wherein the connection line comprises transparent conductive oxide (The first pixel circuit C1 located in the second display region DA2 may be electrically connected to the first light-emitting element L1 located in the first display region DA1 through a connection line CL. In one embodiment, the connection line CL may be made of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), see ¶ 0078).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0174295 to Baek et al (“Baek”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,804,635 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0069047 to Yang et al (“Yang”) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,609,604 to Ha et al (“Ha”) in further view of WIPO Patent Publication 2021/088472 to Liu et al (“Liu”) (relied upon English Translation) and in further view of U.S. Patent 9,741,973 to Song et al (“Song”).
As to Claim 13, Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu depending on Claim 10, Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu do not expressly disclose wherein the first display element including a first pixel electrode which has a first thickness and comprises a plurality of layers, and the second display element including a second pixel electrode which has a second thickness less than the first thickness and comprises a transparent conductive oxide. Song teaches wherein the first display element including a first pixel electrode which has a first thickness and comprises a plurality of layers, and the second display element including a second pixel electrode which has a second thickness less than the first thickness (The first pixel electrode may include a first lower transparent conductive layer on the substrate, a first metal layer on the first lower transparent conductive layer, and a first upper transparent conductive layer on the first metal layer [first pixel electrode comprises plurality of layers], the second pixel electrode may include a second lower transparent conductive layer on the substrate, a second metal layer on the second lower transparent conductive layer, and a second upper transparent conductive layer on the second metal layer [second pixel electrode comprises a plurality of layers], and a thickness of the first metal layer [first thickness] may be greater than a thickness of the second metal layer [second thickness], see Col. 2, lines 16-26) and comprises a transparent conductive oxide (the first pixel electrode 221a and the second pixel electrode 221b may be made of or may include, e.g., a conductive material having a high work function. When the display device is a rear emission type display device, the conductive material may include, e.g., indium-tin-oxide (ITO), indium-zinc-oxide (IZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium oxide (In.sub.2O.sub.3), Al doped ZnO (AZO), or the like. The exemplary conductive materials have transparent characteristics, while having the relatively large work function, see Col. 9, lines 13-21).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu with Song to teach wherein the first display element including a first pixel electrode which has a first thickness and comprises a plurality of layers, and the second display element including a second pixel electrode which has a second thickness less than the first thickness and comprises a transparent conductive oxide. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to appropriately adjust within a desired range to provide the functionality of the reflective film (see Col. 9, lines 64-66).
As to Claim 14, Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu depending on Claim 10, Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu do not expressly disclose wherein the display panel further comprises: a first reflective layer disposed between the pixel circuit layer and the first display element to overlap the first display element in a plan view; and a second reflective layer disposed on the display element layer to overlap the second display element in a plan view. Song teaches wherein the display panel further comprises: a first reflective layer disposed between the pixel circuit layer and the first display element to overlap the first display element in a plan view (a first pixel electrode on the first area of the substrate; a first organic layer on the first pixel electrode, the organic layer including a first light emitting layer; a first counter electrode on the first organic layer; an auxiliary layer on the first counter electrode at the first area of the substrate, see Abstract; ); and a second reflective layer disposed on the display element layer to overlap the second display element in a plan view (a second pixel electrode on the second area of the substrate; a second organic layer on the second pixel electrode, the second organic layer including a second light emitting layer; a second counter electrode on the second organic layer; and an upper reflective layer on the second counter electrode at the second area of the substrate, see Abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek, Kim, Yang, Ha and Liu with Song to teach wherein the display panel further comprises: a first reflective layer disposed between the pixel circuit layer and the first display element to overlap the first display element in a plan view; and a second reflective layer disposed on the display element layer to overlap the second display element in a plan view. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to deposit a metal on the first area of the substrate and the second area of the substrate to form an upper reflective layer (see Col. 2, line 67 – Col. 3, line 2).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0174295 to Baek et al (“Baek”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,804,635 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0069047 to Yang et al (“Yang”) in further view of U.S. Patent 11,609,604 to Ha et al (“Ha”) and in further view of U.S. Patent 2018/0083211 to Lee et al (“Lee”).
As to Claim 15, Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha depending on Claim 8, Baek, Choi, Yang and Ha do not expressly disclose wherein the display apparatus is a foldable display which has the folding axis extending across the first surface. Lee teaches wherein the display apparatus is a foldable display which has the folding axis extending across the first surface (the display panel 10 is bent at the bending area (BA) thereof with respect to one bending axis (BX) is shown…the display panel 10 may be bent at the bending area (BA) thereof with respect to a plurality of bending axes, see ¶ 0053).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baek, Kim, Yang and Ha with Lee to teach wherein the display apparatus is a foldable display which has the folding axis extending across the first surface. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the display panel to be bent with respect to a bending axis (see ¶ 0052).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 18-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Referring to independent claim 16, Baek teaches openings into which an electronic module is inserted where the electronic module may be disposed to overlap the active area of the display module. Yang teaches a photosensitive element such as a front camera, an infrared sensor device and a fingerprint recognition device may correspond to the position of the first display region. Ma teaches a density of light-emitting sub-pixels in the first semi-transmissive area is different than the density of light-emitting sub-pixels in the second semi-transmissive area; first display area disposed between the first semi-transmissive area and the second semi-transmissive area. Park teaches a bending portion extending in one direction where a first portion may extend from the bending portion and overlap the second surface of the display panel; an opening portion exposes the optical fingerprint sensor.
With respect to Claim 16, Baek, Yang, Ma and Park references taken alone or in combination, do not disclose, teach or fairly suggest “wherein the component area comprises a transmission area disposed adjacent to the plurality of second subpixels, wherein, when the display apparatus is folded about a folding axis extending across the first surface, the component area and the opening overlap each other, wherein the component area comprises a first component area and a second component area arranged with the folding axis disposed between the first component area and the second component area, and wherein, when the display apparatus is folded about the folding axis, the first component area and the second component area overlap each other. The aspects as summarized above are neither anticipated nor obviated by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622