DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim 14 is currently amended. Claim 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks/argument, filed 12/3/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ito (US20180013123A1). See rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito (US20180013123A1).
Regarding claim 1, battery cell (energy storage device 10), comprising:
a housing (main body 111) with an opening;
an electrode assembly (electrode assemblies 400) for being accommodated in the housing,
wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main body portion (negative electrode 460) and a tab (tab portion 420), the tab extends from the main body portion; and
an end cover assembly (lid body 110), comprising an end cover and an electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal 300), the end cover is configured to cover the opening,
the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal 300) is mounted on the end cover, and the electrode terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the tab [0057], wherein
the end cover comprises a first body (see annotated Fig 6 below) and a first protruding portion (projecting portion 113),
the first body has a first inner surface and a first outer surface arranged opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the first body (see annotated Fig 6 below),
the first protruding portion protrudes from the first outer surface in a direction departing from the main body portion (See annotated Fig 6 below),
a first recessed portion (annotated in Fig 6 above), which is recessed from the first inner surface in the direction departing from the main body portion, is formed at a position corresponding to the first protruding portion on the first body,
an end face of the electrode assembly provided with the tab is facing the end cover, and the first recessed portion is configured to accommodate at least a part of the tab (i.e., tab portion 420A, 420B in the annotated Fig 6 above).
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the first recessed portion has a first bottom surface (see annotated Fig 6 below); and in the thickness direction, the first bottom surface is farther from the main body portion than the first outer surface (see annotated Fig 6 below)
Regarding claim 5, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal (terminal 300 in Fig 6) is mounted on the first protruding portion (projecting portion 113 in Fig 6).
Regarding claim 6, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 5, wherein the end cover assembly comprises two electrode terminals (positive electrode terminal 200 and a negative terminal 300), and the two electrode terminals are mounted on one first protruding portion (see Fig 1)
Regarding claim 7, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the end cover assembly further comprises a first insulating piece (insulating member 130; Fig 6); and the first insulating piece is disposed on a side of the end cover (lid body 110) facing the main body portion, and the first insulating piece is configured to isolate the end cover from the electrode assembly [0108-0109].
Regarding claim 8, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 7, wherein the first insulating piece (insulating member 130; Fig 6) comprises a second body and a second protruding portion,
the second body has a second inner surface and a second outer surface arranged opposite to each other in the thickness direction (see annotated Fig 6 below),
the second outer surface faces the first inner surface (see annotated Fig 6 below),
the second protruding portion protrudes from the second outer surface in the direction departing from the main body portion (see annotated Fig 6 below), and
a second recessed portion (recessed portion 131; see Fig 6 below) recessed from the second inner surface in the direction departing from the main body portion is formed at a position corresponding to the second protruding portion on the second body (see annotated Fig 6 below)
the first recessed portion is configured to accommodate the second protruding portion, and the second recessed portion is configured to accommodate at least a part of the tab (see annotated Fig 6 below).
Regarding claim 9, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the battery cell further comprises a current collecting member (current collector 150), and the electrode terminal (terminal 300) is electrically connected to the tab through the current collecting member [0057],
wherein the tab comprises a first connection portion for being connected to the current collecting member, and at least a part of the first connection portion is accommodated in the first recessed portion (see the annotated Fig 6 below).
Regarding claim 10, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 9, wherein the current collecting member has a third inner surface facing the main body portion, and the third inner surface is farther from the main body portion than the first inner surface (see annotated Fig 6 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US20180013123A1), in view of Xiao (US20210028425A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 1. However, Ito does not disclose wherein the first body is configured to be attached to a thermal management component, and the thermal management component is configured to adjust a temperature of the battery cell, as claimed.
In this regard, Xiao is directed to a secondary battery 1 comprising a case 11, an electrode assembly 12, and a top cover assembly 13, wherein the top cover assembly further comprising an insulation thermal-dissipation member 15 that has electrical insulation and a large thermal conductivity, thereby allowing heat generated by the cell to be conducted to the cover plate through the insulation thermal-dissipation member for heat dissipation ([0061-0062 Xiao]; i.e., adjusting temperature). Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a thermal management component, such as the insulation thermal-dissipation member of Xiao, with a reasonable expectation to dissipate heat generated from the battery cell [0061-0063 Xiao].
Regarding claim 3, Ito discloses the battery cell according to claim 2, wherein the first outer surface comprises a heat dissipation area, a projection of the heat dissipation area in the thickness direction does not overlap a projection of the first protruding portion in the thickness direction (see annotated Fig 6 below), wherein the heat dissipation area is configured to be attached to the thermal management component (see Fig 2,3 of Xiao wherein the insulation thermal-dissipation member 15 are attached adjacent to the electrode terminals ).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US20180013123A1), in view of DeKeuster (US20160197324A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ito discloses a battery (energy storage device 10) comprising a battery cell (electrode assemblies 400 in main body 111).
Ito does not disclose a box body wherein the box body is configured to accommodate the battery cell. In this regard, DeKeuster teaches a battery module that includes a housing and a first stack of battery cells disposed in the housing [0008]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the energy storage device of Maeda to form a battery module, with a reasonable expectation to provide a module having high coulombic efficiency and/or a higher power charge acceptance rate [DeKeuster 0034].
Ito further discloses the battery cell, comprising:
a housing (main body 111) with an opening;
an electrode assembly (electrode assemblies 401,402) for being accommodated in the housing,
wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main body portion (negative electrode 460) and a tab (tab portion 420), the tab extends from the main body portion; and
an end cover assembly (lid body 110), comprising an end cover and an electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal 300), the end cover is configured to cover the opening,
the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal 300) is mounted on the end cover, and the electrode terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the tab [0057], wherein
the end cover comprises a first body (see annotated Fig 6 below) and a first protruding portion (projecting portion 113),
the first body has a first inner surface and a first outer surface arranged opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the first body (see annotated Fig 6 below),
the first protruding portion protrudes from the first outer surface in a direction departing from the main body portion (See annotated Fig 6 below),
a first recessed portion (annotated in Fig 6 above), which is recessed from the first inner surface in the direction departing from the main body portion, is formed at a position corresponding to the first protruding portion on the first body,
an end face of the electrode assembly provided with the tab is facing the end cover, and the first recessed portion is configured to accommodate at least a part of the tab (i.e., tab portion 420A, 420B in the annotated Fig 6 above).
Claim(s) 12-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US20180013123A1), in view of DeKeuster (US20160197324A1) and Xiao (US20210028425).
Regarding claim 12, Ito discloses the battery according to claim 11, but does not disclose wherein the battery further comprises a thermal management component, the thermal management component is attached to the first body, and the thermal management component is configured to adjust a temperature of the battery cell as claimed.
In this regard, Xiao is directed to a secondary battery 1 comprising a case 11, an electrode assembly 12, and a top cover assembly 13, wherein the top cover assembly further comprises a pair of insulation thermal-dissipation member 15 having electrical insulation and a large thermal conductivity, thereby allowing heat generated by the cell to be conducted to the cover plate through the insulation thermal-dissipation member for heat dissipation ([0061-0062 Xiao]; i.e., adjusting temperature). Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a thermal management component, such as the insulation thermal-dissipation member of Xiao, with a reasonable expectation to dissipate heat generated from the battery cell [0061-0063 Xiao].
Regarding claim 13, modified Ito discloses the battery according to claim 12, wherein the thermal management component is located at a bottom of the battery cell (i.e., in Y-axis; see annotated Fig 6). Regarding the limitation “the thermal management component is configured to support the first body”, Examiner notes “configured to” is an intended use limitation that does not impart additional structure to the battery. Since the first body provides a surface wherein the thermal management component could be attached to, it appears to support the thermal management component, and vice versa.
Regarding claim 14, Ito discloses the battery according to claim 13, wherein the first protruding portion has a third outer surface departing from the first body, and a heat thermal management component has a fourth outer surface departing from the first body; and in the thickness direction, the fourth outer surface is closer to the main body portion than the third outer surface (see annotated Fig 6 below).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ito discloses the battery according to claim 12, wherein the battery further comprises a second insulating piece (upper insulating member 135), and in the thickness direction, the second insulating piece is disposed on a side of the first body departing from the main body portion (i.e., insulating member 135 and first body overlaps; see Fig 6 below), and the second insulating piece covers the thermal management component and at least part of the first protruding portion.
Regarding claim 16, modified Ito discloses the battery according to claim 15, wherein the second insulating piece is provided with a through hole (i.e., through hole 135a [0060]; see Fig 2) for the electrode terminal to extend out (i.e., fastening portion 310 of the terminal 300 extending through [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ito discloses the battery according to claim 12, wherein an accommodation gap is formed between the thermal management component (modified by Xiao; see annotated Fig 6 below) and a bottom wall of the box body, and the accommodation gap is configured to accommodate at least a part of the electrode terminal.
Regarding claim 19, modified Ito discloses the battery according to claim 12, comprising a thermal management component (modified by Xiao). Xiao further discloses wherein the thermal management component is provided with an avoidance hole (through hole 161), the avoidance hole is configured to accommodate at least a part of the first protruding portion (see Fig 4 wherein the top cover plate 131 having protrusion disposed in the through hole 161 in Fig 4,5), as claimed. As such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added an avoidance hole with a reasonable expectation to dispose the insulation thermal-dissipation member in the cover plate [Xiao 0066].
Regarding claim 20, Ito discloses a power consumption device (e.g., EV, HEV, PHEV [0043]), comprising a battery; and the battery (energy storage device 10; Fig 1,2) comprising a battery cell (battery assemblies 400 in main body 111).
However, Ito does not disclose a box body wherein the box body is configured to accommodate the battery cell. In this regard, DeKeuster teaches a battery module that includes a housing and a first stack of battery cells disposed in the housing [0008]. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the energy storage device of Maeda to form a battery module, with a reasonable expectation to provide a module having high coulombic efficiency and/or a higher power charge acceptance rate [DeKeuster 0034].
Ito further discloses wherein the battery cell comprises:
a housing (main body 111) with an opening;
an electrode assembly (battery assemblies 401, 402) for being accommodated in the housing, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main body portion (negative electrode 460) and a tab (tab portion 420), the tab extends from the main body portion
an end cover assembly (lid body 110), comprising an end cover and an electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal 300), the end cover is configured to cover the opening,
the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal 300) is mounted on the end cover, and the electrode terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the tab [0057],
the end cover comprises a first body (see annotated Fig 6 below) and a first protruding portion (projecting portion 113),
the first body has a first inner surface and a first outer surface arranged opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the first body (see annotated Fig 6 below),
the first protruding portion protrudes from the first outer surface in a direction departing from the main body portion,
a first recessed portion (annotated in Fig 6 above), which is recessed from the first inner surface in the direction departing from the main body portion, is formed at a position corresponding to the first protruding portion on the first body,
an end face of the electrode assembly provided with the tab is facing the end cover, and the first recessed portion is configured to accommodate at least a part of the tab (i.e., tab portion 420A, 420B in the annotated Fig 6 above).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US20180013123A1), in view of DeKeuster (US20160197324A1), Xiao (US20210028425), and Wu (CN110600832A, translation attached).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ito discloses the battery according to claim 17. However, Ito does not disclose wherein the battery further comprises a bus component, the bus component is configured to realize electrical connection of a plurality of battery cells; and the bus component is connected to the electrode terminal, and the bus component is entirely accommodated in the accommodation gap.
In this regard, Wu is also directed to a battery comprising a plurality of cells 1, an end cover main body 40 and a heat insulating member 41 made of heat-conducting insulating material, and busbar 3 (see Fig 6), wherein the busbar forms an overall power circuit with the positive and negative electrical connection terminals and connect the battery cells in series, in parallel, or a combination of series and parallel connections [Wu 0056]. As such, it is obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a bus component in the accommodation gap to form a power circuit connecting the battery assemblies in series, parallel, or a combination thereof [Wu 0056].
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/1/2026