DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on March 31, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0227209 A1 to Yoon et al. (“Yoon”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. -2018/0277490 A1 to Yoon et al. (“Yoon0”). As to claim 1, Yoon discloses an electronic systems package comprising: a first die (316/320) in operable communication with a first substrate (102); a second die (114) in operable communication with a second substrate (304/at 320) above the first substrate (102) and in thermal communication therewith; an encapsulant layer (128, 504) surrounding the second die (114); and at least one heat sink (506) embedded within the encapsulant layer (128, 504), and physically defining a cavity (between 322 and 506) that encloses five sides of the second die (114), the at least one heat sink (506) being in direct thermal contact with the second die (114) and even or extending out of the encapsulant layer (128, 504) surrounding the second die (114), the at least one heat sink (506) enclosing five sides of the second die (114); wherein the at least one heat sink (506) is exposed to an exterior of the electronic systems package and operable to direct heat generated from the first (316/320) and second (114) dies out from the package and away from the first (316/320) and second (114) dies (See Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0049-¶ 0053, ¶ 0058-¶ 0064, ¶ 0067-¶ 0069) (Notes: the recited elements are met by the recited positions and thus are operable to direct heat generated from the first and second dies out from the package and away from the first and second dies. Further, the limitation “substrate” is interpreted as a supporting element and the limitation “encapsulant layer” is interpreted as a covering layer. Lastly, the at least one heat sink is not entirely buried in the encapsulant layer to be extending out of the encapsulant layer exposed to air/environment. The proximity between the first and second dies and the at least one heat sink provides heat dissipation). Further, Yoon0 discloses the at least one heat sink (15) enclosing five sides of the second die (16) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 0061-¶ 0065) such that the second die is well insulated from unnecessary electromagnetic waves and providing a better heat dissipation path. As to claim 2, Yoon discloses further comprising: a thermal interface material layer (322) between each of the at least one heat sinks (506) and the second substrate (at 320) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6, ¶ 0061), where the thermal interface material in physical contact provides heat dissipation path. As to claim 4, Yoon discloses further comprising: a third die (320) in operable communication with the second substrate (304) (See Fig. 6, ¶ 0052). As to claim 6, Yoon further discloses wherein the first die (316) further comprises: a flip chip die (316) (See Fig. 6, ¶ 0051). As to claim 7, Yoon further discloses wherein the second die (114) further comprises: one of a flip chip die (114) and a wire bond die (See Fig. 6, ¶ 0038). As to claim 8, Yoon further discloses wherein the third die (320) further comprises: one of a flip chip die and a wire bond die (320) (See Fig. 6, ¶ 0051, ¶ 0052).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue “The Office’s own characterization of the prior art indicates that Yoon’s relied-upon member is a discrete shield or plate-like structure rather than a die-surrounding cavity heat sink…That is not the same as a heat sink embedded within encapsulant and physically defining a cavity that encloses five sides of the die.” This is not found persuasive because both Yoon and Yoon0 disclose the shield for EMI purposes and heat dissipation (See Yoon ¶ 0062 and Yoon0 ¶ 0064). Thus, the combination of Yoon and Yoon0 provides the five-sided cavity heat sink embedded within the encapsulant around the die.
Applicants further argue “The rejection does not identify where Yoon0 teaches that this shield is embedded within an encapsulant layer surrounding the die while also physically defining a five-sided cavity around that die and being exposed to the package exterior…(ii) physically defines a cavity that encloses five sides of that second die.” This is not found persuasive because in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is noted that Yoon0 clearly shows the heat sink enclosing five sides of the second die such that the cavity enclosing five sides of the second die of Yoon is taught as well. As seen in FIG. 2 of Yoon and in view of Yoon0, the heat sink or shield encloses five sides of the second die such that better EMI shield and heat dissipation are provided. Since the cavity is formed in the cross-sectional view in Yoon, the five-sided cavity heat sink embedded within the encapsulant around the die is provided.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815