Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 02/03/2023 in which: claims 1-8, 13-19, and 21 are amended; claims 11 and 12 are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 13-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiguchi, US 20220216246, hereafter ‘Hashiguchi’.
Regarding claim 1, Hashiguchi disclose : An apparatus comprising :a first substrate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side(Fig. 1, first substrate to include #1-1 and #2-1), the first substrate including :a first layer of the first substrate at the first side of the first substrate(#1-1 is a part of a first substrate), wherein the first layer includes oxide (#1-1 may include oxide [0010]);a second layer of the first substrate below and in contact with the first layer of the first substrate(#2-1 a part of a first substrate), wherein the second layer includes carbon(#2-1 may include carbon [0010]) ; and a first plurality of metal contacts extending from the first side of the first substrate toward the second side of the first substrate(#13-1 shown to extend from one end of the upper substrate to the other end), wherein the first plurality of metal contacts are surrounded by the first layer and the second layer (#1-1 and #2-1 shown to surround #13-1),a second substrate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side(Bottom substrate to include #1-2 and #2-2), the second substrate including :a first layer of the second substrate at the first side of the second substrate(second substrate to include #1-2) ,wherein the first layer of the second substrate includes oxide(#1-2 to include oxide [0010]) a second layer of the second substrate below and in contact with the first layer of the second substrate(#2-2 in contact with #1-2), wherein the second layer of the second substrate includes carbon(#2-2 to include carbon [0010]) and a second plurality of metal contacts extending from the first side of the second substrate toward the second side of the second substrate(#13-2 extends from one end of bottom substrate to the other end), wherein the second plurality of metal contacts are surrounded by the first layer and the second layer(#13-2 surrounded by #1-2 and #2-2) and wherein individual ones of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate are directly physically and electrically coupled with corresponding individual ones the second plurality of metal contacts of the second substrate(Contacts of first and second substrate shown to be in contact and electrically connected [0009]).
Hashiguchi does not disclose : and wherein a center of each of the individual ones of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate is laterally offset from a center of each one of the corresponding individual ones the second plurality of metal contacts of the second substrate along a vertical axis.
However, in another embodiment, Hashiguchi teaches : and wherein a center of each of the individual ones of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate is laterally offset from a center of each one of the corresponding individual ones the second plurality of metal contacts of the second substrate along a vertical axis(Fig. 13a and 13b, #13-1 misaligned with #13-2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of different embodiments of Hashiguchi to include the misalignment of contacts when joining substrates using hybrid bonding [0083, 0345]).
Regarding claim 2, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a density of carbon atoms in the first layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate is less than a density of carbon atoms in the second layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate(Fig. 1b carbon concentration decreases towards #P1 and #P2 [0010, 0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate includes silicon and oxygen(#1-1 and #1-2 may include Si and O atoms[0010]), and wherein the second layer each of the first substrate and the second substrate includes silicon and carbon(#2-1 and 2-2 may include SiOC [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate includes a selected one more of oxygen or nitrogen(#2-1 and #2-2 may include SiOC[0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a third layer below and in contact with the second layer of the first substrate(Fig. 1a, #3-1 below #2-1), wherein the third layer is a dielectric(#3-1 is a SiN layer).
Regarding claim 8, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of barriers, respectively, between the first plurality of metal contacts and the first substrate(Fig. 1a, #14-1 and #14-2 shown to surround #13-1 and #13-2 [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the plurality of barriers include a layer of tantalum(#14-1 and #14-2 may include Ta[0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is a selected one of: a portion of a wafer or a portion of a die(Fig. 1a, #100-1 is a substrate of a solid-state imaging device[0094]).
Regarding claim 13, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1,wherein a portion of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate are in direct physical contact with the first layer or the second layer of the second substrate(Fig. 13a and Fig. 13b, #13-2 in contact with #1-1 [0340-0344]).
Regarding claim 14, Hashiguchi discloses : An apparatus comprising: a first substrate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side(Fig. 1a, first substrate to include #1-1 and #2-1), the first substrate including :a layer of the first substrate at the first side of the first substrate(#1-1), wherein the layer includes a higher density of carbon atoms near to the first side of the first substrate and a lower density of carbon atoms away from the first side of the first substrate(Carbon atoms decrease toward joint surface of #1-1 [0010]; and a first plurality of metal contacts extending from the first side of the first substrate toward the second side of the first substrate(#13-1 extends throughout upper substrate), wherein the first plurality of metal contacts are surrounded by the layer of the first substrate(#1-1 surrounds #13-1); and a second substrate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side(Second substrate to include #1-2 and #2-2), the second substrate including: a layer of the second substrate at the first side of the second substrate(#1-2), wherein the layer includes a higher density of carbon atoms near to the first side of the second substrate and a lower density of carbon atoms away from the first side of the second substrate(Carbon atoms decrease toward joint surface of #1-2 [0010]; and a second plurality of metal contacts extending from the first side of the second substrate toward the second side of the second substrate(#13-2 extends throughout bottom substrate), wherein the second plurality of metal contacts are surrounded by the layer of the second substrate(#1-2 surround #13-2), wherein individual ones of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate are directly physically and electrically coupled with corresponding individual ones the second plurality of metal contacts of the second substrate(Contacts of first and second substrate shown to be in contact and electrically connected [0009].
Hashiguchi does not disclose : and wherein a center of each of the individual ones of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate is laterally offset from a center of each one of the corresponding individual ones the second plurality of metal contacts of the second substrate along a vertical axis.
However, in another embodiment, Hashiguchi teaches : and wherein a center of each of the individual ones of the first plurality of metal contacts of the first substrate is laterally offset from a center of each one of the corresponding individual ones the second plurality of metal contacts of the second substrate along a vertical axis.(Fig. 13a and 13b, #13-1 misaligned with #13-2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the misalignment of contacts when joining substrates using hybrid bonding [0083, 0345]).
Regarding claim 15, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate includes one or more of: silicon, oxygen, nitrogen, and carbon(#1-1 and #1-2 may include Si o and C[0010]).
Regarding claim 18, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 14, further comprising another layer below and in contact with the layer of the first substrate(Fig. 1a, #2-2 below and in contact with #1-2), wherein the other layer includes a dielectric(#2-2 may include a low-k material[0082]).
Regarding claim 19, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a plurality of barriers that include tantalum(#14-1 include Ta [0087]), respectively, between the first plurality of metal contacts and the first substrate(Fig. 1a, #14-1 shown to surround #13-1).
Regarding claim 20, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the apparatus is a selected one of: a portion of a wafer or a portion of a die(Fig. 1a, #100-1 is a substrate of a solid-state imaging device[0094]).
Claims 4, 6, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Hashiguchi, US 20220216246, hereafter ‘ Hashiguchi’ in view of Said et al, US 20210028136, hereafter ‘Said’.
Regarding claim 4, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 3.
Hashiguchi does not disclose : wherein the first layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate ranges in thickness from 1 nm to 50 nm
However, in the same field of endeavor Said teaches : wherein the first layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate ranges in thickness from 1 nm to 50 nm(#972 may include silicon oxide and may range from 50nm to 6000nm, although lesser and greater thicknesses can also be employed[0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Said to Hashiguchi to have a layer that includes silicon and oxygen to have a thickness that ranges 1nm to 50nm.
Regarding claim 6, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 1.
Hashiguchi does not disclose : wherein the first plurality of metal contacts and the second plurality of metal contacts include copper.
However, in the same field of endeavor Said teaches : wherein the plurality of metal contacts include copper(#988 may be copper [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Said to Hashiguchi to have metal contacts that include copper because it common in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 14.
Hashiguchi does not disclose The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate ranges in thickness from 1 nm to 50 nm However, in the same field of endeavor, Said teaches : The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the layer of each of the first substrate and the second substrate ranges in thickness from 1 nm to 50 nm (#992 may consist of carbon and have a thickness of 0.3nm to 3nm[0089-0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Said to Hashiguchi to have a carbon layer with a thickness from 1nm to 50nm.
Regarding claim 17, Hashiguchi discloses : The apparatus of claim 14.
Hashiguchi does not disclose : wherein the first plurality of metal contacts and the second plurality of metal contacts include copper.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Said teaches : wherein the first plurality of metal contacts and the second plurality of metal contacts include copper. (#988 may be copper [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Said to Hashiguchi to have metal contacts that include copper because it common in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897