DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 19, and 20 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 3-5 and 13-18 were previously canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP2009086311) in view of Inoue et al. (WO2021039841). Translation of ‘311 attached and U.S. 2022/0171285 is being used as the English translation of ‘841.
Watanabe et al. teaches the photosensitive resin composition of the present invention contains (a) a resin containing a repeating unit represented by general formula (1), (b) a compound that generates a sulfonic acid by light irradiation, and (c) a crosslinking agent [0014]:
[0016] wherein R 1 represents a 4-to 8-valent organic group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms. R 2 represents a 2 to 6-valent organic group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms. E represents a group containing an acidic group protected by an acid-decomposable group, and when there are a plurality of E, they may be the same or different. R and s are integers of 0 to 4, but r + s > 0. The group E containing an acidic group protected by an acid-decomposable group in the general formula (1) is represented by the general formula (2) [0017-0018]:
[0018] where A represents a n +1-valent linking group, PG represents an acid-decomposable group, and B represents a partial structure of an acidic group in which a site exhibiting acidity by an acid-decomposable group PG is protected [0018] and the group represented by PG is preferably a group represented by a tertiary alkyl group (a tertiary alkyl group having 4 to 15 carbon atoms, preferably 4 to 13 carbon atoms, for example, a t-butyl group, a t-amyl group, a 1-methylcyclopentyl group, a 1-ethylcyclopentyl group, a 1-ethylcyclohexyl group), a general formula (a), (b), and (c):
[0021] wherein in the general formula (a), R20 represents an alkyl group (having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, for example, methyl, ethyl, propyl), and R21 and R22 represent a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group (for example, methyl, ethyl, and propyl in an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, preferably 1 to 4 carbon atoms). When both R20 and R21 are alkyl groups, they may be bonded to each other to form a carbon ring. In the general formula (b), R23 represents an aryl group (an aryl group having 6 to 20 carbon atoms, for example, phenyl, naphthyl), and R24 represents an alkyl group (for example, methyl, ethyl, propyl) having an alkyl group (having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms). The aryl group represented by R23 may have a substituent, and the preferable substituent is the same as that described below as a substituent of the group represented by R1. In the general formula (c), R25 to R27 represent alkyl groups (e.g. methyl, ethyl, propyl) or aryl groups (e.g. methyl, ethyl, propyl) or aryl groups (e.g. methyl, ethyl, propyl) or aryl groups (e.g. phenyl, naphthyl) with an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, preferably an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms [0022]. Watanabe et al. also teaches the repeating unit represented by the general formula (1) is composed of an acid component having at least four carboxyl groups using R1 as a nucleus, and a diamine component having at least two amino groups using R2 as a nucleus. Examples of acid components include pyromellitic anhydride and cyclobutanetetracarboxylic acid anhydride [0036-0037] and examples of the diamine component include hydroxyl group-containing diamines such as bis (3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane [0038]. Watanabe et al. further teaches in the First Embodiment, into a 2-liter flask equipped with a stirrer, a thermometer, and a nitrogen introduction tube, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidinone 717 ml, cyclobutanetetracarboxylic acid anhydride 64.25 g (327.6 mmol), and bis (3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl) hexafluoropropane 120 g (327.6 mmol) were added. The precipitate was recovered, washed, and then dried under reduced pressure to synthesize a hydroxyl group-containing polyamic acid 150 g (P-1). The obtained (P-1) 80 g of was placed in a 1-liter flask equipped with a stirrer, a thermometer, and a nitrogen introduction tube, and 320 ml of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidinone and 1.6 g of sulfuric acid were added thereto, followed by stirring at 180°C for 8 hours. After completion of the stirring, the mixture was poured into 5 liters of distilled water, and the precipitate was recovered, washed, and dried under reduced pressure to obtain a hydroxyl group-containing polyimide 60 g (P-2). The intrinsic viscosity of the obtained P-2 was 0.70 dL/g. The obtained resin (P-2) 21.8 g was placed in a 0.2-liter flask and dissolved by adding, propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) 80 g, and ethyl vinyl ether 7.2 g (99.4 mmol) and 10-camphorsulfonic acid 0.02 g (0.083 mmol) were added. This reaction solution was neutralized with triethylamine, extracted with distilled water and ethyl acetate, and the organic layer was concentrated to obtain a polyimide solution (P-3) in which 30% of the phenolic hydroxyl groups were protected [0158] which is structurally similar to a polyimide resin of instant claim 1 comprising a structural represented by Chemical Formula 3 when r1 and r2 are 0, L is a substituted alkylene group, and Ra and Rb are hydrogen or a structure represented by Chemical Formula a when Xa1 and Xa2 are unsubstituted alkyl groups, and a structural represented by Chemical Formula A-3 when Cy is an unsubstituted aliphatic ring.
Watanabe et al. does not teach a structure represented by Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 1, or a structure represented by Chemical Formula E of instant claim 2.
However, Inoue et al. teaches a photocurable resin composition comprising at least one resin (a specific resin) selected from the group consisting of polyimide and polybenzoxazole, preferably polyimide [0264-0265] in which the polyimide may have a polarity converting group such as an acid-decomposable group [0314] and the polyimide preferably contains a repeating unit represented by the following Formula (4) [0331]:
[0332-0333] in which R131 is preferably derived from a diamine. Examples of the diamine that is used for producing polyimide include a linear aliphatic or branched aliphatic diamine, a cyclic aliphatic diamine, or an aromatic diamine. One kind of diamine may be used alone, or two or more kinds thereof may be used [0339] such as 2,2-bis(3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl)hexafluoropropane [0347] which is equivalent to a structure represented by Chemical Formula 3 of instant claim 1 when r1 and r2 are 0, L is a substituted alkylene group, and Ra and Rb are hydrogen; as well as EDR-176 [0349] which is the following:
[0350] which is equivalent to a structure represented by Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 1 when Lb1 is an unsubstituted alkylene group, n2 is 1, Lb2 is an unsubstituted alkylene group, Lb3 is a direct bond, and Lb4 is an unsubstituted alkylene group. Inoue et al. also teaches specific examples of the tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride include pyromellitic acid dianhydride [0365] which is equivalent to a structure represented by Chemical Formula A-3 of instant claim 1 when Cy is an unsubstituted aromatic ring. Inoue et al. further teaches in order to improve the storage stability of the composition, the terminal of the main chain of the polyimide is preferably blocked with a terminal blocking agent such as a monoamine and examples include 2-aminophenol [0368] which is equivalent to a structure represented by Chemical Formula E of instant claim 2 when re1 is 0 and Re is hydrogen or a structure represented by Chemical Formula a. Inoue et al. also teaches an object of the present invention is to provide a method of manufacturing a cured film with which a cured film having an excellent pattern shape and excellent film hardness is obtained [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Watanabe et al. to include additional amines such as those taught by Inoue et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve excellent pattern shape and film hardness.
With regard to claim 6, Watanabe et al. teaches the resin containing the repeating unit represented by the general formula (1) is not particularly limited to the molecular weight, but is preferably 1,000 to 500,000 in terms of mass average molecular weight, more preferably 3,000 to 300,000, and particularly preferably 5,000 to 200,000 in terms of alkali dissolution rate, film physical properties, and the like [0039] which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1,000 g/mol to 70,000 g/mol. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claims 7, 8, 11, 12, 19, and 20, Watanabe et al. teaches a composition comprising a polyimide resin, a compound capable of generating a sulfonic acid upon irradiation of light, a crosslinking agent [0014] and a solvent [0146].
Watanabe et al. does not teach a surfactant.
However, Inoue et al. teaches the content of the specific resin in the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention is preferably 20% by mass or more, more preferably 30% by mass or more, still more preferably 40% by mass or more, and even still more preferably 50% by mass or more, with respect to the total solid content of the photocurable resin composition. In addition, the content of the specific resin in the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention is preferably 99.5% by mass or less, more preferably 99% by mass or less, still more preferably 98% by mass or less, still more preferably 97% by mass or less, and even still more preferably 95% by mass or less, with respect to the total solid content of the photocurable resin composition [0425]. Inoue et al. also teaches the photocurable resin composition contains the photosensitive compound A having a sensitivity to the exposure wavelength in the first exposure step [0437], specifically, a photoacid generator as the photosensitive compound A [0486] and in a case where a photoacid generator is contained, the content thereof is preferably 0.1% to 30% by mass, more preferably 0.1% to 20% by mass, and still more preferably 2% to 15% by mass, with respect to the total solid content of the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention. One kind of photoacid generator may be contained, or two or more kinds thereof may be contained. In a case where two or more kinds of photoacid generators are contained, the total thereof is preferably within the above-described range [0535]. Inoue et al. further teaches the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention preferably contains a solvent [0570] and from the viewpoint of coating property, the content of the solvent is such that the total solid content concentration of the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention is preferably 5% to 80% by mass, more preferably 5% to 75% by mass, still more preferably 10% to 70% by mass, even still more preferably 20% to 70% by mass, and even further still more preferably 40% to 70% by mass. The content of the solvent may be adjusted depending on the desired thickness of the coating film and the coating method [0582]. Inoue et al. also teaches the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention preferably contains a crosslinking agent [0585] and in a case where a radical crosslinking agent is contained, the content thereof is preferably more than 0% by mass and 60% by mass or less with respect to the total solid content of the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention. The lower limit thereof is more preferably 5% by mass or more. An upper limit is more preferably 50% by mass or less and still more preferably 30% by mass or less [0615]. Inoue et al. further teaches as necessary, various additives, for example, a sensitizer such as N-phenyldiethanolamine, a surfactant, a chain transfer agent, a higher fatty acid derivative, an inorganic particle, a curing agent, a curing catalyst, a filler, an antioxidant, an ultraviolet absorbing agent, and an aggregation inhibitor can be blended in the photocurable resin composition according to the embodiment of the present invention within the scope in which the effects of the present invention are obtained. In a case where these additives are blended, the total blending amount thereof is preferably 3% by mass or less of the solid content of the photocurable resin composition. As the surfactant, various surfactants such as a fluorine-based surfactant, a silicone-based surfactant, and a hydrocarbon-based surfactant can be used. The surfactant may be a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, or an anionic surfactant [0705-0706] (claims 7, 11, and 19) and the content of the surfactant is preferably 0.001% to 2.0% by mass and more preferably 0.005% to 1.0% by mass with respect to the total solid content of the composition [0720]. The amounts of the above components overlap with those instantly claimed (claims 8, 12, and 20). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, it should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Watanabe and Inoue are directed to insulating films for semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Watanabe et al. to include additional components such as a surfactant and corresponding amounts thereof as taught by Inoue et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Watanabe et al. teaches the present invention relates to a positive-type highly heat-resistant photosensitive resin composition used as an interlayer insulating film for a surface protective film, an interlayer insulating film, and a display device of a semiconductor device [0001].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 5, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 6-12, 19, and 20 under 103 over Urano in view of Tagami have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art Watanabe together with previously relied upon prior art Inoue.
Due to the amendment of instant claim 1, the objection has been withdrawn.
Due to the amendment of instant claim 1, the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735