CTFR 17/541,017 CTFR 84749 \ DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This action is in reply to the response filed on April 7, 2026. Claims 1 and 17 are amended. Claims 24-27 have been added. Claims 10-14 were previously withdrawn. Claims 2-4, 7, 15-16, and 18 were cancelled. Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 8-14, 17, and 19-27 are currently pending. This action is made Final. Response to Arguments Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the pending claims do not recite an abstract idea in any of the three permissible groupings. Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claimed invention is directed towards a system for coordinating payments to caregivers for services rendered. The coordinated payments fall into the abstract idea grouping of “certain methods of organizing human activity” because the payments are an example of commercial interactions. Since commercial interactions are recognized as abstract, Applicant’s claimed invention is recognized as an abstract idea. The use of a computer to perform steps in the claimed invention does not remove the abstract nature of the claimed invention because the computer is merely used as a tool of implementation. Since the claims recite an abstract idea and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, the claims essential cover a basic tool of scientific and technological work, which is improper. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because independent claims 1 and 17 include additional limitations that integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. Applicant specifically asserts that the claims recite a specific improvement over the prior art in the fields of electronic payment processing. Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claimed invention included the additional limitations of an engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer device comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, a first client device, a plurality of second client devices, a machine learning model, and a payment processor computer device. These additional limitations are a recitation of generic computer components, and the recitation of generic computer components amounts to instructions to merely apply the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply the abstract idea do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional limitations also do not recite a specific improvement over the prior art in the fields of electronic payment processing because the claimed invention does not improve the functionality of any technology. The machine learning model and its training specifically do not represent an improvement because the training of the machine learning model does not improve the performance or functionality of the machine learning model or overcome any technological limitations or problems within training technology. Any improvement lies within the abstract idea, and an improved abstract idea is still abstract. Applicant asserted that the claimed invention presents a solution to a technical problem, in that whenever the user attempts to purchase an item, the system must first determine to which caregivers to send the request for contribution. While Applicant’s solution may be technical in nature, determining which caregivers to send a request for a contribution is not a technical problem. It is a business problem. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the pending claims are drawn to a practical application that applies any alleged abstract idea in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the alleged abstract idea and are more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize any alleged abstract idea. Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claimed invention does not apply the abstract idea in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea because the additional limitations only serve to generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additional limitations of this sort do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Without additional limitations that provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, the abstract idea lacks any meaningful limits. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the claimed invention includes an additional element that implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integrated into the claim, which is indicative that the additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application. Examiner disagrees. Applicant’s claimed invention does not include or describe a particular machine or manufacture. Applicant’s specification states that client devices may be any device capable of accessing the internet, including a desktop computer, which is not a particular machine or manufacture. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the claimed invention recites a large number of additional elements that extend well beyond the scope of methods of organizing human activity. Applicant further asserted that the claims are clearly more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize any method of organizing human activity. Examiner disagrees. The additional elements’ ability to extend the scope of the claimed invention does not address the issue of patent eligibility. The additional elements do not transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter because the additional elements recite computer components that are merely used as tools to implement the abstract idea and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The limitation to “train a machine learning model based upon the historical data identifying relationships between the plurality of caregivers and the one or more categories of items, the machine learning model configured to select one or more caregivers of the plurality of caregivers based upon input purchase information” does not impose a meaningful limit on the alleged abstract idea because the training of the machine learning model is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (i.e. the machine learning model). Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that Examiner’s 101 rejection was improper because the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner disagrees. As previously stated, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are generic computer components that are merely used as tools to implement the abstract idea. Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that the prior art did not teach or suggest a computer device configured to “train a machine learning model based upon the historical data identifying relationships between the plurality of caregivers and the one or more categories of items, the machine learning model configured to select one or more caregivers of the plurality of caregivers based upon input purchase information”. Examiner disagrees. The White reference teaches a computer device configured to “train a machine learning model based upon the historical data identifying relationships between the plurality of caregivers and the one or more categories of items, the machine learning model configured to select one or more caregivers of the plurality of caregivers based upon input purchase information” (White: pgh 40). Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Applicant argued that the prior art did not teach or suggest a computer device configured to “input at least some of the purchase information into the machine learning model to select a first caregiver based upon the input as being the caregiver of the plurality of caregivers associated with the user who has previously purchased items in a same category of the one or more categories of items as the item being purchased on behalf of the user.” Examiner disagrees. The White reference teaches a computer device configured to “input at least some of the purchase information into the machine learning model to select a first caregiver based upon the input as being the caregiver of the plurality of caregivers associated with the user who has previously purchased items in a same category of the one or more categories of items as the item being purchased on behalf of the user.” Therefore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument non-persuasive. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 8-14, 17, and 19-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 8-14, 17, and 19-27 are directed to a system, method, or product, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. ( Step 1: YES ). The Examiner has identified independent system claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent system Claim 17. Claim 1 recites the following limitations: receive, [via the plurality of second client devices,] for each of the plurality of caregivers, (i) caregiver payment account information and (ii) historical data indicating one or more categories of items previously purchased at least in part by the caregiver on behalf of the user; train a machine learning model based upon the historical data identifying relationships between the plurality of caregivers and the one or more categories of items, the machine learning model configured to select one or more caregivers of the plurality of caregivers based upon input purchase information; receive, [via the first client device,] a real-time transaction message identifying purchase information for the user including (i) an item being purchased by the user and (ii) a purchase cost associated therewith; input at least some of the purchase information [into the machine learning model] to select a first caregiver based upon the input as being the caregiver of the plurality of caregivers associated with the user who has previously purchased items in a same category of the one or more categories of items as the item being purchased on behalf of the user; in response to outputting [by the machine learning model] the first caregiver as having previously purchased items within the same category for the user, cause the second client device associated with the first caregiver to present a request to pay a portion of the purchase cost, the request including the item and the purchase cost. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity because the limitations recite fundamental economic principles or practices. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic principle or practice, then it falls within the “ Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity ” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer device comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, first client device, plurality of second client devices, machine learning model, and payment processor computer device in Claim 1 are just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. Claim(s) 17 is also abstract for similar reasons. ( Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea) This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of an engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer device comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, a first client device, a plurality of second client devices, machine learning model, and a payment processor computer device. The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality ( i.e. , as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claim(s) 1 and 17 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. ( Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application ) The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements do not change the outcome of the analysis when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claim(s) 1 and 17 are not patent eligible. (St ep 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more ) Dependent claims 5, 6, 8-9, and 19-27 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claim(s) 1 and 17 and thus correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. Dependent claims 5, 6, 8-9, and 19-27 do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, dependent claims 5, 6, 8-9, and 19-27 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 8-14, 17, and 19-27 are not patent-eligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-9, 17-20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangat (US 11,853,919 B1) in view of Babar (US 2018/0225649) in view of Benkreira (US 2021/0312528) in view of White (US 2020/0311709) . Regarding claim(s) 1: Mangat teaches: an engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer device comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, (Mangat: col 4, lines 5-10, “…the financial institution computing system includes a processor and memory.”) the ECSP computer device in communication with a first client device associated with a user (Mangat: col 6, lines 20-25, “Generally, method is initiated when a first user attempts to make a purchase from merchant via the mobile wallet client running on the first user’s mobile device.”) a plurality of second client devices associated with a plurality of caregivers, and a payment processor computer device, [the at least one processor of the ECSP computer device is programmed to:] (Mangat: col 3, lines 29-32, “Additionally, the mobile wallet system allows a first user to contact a second user of the mobile wallet system to request funding for certain transactions.”) receive, via the plurality of second client devices, for each of the plurality of caregivers, (i) caregiver payment account information and (ii)[historical data indicating one or more categories of items previously purchased at least in part by the caregiver on behalf of the user]; (Mangat: col 2, lines 5-10, “The method includes receiving, by a processor of the financial institution computing system from a first user device, auto-fund permissions relating to a preauthorization for the financial institution to fund purchases of a second user of the mobile wallet system, wherein the auto-fund permissions include an identity of a second user and transaction restrictions.”) Mangat does not teach, however, Babar teaches: receive, via the first client device, a real-time transaction message identifying purchase information for the user including (i) an item being purchased by the user and (ii) a purchase cost associated therewith; (Babar: pgh 14, “The requestor may select a transaction to be split…”) [in response to outputting by the machine learning model the first caregiver as having previously purchased items within the same category for the user,] cause the second client device associated with the first caregiver to present a request to pay a portion of the purchase cost, the request including the item and the purchase cost, (Babar: pgh 14, “The push notification may provide the requestor an option to split the transaction with other consumers (also referred to herein as “requestees”).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat to include the teachings of Babar because there is a need to improve the process of requesting funds from different individuals through different payment applications (Babar: pgh 2). Mangat/Babar does not teach the remaining limitations. However, Benkeira teaches: …historical data indicating one or more categories of items previously purchased at least in part by the caregiver on behalf of the user; (Benkreira: pgh 6, “In some exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure, the item category can include (i) computers, (ii) electronics, (iii) jewelry, or (iv) appliances.”) in response to outputting by the machine learning model the first caregiver as having previously purchased items within the same category for the user… (Benkreira: pgh 39, “If the repurchase falls within predicted spend determined by the machine learning procedure, then the repurchase can be initiated.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Babar to include the teachings of Benkreira because it may be beneficial to provide an exemplary system for repeating prior purchases (Benkreira: pgh 3). Mangat/Babar/Bankreira does not teach, however, White teaches: train a machine learning model based upon the historical data identifying relationships between the plurality of caregivers and the one or more categories of items, the machine learning model configured to select one or more caregivers of the plurality of caregivers based upon input purchase information; (White: pgh 40, “Further, the system may implement machine learning to identify customer behavior and likely co-payers.”) input at least some of the purchase information into the machine learning model to select a first caregiver based upon the input as being the caregiver of the plurality of caregivers associated with the user who has previously purchased items in a same category of the one or more categories of items as the item being purchased on behalf of the user; and (White: pgh 41, “Also, an embodiment of the present invention may define groups of payors that the customer frequently shares costs with…The group may be formed based on transaction data, historical data, user preference and/or other consideration.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Babar/Bankreira to include the teachings of White because “The novel system enables a customer to initiate a distributed payment when the check comes and further enables the customer to resolve payments immediately” (White: pgh 7). Regarding claim(s) 5: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Babar further teaches: wherein a purchase associated with the purchase information previously occurred, and (Babar: pgh 76, “The payment network which may be part of certain transactions represents existing proprietary networks that presently accommodate transactions for credit cards..”) wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to transmit the request to pay a portion in response to receiving an invoice for the purchase. (Babar: pgh 88, “A consumer account number may be, for example, a sixteen-digit account number…”; pgh 20, “In response to a requestor completing a transaction with a transaction account, a transaction account issuer may transmit a notification to a mobile device of the requestor…The notification may include an option to split the charge.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/White to include the teachings of Babar because there is a need to improve the process of requesting funds from different individuals through different payment applications (Babar: pgh 2). Regarding claim(s) 6: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Mangat further teaches: wherein a purchase associated with the purchase information will occur when payment is made, and (Mangat: col 6, lines 10-17, “The memory includes transaction logic that allows the POS system to accept mobile wallet payments from the mobile devices. The payments are account transfers form the financial institution into accounts associated with the merchant.”) wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to complete the purchase upon confirmation of payment from the payment processor computer device. (Mangat: col 6, line 64 – col 7, line 4, “If there are sufficient funds, the financial institution computing system transmits an approval message to the POS system and transfers funds from the first user’s account to an account associated with the merchant.”) Regarding claim(s) 8: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Mangat further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive the purchase information from one of the first client device or a second client device of the plurality of second client devices. (Mangat: col 10, lines 5-15, “The user interface includes a QR code…which can be scanned by the merchant POS system to effectuate payment form the second user…to the merchant.”) Regarding claim(s) 9: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Mangat further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to receive the purchase information from a vendor computer device. (Mangat: col 10, lines 15-20, “The payment to the merchant is processed…The financial institution computing system receives an updated transaction request with the updated payment information from the merchant POS system.”) Regarding claim(s) 17: Mangat teaches: An engagement and care support platform ("ECSP") computer device comprising] at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, (Mangat: col 4, lines 5-10, “…the financial institution computing system includes a processor and memory.”) the ECSP computer device in communication with a first client device associated with a user, (Mangat: col 6, lines 20-25, “Generally, method is initiated when a first user attempts to make a purchase from merchant via the mobile wallet client running on the first user’s mobile device.”) a plurality of second client devices associated with a plurality of caregivers associated with the user, and (Mangat: col 3, lines 29-32, “Additionally, the mobile wallet system allows a first user to contact a second user of the mobile wallet system to request funding for certain transactions.”) a payment processor computer device, [the at least one processor of the ECSP computer device is programmed to:] (Mangat: col 1, lines 25-30, “One embodiment relates to a method of facilitating a payment to a merchant via a mobile wallet system provided by a financial institution computing system…”) receive, via the plurality of second client devices, for each of the plurality of caregivers, (i) caregiver payment account information and (ii) [historical data indicating one or more categories of purchases]; (Mangat: col 2, lines 5-10, “The method includes receiving, by a processor of the financial institution computing system from a first user device, auto-fund permissions relating to a preauthorization for the financial institution to fund purchases of a second user of the mobile wallet system, wherein the auto-fund permissions include an identity of a second user and transaction restrictions.”) Mangat does not teach, however, Babar teaches: receive, via the first client device, a real-time transaction message identifying purchase information identifying (i) a purchase for the user, and (ii) a cost associated with the purchase; (Babar: pgh 14, “The requestor may select a transaction to be split…”) [in response to outputting by the machine learning model the first caregiver as previously having made purchases within the same category for the user,] cause a corresponding second client device associated with each caregiver of the plurality of caregivers to present a first request to pay a portion of the cost, the first request including the purchase and the purchase cost. (Babar: pgh 14, “The TAI may transmit request to the requestees to transfer funds.”; pgh 15, “The request may be transmitted via a peer-to-peer payment system…”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat to include the teachings of Babar because there is a need to improve the process of requesting funds from different individuals through different payment applications (Babar: pgh 2). Mangat/Babar does not teach the remaining limitations. However, Benkeira teaches: …historical data indicating one or more categories of purchases; (Benkreira: pgh 6, “In some exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure, the item category can include (i) computers, (ii) electronics, (iii) jewelry, or (iv) appliances.”) in response to outputting by the machine learning model the first caregiver as previously having made purchases within the same category for the user… (Benkreira: pgh 39, “If the repurchase falls within predicted spend determined by the machine learning procedure, then the repurchase can be initiated.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Babar to include the teachings of Benkreira because it may be beneficial to provide an exemplary system for repeating prior purchases (Benkreira: pgh 3). Mangat/Babar/Bankreira does not teach, however, White teaches: train a machine learning model based upon the historical data identifying relationships between the plurality of caregivers and the one or more categories of items, the machine learning model configured to select one or more caregivers of the plurality of caregivers based upon input purchase information; (White: pgh 40, “Further, the system may implement machine learning to identify customer behavior and likely co-payers.”) input at least some of the purchase information into the machine learning model to select a first caregiver based upon the input as being the caregiver of the plurality of caregivers associated with the user who has previously made purchases in a same category of the one or more categories of purchases as the purchase for the user on behalf of the user; and (White: pgh 41, “Also, an embodiment of the present invention may define groups of payors that the customer frequently shares costs with…The group may be formed based on transaction data, historical data, user preference and/or other consideration.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Babar/Bankreira to include the teachings of White because “The novel system enables a customer to initiate a distributed payment when the check comes and further enables the customer to resolve payments immediately” (White: pgh 7). Regarding claim(s) 19: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 17. Mangat further teaches: store a plurality of user preferences for each of the plurality of caregivers and the user; (Mangat: col 4, lines 30-40, “Further, the mobile profiles database stores other information concerning the users’ mobile wallets, such as contacts lists, user repayment plans, purchase restrictions, and the like.”) determine a first portion of the plurality of caregivers to transmit the first request to based upon the plurality of user preferences; and (Mangat: col 6, lines 30-40, “The first user, via the mobile wallet client, is presented the opportunity to contact a third-party (i.e., a second mobile wallet user), such as a relative or friend of the first user, to request funding for the transaction.”) transmit the first request to the determined portion of caregivers. (Mangat: col 7, lines 25-35, “After the first user selects a second user, the first user has the option to send a note to the second user along with the request to fund by interacting with the note field…of the user interface.”) Regarding claim(s) 20: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 19. Babar further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to determine a second portion of the plurality of caregivers to transmit the second request to based upon the plurality of user preferences. (Babar: pgh 21, “In various embodiments, the TAI application may automatically split the charge equally between the requestor and the requestees. For example, if the requestor selects three requestees to split a $100 transaction with the requestor, each requestee may receive a request for $25.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/White to include the teachings of Babar because there is a need to improve the process of requesting funds from different individuals through different payment applications (Babar: pgh 2). Regarding claim(s) 22: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Babar further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: receive a response from the second client device associated with the first caregiver- indicating a first portion of the purchase cost that the first caregiver will pay toward the purchase cost of the item for the user; and (Babar: pgh 24. “…the GUI may allow the requestor to track the status of repayment.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/White to include the teachings of Babar because there is a need to improve the process of requesting funds from different individuals through different payment applications (Babar: pgh 2). Mangat further teaches: in response to receiving the response from the second client device, transmit to the payment processor computer device (i) a first message including the token associated with the first caregiver and the first portion for processing payment of the first portion; and (Mangat: col 9, lines 60-66, “…the payment code is a digital token or file that can be transmitted to the merchant POS system…”) (ii) a second message including the user account payment information for processing payment of a second portion of the purchase cost. (Mangat: col 16, lines 1-5, “…generate a digital token corresponding to a financial account of the second user, the digital token comprising a geographic restriction defined by the second user…”) Regarding claim(s) 23: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 17. Babar further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: receive a primary response from a second client device of the plurality of second client devices associated with a first caregiver of the plurality of caregivers, wherein the primary response indicates that the first caregiver will pay a first portion of the cost; (Babar: pgh 24. “…the GUI may allow the requestor to track the status of repayment.”) receive a secondary response from a second client device associated with a second caregiver, wherein the secondary response indicates that the second caregiver will pay a second portion of the cost; and (Babar: pgh 24, “The GUI may display which requestees have submitted payment, and which have not.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/White to include the teachings of Babar because there is a need to improve the process of requesting funds from different individuals through different payment applications (Babar: pgh 2). Mangat further teaches: in response to receiving the primary response and the secondary response, transmit to the payment processor computer device (i) a first message including the token associated with the first caregiver and the first portion for processing payment of the first portion; and (Mangat: col 9, lines 60-66, “…the payment code is a digital token or file that can be transmitted to the merchant POS system…”) (ii) a second message including the token associated with the second caregiver and the second portion for processing payment of the second portion. (Mangat: col 16, lines 1-5, “…generate a digital token corresponding to a financial account of the second user, the digital token comprising a geographic restriction defined by the second user…”) Regarding claim(s) 24: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 22. White further teaches: The ECSP computer device in accordance with Claim 22, wherein the response further includes the first portion expressed as a percentage of the purchase cost to pay, and wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to transmit the percentage of the purchase cost to pay to the payment processor computer device. (White: pgh 31, “Each co-payor may receive a notification informing the co-payor that they are responsible for a certain portion of the transaction amount.”; pgh 32, “The system may identify a distribution factor, percentage or amount.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/Babar to include the teachings of White because “The novel system enables a customer to initiate a distributed payment when the check comes and further enables the customer to resolve payments immediately” (White: pgh 7). Regarding claim(s) 25: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 24. White further teaches: The ECSP computer device in accordance with Claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to: determine a final percentage of the purchase cost that is covered based upon one or more percentages of the purchase cost to pay from the one or more second client devices; and if the final percentage is less than 100%, assign the remaining percentage to a predetermined payment account. (White: pgh 44, “…the original customer may be reimbursed for the enter transaction and charged for only the original customer’s portion once the other payors have paid their portion of the transaction.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/Babar to include the teachings of White because “The novel system enables a customer to initiate a distributed payment when the check comes and further enables the customer to resolve payments immediately” (White: pgh 7). Regarding claim(s) 26: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 25. White further teaches: The ECSP computer device in accordance with Claim 25, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to assign the remaining percentage to a user payment account associated with the user. (White: pgh 45, “…the system may initiate the transaction using an appropriate payment instrument.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/Babar to include the teachings of White because “The novel system enables a customer to initiate a distributed payment when the check comes and further enables the customer to resolve payments immediately” (White: pgh 7). Regarding claim(s) 27: The combination of Mangat/Babar/Benkreira/White, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 23. White further teaches: The ECSP computer device in accordance with Claim 23, wherein the secondary response from the second client device of the second caregiver includes a percentage of the corresponding purchase or flat amount to pay. (White: pgh 31, “Each co-payor may receive a notification informing the co-payor that they are responsible for a certain portion of the transaction amount. Each payor may then accept, confirm or otherwise acknowledge the notification.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/Babar to include the teachings of White because “The novel system enables a customer to initiate a distributed payment when the check comes and further enables the customer to resolve payments immediately” (White: pgh 7) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangat/Benkreira/Babar/White in view of Wilson (US 10,810,574) . Regarding claim(s) 21: The combination of Mangat/Benkreira/Babar, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Mangat/Babar does not teach the limitations below. Wilson further teaches: wherein the first client device is configured to execute a chatbot, and wherein the real-time transaction message is generated by the chatbot based upon an audio input received from the user. (Wilson: col 2, lines 5-10, “Embodiments of this disclosure include technical solutions to add functionality to chatbots, including automatically detecting requests to make payment transactions, and suggesting payment transactions.”; col 26, lines 40-50, “Fig. 8 illustrates an embodiment for processing payments using voice-activated commands on a voice-controlled speaker or virtual assistant…”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Mangat/Benkreira/Babar to include the teachings of Wilson because there is a need to improve chatbots to initiate payments within a conversation (Wilson col 1, lines 20-30) . Conclusion Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. Wohied et at (US 2012/0254021) discloses a friendly funding source wherein a user can select one or more friendly funding sources to may a payment . THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event of a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN O PRESTON whose telephone number is (571)270-3918. The examiner can normally be reached 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael W Anderson can be reached on 571-270-0508. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN O PRESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3693 May 22, 2026 /BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 2 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 3 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 5 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 6 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 7 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 8 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 10 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 11 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 12 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 13 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 14 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 15 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 16 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 17 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 18 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 19 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 20 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 21 Art Unit: 3693 Application/Control Number: 17/541,017 Page 22 Art Unit: 3693