DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on April 23, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, 18 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Onaka (US 2018/0254832 A1) in view of Frolov et al. (WO 2004/072691 A2), further in view of Jiang (CN 107533196 A).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Onaka discloses an optical transposer (922 and directly coupled “optical fiber[s]” in Fig. 1B) that is distinct from an optical amplifier (923; described as optical amplifying fiber in paragraph 0048) comprising: a first waveguide (“optical fiber” connected to 923), wherein a first end of the first waveguide connects to the doped fiber (923) in the distinct optical amplifier; a second waveguide (“optical fiber” connected to 915), wherein a first end of one of the second waveguide connects to a photonic circuit (915); a third waveguide (“optical fiber” connected to 921), wherein a first end of one of the third waveguide connects to the output end of a pump laser (921); and a wavelength division multiplexer (922), wherein the second waveguide is multiplexed with the third waveguide into the first waveguide (paragraph 0048).
Still regarding claims 13 and 17, Onaka teaches the claimed invention except for an optical splitter. Frolov discloses a planar lightwave circuit (606 in Fig. 6; paragraph 0048); an optical splitter (620) supported by the PLC and connected to a laser output fiber (609) into which a pump laser (605) emits pump light comprising a first wavelength, wherein an input end of the optical splitter is configured to receive the pump light having the first wavelength and wherein output ends of the optical splitter are configured to carry divided pump light at the first wavelength (splitter 620 is a “power splitter”). Frolov further discloses a plurality of first (621, 622), second (607, 608) and third (waveguides connected to output of 620) waveguides defined by the PLC and a plurality of multiplexers (618, 619) wherein one of the plurality of second waveguides is multiplexed with one of the plurality of third waveguides into one of the plurality of first waveguides, respectively. Since both of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use an optical splitter as disclosed by Frolov in the device of Onaka for the purpose of processing multiple beams or wavelengths in a compact, robust device.
Still regarding claims 13 and 17, the proposed combination of Onaka and Frolov teaches the claimed invention except for a plurality of mode conversion structures. Jiang discloses a plurality of mode conversion structures (651 in Fig. 6; 751 in Fig. 7) disposed between a plurality of waveguides (610) and a photonic circuit (620) and configured to transform a mode size of each of the waveguides to a mode size of the photonic circuit. Jiang further discloses the diameters of the mode conversion structures are tapered such that a diameter of the plurality of waveguides is reduced to a diameter suitable to the photonic integrated circuit. Since all of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a plurality of mode conversion structures as disclosed by Jiang in the device of the proposed combination of Onaka and Frolov for the purpose of improving coupling efficiency. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious for the mode conversion structures to be supported by the PLC in order to form a compact, robust device.
Regarding claim 14, Onaka discloses the wavelength division multiplexer (922) comprises a first terminal, a second terminal, and a third terminal, wherein the first terminal connects to a second end of the first waveguide which connects to the doped fiber (932); the second terminal connects to a second end of the second waveguide from the photonic circuit (915); the third terminal connects to the third waveguide from the laser (921); and wherein the third waveguide comprises a first signal having a second wavelength, and wherein the first fiber comprises a second signal, wherein the second signal is an amplified first signal, and wherein the second signal comprises the second wavelength (923 is an amplifying fiber which produces a second signal, and the wavelength is not disclosed as changing).
Regarding claim 15, Onaka discloses the first waveguide is doped in Fig. 1B and paragraph 0111.
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination of Onaka, Frolov and Jiang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a second pump laser. However, additional/second pump lasers are ubiquitous in the art of optical signals, and Frolov discloses a second pump waveguide in Fig. 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second pump laser at the first wavelength in order to provide redundancy or increased pump power.
Regarding claim 21, Jiang in view of the rejection above, further discloses the plurality of mode conversion structures comprise one or more grooves or fiber array interfaces (661 in Fig. 6) configured to transform the mode size of each of the second waveguides to the mode size of the photonic circuit.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Frolov in view of the rejection above, further discloses one or more passive optical circuit elements (623, 624) configured to enable manipulation of the emitted light from the pump laser and the optical transposer is further configured for optical isolation, filtering, and/or polarization management (paragraph 0048 describes how light emitted from the pump laser 605 passes through pump-kill filters 623, 624).
Regarding claim 24, the proposed combination of Onaka, Frolov and Jiang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating optical signals received by the optical transposer from the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides are directed to the optical amplifier via the plurality of first waveguides; and optical signals received by the optical transposer from the optical amplifier via the plurality of first waveguides are directed to the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides. However, pump and signal light that can travel in opposite directions to form a backward pumped amplifier are ubiquitous in the art of optical signals, as such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optical signals received by the optical transposer from the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides are directed to the optical amplifier via the plurality of first waveguides; and optical signals received by the optical transposer from the optical amplifier via the plurality of first waveguides are directed to the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides in order to increase the versatility of the device.
Regarding claim 25, Frolov in view of the rejection above, further discloses a substrate (606) forming the PLC comprising one of glass, quartz, fused silica, and plastics in paragraph 0048.
Regarding claim 26, Frolov in view of the rejection above, further discloses the PLC is two-dimensional in Fig. 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed April 23, 2026, with respect to claims have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. However, in order to expedite the prosecution of the application, the relevant portions of Applicant’s response will be addressed.
On pages 9-12, Applicant asserts that Onaka does not disclose an optical amplifier that is distinct from the optical transposer. However, the rejection above now maps the multiplexer 922 and directly coupled “optical fiber[s]” (see Fig. 1B of Onaka) to the claimed optical transposer. Further, the optical amplifying fiber 923 corresponds to the claimed optical amplifier. The optical amplifying fiber 923 is the actual amplifying element in the structure shown in Fig. 1B. The multiplexer 922 and coupled “optical fiber[s]” merely connect to the optical amplifying fiber 923 and are clearly distinct from it. This is supported by the disclosure of Onaka, such as paragraph 0048, describing how “multiplexer 922 multiplexes the modulation light input from the optical modulator 915 and the excitation light input from the excitation light laser 921 and outputs the multiplexed light to the optical amplifying fiber 923.” The multiplexed light is output via the “optical fiber” between the multiplexer 922 and the optical amplifying fiber 923. That “optical fiber” is a distinct and separate element from the optical amplifying fiber 923. Thus, Onaka discloses an optical amplifier that is distinct from the optical transposer as claimed.
On page 12, Applicant traverses the combination of Onaka, Frolov and Jiang as relying on impermissible hindsight without any motivation by the cited references. Applicant further states that “modifying Onaka’s amplifier to incorporate Frolov’s PLC optical splitter and Jiang’s mode converters would fundamentally destroy Onaka’s principle of operation. However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference but rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.”); In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use an optical splitter supported by a PLC as disclosed by Frolov in the device of Onaka for the purpose of processing multiple beams or wavelengths in a compact, robust device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 July 6, 2026