DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed August 06, 2026 have been entered. Currently, claims 1, 6-7 have been amended, and claims 1-10, 12 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (U.S. Patent No. 7353068 B2).
Regarding independent claim 1, Tanaka discloses a method for a minimally invasive electro-surgical system (201) (Col. 17, lines 22-36 & Figs. 19, 25-27), the method comprising:
determining if a first user activation (Step 53) is detected at a user input device (combination of switch pedals 31, 32, 33) (Col. 17, lines 58-67) of a plurality of user input devices (combination of the switch pedals 31, 32, 33, and power switch 322) of a control console (combination of foot switch 3 and output control device 302) (Col. 21, lines 36-49);
in response to determining that the first user activation (switch pedal 31) is received at the user input device (Step 53) (Col. 21, lines 45-49):
providing feedback (Step 54) to a user of the detection of the first user activation at the user input device (Col. 21, lines 50-53),
during a first predetermined period of time starting from the detection of the first user activation (Step 58), determining if a first user deactivation is detected at the user input device (Step 59), and
in response to determining that the first user deactivation is not detected at the user input device, activating an electrosurgical device to couple electrosurgical energy to tissue (Step 63) (Col. 22, lines 3-20 and lines 26-29).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka discloses further comprising:
determining if a second user activation is detected at the user input device (Step 64) (Col. 22, lines 30-35);
in response to determining that the second user activation is received at the user input device:
providing feedback (Step 54, second time) to the user of the detection of the second user activation at the user input device (Col. 21, lines 50-53),
during a second predetermined period of time (Step 58, second time), determining if a second user deactivation is detected at the user input device (Step 59, second time), and
in response to determining that the second user deactivation is detected, skipping activation of the electrosurgical device (Steps 60-61) (Col. 22, lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka discloses further comprising:
in response to determining that the second user deactivation is detected:
swapping energy control from a first electrosurgical tool to a second electrosurgical tool (Steps 54-56) (Col. 21, lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka discloses wherein the feedback provided to the user is visual feedback provided by a graphical user interface displayed by a video display device (8) (Col. 22, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka discloses wherein the feedback provided to the user is visual feedback provided by an activated energy strip border displayed by a graphical user interface on a video display device (Col. 4, lines 14-24).
Regarding claims 6-7, Tanaka discloses wherein the feedback provided to the user is an audible feedback generated by a speaker (25) of the control console (Col. 5, lines 22-45 & Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka discloses further comprising:
while the electrosurgical device is active (Step 63, first time), determining if a second user deactivation is detected at the user input device (Steps 64-65), and
in response to determining that the second user deactivation is detected:
deactivating the electrosurgical device (action of returning to Step 52) (Col. 22, lines 30-44),
determining if a second user activation is detected at the user input device (Steps 53-56, second time);
in response to determining that the second user activation is not detected (Step 59, second time, wherein the output control device 302 determines that the decided mode has been cancelled, and returns to Step S54):
during a second predetermined period of time, determining if a third user activation is detected at the user input device (Steps 55-56, third time).
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka discloses further comprising:
while the electrosurgical device is active (Step 63, first time), determining if a second user deactivation is detected at the user input device (Steps 64-65); and
in response to determining that the second user deactivation is detected:
deactivating the electrosurgical device (action of returning to Step 52) (Col. 22, lines 30-44);
determining if a second user activation is detected at the user input device (Steps 53-56, second time);
in response to determining that the second user activation is detected:
providing feedback to the user (Step 62) and repeating the activating of the electrosurgical device to couple electrosurgical energy to tissue.
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka discloses wherein the electrosurgical device is an electrosurgical energy generator, and an electrosurgical tool couples the electrosurgical energy to tissue (Col. 17, lines 21-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 8 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugiyama (E.P. Application No. 2189128 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Hamel does not disclose wherein the feedback provided to the user is
a tactile feedback generated by a vibration device of the control console.
Sugiyama, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a medical device (21) comprising a control device (30) which includes a warning generating means (35) that provides a warning such as sound, light, or vibration (e.g., tactile feedback) to the user (pa. 0016).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the visual feedback provided by the control console of Tanaka with the tactile feedback taught by Sugiyama since both warning mechanisms are known variants in the art and either would yield the same predictable result of providing feedback to the user.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 9-10, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9, 13, 24-25 of U.S. Patent No. 9827059 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims anticipate the claims of the instant application. Accordingly, the instant application claims 1-5, 9-10, and 12 are not patentably distinct from the copending application claims 1-4, 6-9, 13, 24-25. Here, the more specific copending application claims encompass the broader instant application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993), where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Furthermore, any deficiencies in the claim language can be mitigated by secondary reference Tanaka as described and cited above in the 102 rejection.
Claims 1-10, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12, 15-24 of U.S. Patent No. 9375288 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims anticipate the claims of the instant application. Accordingly, the instant application claims 1-10, and 12 are not patentably distinct from the copending application claims 1-9, 12, 15-24. Here, the more specific copending application claims encompass the broader instant application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993), where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Furthermore, any deficiencies in the claim language can be mitigated by secondary reference Tanaka as described and cited above in the 102 rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to newly amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that the primary reference Tanaka does not teach, “determining if a first user activation is detected at a user input device of a plurality of user input devices of a control console”. Specifically, Applicant contends that the amendment clarifies that, while a plurality of user input devices are present, and only one of these user input devices is used for both first user activation and user deactivation, i.e., the same user input device is used for both first user activation and user deactivation. However, Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
Examiner notes that the amended claim language is broad and does not specify that the user input device is a single input device, only that it is a part of a plurality of user input devices of a control console. Therefore, the user input device may comprise any number of input devices, as long as the plurality of input devices which comprise the user input device can be differentiated from the rest of “plurality of user input devices”. Hence, in the rejection above, the Tanaka reference discloses a user input device (combination of switch pedals 31, 32, 33) (Col. 17, lines 58-67) of a plurality of user input devices (combination of the switch pedals 31, 32, 33, and power switch 322) of a control console (combination of foot switch 3 and output control device 302) (Col. 21, lines 36-49). As such, for the reasonings set-forth above, the rejection using the Tanaka reference is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakurai (US 6623423 B2) teaches a remote switch and a foot switch (see Fig. 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794