DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is indefinite what is meant by the groove portion being “shallower” with in increase from the wide with portion. Specifically, it is unclear as to shallower referring back to what?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori et al. (US PGPub 20140091444, hereinafter referred to as “Mori”).
Mori discloses the semiconductor device as claimed. See figures 1-3 and corresponding text, where Mori teaches, in claim 1, a semiconductor device, comprising:
an insulating substrate (13);
a semiconductor element (17); and
an oxide film (15B) or a nitride film that is different from the insulating substrate, wherein the insulating substrate (13) includes an insulating layer and a metal circuit pattern (14) provided on an upper surface of the insulating layer, the
semiconductor element (17) is solder joined to an upper surface (15A) of the metal circuit pattern, the oxide film or the nitride film is provided in a region where the semiconductor element (17) is not solder joined in the upper surface of the metal circuit pattern (14), and the oxide film or the nitride film is disposed such that an entirety of the oxide film or an entirety of the nitride film does not overlap not to be overlapped with the semiconductor element (17) in a plan view (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016]), and the oxide film or the nitride film is further provided on a side surface of the metal circuit pattern (figure 1B; [0015-0016], the examiner views that Mori only removes part of the oxide to form a recess thus a side surface of the oxide exists).
Mori teaches, in claim 2, wherein the oxide film or the nitride film is provided in 95 % or more of an area of the region where a solder joint is not performed in the upper surface of the metal circuit pattern (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016], the examiner views the area surrounding the entire sides and upper portions covered with the oxide film 95% or more).
Mori teaches, in claim 3, wherein the region where the semiconductor element is solder joined in the upper surface of the metal circuit pattern is rougher than the region where the solder joint is not performed in the upper surface of the metal circuit pattern ([0026], the examiner views that the recess has a smaller metal oxide ratio than other parts of the top surface of the metal plate).
Mori teaches, in claim 4, wherein a depression portion is formed on the upper surface of the metal circuit pattern, and the semiconductor element is solder joined on a bottom surface of the depression portion (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016]).
Mori teaches, in claim 5, wherein a depth of the depression portion is larger than a thickness of a solder material between the metal circuit pattern and the semiconductor element ([0026], the examiner views that the recess has a smaller metal oxide ratio than other parts of the top surface of the metal plate).
Mori teaches, in claim 6, wherein a groove portion is formed along an outer periphery of the semiconductor element on the upper surface of the metal circuit pattern, and a region where the oxide film or the nitride film is provided includes a wall surface of the groove portion (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016]).
Mori teaches, in claim 7, wherein a cross section of the groove portion has a rectangular shape (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016]).
Mori teaches, in claim 8, wherein a region where the oxide film or the nitride film is provided includes 95 % or more of an area of the wall surface of the groove portion (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016], the examiner views the area surrounding the entire sides and upper portions covered with the oxide film 95% or more).
Mori teaches, in claim 9, wherein a planar shape of the semiconductor element has a corner, the groove portion includes a wide width portion having a larger width than another portion in a portion of the corner of the semiconductor element, and a wall surface of the wide width portion includes a portion where the oxide film or the nitride film is not provided ([0026], the examiner views that the recess has a smaller metal oxide ratio than other parts of the top surface of the metal plate).
Mori teaches, in claim 10, wherein a planar shape of the semiconductor element is a rectangular shape, and the groove portion includes a wide width portion in each of four corner portions of the semiconductor element having the rectangular shape (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016]).
Mori teaches, in claim 12, wherein the groove portion and the semiconductor element are not overlapped with each other in a plan view (figures 1A and 1B; [0011-0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US PGPub 20140091444, hereinafter referred to as “Mori”).
Mori discloses the semiconductor device substantially as claimed. See the rejection above, however Mori fails to show, in claim 13, wherein a thickness of the oxide film or the nitride film is equal to or larger than 20 nm and equal to or smaller than 2000 nm.
However, Mori teaches, in claim 13, forming an oxide layer using surface oxidation ([0015]). In addition, Mori provides the advantages that by surface oxidation and then removing oxide layer to form a recess at the top surface of the metal plate allows for good wetting for the solder allowing for good bonding ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention, to incorporate wherein a thickness of the oxide film or the nitride film is equal to or larger than 20 nm and equal to or smaller than 2000 nm, in the device of the Mori, according to the teachings of Mori, with the motivation of adjusting the recess of the for the purpose of allowing for good wetting for the solder and allowing good bonding between the metal plate. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. In KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007),
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-26 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art of record and to the examiner’s knowledge does not suggest or render obvious a semiconductor device particularly characterized by where the second metal circuit pattern is not solder joined in the upper surface of the base plate, and the oxide film or the nitride film is disposed not to be overlapped with the second metal circuit pattern in a plan view, as detailed in claim 14. Claims 15-26 depend from claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks applicant raises the clear issue as to whether Mori suggests “the oxide film or nitride film is further provided on a side surface of the metal circuit pattern”.
The Examiner views that Mori does suggest the above limitation and/or statements. Specifically, Mori teaches forming a oxide film to surrounding the entire metal plate just not where the oxide is removed for form a recess at the top surface of the metal plate (14) (figure 1B; [0015]), thus meets the limitation of a side surface containing an oxide film.
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 February 22, 2026