DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 1, the limitation “heat conductive material slug” is alleged to be supported in [0040] and [0041] of the Specification. However, it appears the limitation “heat conductive material slug” is specifically disclosed to read on non-elected FIG. 4 but does not exist in the elected FIG. 2. Further, it is also not clear how the heat conductive material slug is within the encapsulant layer, where the at least one heat sink is even with the encapsulant layer. As clearly seen in FIG. 2 and FIG. 4 of the Drawings, the encapsulant layer that is even with the at least one heat sink is only between the first and second substrates surrounding the second die, the at least one heat sink, and the solder balls. It is not clear whether the recited “heat conductive material slug” is actually directed to thick and thinner portions of the at least one heat sink on top and sides of the second die such that the “heat conductive material slug” is within the encapsulant layer. Furthermore, the limitation “even with the encapsulant layer” does not specify the breadth of the limitation “even”. As seen in FIG. 2, it appears the combination of 16A/18 and 16 within the encapsulant layer is even with the encapsulant layer and 16 is only roughly “even” with the encapsulant layer. It is not clear whether the limitation “even” does not require exact coplanar surfaces. Lastly, it is not clear what “at lest one” is directed to and which one “the electronic system package” is directed to with respect to the “electronic systems package”. Thus, the limitation renders the claims indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0227209 A1 to Yoon et al. (“Yoon”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0257272 A1 to Kothari et al. (“Kothari”). As to claim 1, although Yoon discloses an electronic systems package comprising: a first die (316/320) in operable communication with a first substrate (102); a second die (114) in operable communication with a second substrate (304/at 320) above the first substrate (102) and in thermal communication therewith; an encapsulant layer (122) surrounding the second die (114); and at least one heat sink (120) embedded within the encapsulant layer (122) surrounding the second die (114), the at least one heat sink (120) being even with the encapsulant layer (122); and wherein the at least one heat sink (120) is exposed to an exterior of the electronic systems package and operable to direct heat generated from the first (316/320) and second (114) dies out from the package and away from the first (316/320) and second (114) dies through the at least one heat sink (120) through the top of the electronic system package (See Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶ 0037-¶ 0043, ¶ 0049-¶ 0053, ¶ 0058-¶ 0064, ¶ 0067-¶ 0069) (Notes: the recited elements are met by the recited positions and thus are operable to direct heat generated from the first and second dies out from the package and away from the first and second dies. Further, the limitation “substrate” is interpreted as a supporting element and the limitation “encapsulant layer” is interpreted as a covering layer. Lastly, the at least one heat sink is even with the encapsulant layer to be exposed to air/environment. The proximity between the first and second dies and the at least one heat sink provides heat dissipation), Yoon does not further disclose wherein the at least one heat sink comprises at lest one heat conductive material slug on top of the second die and at least one heat conductive material slug adjacent the second die within the encapsulant layer. However, Kothari does disclose wherein the at least one heat sink (120) comprises at lest one heat conductive material slug (120a) on top of the second die (110) and at least one heat conductive material slug (120b) adjacent the second die (110) within the at least one heat sink (120) (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0025-¶ 0029). In view of the teaching of Kothari, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yoon to have wherein the at least one heat sink comprises at lest one heat conductive material slug on top of the second die and at least one heat conductive material slug adjacent the second die within the encapsulant layer because the heat conductive material slug improves the overall thermal design power capabilities (See ¶ 0029). As to claim 2, Yoon discloses further comprising: a thermal interface material layer (322) between each of the at least one heat sinks (120) and the second substrate (at 320) (See Fig. 3, ¶ 0053), where the thermal interface material in physical contact provides heat dissipation path. As to claim 4, Yoon discloses further comprising: a third die (320) in operable communication with the second substrate (304) (See Fig. 4, ¶ 0052). As to claim 6, Yoon further discloses wherein the first die (316) further comprises: a flip chip die (316) (See Fig. 4, ¶ 0051). As to claim 7, Yoon further discloses wherein the second die (114) further comprises: one of a flip chip die (114) and a wire bond die (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0038). As to claim 8, Yoon further discloses wherein the third die (320) further comprises: one of a flip chip die and a wire bond die (320) (See Fig. 4, ¶ 0051, ¶ 0052).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815