DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to currently amended claims 1-7, 10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, 23-26 and new claims 27-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase "die pas" should be corrected to --die pad-- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, 23-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a mounting frame including one or more mounting pads, the mounting frame extending along a first direction” without explaining whether (1) the one or more mounting pads extend along the first direction or (2) a different portion, such as the die pad, of the mounting frame extends along the first direction.
The phrase “to detect a force external to the force sensor via the die pad and the one or more mounting pads” can be understood as (3) to detect a force external to the semiconductor die and/or the sensor circuit and applied via the die pad and the one or more mounting pads or (4) the die pad and the one or more mounting pads are configured to detect the external force by transducing the force to a signal.
The claim recites “the conductive terminals are insulated from the mounting frame by the mold compound” without explaining whether (5) the conductive terminals are insulated from the entire mounting frame by the mold compound or (6) the conductive terminals are insulated from the one or more mounting pads portion of the mounting frame or (7) the conductive terminals are insulated from the die pad portion of the mounting frame.
Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “to detect a force external to the force sensor via the die pad and the one or more mounting pads” can be understood as (8) to detect a force external to the semiconductor die and/or the sensor circuit and applied via the die pad and the one or more mounting pads or (9) the die pad and the one or more mounting pads are configured to detect the external force by transducing the force to a signal.
The claim recites “the conductive terminals are insulated from the mounting frame by the mold compound” without explaining whether (10) the conductive terminals are insulated from the entire mounting frame by the mold compound or (11) the conductive terminals are insulated from the one or more mounting pads portion of the mounting frame.
Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “the first and second conductive terminals are insulated from the mounting frame by the mold compound” without explaining whether (12) the conductive terminals are insulated from the entire mounting frame by the mold compound or (13) the conductive terminals are insulated from the one or more mounting pads portion of the mounting frame or (14) the conductive terminals are insulated from the die pad portion of the mounting frame.
Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, the phrase “the one or more mounting pads includes first, second, third, and fourth mounting pads” is indefinite because the claims recite the broad definition “the one or more mounting pads” and also the narrower statement of “first, second, third, and fourth mounting pads”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired (see MPEP § 2173.05(c)). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-7, 12-14, 16, 18-19, 21, 25-28 are rejected as being dependent on the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vaganov et al. (Pat. No. US 7,476,952) (hereafter Vaganov).
Regarding claim 1, Vaganov teaches an apparatus comprising a force sensor, the force sensor including:
a mounting frame (i.e., force-transferring element 21 and cover layer 27) (see Fig. 17) including one or more mounting pads (i.e., force-transferring element 21 has a profiled structure 26, 28) (see Fig. 17), the mounting frame extending along a first direction (i.e., force-transferring element 21 extends from die 10 and along rigid force-transferring element 15) (see Fig. 17);
conductive terminals extending along a second direction different from the first direction (i.e., conductive pins 80) (see Fig. 17);
a die pad coupled to or integrated into the mounting frame (i.e., rigid force-transferring element 15 and die-mounting plate 72) (see Fig. 17);
a semiconductor die on the die pad (i.e., semiconductor force sensor die 10) (see Fig. 17) and coupled to the conductive terminals (i.e., via wires 62 and 63) (see Fig. 17), the semiconductor die including a sensor circuit (i.e., ASIC die 16 contains at least a portion of electronic circuit for conditioning and processing of the output signal of the force sensors) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20) configurable to detect a force external to the force sensor via the die pad and the one or more mounting pads (i.e., force-transferring element 21 and the cover layer 27 are connected to the external surface of the die-mounting plate 72. The force-transferring element 21 is coupled to the rigid force-transferring element 15 of the force sensor die 10 through the opening 73. Force sensors provide output signal in response to a force applied to the force sensor die 10) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20; and Fig. 17); and
a mold compound (i.e., material 55 and gel 60 or potting material 75) (see Fig. 17 and 18) covering the semiconductor die in which the conductive terminals are insulated from the mounting frame by the mold compound (i.e., pins 80 are insulated from the die-mounting plate 72 and the rigid force-transferring element 15 via material 55 and layer 76 or potting material 75 and layer 76) (see Fig. 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 2, Vaganov teaches that the die pad and the mounting frame form a monolithic body (i.e., applied force is transferred to the rigid force-transferring element 15 of the force sensor die 10 through the force-transferring element 21 of the package 25) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 3, Vaganov teaches that the one or more mounting pads are in a common plane with the die pad (i.e., profiled structure 28 and 26 extend along the same direction as the die pad) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Vaganov teaches that the die pad is in a first plane and the one or more mounting pads are in a second plane that is spaced from the first plane (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26 are spaced from the die-mounting plate 72 and the rigid force-transferring element 15) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 5, Vaganov teaches that the mounting frame includes a first portion and one or more connection portions, wherein the die pad is on the first portion (i.e., mounting plate 72 is on the cover 27) (see Fig. 17), and wherein the one or more connection portions extend from the first portion to the one or more mounting pads at a non-zero angle to the first plane (i.e., force-transferring part 21) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Vaganov teaches that the non-zero angle is equal to or greater than 90o (i.e., the force-transferring part 21 is orthogonal to the cover 27) (see Fig. 17)
Regarding claim 7, Vaganov teaches that the one or more mounting pads are on opposite sides of the die pad (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26 are on opposite sides of the rigid-force transferring element 15 and the die-mounting plate 72) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 10, Vaganov teaches an apparatus comprising a force sensor, the force sensor including:
a mounting frame including one or more mounting pads (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26) (see Fig. 17);
a die pad (i.e., rigid force-transferring element 15 and die-mounting plate 72) (see Fig. 17);
conductive terminals spaced from the mounting frame (i.e., conductive pins 80) (see Fig. 17);
a semiconductor die on the die pad (i.e., semiconductor force sensor die 10) (see Fig. 17) and coupled to the conductive terminals (i.e., via wires 62 and 63) (see Fig. 17), the semiconductor die includes a sensor circuit (i.e., ASIC die 16 contains at least a portion of electronic circuit for conditioning and processing of the output signal of the force sensors) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20) configurable to detect a force external to the force sensor via the die pad and the one or more mounting pads (i.e., force-transferring element 21 and the cover layer 27 are connected to the external surface of the die-mounting plate 72. The force-transferring element 21 is coupled to the rigid force-transferring element 15 of the force sensor die 10 through the opening 73. Force sensors provide output signal in response to a force applied to the force sensor die 10) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20; and Fig. 17); and
a mold compound (i.e., material 55 and gel 60 or potting material 75) (see Fig. 17 and 18) covering the semiconductor die, in which the conductive terminals are insulated from the mounting frame by the mold compound (i.e., pins 80 are insulated from the die-mounting plate 72 and the rigid force-transferring element 15 via material 55 and layer 76 or potting material 75 and layer 76) (see Fig. 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 12, Vaganov teaches that the mounting frame includes a first portion and one or more connection portions coupled between the first portion and the one or more mounting pads (i.e., force-transferring part 21) (see Fig. 17), wherein the die pad is on the first portion and is on a first plane (i.e., mounting plate 72 is on the cover 27) (see Fig. 17), and the one or more mounting pads are on a second plane that is spaced from the first plane (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26 are spaced from the die-mounting plate 72 and the rigid force-transferring element 15) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 13, Vaganov teaches that the one or more connection portions extend from the first portion to the one or more mounting pads at a non-zero angle relative to the first plane (i.e., the force-transferring part 21 is orthogonal to the cover 27) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 14, Vaganov teaches that the non-zero angle is equal to or greater than 90o (i.e., the force-transferring part 21 is orthogonal to the cover 27) (see Fig. 17)
Regarding claim 16, Vaganov teaches that the one or more connection portions extend out of the mold compound (i.e., force-transferring part 21 is not covered by material 55 and gel 60 or potting material 75) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 17, Vaganov teaches an apparatus comprising:
a mounting frame including one or more mounting pads (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26) (see Fig. 17);
a die pad coupled to or integrated within the mounting frame (i.e., rigid force-transferring element 15 and die-mounting plate 72) (see Fig. 17);
first conductive terminals and second conductive terminals spaced from the mounting frame (i.e., conductive pins 80) (see Fig. 17),
the first and second conductive terminals on opposing sides of the die pad (see Fig. 17);
a semiconductor die on the die pad (i.e., semiconductor force sensor die 10) (see Fig. 17) and including circuits electrically coupled to the first and second conductive terminals (i.e., ASIC die 16 contains at least a portion of electronic circuit for conditioning and processing of the output signal of the force sensors) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20), wherein the mounting frame is electrically insulated from the circuits (i.e., force-transferring element 21 is not electrically coupled to ASIC die 16) (see ); and
a mold compound (i.e., material 55 and gel 60, potting material 75, or plastic body 90) (see Fig. 17-19) covering the semiconductor die, in which the first and second conductive terminals are insulated from the mounting frame by the mold compound (i.e., pins 80 are insulated from the die-mounting plate 72 and the rigid force-transferring element 15 via material 55 and layer 76 or potting material 75 and layer 76) (see Fig. 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 18, Vaganov teaches that the mounting frame, the first and second conductive terminals, the semiconductor die, and the mold compound is part of a force sensor, and the force sensor is configurable to detect a force external to the force sensor via the mounting frame (i.e., force-transferring element 21 and the cover layer 27 are connected to the external surface of the die-mounting plate 72. The force-transferring element 21 is coupled to the rigid force-transferring element 15 of the force sensor die 10 through the opening 73. Force sensors provide output signal in response to a force applied to the force sensor die 10) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20; and Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Vaganov teaches that the circuits include a sensor circuit configurable to detect the force (i.e., ASIC die 16 contains at least a portion of electronic circuit for conditioning and processing of the output signal of the force sensors) (see Column 10, line 5, to Column 11, line 20); and wherein the mounting frame includes: a first portion that lies along a plane (i.e., cover 27) (see Fig. 17); and one or more connection portions extending from the first portion to the one or more mounting pads, at a non-zero angle to the plane (i.e., the force-transferring part 21 is orthogonal to the cover 27) (see Fig. 17) .
Regarding claim 20, Vaganov teaches that the mold compound covers at least parts of the one or more connection portions (i.e., the force-transferring element 21 can be molded together with the plastic body 90 of the package 25) (see Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 23, Vaganov teaches that the one or more mounting pads includes first, second, third, and fourth mounting pads; the first mounting pad is proximate a first corner of the mold compound; the second mounting pad is proximate a second corner of the mold compound; the third mounting pad is proximate a third corner of the mold compound; and the fourth mounting pad is proximate a fourth corner of the mold compound (i.e., force-transferring element 21 includes profiled connector elements 26, 27, 28) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 24, Vaganov teaches that the one or more mounting pads includes first, second, third, and fourth mounting pads; the first mounting pad extends out of a first side of the mold compound; the second mounting pad extends out of a second side of the mold compound; the third mounting pad extends out of a third side of the mold compound; and the fourth mounting pad extends out of a fourth side of the mold compound (i.e., force-transferring element 21 includes profiled connector elements 26, 27, 28) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 25, Vaganov teaches that the one or more mounting pads and the die pad are on opposite sides of the mounting frame (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26 are on opposite sides of the rigid-force transferring element 15 and the die-mounting plate 72) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 26, Vaganov teaches that the one or more mounting pads and the die pad are on a same side of the mounting frame (i.e., profiled structures 28 and 26 are on and the rigid-force transferring element 15 and the die-mounting plate 72 oppose the lid 78) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 27, Vaganov teaches that the one or more connection portions include a first connection portion and a second connection portion, and wherein the first and second connection portions diverge away from one another at an angle between 0o and 90o (i.e., first distal end of the force-transferring part 21 at the connection portion between cover 27 and force-transferring part 21 and the second distal end of the force-transferring part 21 diverge away from each other) (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 28, Vaganov teaches that the die pad is a first die pad, the semiconductor die is a first semiconductor die, and the apparatus further comprises: a second die pad separate from the mounting frame (i.e., ASIC 16) (see Fig. 16); and a second semiconductor die on the second die pas and electrically coupled to the first semiconductor die (i.e., via wires 40) (see Fig. 16), wherein the second semiconductor die is covered by the mold compound (i.e., material 55) (see Fig. 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892
/Tran M. Tran/Examiner, Art Unit 2855