DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 25-36 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed methods. In particular, Applicant argues that Brann teaches a dual-cure method and fails to teach that the composition is polymerized to completeness via irradiating the fiber unit as required by claim 25 as Brann teaches a moisture cure. However, the Examiner disagrees and notes that the claims do not exclude providing a second composition simultaneously which is cured with moisture. As outlined by Brann a first composition that is radiation curable is applied in combination with a second composition that is moisture curable (see Example 1, which includes radiation-curable component composition and moisture-curable component composition). Additionally, the UV irradiation step will cure the radiation curable composition to completeness, thereby meeting the limitations of the claim as presented. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that Brann teaches the claimed steps.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 35, that the method excludes additional curing steps using the language “consisting of”. However, “consisting of” doesn’t exclude additional steps after the completion of the steps of the method. The curing via humidity is after completely curing the photocurable composition with radiation step (c) (see Example 1). Therefore, Brann’s process steps (a) to (c) do not include the humidity curing step; therefore, Brann meets the limitations of claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 25-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brann (U.S. Pat. No. 5409740) in view of Smith et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 3700643).
Regarding claims 25-36, Brann teaches a process consisting of: providing a composition (abstract); applying the composition onto and into a filament fiber unit for binding the fiber units (abstract); and then irradiating the obtained fiber unit with radiation in the range of 200-400 nm to polymerize the composition to a completely cured polymer (column 10, lines 13-17). Brann teaches the composition free from water (see throughout and Example 1, column 9) and comprising: an acrylate functionalized polyurethane having two or more acrylate groups prepared from an NCO prepolymer and a hydroxy functionalized dimethacrylate (claims 6 and 7), a radical photoinitiator (claim 18), such as a benzophenone (column 7, lines 55-59), in an amount of 5-10 % (column 8, lines 13-17), and a monoacrylate diluent (claim 15), such as cyclohexyl acrylate (claim 16) which has a molecular weight of about 154 and a viscosity of about 6-10 mPa•s. Brann teaches that the fiber can be selected from a group including polyamide (claim 2) and that the polyurethane can also be combined with a polyester (claim 5). Brann fails to explicitly teach the molecular weight and the viscosity of the polyurethane and the cured polymer having an elongation at break as claimed.
However, Brann teaches that the acrylated polyurethanes can be prepared according to U.S. Pat. No. 3700643 (column 6, lines 56-65) which is Smith et al. Furthermore, Smith teaches a process of preparing radiation curable (abstract) acrylated polyurethanes wherein the polyurethane can have a viscosity of 16900 mPa•s (Example 9, column 20-21) and a molecular weight in the range as claimed (see table column 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brann’s process by using an acrylated polyurethane having a molecular weight and viscosity as claimed as disclosed by Smith. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Brann specifically teaches that the process can use the polyurethanes as disclosed and made by Smith. Therefore, one could have substituted Smith’s acrylated polyurethanes with a reasonable expectation of success, and the predictable result of providing a curable composition for binding fibers. Furthermore, Brann in view of Smith teach an essentially identical process using identical types of polymers to that claimed and would inherently yield a polymer with the claimed elongation at break.
Conclusion
Claims 25-36 are pending.
Claims 25-36 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
August 25, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717