DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 17546491 filed on 12/9/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8, 21-22 in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gill et al. (US 2021/0399192).
Regarding independent claim 1, Gill et al. teach a qubit array comprising
at least two qubits (Fig. 8, elements Qubit 1, Qubit 2, Qubit 3, paragraph 0053-0054) on or in a surface of a crystalline substrate (Fig. 8, paragraph 0053),
the crystalline substrate having a plurality of engineered defects (Fig 8, elements 800, paragraph 0054) in its crystal structure,
wherein the engineered defects suppress correlated errors in the qubits of the qubit arrays (This is an intended use recitation. The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding claim 2, Gill et al. teach wherein the at least two qubits are superconducting qubits (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 5, Gill et al. teach wherein the engineered defects are radiation-induced defects (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698,227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP §2113).
Regarding claim 6, Gill et al. teach wherein the radiation-induced defects are proton irradiation induced defects (Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698,227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP §2113).
Regarding claim 8, Gill et al. teach wherein the at least two qubits are superconducting qubits (Fig. 8, paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 21, Gill et al. teach wherein the crystalline substrate has plurality of geometric features (Fig 8, the defects are trenches 800, paragraph 0054) defined therein, wherein the geometric features suppress correlated errors in the qubits of the qubit arrays (This is an intended use recitation. The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963)) and further wherein the plurality of engineered defects are present at a crystalline substrate/vacuum interface (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 22, Gill et al. teach wherein the geometric features comprise wells defined in a backside of the crystalline substrate, trenches (Fig 8, trenches 800, paragraph 0054) defined in a backside of the crystalline substrate, constrictions in the crystalline substrate, inclusions in the crystalline substrate, or a combination of two or more of these.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill et al. (US 2021/0399192) in view of Megrant et al. (WO 2017116442 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Gill et al. teach all of the limitations as discussed above.
Gill et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the crystalline substrate is a single-crystal silicon substrate.
Megrant et al. teach a quantum computing system comprising a single-crystal silicon substrate (paragraph 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teachings of Gill et al. according to the teachings of Megrant et al. with the motivation to provide high quality interfaces for quantum computing devices (paragraph 0001).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill et al. (US 2021/0399192).
Regarding claim 4, Gill et al. teach wherein the defects are distributed uniformly throughout the crystalline substrate (Fig. 8, paragraph 0054 discloses the capability the control the size and shape of the trenches, accordingly it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to uniformly form the trenches).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill et al. (US 2021/0399192) in view of Braje et al. (US 2021/0263117).
Regarding claim 7, Gill et al. teach all of the limitations as discussed above.
Gill et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the crystalline substrate is semi-insulating silicon.
Graje et al. teach a quantum computing system comprising semi-insulating silicon substrate (paragraph 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teachings of Gill et al. according to the teachings of Graje et al. with the motivation to provide solid state spin sensors (paragraph 0065).
Conclusion
/SHAHED AHMED/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813