Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Here, the applicant asserts that Choi’s uncoated region 11b cannot be deemed as the extension zone B of claim 1.
Here, this argument has been fully considered, but has not been found to be persuasive. The claim defines the extension zone as being “a transition zone between the film zone and the transfer welding zone, coated with no electrode active material layer”. As discussed by Choi, the zone 11b is a positive electrode uncoated region (Paragraph 0057, “a positive electrode uncoated region 11 b where the positive electrode active material layer 113 is not coated.”) and the transfer welding zone is portion 56 (Paragraph 0058, “Accordingly, a welding portion 56 is formed in the positive electrode uncoated region 11 b and the positive electrode tab 51 .”). Accordingly, where the region of uncoated zone 11b between the coated zone 11a and the transfer welding zone 56 is uncoated, it meets the requirements of, and is therefore an extension zone. Additionally, Choi’s figure 3 displays a longitudinal arrangement of the extension zone and the film zone along the current collector.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that where claim 1 defines the compacted densities of different zones, Horikawa discloses elastic coefficients, where density and elastic coefficient are differing parameters and cannot be compared, and that therefore Horikawa cannot provide inspiration for one skilled in the art to adjust the compacted densities.
This argument has been fully considered, but has not been found to be persuasive. Horikawa discloses that a change in density of the material results in a change of elastic modulus, through specifically disclosing a change of compacted density (Paragraph 0032, “The above method forms each exposed portion 40 at an end portion of the electrode sheet material 70 in the width direction and enables the active material filling density of the first region 30 a to be higher than the active material filling densities of the second regions 30 b and 30 c . An increase in the active material filling density of the first region 30 a enables the elastic modulus Eb 1 of the first region 30 a to be larger than the elastic moduli Ec 1 of the second regions.”). This is explicitly a disclosure of a change of density, and even if a change in elastic modulus is a result, said result is derived from a change in density.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the high compacted density " in line 25 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, Claim 1 requires “a ratio of the middle zone with the high compacted density to a total coated surface zone is 45% to 55%”. Here, the language specifies “a ratio” without stating which parameter is to be considered for the ratio. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it is considered that the claim requires any possible ratio, as the feature is interpreted without reading in any elements that are not claimed.
Additionally claims 2-17 are rejected due to their dependence on said indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), and Cheng (US 6544688 B1) and Horikawa (WO 2017085917 A1, with equivalent US 20190123338 A1 used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing an electrode plate comprising a current collector (Paragraph 0018, “ The positive electrode may include a positive electrode current collector”) and an electrode active material disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (Paragraph 0018, “and the positive electrode active material layer may be formed at both surfaces of the positive electrode current collector.”). Additionally, Choi discloses structure which comprises an electrical connection member electrically connected to the current collector (Paragraph 0044, “A positive electrode tab (first tab) 51 is fixed to the positive electrode 11 ,”)
Additionally, as depicted in Choi’s figure 3, the electrode active material is disposed on a portion of a main body portion of the current collector at a zone that is identified as a film zone, where the film zone is Choi’s positive electrode coating portion 11a (Paragraph 0057, “and the positive electrode 11 has a positive electrode coating portion 11 a”), which is applied to the current collector (Paragraph 0057, “A positive electrode active material is coated at both surfaces of the positive electrode current collector 112”). Additionally, Choi depicts structure in their figure 3 where the electrical connection member and current collector are welded and connected at an edge of the current collector at a welding zone, here mapped to the transfer welding zone, here, the span of Choi’s welding portion 56, as depicted in their figure 3 (Paragraph 0058, “Accordingly, a welding portion 56 is formed in the positive electrode uncoated region 11b and the positive electrode tab 51 .”). Additionally, Choi discloses structure which comprises a transition zone of the current collector between the film zone and the transfer welding zone in which no electrode active material layer is present, here the positive electrode uncoated region 11b of Choi, depicted in their figure 3 as being present on the left side of the boundary line 15 (Paragraph 0060, “a boundary line 15 of the positive electrode uncoated region 11 b and the positive electrode coating portion 11 a,”).
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires structure wherein the current collector comprises a support layer and a conductive layer disposed on at least one surface of the support layer, Choi fails to disclose said structure, only disclosing the presence of a thin metal plate which makes up the current collector (Paragraph 0056, “positive electrode current collector 112 that is formed with a thin metal plate,”), which is a conductive layer.
Therefore, we look to Bao, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a polymer composite material made use of as a support material in a current collector (Paragraph 0017, “In some embodiments, a battery electrode structure includes a current collector and an electrode disposed adjacent to the current collector and including an electrochemically active material. The current collector includes the polymer composite as set forth in the foregoing.”). Here, Bao discloses that their polymer support layer activates at a high temperature, greatly increasing its resistance, resulting a shutdown of the battery, resulting in protection of the battery material from damage in the event of a high temperature or a large current (Paragraph 0035, “The safe battery has one or two current collectors coated with a thin thermoresponsive polymer switching (TRPS) layer. It operates normally at room temperature. However, in the case of a high temperature or a large current, the TRPS will be activated, greatly increasing its resistance and shutting down the battery. The battery structure can thus be protected without damage.”). Accordingly, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the composite polymer layer of Bao as a support layer in the current collector of Choi, thereby increasing the safety of the battery.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires structure wherein the single-sided thickness of the conductive layer is between 30 nanometers and 2 microns, Choi is silent in regards to the thickness of their current collector’s conductive layer. Therefore, we look to Takahashi, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a current collector which comprises an aluminum foil or film (Paragraph 0378, “The current collector for positive electrodes may be formed from any metal material such as aluminum…”; Paragraph 0379, “In the case of a metal material, the current collector may be in the form of metal foil,”). Additionally, Takahashi discloses that a preferred thickness of the current collector is 1 micron or greater (Paragraph 0379, “Preferred among these is a metal film. The film may be in the form of mesh, as appropriate. The film may have any thickness, and the thickness is usually 1 μm or greater,”) and 1 millimeter or smaller (Paragraph 0379, “while usually 1 mm or smaller,”), further stating that if the thickness exceeds this value, it results in a poor handleability (Paragraph 0379, “In contrast, if the film is thicker than this range, it may have poor handleability.”). Accordingly, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to maximize the handleability of the current collector, thereby selecting as low a thickness as possible, resulting in a thickness of 1 micron. Accordingly, this also means that the single-sided thickness D2 of the resulting metal layer would be 1 micron, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim that requires structure wherein the current collector conductive layer is between 30 nm and 2 microns.
Additionally, Choi discloses structure wherein the electrode plate further comprises an internal-short-circuit protection layer, which is a positive electrode protection tape (Paragraph 0059, “A first positive electrode protection tape 31 is attached to the positive electrode uncoated region 11 b”), where the protection tape is an organic insulation layer, where Choi states that the tape may be a Teflon resin, polypropylene resin, or polyethylene resin (Paragraph 0061, “The first positive electrode protection tape 31 may be formed with a Teflon resin, a polypropylene resin, or a polyethylene resin.”). Here, as depicted in their figure 3, the protection tape 31 covers the electrical connection member in the transfer welding zone and at least a part of the extension zone.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure where a conductive primer coating layer containing a binder and a conductive material is disposed on a surface of the current collector in the extension zone of the composite current collector or on the surface of the composite current collector in the film zone, Choi fails to disclose said structure. Therefore, we look to Cheng, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing current collectors which are coated with a conductive primer layer applied on top of a conductive support (Abstract, “Provided are cathode current collectors for use in electrochemical cells, wherein the current collector comprises a conductive primer layer applied upon a conductive support”).
Here, Cheng discloses that their primer comprises a binder (Abstract, “and the primer layer comprises from about 20 to 60% by weight of a crosslinked polymeric material formed from a reaction of a polymeric material having hydroxyl groups and a crosslinking agent, about 2 to 15% by weight of a cationic polymer comprising quaternary ammonium salt groups”) and a conductive material (Abstract, “and about 35 to 75% by weight of a conductive filler.”). Cheng further discloses that the use a conductive primer results in a low impedance in the current collector (Column 6 lines 34-35, “The resulting cathode active layer-current collector combinations exhibit low impedance.”), where low impedance within a battery cell is a desirable attribute, as it corresponds to low resistance in the battery (due to the mathematical relationship between resistance and impedance).
Accordingly, based on this benefit, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the conductive primer of Cheng to the current collector of Choi. Additionally, Cheng discloses the application of their conductive binder to the conductive support of the current collector (Column 2 lines 35-38, “The cathode current collector of the present invention for use in an electrochemical cell comprises: (a) a conductive support, and (b) a conductive primer layer overlying the conductive support,”), where the conductive support is a metal foil (Column 3 lines 3-5, “The conductive support is preferably selected from the group consisting of aluminum foil”). Accordingly, where the extension zone of Choi is an uncoated metal foil (Paragraph 0056, “Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the positive electrode 11 includes a positive electrode current collector 112 that is formed with a thin metal plate,”), the application of the primer to the metal foil of Choi would result in the primer being applied to the extension zone, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitations of the instant claim.
Additionally, the extension zone and the film zone are arranged along the longitudinal direction of the current collector, as shown in Choi’s figure 3, where the extension zone 11b and film zone 11a are arranged side-by-side, longitudinally, in the current collector.
In regards to the claim which requires structure where when viewed in a width direction of a coated surface of the electrode plate, the electrode active material comprises 2n+1 zones based on compacted density , and compacted density of a middle zone is greater than zones on both sides, wherein n is 1, 2, or 3, and optionally, n is 1, Choi fails to disclose said structure.
Therefore, we look to Horikawa, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a positive electrode active material layer (Abstract, “A positive electrode active material layer is formed on at least one surface of a positive electrode current collector having a substantially rectangular planar shape.”). Here, Horikawa discloses structure which comprises an active material portion adjacent to an electrode lead that comprises a higher density than second regions of the active material located on either side of the high density region (Paragraph 0032, “The above method forms each exposed portion 40 at an end portion of the electrode sheet material 70 in the width direction and enables the active material filling density of the first region 30a to be higher than the active material filling densities of the second regions 30b and 30c.”), depicted in their figure 2(a). Here, Horikawa further discloses that this structure results in the elastic modulus of the first region to be higher than the elastic modulus of the second regions (Paragraph 0032, “An increase in the active material filling density of the first region 30a enables the elastic modulus Eb1 of the first region 30a to be larger than the elastic moduli Ec1 of the second regions.”), which results in structure wherein there is an increased capacity as a result of the application of active material around the portion where the electrode lead is attached (Paragraph 0003, “This enables the exposed portion to be formed within a portion of the positive electrode sheet in the width direction to increase the region of the positive electrode active material layer. Thus, a region in which charge and discharge reactions occur is increased to achieve an increased capacity.”), and further through the specification of densities which result in the elasticity variation discussed above, prevents cracking in regions around the applied current collector (Paragraph 0041, “there is no risk of a decrease in the mechanical strength of the boundaries between the exposed portions 40 and the second regions 30b and 30c.”), compared to example embodiments which comprise a uniform density and elasticity (Paragraph 0039, “Breaks illustrated in FIG. 5 occur when the electrode sheet material 270 is moved while a high tension is applied thereto as in the comparative example 1.”). Based on this teaching, which allows for the maximization of the positive electrode active material film region size, while still comprising uncovered regions, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the density and elasticity relationships of Horikawa to the invention of Choi, thereby resulting in structure which comprises a middle zone with a higher compacted density than two surrounding zones, wherein the three zones would also satisfy the zone equation 2n+1 where n = 1.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein a ratio of the middle zone with the high compacted density to a total coated surface zone is 45% to 55%, in disclosing said ordered structure, Horikawa discloses multiple examples which have varying elastic moduli ratios (Paragraph 0052, “The positive electrode sheet material was moved under the condition 1 to manufacture 2000 electrode groups in each of the experimental examples 1 to 10. The positive electrode sheet material was moved under the condition 2 to manufacture 2000 electrode groups in each of the experimental examples 1 to 10. The obtained electrode groups were dismantled to visually check the presence or absence of a break in each positive electrode sheet. The cases where no breaks were found under both the conditions 1 and 2 are represented by “◯”. The case where breaks were found under both the conditions 1 and 2 are represented by “x”. The cases where breaks were found only under the condition 2 are represented by “Δ”. The table 1 illustrates the result.”). Here, table 1 includes experimental example 5, where the elastic modulus of the center region is 2 times the modulus of the side regions. Accordingly, the modulus of the center region is 50% the sum of the elastic moduli of each respective zone. As the claim only requires “a ratio of the middle zone”, this limitation is interpreted broadly as requiring any possible construable ratio to read upon said limitation. Further, where Horikawa makes obvious the compacted density zone structure as discussed above, it’s example embodiments represent a range of values that contain a value which reads upon the limitation of the claim, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness via an encompassing range.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Choi discloses structure where the conductive layer is a metal conductive layer made of aluminum (Paragraph 0056, “The positive electrode current collector 112 may be made of aluminum,”).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Choi makes make obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Bao discloses structure where the support layer has a thickness ranging from 1 micron to 50 microns (Paragraph 0074, “A thickness of the layer of the thermoresponsive polymer composite can be in a range from about 1 μm to about 100 μm, from about 1 μm to about 80 μm, or from about 1 μm to about 50 μm.”), as well as further disclosing that a specific thickness of 15 microns or less results in minimal thickness variation during cycling, resulting in minimal effect on battery operation (Paragraph 0092, “Considering that the volume expansion of various PE in the temperature range of about 0-80° C. is <about 10%, the thickness of a TRPS film is about 15 μm, and the overall thickness of a single-cell battery is >about 100 μm, the total thickness change of the TRPS film (<about 1.5 μm) has little effect on the whole battery structure, thus ensuring stable operation during repeated thermal cycling.”), thereby making obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art the range of 1 micron to 15 microns, as is required by the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, as discussed above, Choi in view of Horikawa makes obvious structure which comprises a middle zone with a higher compacted density than two surrounding zones, wherein the three zones would also satisfy the zone equation 2n+1 where n = 1.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), and Cheng (US 6544688 B1) as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Azuma (US 20190081284 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim, which requires structure wherein the internal short-circuit protection layer is selected from at least one of a transparent insulation tape, a colored insulation tape, a transparent insulation glue coating layer, and a colored insulation glue coating layer, Choi’s structure, as discussed above, comprises an insulating tape (Paragraph 0059, “A first positive electrode protection tape 31 is attached to the positive electrode uncoated region 11 b,”) without a disclosure of a specific transparent or colored insulation tape.
Therefore, we look to Azuma, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing an electrode for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract, “The present invention makes it possible to improve a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery in quality.”). Here, Azuma discloses the use of colored elements in the assembly of an battery (Abstract, “An adhesive tape, an insulator, and an insulating tape each have a color value in the Munsell color system”), so as to enable the detection of foreign objects and materials that might adhere to the surface of the colored components of the battery (Paragraph 0014, “According to the above configuration, the component provided on or near the electrode group of the electrode assembly in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention has such a color that makes a black electrically-conductive substance and a white substance adhering to the component sufficiently visible, and therefore foreign matter adhering to the component is easily found.”). Based on this, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of a colored insulation tape for the internal short circuit protection layer, so as to enable the detection of foreign matter during the assembly and operation of the battery.
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), Cheng (US 6544688 B1) and Azuma (US 20190081284 A1), as applied to Claim 2 above, in further view of Maeda (US 20180134880 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 2. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the colored insulation tape contains a coloring agent, though Azuma makes obvious the use of a colored insulation tape, they are silent in regards to the specific chemical additives used to achieve said colors. Therefore, we look to Maeda, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a component of a nonaqueous electrolyte battery (Paragraph 0001, “The present invention relates to an aqueous sealing agent composition used for a non-aqueous electrolyte battery.”).
Here, Maeda discloses the use of carbon black as a coloring agent (Paragraph 0061, “Among these pigments, carbon black, particularly carbon black having a particle diameter of 0.1 μm or less, such as furnace black or channel black is preferable.”), specifically indicating that carbon black is preferable among coloring agents which are both nonreactive and insoluble (Paragraph 0061, “he coloring agent which can be added is desirably a coloring agent which does not react with an electrolytic solution and is not dissolved in the electrolytic solution, and examples thereof include various organic and inorganic pigments.”). Accordingly, where nonreactivity and insolubility are desirable attributes for an insulating material, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to select carbon black as a coloring agent for the colored insulation tape made obvious by the combination of Choi and Azuma, thereby resulting in structure where the colored insulation tape contains a coloring agent.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 4. Additionally, as discussed above in regards to Claim 4, Maeda makes obvious structure wherein the coloring agent is carbon black.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), and Cheng (US 6544688 B1), as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Sano (US 20150357679 A1) and Azuma (US 20190081284 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim, which requires structure wherein the internal short-circuit protection layer is selected from at least one of a transparent insulation tape, a colored insulation tape, a transparent insulation glue coating layer, and a colored insulation glue coating layer, Choi’s structure, as discussed above, comprises an insulating tape (Paragraph 0059, “A first positive electrode protection tape 31 is attached to the positive electrode uncoated region 11 b,”).
Here, we look to Sano, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing an insulating layer coating attached to a surface of the battery (Paragraph 0108, “The insulating layer may be formed by applying a coating material including an electrical insulating material, or by attaching an insulating member (e.g., a toroidal member (e.g., sheet)) formed of an electrical insulating material to the appropriate portions of the outer surface of the battery.”). Here, this represents the same functionality as the insulating tape of Choi, and would therefore be an obvious alternative to one ordinarily skilled in the art, to make use of the insulating materials disclosed by Sano, where Sano discloses the use of resin materials as the insulating layer, where resins represent an insulation glue coating layer (Paragraph 0109, “Examples of the electrical insulating material for each of the sealing agent, the insulating layer, and the adhesive include resins”). However, though Sano makes obvious the use of resins in place of tape, Sano is silent in regards to the transparent or colored aspect of their insulator.
Therefore, we look to Azuma, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing an electrode for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract, “The present invention makes it possible to improve a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery in quality.”). Here, Azuma discloses the use of colored elements in the assembly of an battery (Abstract, “An adhesive tape, an insulator, and an insulating tape each have a color value in the Munsell color system”), so as to enable the detection of foreign objects and materials that might adhere to the surface of the colored components of the battery (Paragraph 0014, “According to the above configuration, the component provided on or near the electrode group of the electrode assembly in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention has such a color that makes a black electrically-conductive substance and a white substance adhering to the component sufficiently visible, and therefore foreign matter adhering to the component is easily found.”). Based on this, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of a colored insulation tape or resin for the internal short circuit protection layer, so as to enable the detection of foreign matter during the assembly and operation of the battery.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 2. Additionally, Sano discloses structure wherein their insulation glue coating layer is made of a phenolic resin layer (Paragraph 0110, “Resins are not particularly limited provided that they are electrically insulating, and examples include [] phenolic resins”).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), Cheng (US 6544688 B1) and Azuma (US 20190081284 A1), as applied to Claim 3 above, in further view of Maeda (US 20180134880 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 3. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the colored insulation tape or colored insulation glue contains a coloring agent, though Azuma makes obvious the use of a colored insulation material, they are silent in regards to the specific chemical additives used to achieve said colors. Therefore, we look to Maeda, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a component of a nonaqueous electrolyte battery (Paragraph 0001, “The present invention relates to an aqueous sealing agent composition used for a non-aqueous electrolyte battery.”).
Here, Maeda discloses the use of carbon black as a coloring agent (Paragraph 0061, “Among these pigments, carbon black, particularly carbon black having a particle diameter of 0.1 μm or less, such as furnace black or channel black is preferable.”), specifically indicating that carbon black is preferable among coloring agents which are both nonreactive and insoluble (Paragraph 0061, “The coloring agent which can be added is desirably a coloring agent which does not react with an electrolytic solution and is not dissolved in the electrolytic solution, and examples thereof include various organic and inorganic pigments.”). Accordingly, where nonreactivity and insolubility are desirable attributes for an insulating material, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to select carbon black as a coloring agent for the colored insulation tape made obvious by the combination of Choi, Sano, and Azuma, thereby resulting in structure where the colored insulation tape or colored insulation glue contains a coloring agent.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 4. Additionally, as discussed above in regards to Claim 16, Maeda makes obvious structure wherein the coloring agent is carbon black.
Claim(s) 5-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), and Cheng (US 6544688 B1) as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Torita (US 20190123357 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim, which requires structure wherein the current collector in the extension zone further has a support protection layer disposed on it, Choi fails to disclose said structure. Therefore we look to Torita, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a positive electrode for a non-aqueous secondary battery which comprises a positive electrode current collector and a protective layer provided on a surface of said collector (Abstract, “A positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery includes a positive electrode current collector, a protective layer provided on a surface of the positive electrode current collector,”).
Here, Torita discloses that the presence of a protective layer disposed on a current collector makes it possible to prevent portions of the current collector from being exposed, thereby preventing low resistance short circuit events (Paragraph 0040, “Using the protective layer 13 containing the insulating filler to protect the positive electrode current collector 11, it is possible to prevent the positive electrode current collector 11 from being exposed in a nail penetration, which makes it possible to prevent a low-resistance short circuit from occurring between the positive electrode current collector 11 and the negative electrode 20”). Accordingly, based on this benefit, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the current collector protective layer of Torita to the invention of Choi on a surface of the composite current collector in the extension zone, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires that the protection layer be organic or inorganic, Torita discloses an inorganic layer (Paragraph 0041, “As examples of the insulating filler, inorganic oxides such as alumina (aluminum oxide: Al2O3), manganese oxide, silicon dioxide and titanium dioxide, boehmite (AlOOH), and the like may be given. Preferably, the insulating filler is alumina.”), as well as an organic layer, through the presence of a PVDF binder (Paragraph 0088, “and 2 parts by mass of the binder (PVDF) were mixed in the solvent to prepare a protective layer”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, As discussed above, Torita discloses structure wherein the inorganic insulation layer is selected from an aluminum oxide layer, a silicon oxide layer, or a titanium oxide layer (Paragraph 0041, “As examples of the insulating filler, inorganic oxides such as alumina (aluminum oxide: Al2O3), manganese oxide, silicon dioxide and titanium dioxide, boehmite (AlOOH), and the like may be given. Preferably, the insulating filler is alumina.”).
Additionally, through the disclosure of PVDF as a binder, as discussed above, the organic insulation layer comprises an insulation glue coating layer.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 6. Additionally, Torita discloses that the insulation glue coating layer comprises Polyvinylidene fluoride (Paragraph 0088, “and 2 parts by mass of the binder (PVDF) were mixed in the solvent to prepare a protective layer”).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, As discussed above, Torita discloses structure wherein the inorganic insulation layer is selected from an aluminum oxide layer, a silicon oxide layer, or a titanium oxide layer (Paragraph 0041, “As examples of the insulating filler, inorganic oxides such as alumina (aluminum oxide: Al2O3), manganese oxide, silicon dioxide and titanium dioxide, boehmite (AlOOH), and the like may be given. Preferably, the insulating filler is alumina.”).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Torita discloses structure where a percentage of the inorganic insulation particles is 93 percent by mass, and a percentage of the binder is 2 percent by mass (Paragraph 0088, “93 parts by mass of alumina, 5 parts by mass of the conductive material (AB) and 2 parts by mass of the binder (PVDF) were mixed in the solvent to prepare a protective layer”). Here, mass percentage is equivalent to weight percentage, thereby reading upon the limitation of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim, which requires structure wherein the current collector further has a protection layer disposed on it, Choi fails to disclose said structure. Therefore we look to Torita, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a positive electrode for a non-aqueous secondary battery which comprises a positive electrode current collector and a protective layer provided on a surface of said collector (Abstract, “A positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery includes a positive electrode current collector, a protective layer provided on a surface of the positive electrode current collector,”).
Here, Torita discloses that the presence of a protective layer disposed on a current collector makes it possible to prevent portions of the current collector from being exposed, thereby preventing low resistance short circuit events (Paragraph 0040, “Using the protective layer 13 containing the insulating filler to protect the positive electrode current collector 11, it is possible to prevent the positive electrode current collector 11 from being exposed in a nail penetration, which makes it possible to prevent a low-resistance short circuit from occurring between the positive electrode current collector 11 and the negative electrode 20”). Accordingly, based on this benefit, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the current collector protective layer of Torita to the invention of Choi on one or two surfaces of the of the conductive layer of the current collector, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires that the protection layer be a metal or metal oxide layer, Torita discloses a metal oxide protection layer (Paragraph 0041, “As examples of the insulating filler, inorganic oxides such as alumina (aluminum oxide: Al2O3), manganese oxide, silicon dioxide and titanium dioxide, boehmite (AlOOH), and the like may be given. Preferably, the insulating filler is alumina.”).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160149221 A1), in view of Bao (WO 2017120594 A2, with equivalent US 20190016871 A1 used for citation purposes), Takahashi (WO 2017179468 A1 with equivalent US 20190123386 A1 used for citation purposes), and Cheng (US 6544688 B1) as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Jeong (WO 2018056483 A1, with equivalent US 20190198882 A1 used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Choi makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein a difference value between the thickness of the electrical connection member and the single-sided thickness D2 of the conductive layer is not more than 15 microns, as discussed above, Takahashi makes obvious structure wherein the thickness of the conductive layer is 1 micron, but the combination of art presented above is silent in regards to the thickness of the electrical connection member.
Therefore, we look to Jeong, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a secondary battery comprising tabs attached to electrode plates (Abstract, “An embodiment of the present invention relates to a secondary battery, and a purpose to be achieved is to provide a secondary battery having a high-output characteristic and a reduced defective rate.”; Abstract, “and an anode tab attached to the anode plate and extending toward the other of the can and the cap assembly,”). Here, Jeong discloses that their electrodes tab has a thickness of 1.5 microns or less (Paragraph 0010, “In addition, the anode tab may be made of nickel plated to a thickness of 1.5 μm or less.”), and further states that when the thickness approaches this value, the defect rate of the tab is reduced (Paragraph 0056, “In addition, as confirmed from Table 1, as the thickness of nickel plated is increased, the defective rate was further reduced. However, since an appropriate rate of good products is attained when nickel is plated on the surface(s) of copper to a thickness of approximately 1.5 μm, it is preferably to plate nickel on the surface(s) of copper to a thickness of approximately 1.5 μm or less, thereby avoiding an excessive increase in the manufacturing cost due to unnecessarily thickly plated nickel.”). Accordingly, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of this teaching of Jeong in regards to the invention of Choi, making use of an electrode tab which is approximately 1.5 microns, where the electrode tab is the electrical connection member of the instant claim.
Accordingly, where the thickness of the electrical connection member is 1.5 microns, and where the single-sided thickness of the conductive layer is 1 micron, as discussed above, the difference between those thickness values would be approximately 0.5 microns, which is less than 15 microns, as required by the instant claim.
Additionally, though this disclosure of Jeong is directed to an anode tab, and the art of Choi as discussed above is directed towards a cathode, the benefits disclosed by Jeong are applicable to electrode tabs in general, rather than being restricted to a specific polarity of tab.
Conclusion
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725