Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0276425) of record, in view of Yoneda (CN 1661732, machine-translation provided), in view of Beach (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0245575) of record for documentary evidence.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses an electronic device, comprising: a semiconductor [0074] layer (100); a dielectric [0079] layer (250) above the semiconductor layer, the dielectric layer having a surface extending in a first plane (interface of 260 and 250); a first resistor (right 220) having opposite first (lower) and second (upper) sides, the first side of the first resistor directly on the surface of the dielectric layer, the second side of the first resistor extending in a second plane spaced apart from the first plane, wherein the first resistor includes: a first portion (left), a second portion (middle), and a third portion (right), wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material; the first portion has a first thickness in a first direction parallel to the first plane; and the second portion extends between the first and third portions, the second portion having a second thickness in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a second resistor (left 220) having opposite first (lower) and second (upper), the second resistor spaced apart from the first resistor, the first side of the second resistor on the surface of the dielectric layer, the second side of the second resistor extending in the second plane, wherein the first and second resistors include a same material; and a contact (260) connected to the second side of the first portion, wherein the first portion encloses a lateral dimension of the contact.
Saito is silent with respect to “the second portion having a recess with respect to the second plane”; “the recess is entirely filled with an insulating material” and “the second thickness is less than the first thickness”.
FIG. 5 of Yoneda discloses a similar electronic device, comprising a first resistor (104), wherein the first resistor includes: a first portion (right), a second portion (middle), and a third portion (left), wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material; wherein the second portion having a recess with respect to the second plane; the second thickness is less than the first thickness; and the recess is entirely filled with an insulating material (115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Saito, as taught by Yoneda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Saito in the above manner for purpose of improving the surge-resistant characteristic (Abstract of Yoneda).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 5 of Yoneda discloses the first and third portions of the first resistor have a first thickness; and the second portion has a second thickness less than the first thickness.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses a second dielectric layer (260) above the dielectric layer (250), the first resistor (right 220), and the second resistor (left 220); a first contact (260b) extending in the second dielectric layer and contacting the first portion of the first resistor; a second contact (260d) extending in the second dielectric layer and contacting the third portion of the first resistor, the second contact spaced apart from the first contact along the first direction; a third contact (260b) extending in the second dielectric layer and contacting a portion of the second resistor; and a fourth contact (left 260d) extending in the second dielectric layer and contacting another portion of the second resistor, the fourth contact spaced apart from the third contact, wherein the contact is a first contact.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses a second dielectric layer (260) above the dielectric layer (250), the first resistor (right 220), and the second resistor (left 220); a second contact (260d) extending through the second dielectric layer and contacting the third portion of the first resistor, the second contact spaced apart from the first contact along the first direction; a third contact (260b) extending through the second dielectric layer and contacting a portion of the second resistor; and a fourth contact (left 260d) extending through the second dielectric layer and contacting another portion of the second resistor, the fourth contact spaced apart from the third contact, wherein the contact is a first contact.
Regarding Claim 8
With respect to “the second thickness is 50 A or less”, said thickness is related to the desired resistance and the material used for TFR (for example, Para. 34 of Beach states “35 .ANG. for a 1 Kohm silicon chromium resistor”). Therefore, said thickness is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific thickness therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses a resistor (220), comprising: a patterned film having a first side facing a semiconductor substrate (100) and a second side opposite the first side, the first side extending in a first plane and the second side extending in a second plane spaced apart from the first plane, wherein: the patterned film includes a first portion having a first thickness in a first direction parallel to the first plane, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion extending between the first and third portion; the second portion having a second thickness in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first conductive contact (260b) connected to the second side of the first portion; and a second conductive contact (260d) connected to the second side of the third portion, wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material, the first portion encloses a first lateral dimension of the first conductive contact and the third portion encloses a second lateral dimension of the second conductive contact.
Saito is silent with respect to “the second portion is recessed with respect to the second plane”; “the second thickness being less than the first thickness”; and “a surface of the second portion is entirely in direct contact with an insulating material, the surface facing the second plane”.
FIG. 5 of Yoneda discloses a similar electronic device, comprising a first resistor (104), wherein the first resistor includes: a first portion (right), a second portion (middle), and a third portion (left), wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material; wherein the second portion having a recess with respect to the second plane; the second thickness is less than the first thickness; and the recess is entirely filled with an insulating material (115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Saito, as taught by Yoneda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Saito in the above manner for purpose of improving the surge-resistant characteristic (Abstract of Yoneda).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 5 of Yoneda discloses the first and third portions have a first thicknesses; the second portion has a second thickness less than the first thicknesses.
Regarding Claim 12
With respect to “the second thickness is 50 A or less”, said thickness is related to the desired resistance and the material used for TFR (for example, Para. 2 of Mahalingam states “for silicon chromium (SiCr) thin film resistors having a sheet resistance of 1000 Ohms/square a film thickness of about 3.4 nm is required”). Therefore, said thickness is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific thickness therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 13
Saito as modified by Yoneda discloses a dielectric layer disposed on the patterned film; the first conductive contact extends through the dielectric layer; and the second conductive contact extends through the dielectric layer.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses a dielectric layer (260) above the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion; a first conductive contact (260b) extending through the dielectric layer along the third direction and contacting the first portion; a second conductive contact (260d) extending through the dielectric layer along the third direction and contacting the third portion.
Claims 5 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito and Yoneda, in view of Leng954 (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0208954) of record, in view of Beach (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0245575) of record for documentary evidence.
Regarding Claim 5
Saito as modified by Yoneda discloses Claim 3.
With respect to “the first thickness is 200 A or more, and the second thickness is 100 A or less”, said thickness is related to the desired resistance and the material used for TFR (for example, Para. 34 of Beach states “35 .ANG. for a 1 Kohm silicon chromium resistor”). Therefore, said thickness is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific thickness therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Furthermore, FIG. 10B of Leng954 discloses the first thickness is 200 A or more [0066], and the second thickness is 100 A or less [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Saito, as taught by Leng954. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Saito in the above manner for purpose of improving integrated resistor performance ([0005] of Leng954).
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 10B of Leng954 discloses the second resistor has a first thickness of 200 A or more [0066], and a recessed portion of the first resistor has a second thickness of 100 A or less [0065]. Furthermore, the recitation “the second resistor has a first thickness of 200 A or more, and a recessed portion of the first resistor has a second thickness of 100 A or less” is related to the desired resistance and the material used for TFR (for example, Para. 34 of Beach states “35 .ANG. for a 1 Kohm silicon chromium resistor”). Therefore, said thickness is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific thickness therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 9 and 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito and Yoneda, in view of Leng (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0392967) of record.
Regarding Claim 9
Saito as modified by Yoneda discloses Claim 3.
Saito as modified by Yoneda is silent with respect to “the first resistor and the second resistor include silicon-chromium”.
FIG. 13 of Leng discloses a similar electronic device, comprising a first resistor (122), wherein the first resistor and the second resistor include silicon-chromium [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Saito, as taught by Leng. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Saito in the above manner for purpose of improving integrated resistor performance ([0005] of Leng).
Regarding Claim 21
FIG. 10B of Leng discloses the second thickness is 100 A or less [0065]. Furthermore, the recitation “the second thickness is 100 A or less” is related to the desired resistance and the material used for TFR (for example, Para. 34 of Beach states “35 .ANG. for a 1 Kohm silicon chromium resistor”). Therefore, said thickness is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific thickness therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 22
Leng discloses the first, second, and third portions include silicon-chromium (SiCr) [0022].
Regarding Claim 23
Leng discloses the material of the first and second resistors includes silicon-chromium (SiCr) [0022].
Regarding Claim 24
Leng discloses the first, second, and third portions include silicon-chromium (SiCr) [0022].
Claims 1 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito, in view of Yoshiyuki (JP H11162706, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses an electronic device, comprising: a semiconductor [0074] layer (100); a dielectric [0079] layer (250) above the semiconductor layer, the dielectric layer having a surface extending in a first plane (interface of 260 and 250); a first resistor (right 220) having opposite first (lower) and second (upper) sides, the first side of the first resistor directly on the surface of the dielectric layer, the second side of the first resistor extending in a second plane spaced apart from the first plane, wherein the first resistor includes: a first portion (left), a second portion (middle), and a third portion (right), wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material; the first portion has a first thickness in a first direction parallel to the first plane; and the second portion extends between the first and third portions, the second portion having a second thickness in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a second resistor (left 220) having opposite first (lower) and second (upper), the second resistor spaced apart from the first resistor, the first side of the second resistor on the surface of the dielectric layer, the second side of the second resistor extending in the second plane, wherein the first and second resistors include a same material; and a contact (260) connected to the second side of the first portion, wherein the first portion encloses a lateral dimension of the contact.
Saito is silent with respect to “the second portion having a recess with respect to the second plane”; “the recess is entirely filled with an insulating material” and “the second thickness is less than the first thickness”.
FIG. 6 of Yoshiyuki discloses a similar electronic device, comprising a first resistor (12), wherein the first resistor includes: a first portion (right), a second portion (middle), and a third portion (left), wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material; wherein the second portion having a recess with respect to the second plane; the second thickness is less than the first thickness; and the recess is entirely filled with an insulating material (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Saito, as taught by Yoshiyuki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Saito in the above manner for purpose of preventing noise from leaking out of the resistor (Abstract of Yoshiyuki).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 5 of Saito discloses a resistor (220), comprising: a patterned film having a first side facing a semiconductor substrate (100) and a second side opposite the first side, the first side extending in a first plane and the second side extending in a second plane spaced apart from the first plane, wherein: the patterned film includes a first portion having a first thickness in a first direction parallel to the first plane, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion extending between the first and third portion; the second portion having a second thickness in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and a first conductive contact (260b) connected to the second side of the first portion; and a second conductive contact (260d) connected to the second side of the third portion, wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material, the first portion encloses a first lateral dimension of the first conductive contact and the third portion encloses a second lateral dimension of the second conductive contact.
Saito is silent with respect to “the second portion is recessed with respect to the second plane”; “the second thickness being less than the first thickness”; and “a surface of the second portion is entirely in direct contact with an insulating material, the surface facing the second plane”.
FIG. 5 of Yoneda discloses a similar electronic device, comprising a first resistor (104), wherein the first resistor includes: a first portion (right), a second portion (middle), and a third portion (left), wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material; wherein the second portion having a recess with respect to the second plane; the second thickness is less than the first thickness; and the recess is entirely filled with an insulating material (115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Saito, as taught by Yoneda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Saito in the above manner for purpose of improving the surge-resistant characteristic (Abstract of Yoneda).
Pertinent Art
US 6441447 discloses an electronic device, comprising: a semiconductor layer; a dielectric layer above the semiconductor layer, the dielectric layer having a surface extending in a first plane; a first resistor having opposite first and second sides, the first side of the first resistor directly on the surface of the dielectric layer, the second side of the first resistor extending in a second plane spaced apart from the first plane, wherein the first resistor includes a recess extending into the second side of the first resistor, the recess being entirely filled with an insulating material; and a second resistor having opposite first and second sides, the second resistor spaced apart from the first resistor, the first side of the second resistor on the surface of the dielectric layer, the second side of the second resistor extending in the second plane. US 20130093055, 20150162396, U.S. Patent No. 8,679,932 and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0348494 each discloses a resistor comprising a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion. The resistor includes a recess extending into the second side of the resistor, the recess being entirely filled with an insulating material, wherein the first, second, and third portion have a same material. US 20150034981, EP 325234.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897