DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass et al (US Publication No. 2020/0258982) in view of Wang et al (US Publication no. 2020/0058744) and Wu et al (US Publication No. 2021/0175126).
Regarding claim 1, Glass discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising: a plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires Fig 2N’, 275; a gate dielectric material layer Fig 2N’, 282 ¶0053 surrounding the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires; a gate electrode structure Fig 2N’, 284 ¶0053 over the gate dielectric material layer Fig 2N’, 282 ¶0053; an epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 2N’, 262 at an end of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires ¶0041; and a conductive trench contact structure Fig 2N’, 290 vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure. Glass discloses all the limitations but silent on the arrangement of the contact structure. Whereas Wang discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 22A-22B having a portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A, 214/216 and a portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A, 214/216, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22B. Also, Wu discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 17, 184 having a first portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17 and a second portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the second portion having a bottom surface below a top surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure and above a bottom surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17. Glass, Wang and Wu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor devices having metal gates and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the contact structure because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact structure of Glass and incorporate the teachings of Wang or Wu to improve device performance and avoid contact resistance Wang-¶0013 and 0051.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the conductive trench contact structure is electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure by a dielectric structure Fig 22, 276.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Glass discloses a second plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires; and a second epitaxial source or drain structure at an end of the second plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires, wherein the conductive trench contact structure is vertically over and electrically coupled to the second epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses a second conductive trench contact structure laterally spaced apart from the conductive trench contact structure by a dielectric plug Fig 22.
Regarding claim 6, Glass discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising: a fin Fig 2N; a gate dielectric material layer Fig 2N, 282 ¶0053 surrounding the fin; a gate electrode structure Fig 2N, 284 ¶0053 over the gate dielectric material layer; an epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 2N, 262 at an end of the fin; and a conductive trench contact structure vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 2N, 290. Glass discloses all the limitations but silent on the arrangement of the contact structure. Whereas Wang discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 22A-22B having a portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A, 214/216 and a portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A, 214/216, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22B. Also, Wu discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 17, 184 having a first portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17 and a second portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the second portion having a bottom surface below a top surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure and above a bottom surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17. Glass, Wang and Wu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor devices having metal gates and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the contact structure because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact structure of Glass and incorporate the teachings of Wang or Wu to improve device performance and avoid contact resistance Wang-¶0013 and 0051.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the conductive trench contact structure is electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure by a dielectric structure Fig 22, 276.
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Glass discloses a second fin; and a second epitaxial source or drain structure at an end of the second fin, wherein the conductive trench contact structure is vertically over and electrically coupled to the second epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses a second conductive trench contact structure laterally spaced apart from the conductive trench contact structure by a dielectric plug Fig 22.
Regarding claim 11, Glass discloses a computing device Fig 4, comprising: a board Fig 4, 1002; and a component coupled to the board Fig 4, the component including an integrated circuit structure Fig 4, comprising: a plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires Fig 2N’, 275; a gate dielectric material layer Fig 2N’, 282 ¶0053 surrounding the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires; a gate electrode structure Fig 2N’, 284 ¶0053 over the gate dielectric material layer Fig 2N’, 282 ¶0053; an epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 2N’, 262 at an end of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires ¶0041; and a conductive trench contact structure Fig 2N’, 290 vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure. Glass discloses all the limitations but silent on the arrangement of the contact structure. Whereas Wang discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 22A-22B having a portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A-22B, 214/216 and a portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A-22B, 214/216, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22B. Also, Wu discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 17, 184 having a first portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17 and a second portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the second portion having a bottom surface below a top surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure and above a bottom surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17. Glass, Wang and Wu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor devices having metal gates and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the contact structure because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact structure of Glass and incorporate the teachings of Wang or Wu to improve device performance and avoid contact resistance Wang-¶0013 and 0051.
Regarding claim 12, Glass discloses a memory coupled to the board Fig 4.
Regarding claim 13, Glass discloses a communication chip Fig 4, 1006 coupled to the board.
Regarding claim 14, Glass discloses wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die Fig 4.
Regarding claim 15, Glass discloses wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor Fig 4, 1004, a communications chip Fig 4, 1006, and a digital signal processor ¶0067.
Regarding claim 16, Glass discloses a computing device Fig 4, comprising: a board Fig 4, 1002; and a component coupled to the board Fig 4, the component including an integrated circuit structure Fig 4, comprising: a fin Fig 2N; a gate dielectric material layer Fig 2N, 282 ¶0053 surrounding the fin; a gate electrode structure Fig 2N, 284 ¶0053 over the gate dielectric material layer; an epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 2N, 262 at an end of the fin; and a conductive trench contact structure vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 2N, 290. Glass discloses all the limitations but silent on the arrangement of the contact structure. Whereas Wang discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 22A-22B having a portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A-22B, 214/216 and a portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22A-22B, 214/216, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 22B. Also, Wu discloses a conductive trench contact structure Fig 17, 184 having a first portion vertically over the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17 and a second portion laterally spaced apart from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the second portion having a bottom surface below a top surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure and above a bottom surface of the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17, the conductive trench contact structure electrically isolated from the epitaxial source or drain structure Fig 17. Glass, Wang and Wu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor devices having metal gates and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the contact structure because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact structure of Glass and incorporate the teachings of Wang or Wu to improve device performance and avoid contact resistance Wang-¶0013 and 0051.
Regarding claim 17, Glass discloses a memory coupled to the board Fig 4.
Regarding claim 18, Glass discloses a communication chip Fig 4, 1006 coupled to the board.
Regarding claim 19, Glass discloses wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die Fig 4.
Regarding claim 20, Glass discloses wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor Fig 4, 1004, a communications chip Fig 4, 1006, and a digital signal processor ¶0067.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass et al (US Publication No. 2020/0258982), Wang et al (US Publication no. 2020/0058744) and Wu et al (US Publication No. 2021/0175126) and in further view of Rubin et al (US Publication No. 2020/0135646).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Glass and Wang disclose all the limitation but silent on the conductive via bar. Whereas Rubin discloses a conductive via bar vertically beneath and electrically coupled to the second conductive trench contact structure Fig and Fig 10 ¶0077. Glass and Rubin are analogous art because they are directed to integrated circuit and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the contact structure because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Glass and incorporate the teachings of Rubin to improve device performance and avoid contact resistance ¶0077.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811