DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 5, filed 6/12/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art US 10,640,393 (Cobb) which discloses a sink system comprising a sink module, a cabinet module and a water delivery system contained in a housing mounted to a cabinet wall with inlet connections, outlet connections and a power cord and US 10,894,726 (Pugh) which teaches a sink system comprising a sink module and a water delivery system contained in a housing having external inlet and outlet connections as well as a power cord which extends out of the housing.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, the last line of the claim references “the basin” of the sink module however claim 8 hasn’t explicitly defined that the sink module comprises a basin.
Claim 13 references “the faucet” however it depends from claim 8 which recites the possible presence of ‘a first faucet’ and/or ‘a second faucet’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,640,393 (Cobb) in view of US 9,783,964 (Thompson), US 8,162,236 (Rodenbeck), US 10,894,726 (Pugh) and US 5,915,851 (Wattrick).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Cobb disclose a sink system configured for coupling within a recessed cabinet space, the sink system comprising:
a cabinet module (3) including at least a first sidewall and a back wall (C4 L45-48);
a sink module (1/2) coupled to an upper end of the cabinet module (Fig. 2), the sink module comprising a sink basin (2) and a faucet (1);
a remote controller including a user interface (40) which can comprise a touch panel or other control elements (C8 L23-33, C9 L63-67) and which can wirelessly communicate with a water delivery system (C4 L59-C5 L17 – wireless communication and remote installation);
a wireless interface system (60/61/62) comprising a disk component (62) releasably coupleable to the sink module as part of an analytics system; and
a water delivery system (10) contained within a housing (11) and coupled to the cabinet module below the sink module (C4 L45-48), the water delivery system including:
a power supply having a power cord (C4 L55-58);
a control valve (25/26) operably coupled to the power supply (C4 L59-64);
an inlet for coupling to water supply lines (Fig. 2, 5 – couplings for connecting to supply lines 4/5) and an outlet coupling (12a/12b; C4 L26-36); and
wherein the outlet coupling is accessible without opening the housing (Fig. 2, 5, C4 L59-64 details 12a/12b as ports which are external to the housing);
wherein the remote controller is configured to send a control signal to the water delivery system in response to an input from the user interface, and wherein the control valve is configured to receive a flow of water from a utility line (4/5) and selectively provide the flow of water to one or more components associated with the sink module in response to the control signal, the components selected from the group consisting of the faucet (1) or a water filtration system (20) (C4 L59- C5 L6; C5 L33-38).
Cobb appears to disclose that the housing comprises inlet couplings for coupling to the water supply lines (annotated figure below) but doesn’t explicitly discuss these structures or if the connection can me made exterior to the housing/without the housing opening.
Cobb discloses that the water delivery system can be powered by a power cord but does not explicitly depict or otherwise disclose that the power cord extends out of the housing and is accessible without opening the housing. Similarly, while Cobb discloses that the sink system comprises a cabinet module with a back wall and a sidewall it doesn’t explicitly disclose a first and second peripheral wall opposite each other. While Cobb states the use of an electronic control valve it doesn’t explicitly state the use of a digital control valve and while Cobb states the controller can be wireless it doesn’t explicitly disclose that it is a remote controller releasably coupleable to the sink module.
Thompson teaches that a faucet (100) can be supplied with water from a water source (196/197) through the use of a control valve (160) which can be digital or analog (C22 L47-48) which is communicably coupled to a controller (193) configured to provide a control signal to the digital control valve to selectively provide a flow of water and which is coupled to a power source (195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize digital control valves communicably coupled to the controller to control waterflow within the system, as taught by Thompson, depending upon design considerations such as desired/required responsiveness, control accuracy, adjustability, cost and/or compatibility with other associated systems.
Rodenbeck teaches a sink system (Fig. 14) as well as a plurality of remote controllers (750/1460) configured to send a control signal to the water delivery system of the sink in response to a user input from their user interfaces (752; Figs. 29, 64) and which are releasably coupleable to a sink module of the sink system (C32 L38-44, C39 L57-C40 L39) (The remote controllers are electronic and are moveable/repositionable resulting in them being configured for releasably coupling to the sink module electronically or mechanically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a remote controller which is releasably coupleable to the sink module, as taught by Rodenbeck, to facilitate adjusting the position of the sink module controls (through moving the remote controller) to different locations as desired/required by a user and/or to facilitate transporting the controller with a user as they move about/work for convenient access to the sink controls
Pugh teaches a sink system (100) comprising a sink module (102/108), a counter module (112) and a water delivery system (120) wherein the water delivery system is contained within a housing (152). The housing is provided with an inlet coupling (140/142) for coupling to water supply lines (132/134) and an outlet coupling (140/142) for delivering water from the water delivery system to the sink module (126/128/136/138). The water delivery system’s electrical power is supplied through the use of a power cord (150) extending out of the housing and accessible without opening the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide inlet and outlet couplings configured to be accessible from the housing exterior/without opening the housing, as taught by Pugh, so as to facilitate maintenance, installation and/or disconnection of the various couplings without requiring a user work to open the housing and/or while keeping the remainder of the water delivery system protected within the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the power cord of the water delivery system to extend out of the housing without opening the housing, as taught by Pugh, so as to facilitate powering and disconnecting the system (plug/unplug the power) as needed/desired for maintenance or other purposes without requiring additional user tools, knowledge or effort to open the housing and/or without requiring exposing the internal components of the water delivery systems that are within the housing to the environment of the sink/cabinet area (water, chemicals).
Wattrick teaches a sink system comprising a sink module (10), a water delivery system (130/131/134/136/138) and a cabinet module (12) including a first peripheral sidewall (226) and a second peripheral sidewall (228) opposite the first peripheral sidewall. The cabinet module further comprises a leg stand (201/206/207) coupled to and extending between the first and second peripheral walls.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cabinet module with first and second opposing peripheral side walls, as taught by Wattrick, so as to separate the cabinet module interior from adjacent cabinet units, to enclose the cabinet volume to conceal and/or protect the interior contents and/or so as to provide additional mounting options for devices/fixtures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cabinet module with a leg stand coupled to the first and second peripheral walls, as taught by Wattrick, so as to facilitate adjustment of the cabinet module height, facilitate leveling of the cabinet module and/or to provide a clearance with the floor for cleaning or other purposes.
Regarding claim 4, Cobb in view of Thompson teaches the use of digital control valves as previously discussed. Cobb further states that the control valve is configured to provide the flow of water to the water filtration system before the flow of water is provided to the sink module (Fig. 3; C5 L33-41).
Regarding claim 6, Cobb in view of Wattrick teaches the provision of a cabinet module with first and second opposing sidewalls as previously discussed. Cobb further states that the water delivery system can be coupled to a back or side wall as previously discussed (C4 L45-48) establishing alternate installation arrangements based on user needs/desires but, as previously discussed, is silent regarding the presence of a second sidewall for the water delivery system to extend between and couple to.
Wattrick as previously discussed teaches the provision of a cabinet module (12) having opposing first and second peripheral sidewalls (226/228) as previously discussed and further teaches that its water delivery system (130/131/134/136/138) extends between and is coupled to both he first peripheral wall and the second peripheral wall (C4 L64- C5 L3; Figs. 2-4, 7; The peripheral walls are coupled to the sink system/cabinet module/sink module and so is the water delivery system as they are all coupled together; The water delivery system is housed in the plenum 131 of the utilities module which extends between the peripheral sidewalls) thereby leaving clearance space for other modules/fixtures/devices (140/142/144/148/150/152) under the cabinet (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the water delivery system to extend between and couple to the first and second peripheral walls, as evidenced by Wattrick, to provide clearance for other fixtures/belongings (pipes, appliances, bathroom/kitchen supplies) within the cabinet space and/or to better locate components of the water delivery system proximate utility supplies (water supply. power outlets) and supplied fixtures/devices (faucets or such which are supplied by the system).
Regarding claim 8, Cobb disclose a sink system configured for coupling within a recessed cabinet space, the sink system comprising:
a cabinet module (3) comprising:
at least a first sidewall and a back wall (C4 L45-48);
a sink module (1/2) coupled to an upper end of the cabinet module (Fig. 2), the sink module comprising a sink basin (2) and a first faucet (1);
a remote controller including a user interface (40) which can comprise a touch panel or other control elements (C8 L23-33, C9 L63-67) and which can wirelessly communicate with a water delivery system (C4 L59-C5 L17 – wireless communication and remote installation);
a wireless interface system (60/61/62) comprising a disk component (62) releasably coupleable to the sink module as part of an analytics system; and
a water delivery system (10) contained within a housing (11) and coupled to the cabinet module below the sink module (C4 L45-48), the water delivery system including:
a power supply having a power cord (C4 L55-58);
a control valve (25/26) operably coupled to the power supply (C4 L59-64);
an inlet for coupling to water supply lines (Fig. 2, 5 – couplings for connecting to supply lines 4/5) and an outlet coupling (12a/12b; C4 L26-36); and
wherein the outlet coupling is accessible without opening the housing (Fig. 2, 5, C4 L59-64 details 12a/12b as ports which are external to the housing);
wherein the remote controller is configured to send a control signal to the water delivery system in response to an input from the user interface, and wherein the control valve is configured to receive a flow of water from a utility line (4/5) and selectively provide the flow of water to one or more components associated with the sink module in response to the control signal, the components selected from the group consisting of the faucet (1) or a water filtration system (20) (C4 L59- C5 L6; C5 L33-38).
Cobb appears to disclose that the housing comprises inlet couplings for coupling to the water supply lines (annotated figure below) but doesn’t explicitly discuss these structures or if the connection can me made exterior to the housing/without the housing opening.
Cobb discloses that the water delivery system can be powered by a power cord but does not explicitly depict or otherwise disclose that the power cord extends out of the housing and is accessible without opening the housing. Similarly, while Cobb discloses that the sink system comprises a cabinet module with a back wall and a sidewall it doesn’t explicitly disclose a first and second peripheral wall opposite each other. While Cobb states the use of an electronic control valve it doesn’t explicitly state the use of a digital control valve and while Cobb states the controller can be wireless it doesn’t explicitly disclose that it is a remote controller releasably coupleable to the sink module.
Thompson teaches that a faucet (100) can be supplied with water from a water source (196/197) through the use of a control valve (160) which can be digital or analog (C22 L47-48) which is communicably coupled to a controller (193) configured to provide a control signal to the digital control valve to selectively provide a flow of water and which is coupled to a power source (195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize digital control valves communicably coupled to the controller to control waterflow within the system, as taught by Thompson, depending upon design considerations such as desired/required responsiveness, control accuracy, adjustability, cost and/or compatibility with other associated systems.
Rodenbeck teaches a sink system (Fig. 14) as well as a plurality of remote controllers (750/1460) configured to send a control signal to the water delivery system of the sink in response to a user input from their user interfaces (752; Figs. 29, 64) and which are releasably coupleable to a sink module of the sink system (C32 L38-44, C39 L57-C40 L39) (The remote controllers are electronic and are moveable/repositionable resulting in them being configured for releasably coupling to the sink module electronically or mechanically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a remote controller which is releasably coupleable to the sink module, as taught by Rodenbeck, to facilitate adjusting the position of the sink module controls (through moving the remote controller) to different locations as desired/required by a user and/or to facilitate transporting the controller with a user as they move about/work for convenient access to the sink controls
Pugh teaches a sink system (100) comprising a sink module (102/108), a counter module (112) and a water delivery system (120) wherein the water delivery system is contained within a housing (152). The housing is provided with an inlet coupling (140/142) for coupling to water supply lines (132/134) and an outlet coupling (140/142) for delivering water from the water delivery system to the sink module (126/128/136/138). The water delivery system’s electrical power is supplied through the use of a power cord (150) extending out of the housing and accessible without opening the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide inlet and outlet couplings configured to be accessible from the housing exterior/without opening the housing, as taught by Pugh, so as to facilitate maintenance, installation and/or disconnection of the various couplings without requiring a user work to open the housing and/or while keeping the remainder of the water delivery system protected within the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the power cord of the water delivery system to extend out of the housing without opening the housing, as taught by Pugh, so as to facilitate powering and disconnecting the system (plug/unplug the power) as needed/desired for maintenance or other purposes without requiring additional user tools, knowledge or effort to open the housing and/or without requiring exposing the internal components of the water delivery systems that are within the housing to the environment of the sink/cabinet area (water, chemicals).
Wattrick teaches a sink system comprising a sink module (10), a water delivery system (130/131/134/136/138) and a cabinet module (12) including a first peripheral sidewall (226) and a second peripheral sidewall (228) opposite the first peripheral sidewall. Wherein the water delivery system extends between and is coupled to both he first peripheral wall and the second peripheral wall (C4 L64- C5 L3; Figs. 2-4, 7; The peripheral walls are coupled to the sink system/cabinet module/sink module and so is the water delivery system as they are all coupled together; The water delivery system is housed in the plenum 131 of the utilities module which extends between the peripheral sidewalls) thereby leaving clearance space for other modules/fixtures/devices 140/142/144/148/150/152 under the cabinet (Fig. 2). The cabinet module further comprises a leg stand (201/206/207) coupled to and extending between the first and second peripheral walls.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cabinet module with first and second opposing peripheral side walls, as taught by Wattrick, so as to separate the cabinet module interior from adjacent cabinet units, to enclose the cabinet volume to conceal and/or protect the interior contents and/or so as to provide additional mounting options for devices/fixtures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cabinet module with a leg stand coupled to the first and second peripheral walls, as taught by Wattrick, so as to facilitate adjustment of the cabinet module height, facilitate leveling of the cabinet module and/or to provide a clearance with the floor for cleaning or other purposes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the water delivery system to extend between and couple to the first and second peripheral walls, as evidenced by Wattrick, to provide clearance for other fixtures/belongings (pipes, appliances, bathroom/kitchen supplies) within the cabinet space and/or to better locate components of the water delivery system proximate utility supplies (water supply. power outlets) and supplied fixtures/devices (faucets or such which are supplied by the system).
Regarding claim 11, Cobb states that the sink module comprises the first faucet (1) in fluid communication with a first basin (2) and a second basin (2) of the sink module (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Cobb states that the sink module further comprises the first faucet (1), a first basin (2) and a second basin (2) (Fig. 2) wherein the faucet is in fluid communication with both the first basin and second basin. Cobb, however, does not state whether the two basins are the same volume or if one is smaller than the other.
Wattrick teaches a sink system comprising a cabinet module (12) which supports a sink module (10) as previously discussed and further teaches that the sink module comprises a faucet (64) which is in fluid communication with a first basin (50) and a second basin (52). Wattrick further teaches that the first and second basins can be provided with equal volumes (basin division using divider in rails 129a/129b) or with the second basin being smaller than the first basin (basin division using divider in rails 129c/129d) (C4 L41-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the basins to have different sizes with the second basin smaller than the first, as taught by Wattrick, to configure the sink module/basins for use in processes requiring different sized basins and/or to facilitate water conservation through provision of a smaller basin for use when a larger basin is not required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 3669138 (Dahan) teaches a sink system comprising a cabinet module, a sink module and a water delivery system contained in a housing which is mounted in the cabinet module either against one sidewall or extending between two opposing peripheral sidewalls.
US 2003/0019764 (Baldwin) teaches a sink system comprising a sink module, a cabinet module and a water delivery system mounted to a sidewall of the cabinet module.
US 10,675,573 (Miller) teaches a sink system comprising a sink module, a counter and a water delivery system contained in a housing with external couplings for fluid inlets and outlets.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A ROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754