Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Emani (US20130062333A1).
In re claims 1,8,15 Emani discloses a heater element with cooling enhancements comprising;
a tubular component (630) formed of a unitary, contiguous piece of material and including a conduit (640) embedded between an interior surface and an exterior surface of a sidewall thereof (inherent as shown in fig.6a), wherein the conduit includes a set of raised features formed on an inner surface of the conduit, (para 38, fins that can also be incorporated to the channels for heat dissipation);
a base section including an inlet and an outlet (fig.10 (1050)), wherein the conduit is connected with the inlet and the outlet, and wherein the inlet, the outlet, and the conduit operate to deliver a cooling fluid (para. 61-63).
In Re to claims 2,3,9,16,17 Enami teaches that the raised features can be a fin or other shaped protrusions (560) as seen in figs 4/5 and para.38-41, for better heat dissipation.
In Re to claims 6,12,13,19 Emani teaches second (multiple) conduits that are embedded in the side wall with circular cross-sections, see figs 4/5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5,10,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enami in view of Kolodner et al. (US 2009/0242036 A1).
Enami does not specifically disclose the shape of the conduit section being pentagonal or triangular top. However, Kolodner et al. teach a conduit that can take many shapes and form such as pentagon or triangular.
First, Emani teaches different fins or protrusions (560) in the conduit can be implemented, and he further mentions that the opening size of the top portion can be configured to provide uniform flow to the channels (para 63/72). Further, Kolodner teaches the conduit can have various sizes and shapes to meet whatever standard/specification, para 31/32. Thus, the modification of Emani apparatus with either pentagon or triangular shape top/bottom, as shown by Kolodner et al, would have merely constituted an obvious design expedient of the inventor at the time of the invention was made.
Claim(s) 4,7,11,14,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enami in view of Berg (US 4,256,919).
In Re to claims 4,7,11,14,18 Enami teaches curved channels or helix (fig. 6B, 642) in the conduit.
However, Enami does not specify that the channels are arranged as a helix that extends around an entire circumference of the conduit.
Berg demonstrates the well-known arrangement of helical heat exchange channels that wrap around an entire circumference of a body. Fig. 1 (34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to wrap the helical channels of Enami all the way around its conduit’s circumference in the fashion taught by Berg. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve heat exchange.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881