DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated November 20, 2025, claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 10 and 12 are currently amended. Claims 2 and 11 are presently cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the 101 rejection, the amendment, the amended claims do not overcome the present rejection as there is no positively recited further action that results in significantly more. It is suggested to amend the claim language with language such as “charging using the priority order of the charging power and the power battery on the basis of the state parameter of the power battery”. Although, this exact language is not necessary, a positively recited action outside of a determination is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites conducting and determining steps. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the determining steps are such that they may be performed by the human mind. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the determining step is one that is a collection of information where the data analysis is recited with a generality such that they could be performed in the human mind.
The method comprises: 1. Conducting a self-test, 2. Determining a priority order and 3. determining that the higher priority power supply is the working power. However, this is related to collecting information and analyzing it. The data analysis steps are recited at a level that could practically be performed within the human mind Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Use of a physical aid to help perform a mental step does not negate the mental nature (MPEP 2106.04(a)(1)(C)IIIA-C). There is no step further than a signal per se, or mere information in the form of data. There must be something further done or action performed with the determination.
Claims 3-9 do not recite significantly more and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 10 recites a generic processor conducting and determining steps. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the determining steps are such that they may be performed by the human mind. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the determining step is one that is a collection of information where the data analysis is recited with a generality such that they could be performed in the human mind. The processor does not provide significantly more as a mental process performed on a generic computer as an abstract idea.
Claims 12-18 do not recite significantly more and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Claim 19 recites a generic memory and processor conducting and determining steps. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the determining steps are such that they may be performed by the human mind. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the determining step is one that is a collection of information where the data analysis is recited with a generality such that they could be performed in the human mind. The processor and memory does not provide significantly more as a mental process performed on a generic computer as an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith US20210070191A1
Regarding claim 1. Smith discloses a power supply control method for a power conversion apparatus, wherein the power conversion apparatus (210) is connected to two powers (energy storage device 215 and high voltage system 250), wherein the two powers comprising a first power supply (250) and a second power supply (215);
wherein the first power supply is a charging power of a charging apparatus (250) and the second power supply is a power battery (215) (FIG. 2; ¶15);
wherein the power conversion apparatus (210) is configured to conduct a power conversion between the charging apparatus (250) and the power battery (215) so as to convert an output power of the charging apparatus into a power required by the power battery for charging the power battery (¶35 - the converter 210 converts the first voltage into a second voltage and a controller controls switching of a switching element to connect the converter to the energy storage device and charge the energy storage device); the method comprises:
conducting a power-on self-test with an auxiliary power of the charging apparatus by the power conversion apparatus (¶48 - power supply device performs self-test diagnostics using the DC/DC converter; FIG. 5 - 510/515);
determining a power supply priority order of the first power supply and the second power supply on the basis of a state parameter of the power battery (FIG. 4 at 415/420/425; ¶29-32; FIG. 6 at 610 - determine the mode of operation; ¶51 - monitor charge level of the energy storage device which is an electric quantity), under the condition that the self-test of the power conversion apparatus succeeds (FIG. 5 - in the event of a failure, the converter and/or the energy storage device is disconnected; ¶52 - modes are determined based on any failures and inputs);
determining the one of the charging power of the charging apparatus (FIG. 2) and the power battery (215) with a higher power supply priority as a current working power of the power conversion apparatus by the power conversion apparatus, so as to supply power to the power conversion apparatus (210) (FIG. 2; ¶52 - first mode when the energy storage device 215 is used to supply the power to the load);
wherein determining the power supply priority order of the charging power and the power battery (¶52 - determine which mode to operate) on the basis of the state parameter of the power battery, comprises:
determining the power supply priority order of the charging power and the power battery by the power conversion apparatus on the basis of electric quantity of the power battery (FIG. 6 at 610; ¶51 - monitor charge level of the energy storage device which is an electric quantity).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 12. Smith discloses determining the power supply priority order of the charging power and the power battery by the power conversion apparatus on the basis of the electric quantity of the power battery (FIG. 4 at 415/420/425; para 29-32; FIG. 6 at 610 - determine the mode of operation; ¶51 - monitor charge level of the energy storage device which is an electric quantity), comprising:
determining that the power supply priority of the power battery is higher than the power supply priority of the charging power by the power conversion apparatus, under the condition that the electric quantity of the power battery is higher than a first threshold (FIG. 4 at 415/425 – when the charge level is at or above the threshold, the switching element disconnects the converter from the energy storage device; ¶32, ¶52 – first mode where the energy storage device is used to supply the power to the load); or
determining that the power supply priority of the power battery is less than the power supply priority of the charging power by the power conversion apparatus, under the condition that the electric quantity of the power battery is less than or equal to the first threshold (FIG. 4 at 415/420 – when the charge level is below the threshold, the switching element connects the converter to the energy storage device; FIG. 6 at 635/640 – second mode is selected and the energy storage device is disconnected from the load; ¶57-58).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 13. Smith discloses acquiring the auxiliary power by the power conversion apparatus when it is determined that the power conversion apparatus is in a normal working mode (FIG. 5 at 515/525/530; FIG. 4 at 410/415/420), the normal working mode is a working mode in which the charging apparatus (250), the power conversion apparatus (220) and the power battery (215) are interconnected (FIG. 4 – when the charge level is below a threshold, the energy storage device is connected to the converter which is connected to the power source).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 14. Smith discloses acquiring the auxiliary power by the power conversion apparatus when determining that the power conversion apparatus is in the normal working mode (FIG. 5 at 515/525/530; FIG. 4 at 410/415/420), the power conversion apparatus accesses to the auxiliary power, comprising:
acquiring the auxiliary power by the power conversion apparatus when receiving a connection success information sent by the charging apparatus (¶46 – switching element is coupled to the converter and the load of the vehicle – thus providing a connection; ¶50 – methods are executed by the controller 230).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 15. Smith discloses before determining the one of the charging power of the charging apparatus and the power battery with a higher power supply priority as a current working power of the power conversion apparatus by the power conversion apparatus (¶68 – “the converter 210 may be controlled to convert the voltage output by the energy storage device 215 to a voltage that matches the operating voltage of the high voltage system 250 in order to pre-charge a bus of the high voltage system 250 before closing contacts to other components of the high voltage system 250”), the method further comprises:
Smith discloses converting the charging power and/or the power battery into a working power of the power conversion apparatus by the power conversion apparatus (¶16 – converter 210 converting voltage provided by the external power source 250 into a second voltage; ¶68 – converter 210 controlled to convert the voltage output by the energy storage device; ).
Regarding claim 10. Smith discloses a power conversion apparatus (210), comprising:
a processor (com, wherein the processor is configured to conduct a power conversion between a charging apparatus (250) and a power battery (215) so as to convert an output power of the charging apparatus into a power required by the power battery for charging the power battery (¶35 - the converter 210 converts the first voltage into a second voltage and a controller controls switching of a switching element to connect the converter to the energy storage device and charge the energy storage device) by performing operations of:
wherein the processor is connected to two powers, wherein the two powers comprising a first power supply (250) and a second power supply (215);
wherein the first power supply is a charging power of the charging apparatus (250) and the second power supply is a power battery (215) (FIG. 2; ¶15);
conducting a power-on self-test by using an auxiliary power of the charging apparatus (¶48 - power supply device performs self-test diagnostics using the DC/DC converter; FIG. 5 - 510/515);
determining a supply priority order of the first power supply and the second power supply on the basis of a state parameter of the power battery (FIG. 4 at 415/420/425; ¶29-32; FIG. 6 at 610 - determine the mode of operation; ¶51 - monitor charge level of the energy storage device which is an electric quantity), under the condition that the self-test of the power conversion apparatus succeeds (FIG. 5 - in the event of a failure, the converter and/or the energy storage device is disconnected; ¶52 - modes are determined based on any failures and inputs);
determining the one of the charging power of the charging apparatus (FIG. 2) and the power battery (215) with a higher power supply priority as a current working power of the power conversion apparatus, so as to supply power to the power conversion apparatus (210) (FIG. 2; ¶52 - first mode when the energy storage device 215 is used to supply the power to the load);
wherein determining the power supply priority order of the charging power and the power battery (¶52 - determine which mode to operate) on the basis of the state parameter of the power battery, comprises:
determining the power supply priority order of the charging power and the power battery on the basis of electric quantity of the power battery (FIG. 6 at 610; ¶51 - monitor charge level of the energy storage device which is an electric quantity).
Regarding claim 19. Smith discloses power conversion apparatus (FIG. 2-3), comprising a memory and a processor (¶19 – controller includes a processor and memory), wherein the memory store instructions which, when executed by the processor (¶19 – “he memory may include instructions that are executable by the processor to control the power supply device 205”), cause the power conversion apparatus to implement the method according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US20210070191A1 in view of Garbossa et al. US20200195127A1.
Regarding claim 7 and claim 16. Smith does not explicitly teach that in an off-line debugging mode of the power conversion apparatus, determining a standard grid or an external direct current power as the current working power of the power conversion apparatus by the power conversion apparatus.
Garbossa discloses in an off-line debugging mode of the power conversion apparatus (¶25 cut-off switch 101 is opened when a fault is detected), determining a standard grid or an external direct current power as the current working power of the power conversion apparatus (¶41 – voltage of 12V, 40V or higher) by the power conversion apparatus (¶38 – Output of the current monitoring circuit 209 of the power converter 200 is sent to the controller 105 which allows for the detection of various fault conditions according to the detected power parameters).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a self-test before the charging of Smith in order to reduce or prevent damage related to overvoltage conditions (Garbossa; ¶25).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US20210070191A1 in view of Garbossa et al. US20200195127A1 and in further view of Yan US20180152115A1.
Regarding claim 8. Smith discloses converting the external power into the working power of the power conversion apparatus by the power conversion apparatus (¶16 – “the converter 210 is coupled to the external power source 250 and converts a first voltage (e.g., 400V) provided by the external power source 250 into a second voltage (e.g., 12V)”).
Smith does not explicitly disclose that the external power is a grid power source.
Yan discloses a power conversion device 100 including an alternating current to direct current (AC-DC) module (110), configured to convert the standard grid into the working power of the power conversion apparatus (¶30 – power conversion device adapted to a wide range of grid voltage).
Regarding claim 17. Smith discloses the converter receiving external power before the conversion apparatus determines the external power source 250 as the working power of the power conversion apparatus ((¶68 – “the converter 210 may be controlled to convert the voltage output by the energy storage device 215 to a voltage that matches the operating voltage of the high voltage system 250 in order to pre-charge a bus of the high voltage system 250 before closing contacts to other components of the high voltage system 250”).
Smith does not explicitly disclose an alternating current to direct current (AC-DC) module, configured to convert the standard grid into the working power of the power conversion apparatus.
Yan discloses a power conversion device 100 including an alternating current to direct current (AC-DC) module (110), configured to convert the standard grid into the working power of the power conversion apparatus (¶30 – power conversion device adapted to a wide range of grid voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to provide an AC-DC converter to provide a wider range of configurations to receive power (¶30).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US20210070191A1 in view of Kimbara US5164892A.
Regarding claim 9 and claim 18. Smith does not explicitly teach the power conversion apparatus is configured to convert the charging power into a pulse current and charge the power battery.
Kimbara discloses the power conversion apparatus is configured to convert the charging power into a pulse current and charge the power battery (column 1, lines 13-16 describes that a DC to pulse current power converter is known in the art).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known conversion, as taught by Kimbara, to the power converter of Smith in order to supply a load with the necessary power type.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859