Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 12/9/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98 and has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 15 have overcome the previous claim rejections, which have been withdrawn. However, in view of the amendment, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-14, filed 12/9/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 10-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Objections
Claim1-9 and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1: Lines 5-6 recite the limitation of “OFP”, for optical feedback loops. However, in claim 15, optical feedback loop is abbreviated to “OFL”. By means of suggestion and without limiting applicant’s discretion to amend in a way consistent with the disclosure, it appears this was intended to recite “OFL” and “OFLs”.
Regarding Claim 2: line 4 recites the limitation of “a copy of the first beam”, but “copy of the first beam” is already recited in line 6 of claim 1. This can be corrected to recite --the copy of the first beam--. Line 2 also recites the limitation of “OFP”. By means of suggestion and without limiting applicant’s discretion to amend in a way consistent with the disclosure, this could be amended to recite “OFL” if applicant intended for the optical feedback loops of claim 1 to be abbreviated as OFL instead of OFP.
Regarding Claim 6: line 7 recites the limitation of “a copy of the first beam” but “copy of the first beam” is already recited in line 6 of claim 1. If this refers to the same “copy of the first beam” recited in claim 1, this should be corrected to recite --the copy of the first beam--. If this is meant to refer to a new copy of the first beam, then it could be amended to recite --a second copy of the first beam--. This is by way of suggestion only without limiting applicant’s discretion to amend in a matter consistent with the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 15: line 11 recites “a third beam” which is already recited in the third line of the claim. This can be corrected to recite --the third beam--.
All other claims objected to by virtue of dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 20220050187 A1) in view of Rakuljic (US 20090245306 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Yao discloses a system (Fig. 2A, WDM multi channel Lidar) comprising:
a plurality of second light sources configured to produce a corresponding plurality of second beams (Fig. 2A, Transmitter unit TU with multiple lasers of generating probe beams at different wavelengths [0098]);
an optical detection subsystem (Fig. 2A, receiver unit) configured to:
receive one or more reflected beams, each reflected beam of the one or more reflected beams produced upon interaction of at least one of the plurality of second beams with one or more objects in an outside environment (Fig. 2A, received light returns to the receiver unit RU and detected by photodetectors; [0102]); and
determine, based on one or more phase differences between the one or more reflected beams and a copy of the first beam, at least one of a velocity of the object or a distance to the one or more objects (Fig. 2A, the measured distance is based on the measured time difference. The measured time difference is a difference between the LO light and the detected pulse).
Yao does not disclose: first light source configured to produce a first beam having a first frequency; a plurality of optical feedback loops, each OFP of the plurality of OFPs configured to set, using a copy of the first beam, a frequency of a respective second beam of the plurality of second beams to a respective second frequency of a plurality of second frequencies, wherein the respective second frequency is different from the first frequency by a respective offset frequency of a plurality of offset frequencies.
Rakuljic teaches first light source configured to produce a first beam having a first frequency (Fig. 1, master laser 10);
a plurality of second light sources configured to produce a corresponding plurality of second beams ([0032] “a multi-wavelength laser system is comprised of a multiplicity of semiconductor [secondary] lasers 12-n' as in FIG. 2, each locked to a different optical frequency and phase”; secondary lasers 12-n’);
a plurality of optical feedback loops, each OFP of the plurality of OFPs configured to set, using a copy of the first beam, a frequency of a respective second beam of the plurality of second beams to a respective second frequency of a plurality of second frequencies ([0032] “a multi-wavelength laser system is comprised of a multiplicity of semiconductor [secondary] lasers 12-n' as in FIG. 2, each locked to a different optical frequency and phase”; Fig. 2 shows a plurality of secondary lasers each having their own OPLL 100-N. In this embodiment of [0032], the secondary lasers are not in a cascaded arrangement illustrated by Fig. 2A); wherein the respective second frequency is different from the first frequency by a respective offset frequency of a plurality of offset frequencies ([0032] “each locked to a different optical frequency and phase”; Fig. 2B, the different secondary frequencies are all offset from the master frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Yao, by replacing the transmitter unit disclosed by Yao with the system taught by Rakuljic, which outputs light of different frequencies using multiple optical phase locked loops. This is because this technique enables the generation of arbitrary optical waveforms whose periodicity can be changed by varying the frequency of the RF offset signal (Rakuljic, [0034] – [0035]).
Regarding Claim 5: Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the system of claim 1. Yao further discloses wherein the optical detection subsystem is configured to determine the distance to the object based on a time delay between the reflected beam and the second beam, the time delay determined based on the phase difference between the reflected beam and the copy of the first beam (Fig. 2A, the measured distance is based on the measured time difference. The measured time difference is a difference between the LO light and the detected pulse).
The combined system of claim 1 includes the optical phase locked loop taught by Rakuljic. Rakuljic, in the present combination, further teaches: an optical modulator configured to impart angular modulation to the second beam, wherein the angular modulation comprises at least one of a frequency modulation or a phase modulation (Fig. 1 and [0015-0016] “The system further includes one or more electronic RF offset signal sources 24 of variable frequency” where this frequency can be chirped over time; Fig. 2C, the offset frequency
ω
o
s
can be modulated).
Regarding Claim 9: Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the system of claim 1. In this combination, Yao teaches wherein at least two second beams of the plurality of second beams are transmitted along different directions (Fig. 2A, based on the wavelength of light, the diffraction grating steers it in a different direction).
Regarding Claim 15: Yao discloses a method comprising:
producing a second beam and a third beam (Fig. 2A, laser with wavelength
λ
1
and laser with wavelength
λ
2
in the transmitter unit);
receiving a reflected beam produced upon interaction of at least one of the second beam or [the] third beam with a first object in an outside environment (Fig. 2A and [0100] reflected light returns with a time delay ΔTi ); and
determining, based on a phase difference between the reflected beam and a copy of the first beam, at least one of a velocity of the object or a distance to the first object (Fig. 2A and [0102], the distance is determined based on the measured time difference ΔTi between the returned beam and the LO).
Yao does not disclose: producing a first beam having a first frequency; locking, using a first optical feedback loop, a frequency of the second beam to a second frequency different from the first frequency by a first offset frequency set by the first OFL; locking, using a second optical feedback loop, a frequency of the third beam to a third frequency different from the first frequency by a second offset frequency set by the first OFL.
Rakuljic teaches producing a first beam having a first frequency (Fig. 1, master laser 10);
producing a second beam and a third beam ([0032] “a multi-wavelength laser system is comprised of a multiplicity of semiconductor [secondary] lasers 12-n' as in FIG. 2, each locked to a different optical frequency and phase”);
locking, using a first optical feedback loop, a frequency of the second beam to a second frequency different from the first frequency by a first offset frequency set by the first OFL ([0032] each secondary laser 12-n’ has its own optical feedback loop locked to a different optical frequency; Fig. 1, OPLL 100);
locking, using a second optical feedback loop, a frequency of the third beam to a third frequency different from the first frequency by a second offset frequency set by the first OFL ([0032] each secondary laser 12-n’ has its own optical feedback loop locked to a different optical frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Yao, by replacing the transmitter unit disclosed by Yao with the system taught by Rakuljic, which outputs light of different frequencies using multiple optical phase locked loops. This is because this technique enables the generation of arbitrary optical waveforms whose periodicity can be changed by varying the frequency of the RF offset signal (Rakuljic, [0034] – [0035]).
Regarding Claim 16: Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the method of claim 15. In this combination, Rakuljic further teaches: locking the frequency of the second beam to a second frequency comprises:
receiving the first beam (Fig. 1, OPLL 100 receives light from primary laser 10);
receiving a copy of the second beam (Fig. 1, OPLL 100 receives part of the light emitted from secondary laser 12);
outputting, based on the first beam and the copy of the second beam, a signal representative of a phase difference between the first beam and the copy of the second beam ([0015-0016] the photodetector 22 detects an optical beat signal and produces an RF beat signal in response, which is amplified by RF amplifier 14);
outputting a radio frequency signal having the first offset frequency (Fig. 1, RF offset signal 24. It is understood that the RF offset signal must be produced by something because it is controllable, as described by [0016]); and obtaining a mixed signal using the RF signal and the signal representative of the phase difference between the first beam and the copy of the second beam (Fig. 1, RF mixer 18, which receives signal from RF amplifier 14 and RF offset signal 24; secondary laser 12 outputs the optical waveform 26, part of which is directed back towards phase director 22).
Regarding Claim 20: Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the method of claim 15. In this combination, Yao teaches wherein the second beam and the third beam are transmitted into the outside environment along different directions (Fig. 2A, based on the wavelength of light, the diffraction grating steers it in a different direction).
Claims 6, 7, 10, 12-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 20220050187 A1) in view of Rakuljic (US 20090245306 A1) further in view of Behzadi (US 20210096228 A1).
Regarding Claim 6: Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the system of claim 1. Yao, in combination with Rakuljic further discloses wherein the optical detection subsystem comprises:
a photodetector (Fig. 2A, photodetectors PD1 through PD4) configured to:
receive the one or more reflected beams (Fig. 2A, returned beams are directed to the photodetectors in the receiver unit),
receive a copy of the first beam (Fig. 2A and [0102] Local oscillator which is compared with the returned beams)
and output a first signal representative of a phase difference between the one or more reflected beams and the copy of the first beam (Fig. 2A, the time difference between the returned beam and LO is used to determine distance).
However, they do not expressly teach wherein the one or more beams are Doppler shifted relative to at least one second beam of the plurality of second beams.
Behzadi teaches an optical detection subsystem comprising a photodetector (Fig. 2, photodetector 216) configured to receive the reflected beam (Fig. 2 and [0046], return beam 212 is detected at photodetector 216), wherein the reflected beam is Doppler shifted relative to the second beam ([0044] and Fig. 4, the net frequency shift between the outgoing beams 202 and the returning beams 212, is
Δ
f
R
-
Δ
f
D
if the object is approaching as is shown in Fig. 4, and if the object is receding, then the frequency shift will be
Δ
f
R
+
Δ
f
D
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Yao and Rakuljic, such that it is capable of identifying and recognizing signals with a Doppler shift as taught by Behzadi. This is beneficial because it can be used to identify whether an object is approaching the sensor, or receding away from it (Behzadi, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 7: Yao, in view of Rakuljic and Behzadi, teaches the system of claim 6. Behzadi further teaches wherein the optical detection subsystem further comprises: an analog circuit configured to output, based on the first signal, a second signal representative of at least one Doppler shift of the one or more reflected beams relative to at least one second beam of the plurality of second beams ([0043-0045] and Figs. 5 and 6, which show the frequency difference between the outgoing and returning beams.
Δ
f
R
indicates the range related frequency shift, and the
Δ
f
D
indicates the Doppler related frequency shift. Since the returned signal includes a doppler shift, by identifying the range-related component, the Doppler-related component is also known); and a digital circuit configured to determine, based on the at least one Doppler shift, the velocity of the object (Fig. 1 and [0034] “The signal processing unit 112 can then generate a 3D point cloud with information about range and velocity of points in the environment”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system taught by Yao, Rakuljic, and Behzadi, such that it is capable of identifying the doppler-related frequency shift and determining the velocity of objects in the environment, as taught by Behzadi with the use of their signal processing unit. This modification is beneficial because the signal processing unit can generate a 3D point cloud, which provides information about both range and velocity of different points in the environment (Behzadi, [0034]).
Regarding Claim 10: Yao discloses a sensing system of an autonomous vehicle ([0094] the LiDAR sensor for autonomous operation of vehicles; Fig. 2B lidar system on the car) comprising:
a second light source configured to produce a second beam (Fig. 2A, laser with wavelength
λ
1
in the transmitter unit);
a third light source configured to produce a third beam (Fig. 2A, laser with wavelength
λ
2
in the transmitter unit);
an optical interface configured to output the second and the third beam to a driving environment of the AV (Figs. 2A and 2B, beam forming unit that outputs beam to environment); and
an optical detection sub system configured to (Fig. 2A, receiver unit RU):
receive a first reflected beam wherein the first reflected beam is produced upon interaction of the second beam with a first object in the driving environment of the AV, and wherein the first reflected beam is time delayed relative to the second beam (Fig. 2A and [0100] reflected light returns with a time delay ΔTi ); and
determine, based on a first time delay of the first reflected beam relative to the second beam, a distance to the first object (Fig. 2A and [0102], the distance is determined based on the measured time difference).
Yao does not disclose: a first light source configured to produce a first beam having a first frequency; a first optical feedback loop configured to lock, using a copy of the first beam, a frequency of the second beam to a second frequency different from the first frequency by a first offset frequency; a second optical feedback loop configured to lock a frequency of the third beam to a third frequency wherein the third frequency is different from the first frequency by a second offset frequency; the first reflected beam is doppler shifted and determining based on a first doppler shift of the first reflected beam relative to the second beam, a velocity of the first object.
Rakuljic teaches first light source configured to produce a first beam having a first frequency (Fig. 1, master laser 10);
a second light source configured to produce a second beam ([0032] “a multi-wavelength laser system is comprised of a multiplicity of semiconductor [secondary] lasers 12-n' as in FIG. 2, each locked to a different optical frequency and phase”; the first secondary laser of the 12-n’ lasers would be the second light source);
a first optical feedback loop configured to lock, using a copy of the first beam, a frequency of the second beam to a second frequency different from the first frequency by a first offset frequency ([0032] each secondary laser 12-n’ has its own optical feedback loop locked to a different optical frequency);
a third light source configured to produce a third beam ([0032] “a multi-wavelength laser system is comprised of a multiplicity of semiconductor [secondary] lasers 12-n' as in FIG. 2, each locked to a different optical frequency and phase”; the second secondary laser of the 12-n’ lasers would be the third light source);
a second optical feedback loop configured to lock a frequency of the third beam to a third frequency wherein the third frequency is different from the first frequency by a second offset frequency ([0032] each secondary laser 12-n’ has its own optical feedback loop locked to a different optical frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Yao, by replacing the transmitter unit disclosed by Yao with the system taught by Rakuljic, which outputs light of different frequencies using multiple optical phase locked loops. This is because this technique enables the generation of arbitrary optical waveforms whose periodicity can be changed by varying the frequency of the RF offset signal (Rakuljic, [0034] – [0035]).
However, Yao, in view of Rakuljic, still does not teach the first reflected beam is doppler shifted and determining based on a first doppler shift of the first reflected beam relative to the second beam, a velocity of the first object.
Behzadi teaches an optical detection subsystem comprising a photodetector (Fig. 2, photodetector 216) configured to receive the reflected beam (Fig. 2 and [0046], return beam 212 is detected at photodetector 216), wherein the first reflected beam is Doppler shifted relative to the second beam ([0044] and Fig. 4, the net frequency shift between the outgoing beams 202 and the returning beams 212, is
Δ
f
R
-
Δ
f
D
if the object is approaching as is shown in Fig. 4, and if the object is receding, then the frequency shift will be
Δ
f
R
+
Δ
f
D
), and determining, based on a first doppler shift, a velocity of the first object ([0043-0045] and Figs. 5 and 6, which show the frequency difference between the outgoing and returning beams.
Δ
f
R
indicates the range related frequency shift, and the
Δ
f
D
indicates the Doppler related frequency shift. [0034] “The signal processing unit 112 can then generate a 3D point cloud with information about range and velocity of points in the environment”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Yao and Rakuljic, such that it is capable of identifying and signals with a Doppler shift and determining the velocity as taught by Behzadi. This is beneficial because it can be used to identify whether an object is approaching the sensor, or receding away from it (Behzadi, [0044]). This would also allow the system to generate data indicative of distance and velocity (Behzadi, [0034]).
Regarding Claim 12: Yao, in view of Rakuljic and Behzadi, teaches the sensing system of claim 10. In this combination, Rakuljic further teaches: wherein the first optical feedback loop comprises:
a photodetector (Fig. 1 OPLL 100 and [0017] phase detector 22) configured to:
output a first signal representative of a frequency difference between the first beam and the copy of the second beam ([0015-0016] the photodetector 22 detects an optical beat signal and produces an RF beat signal in response, which is amplified by RF amplifier 14); and
one or more electronic circuits coupled to the second light source (Fig. 1, periodic bias current 15) and configured to:
reduce, using the first signal, a difference between the frequency of the second beam and the second frequency ([0016] explains that the periodic current waveform generated by electronic signal generator 15 is used to enhance linearity, ensuring the frequency of the generated optical waveform 26 matches the desired second frequency).
Regarding Claim 13: Yao, in view of Rakuljic and Behzadi, teaches the sensing system of claim 12 which includes the optical phase locked loops taught by Rakuljic. In this combination, Rakuljic further teaches: wherein the first signal is further representative of a phase difference between the first beam and the second beam ([0017] explains that the phase of the secondary laser is can be reduced to
ϕ
s
=
ϕ
m
+
ϕ
o
s
, as is shown in Equation 3, where
ϕ
s
is the phase of the secondary laser,
ϕ
m
is the phase of the primary laser, and
ϕ
o
s
is the phase difference, which is the phase of the RF offset signal), and wherein the one or more electronic circuits are further configured to: modify, using the first signal, the phase difference between the first beam and the second beam ([0016] explains that the periodic current waveform generated by electronic signal generator 15 is used to enhance linearity).
Regarding Claim 14: Yao, in view of Rakuljic and Behzadi, teaches the sensing system of claim 12 which includes the optical phase locked loops taught by Rakuljic. In this combination, Rakuljic further teaches: wherein the second optical feedback loop comprises a second balanced photodetector, and wherein the one or more electronic circuits are further coupled to the third light source (Fig. 1 and [0017] phase detector 22; [0032] each of the secondary lasers 12-n’ has its own optical feedback loop);
wherein the second balanced photodetector is configured to:
output a second signal representative of a frequency difference between the first beam and the third beam ([0015-0016] the photodetector 22 detects an optical beat signal and produces an RF beat signal in response, which is amplified by RF amplifier 14); and wherein the one or more electronic circuits is configured to: reduce, using the first signal, a difference between the frequency of the third beam and the third frequency ([0016] explains that the periodic current waveform generated by electronic signal generator 15 is used to enhance linearity, ensuring the frequency of the generated optical waveform 26 matches the desired second frequency).
Regarding Claim 18: Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the method of claim 15. In this combination, Yao further discloses wherein determining the distance to the object comprises:
receiving a copy of the first beam (Fig. 2A, LO is used to determine time difference of the returned beam);
outputting a first signal representative of a phase difference between the reflected beam and the copy of the first beam (Fig. 2A, the measured distance is based on the measured time difference. The measured time difference is a difference between the LO light and the detected pulse);
determining, based on a time delay between the reflected beam and the second beam, the distance to the object (Fig. 2A and [0102], the distance is determined based on the measured time difference).
Yao does not teach determining the velocity of the object; outputting, based on the first signal, a second signal representative of a Doppler shift of the reflected beam relative to the second beam; determining, based on the Doppler shift, the velocity of the object.
However, Behzadi teaches: determining the velocity by outputting based on the first signal, a second signal representative of a Doppler shift of the reflected beam relative to the second beam ([0044] and Fig. 4, the net frequency shift between the outgoing beams 202 and the returning beams 212, is
Δ
f
R
-
Δ
f
D
if the object is approaching as is shown in Fig. 4, and if the object is receding, then the frequency shift will be
Δ
f
R
+
Δ
f
D
); and determining, based on the Doppler shift, the velocity of the object ([0043-0045] and Figs. 5 and 6, which show the frequency difference between the outgoing and returning beams.
Δ
f
R
indicates the range related frequency shift, and the
Δ
f
D
indicates the Doppler related frequency shift. [0034] “The signal processing unit 112 can then generate a 3D point cloud with information about range and velocity of points in the environment”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Yao and Rakuljic, such that it is capable of identifying and signals with a Doppler shift and determining the velocity as taught by Behzadi. This is beneficial because it can be used to identify whether an object is approaching the sensor, or receding away from it (Behzadi, [0044]). This would also allow the system to generate data indicative of distance and velocity (Behzadi, [0034]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 20220050187 A1) in view of Rakuljic (US 20090245306 A1), further in view of Schilt (Stephane Schilt, Renaud Matthey, Daniela Kauffmann-Werner, Christoph Affolderbach, Gaetano Mileti, and Luc Thévenaz, "Laser offset-frequency locking up to 20 GHz using a low-frequency electrical filter technique," Appl. Opt. 47, 4336-4344; 2008). Yao, in view of Rakuljic, teaches the method of claim 16. Rakuljic further teaches: further comprising: filtering, using a low pass filter, the mixed signal ([0016] and Fig. 1, loop filter 16); and reducing, using the filtered mixed signal, a difference between the frequency of the second beam and the second frequency ([0016] explains that the periodic current waveform generated by electronic signal generator 15 is used to enhance linearity, ensuring the frequency of the generated optical waveform 26 matches the desired second frequency).
However, they do not expressly teach wherein a bandwidth of the low pass filter is larger than a linewidth of the first beam and smaller than the first offset frequency.
Schilt teaches limitation in Fig. 2 and section 3C: “out-of-resonance IM-induced offset is absent because there is strong signal suppression by the low pass filter outside its bandwidth,” where the low pass filter has a bandwidth such that the beat frequency falls within the bandwidth of the filter, but the offset frequency does not.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system taught by Yao and Rakuljic, by ensuring that the loop filter, taught by Rakuljic, has a bandwidth such that the beat frequency falls within the bandwidth of the filter, but the offset frequency does not, as taught by Schilt. Doing so has the benefit of suppressing undesired signals (Schilt, Section 3C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8, 11, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2: Claim 2 recites the limitation of each optical feedback loop comprising a local oscillator configured to output a radio frequency signal having the respective offset frequency. While Rakuljic teaches a system where a plurality of secondary lasers are each locked to a different optical frequency, Rakuljic does not teach that each of the OFLs has its own local oscillator configured to output RF signal with their respective offset frequencies. Fig 2 of Rakuljic suggests that the same RF offset signal is applied to all the OFLs.
Regarding Claim 8: Claim 8 recites the limitation of the optical detection subsystem having an analog circuit which has a plurality of local oscillators configured to output a corresponding plurality of RF signals each having a frequency that is associated with a corresponding offset frequency of the plurality of offset frequencies. While Rakuljic teaches a system where a plurality of secondary lasers are each locked to a different optical frequency, Rakuljic does not teach that each of the OFLs has its own local oscillator configured to output RF signal with their respective offset frequencies. The detection subsystem disclosed by Yao is also silent on a plurality of local oscillators configured to output a corresponding plurality of RF signals.
Regarding Claim 11: Claim 11 recites the limitation of determine, based on a second time delay and a second doppler shift relative to the third beam, a velocity of the second object and a distance to the second object. Behzadi does not expressly teach the limitation of being able to measure distance and velocity of two objects using the second and third transmitted beams.
Regarding Claim 19: Claim 19 recites the limitation where, when outputting the second signal representative of a Doppler shift, outputting a RF signal having a frequency that is associated with the first offset frequency; obtaining a mixed signal using the RF signal and the first signal; and filtering the mixed signal to obtain the second signal. The prior art references of record do not teach the outputting of a RF signal, which has a frequency associated with the offset frequencies, obtaining and filtering the mixed signal to obtain the second signal that represents the Doppler shift.
Regarding Claims 3-4: Claims 3 and 4 are dependent on claim 2, which contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645