DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 01/23/2026 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claims 10-11 and 15 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-9, 12-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 9, 16-17, and 19-20 have been amended.
The cancellation of claim 10 obviates the rejection of claim 10 set forth in the last Office Action.
The amendments of claims 1, 3, 9, 16-17, and 19-20 have overcome:
the rejections of claims 9-10, 12-14, and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2015/0243908 A1, hereafter Lee ‘908),
the rejections of claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 2017/0074266 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent, hereafter Jung) in view of Noda et al. (“5,5’-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’-bithiophene and 5,5”-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’:5’,2”- terthiophene as a Novel Family of Electron-Transporting Amorphous Molecular Materials”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1998, vol. 120, page 9714-9715, hereafter Noda) as evidenced by Ossila (DPAVBi material information by Ossila, address - https://www.ossila.com/products/dpavbi, hereafter Ossila),
the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 2017/0074266 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent) in view of Noda et al. (“5,5’-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’-bithiophene and 5,5”-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’:5’,2”- terthiophene as a Novel Family of Electron-Transporting Amorphous Molecular Materials”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1998, vol. 120, page 9714-9715) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-20 above, further in view of Sim et al. (US 20170155057 A1, hereafter Sim), and
the rejections of claims 7-8 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 2017/0074266 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent) in view of Noda et al. (“5,5’-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’-bithiophene and 5,5”-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’:5’,2”- terthiophene as a Novel Family of Electron-Transporting Amorphous Molecular Materials”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1998, vol. 120, page 9714-9715) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-20 above, further in view of Inoue et al. (US 2016/0028027 A1, Inoue) set forth in the last Office Action.
The rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 29-32 of the reply filed 01/23/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 9, 12-14, and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee ‘908 set forth in the Office Action of 10/27/2025 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the claims are not anticipated.
The rejections refer to the Compound I-5 of Lee ‘908, wherein R4 and R5 are a C1-C60 alkoxy group substituted by R10a. However, the amended claims do not allow R4 and R5 to be a C1-C60 alkoxy group. Thus, the Compound I-5 of Lee ‘908 does not read on the limitation of Formula 2-1 of the amended claims. The rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 29-32 of the reply filed 01/23/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung/Noda/Ossila, the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung/Noda/Sim, the rejections of claims 7-8 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung/Noda/Inoue set forth in the Office Action of 10/27/2025 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to disclose or teach all elements of amended claim 1.
The rejections refer to the Compound of Jung as modified by Noda which is directed to the previous Formula 1-10. However, the amended claims do not allow the polycyclic core group of the Formula 1 to be Formula 1-10. Thus, the Compound of Jung as modified by Noda does not read on the limitation of Formula 1 of the amended claims. The rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 29-32 of the reply filed 01/23/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2013/0135178 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent, hereafter Lee ‘178) in view of Noda, and the rejections of claims 7-8 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘178 in view of Noda as applied to claims 1-6, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-19 above, further in view of Inoue set forth in the Office Action of 10/27/2025 have been considered.
Applicant argues that combination of Lee ‘178 and Nota fails to disclose or teach all elements of amended claim 1.
The rejections refer to the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda which is directed to the previous Formula 1-2. However, the amended claims do not allow the polycyclic core group of the Formula 1 to be Formula 1-2. Thus, the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda does not read on the limitation of Formula 1 of the amended claims.
However, for the following reason the cited references are still applicable to make new grounds of rejection.
Lee ‘178 discloses Compound 1-1 ([0066]).
The condensed cyclic ring of the Compound 1-1 has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula 1-1 of the instant claims. The only difference is that in the Compound 1-1 of Lee ‘178 the substituents at the positions corresponding to R7 and R8 are joined to form a fused benzene ring (i.e. the part enclosed by a dashed ring in the figure above), while Applicant’s Formula 1 requires the substituents at R5 and R6 are joined to form a fused benzene ring. However, Lee ‘178 does teach R5 and R6 can be joined to form a fused aromatic ring ([0017]) and exemplifies Formula 5 ([0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Lee ‘178 by substituting the fusion positions of the fused benzene ring at R7 and R8 with the positions R5 and R6 of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178, as taught by Lee ‘178.
The modification provides Modified compound of Lee ‘178.
The Modified compound of Lee ‘178 has a phenyl group at the position corresponding to the moiety Y of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178, which does not read on the limitation of Applicant’s Formula 2-1 of the instant claims; however, Lee ‘178 does teach that Y can be a substituted boron group ([0021]).
Noda discloses an dimesitylboryl compound (BMB-2T and BMB-3T on page 9714, col. 1) used as an electron transporting material of an organic light emitting device (page 9715, col. 2).
Noda teaches incorporation of the dimesitylboryl moiety provides electron accepting properties and prevents crystallization due to its nonplanar molecular structure (page 9714, col. 2, line 5-9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound of Lee ‘178 by substituting the phenyl group at the position corresponding to Y of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178 with a dimesitylboryl group as taught by Lee ‘178 and Noda.
The modification provides Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda which has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1 and the Applicant’s embodiment of Compound 2.
New grounds of rejections are applied. The amendment necessitates new grounds of rejection, making this Office Action final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2013/0135178 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent, hereafter Lee ‘178) in view of Noda et al. (“5,5’-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’-bithiophene and 5,5”-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’:5’,2”- terthiophene as a Novel Family of Electron-Transporting Amorphous Molecular Materials”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1998, vol. 120, page 9714-9715).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-20, Lee ‘178 discloses a compound (Formula 1 in [0014]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0012]) and exemplifies Compound 1-1 ([0066]).
The condensed cyclic ring of the Compound 1-1 has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula 1-1 of the instant claims. The only difference is that in the Compound 1-1 of Lee ‘178 the substituents at the positions corresponding to R7 and R8 are joined to form a fused benzene ring (i.e. the part enclosed by a dashed ring in the figure above), while Applicant’s Formula 1 requires the substituents at R5 and R6 are joined to form a fused benzene ring. However, Lee ‘178 does teach R5 and R6 can be joined to form a fused aromatic ring ([0017]) and exemplifies Formula 5 ([0039]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Lee ‘178 by substituting the fusion positions of the fused benzene ring at R7 and R8 with the positions R5 and R6 of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178, as taught by Lee ‘178.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Lee ‘178 exemplified the positions R5 and R6 as the fusion position of the fused benzene ring in Formula 5 of Lee ‘178. The substitution of the exemplified fusion positions from R7 and R8 (i.e. Formula 7 in [0045]) to R5 and R6 (i.e. Formula 5 in [0039]) would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified compound of Lee ‘178.
The Modified compound of Lee ‘178 has a phenyl group at the position corresponding to the moiety Y of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178, which does not read on the limitation of Applicant’s Formula 2-1 of the instant claims; however, Lee ‘178 does teach that Y can be a substituted boron group ([0021]).
Noda discloses an dimesitylboryl compound (BMB-2T and BMB-3T on page 9714, col. 1) used as an electron transporting material of an organic light emitting device (page 9715, col. 2).
Noda teaches incorporation of the dimesitylboryl moiety provides electron accepting properties and prevents crystallization due to its nonplanar molecular structure (page 9714, col. 2, line 5-9).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound of Lee ‘178 by substituting the phenyl group at the position corresponding to Y of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178 with a dimesitylboryl group as taught by Lee ‘178 and Noda.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide electron accepting properties and prevent crystallization due to its nonplanar molecular structure based on the teaching of Noda.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the phenyl group with a dimesitylboryl group at the position corresponding to the Y of Formula 1 of Lee ‘178 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda which has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula 1 and the Applicant’s embodiment of Compound 2, meeting all the limitations of claims 9, 12-14, and 16-20.
Lee ‘178 in view of Noda does not disclose a specific light emitting device comprising the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda; however, Lee ‘178 does teach that the compound of Lee ‘178 can be used for an electron transport layer material ([0097]).
Lee ‘178 exemplifies an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode (anode), a hole injection layer, an emission layer (BH as a host, BD as a dopant), an electron transport layer (compound of Lee ‘178 and LiQ), and a second electrode (cathode) , wherein the compound BD emits blue light (Example 1-1 in [0233]-[0243] and Table 1).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda by incorporating it as the electron transport layer material of an organic light emitting device, as taught by Lee ‘178.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of the electron transport layer materials would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda comprising a first electrode (anode), a hole injection layer, an emission layer (BH as a host, BD as a dopant), an electron transport layer (Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda and LiQ), and a second electrode (cathode), wherein the hole injection layer, the emission layer and the electron transport layer are an interlayer; and the compound BD emits blue light.
Light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda reads all the limitations of claims 1-2 and 5-6.
Regarding claim 3, the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda reads on all the features of Applicant’s Formula 1 as outlined above.
Lee ‘178 does not disclose a specific organic light emitting device comprising a hole transport region containing the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda; however, Lee ‘178 does teach that the compound of Lee ‘178 can be included in a hole transport region ([0099]).
Lee ‘178 teaches the structure of an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode (anode), a hole transport region, an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a second electrode (cathode) ([0096]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda by incorporating it into the hole transport region of an organic light emitting device, as taught by Lee ‘178.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of the hole transport region materials represented by Formula 1 of Lee ‘178 in the organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda (2) comprising a first electrode (anode), a hole transport region (Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda), an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a second electrode (cathode).
Regarding claim 4, the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda reads on all the features of Applicant’s Formula 1 as outlined above.
Lee ‘178 does not disclose a specific organic light emitting device comprising an emission layer containing the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda; however, Lee ‘178 does teach that the compound of Lee ‘178 can be included in an emission layer ([0098]).
Lee ‘178 teaches the structure of an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode (anode), a hole transport region, an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a second electrode (cathode) ([0096]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda by incorporating it into the emission layer of an organic light emitting device, as taught by Lee ‘178.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of the emission layer materials represented by Formula 1 of Lee ‘178 in the organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda (3) comprising a first electrode (anode), a hole transport region, an emission layer (Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda), an electron transport region, and a second electrode (cathode).
Claims 7-8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2013/0135178 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent) in view of Noda et al. (“5,5’-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’-bithiophene and 5,5”-Bis(dimesitylboryl)-2,2’:5’,2”- terthiophene as a Novel Family of Electron-Transporting Amorphous Molecular Materials”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1998, vol. 120, page 9714-9715) as applied to claims 1-6, 9, 12-14, and 16-19 above, further in view of Inoue et al. (US 2016/0028027 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 21, the Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
The device comprises a first electrode (anode), a hole injection layer, an emission layer (BH as a host, BD as a dopant), an electron transport layer (Compound of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda and LiQ), and a second electrode (cathode), wherein the hole injection layer, the emission layer and the electron transport layer are an interlayer.
Lee ‘178 in view of Noda does not disclose a specific electronic apparatus comprising the Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda and a thin film transistor.
Inoue discloses an electronic apparatus (personal computer in Fig. 7B2 and [0170], [0174]) which comprises a touch screen layer (7210 in Fig. 7B2 and [0174]).
Inoue teaches a display part of an electronic apparatus (“light-emitting device” in [0138] and Figs 2A and 2B) comprising a thin film transistor (FET 611 in [0142]), wherein the first electrode of the light emitting device (“light-emitting element”) is electrically connected to a drain of the thin film transistor.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda by incorporating it into the display part of an electronic apparatus containing a touch screen layer, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises the Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda and a thin film transistor, wherein the first electrode of the light emitting device is electrically connected to a drain of the thin film transistor, as taught by Lee ‘178 and Inoue.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of the light emitting devices in an electronic apparatus would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Electronic apparatus (i.e. personal computer) of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda and Inoue containing a touch screen layer, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises the Organic light emitting device of Lee ‘178 as modified by Noda and a thin film transistor, wherein the first electrode of the light emitting device is electrically connected to a drain of the thin film transistor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786