Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 29th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13, and 21-27 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 12-13, 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sebastian et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20200386886 A1), hereinafter Sebastian.
Regarding claim 1, Sebastian teaches a system comprising:
a light source subsystem configured to produce a first beam having a first frequency offset relative to a local oscillator (LO) beam and a second beam having a second frequency offset relative to the LO beam ([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210; [0041] According to various embodiments of the invention, first laser source 218 may have a first carrier frequency.; [0042] In some embodiments of the invention, second laser source 220 may emit a second laser beam 246 at a second frequency. [0064] The frequency shifting device may include an acousto-optical modulator 272, or other device. Acousto-optical modulator 272 may provide a frequency offset to second local oscillator beam 248, which may enhance downstream processing.);
a modulator configured to impart a modulation to the second beam ([0042] The second frequency may be modulated at a second chirp rate different from the first chirp rate.);
an optical interface subsystem configured to: receive a third beam caused by interaction of the first beam and the second beam with a first object([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210.; [0054] In other embodiments, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be coupled by a target optical coupler 226 into a combined target beam 252 prior to emission that may be directed toward target 216), and
one or more circuits configured to: determine, based on a first phase information obtained using the third beam and associated with the first offset frequency, a velocity of the first object, ([0038] Range information determined based on the target signal and the reference signal may be used to determine a range rate of target 130 with respect to target interferometer 122.; [0048] In some embodiments of the invention, first local oscillator beam 242 may be divided into a plurality of first local oscillator beams and second local oscillator beam 248 may be divided into a plurality of second local oscillator beams...This may ensure that one of the plurality of first local oscillator beams and one of the plurality of second local oscillator beams may have been delayed for delay periods that may enable the range and range rate of the target to determined accurately.)
wherein the first phase information is independent of a distance to the first object, and determine the distance to the first object based on a combination of the first phase information, and a second phase information obtained using the third beam and associated with the (i) second offset frequency and (iii) the the modulation imparted to the second beam ([0055] However, because various embodiments of laser radar system 210 use simultaneous measurements (or substantially so) to unambiguously determine range and range rate…[0058] Based on first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264, processor 234 may generate the range signal and the range rate signal. Based on the range signal and the range rate signal, the range and the range rate of target 216 may be unambiguously determined.).
Regarding claim 4, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical interface subsystem is further configured to output, towards the first object, the first beam and the second beam along a same optical path (Fig. 16; [0091] Step 1650 includes extracting amplitudes and phases of at least one of (i) interferometric temporal beat note oscillation frequencies of the time-varying signal and (ii) circulant complex code correlations of the time-varying signal, the amplitudes and phases corresponding to selected Fourier components of the object's 3D Fourier representation; [0097] In embodiments, step 1672 includes calibrating at least one of the amplitudes and phases of the plurality of mutually coherent beams using a complex coefficient retrieval method.).
Regarding claim 5, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first phase information is associated with the first offset frequency modified by a Doppler shift caused by the velocity of the first object ([0038] Range information determined based on the target signal and the reference signal may be used to determine a range rate of target 130 with respect to target interferometer 122.; [0063] To determine the range rate of target 216,...This may enable the Doppler shift information to be extracted, which may represent an instantaneous velocity of target 216.).
Regarding claim 6, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the second phase information is associated with the second offset frequency modified by the Doppler shift and the modulation imparted to the second beam that is time-shifted by a time associated with the distance to the first object. ([0043] Second laser beam 246 may be divided by second optical coupler 224 into a second target beam 214 and a second local oscillator beam 248;[0046] second beam delay 250 may enable laser radar system 210 to be adjusted to bring the set of ranges over which more accurate determinations may be made closer to, or further away from, laser radar system 210. First beam delay 244 and the second beam delay 250 may be adjusted to ensure that the range of target 216 falls within the set of ranges between the minimum range and the maximum range so that the range and the range rate of target 216 may be determined accurately. First beam delay 244 and second beam delay 250 may be adjusted by a user, or in an automated manner.; [0063] To determine the range rate of target 216,...This may enable the Doppler shift information to be extracted,).
Regarding claim 12, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the light source subsystem comprises a resonator configured to generate a plurality of frequency-spaced, by a resonance frequency of the resonator, beams, and wherein the first beam, the second beam, and the LO beam are generated using with a first frequency-spaced beam of the plurality frequency-spaced beams ([0050] For example, first laser source 218 and/or second laser source 220 may include a ring cavity system. FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a ring cavity system 310. Ring cavity system 310 may provide electromagnetic radiation with various enhancements such as, for example, an increased coherence length, a more precise frequency control, a more precise chirp rate control, or other enhancements; [0051] Ring cavity system 310 may include frequency shifting device 318 within the optical cavity formed by ring fiber 316).
Regarding claim 13, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 12, further configured to determine a velocity of a second object and a distance to the second object using a second frequency-spaced beam of the plurality of frequency-spaced beams ([0040] may determine at least one of a range of target 216 from laser radar system 210, and a range rate of target 216.; [0061] For a target having constant velocity, first laser beam 240 and second laser beam 246 beat frequencies may be described as follows...which provides a measure of the target velocity.).
Regarding claim 21, Sebastian teaches a method comprising:
producing a first beam having a first frequency offset relative to a local oscillator (LO) beam, and a second beam having a second frequency offset relative to the LO beam ([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210; [0041] According to various embodiments of the invention, first laser source 218 may have a first carrier frequency.; [0042] In some embodiments of the invention, second laser source 220 may emit a second laser beam 246 at a second frequency. [0064] The frequency shifting device may include an acousto-optical modulator 272, or other device. Acousto-optical modulator 272 may provide a frequency offset to second local oscillator beam 248, which may enhance downstream processing.);
imparting a modulation to the second beam ([0042] The second frequency may be modulated at a second chirp rate different from the first chirp rate.);
receiving a third beam caused by interaction of the first beam and the second beam with an object; ([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210.; [0054] In other embodiments, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be coupled by a target optical coupler 226 into a combined target beam 252 prior to emission that may be directed toward target 216);
determining, based on a first phase information obtained using the third beam and associated with the first offset frequency, a velocity of the object ([0038] Range information determined based on the target signal and the reference signal may be used to determine a range rate of target 130 with respect to target interferometer 122.; [0048] In some embodiments of the invention, first local oscillator beam 242 may be divided into a plurality of first local oscillator beams and second local oscillator beam 248 may be divided into a plurality of second local oscillator beams...This may ensure that one of the plurality of first local oscillator beams and one of the plurality of second local oscillator beams may have been delayed for delay periods that may enable the range and range rate of the target to determined accurately.)
wherein the first phase information is independent of a distance to the object; determining the distance to the object based on a combination of: the first phase information, and a second phase information obtained using the third beam and associated with (i) the second offset frequency and (II) the modulation imparted to the second beam ([0055] However, because various embodiments of laser radar system 210 use simultaneous measurements (or substantially so) to unambiguously determine range and range rate…[0058] Based on first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264, processor 234 may generate the range signal and the range rate signal. Based on the range signal and the range rate signal, the range and the range rate of target 216 may be unambiguously determined.).
Regarding claim 22, Sebastian teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first beam and the second beam propagate to the object along a same optical path ([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210.).
Regarding claim 26, Sebastian teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: generating, using a resonator, a plurality of frequency -spaced, by a resonance frequency of the resonator, beams wherein the first beam, the second beam, and the LO beam are generated using a first frequency-spaced beam of the plurality of frequency-spaced beams ([0050] For example, first laser source 218 and/or second laser source 220 may include a ring cavity system. FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a ring cavity system 310. Ring cavity system 310 may provide electromagnetic radiation with various enhancements such as, for example, an increased coherence length, a more precise frequency control, a more precise chirp rate control, or other enhancements; [0051] Ring cavity system 310 may include frequency shifting device 318 within the optical cavity formed by ring fiber 316).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Wagner et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20210405201 A1), hereinafter Wagner.
Regarding claim 2, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1,
Sebastian fails to teach the system wherein the modulation imparted to the second beam comprises a sequence of shifts characterized by a correlation function that is a peaked function of a time delay, wherein the sequence of shifts comprises at least one of a sequence of frequency shifts or a sequence of phase shifts.
However, Wagner teaches the system wherein the modulation imparted to the second beam comprises a sequence of shifts characterized by a correlation function that is a peaked function of a time delay, wherein the sequence of shifts comprises at least one of a sequence of frequency shifts or a sequence of phase shifts (Fig. 16; [0091] Step 1650 includes extracting amplitudes and phases of at least one of (i) interferometric temporal beat note oscillation frequencies of the time-varying signal and (ii) circulant complex code correlations of the time-varying signal, the amplitudes and phases corresponding to selected Fourier components of the object's 3D Fourier representation; [0097] In embodiments, step 1672 includes calibrating at least one of the amplitudes and phases of the plurality of mutually coherent beams using a complex coefficient retrieval method.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the shifts based on correlation functions similar to Wagner, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of performing frequency calibration to the outgoing beam.
Regarding claim 3, Sebastian, as modified above, teaches the system of claim 2,
Sebastian fails to teach the system wherein the sequence of shifts is based on at least one of a maximum-length sequence, a Gold code, or a Barker code.
However, Wagner teaches the system wherein the sequence of shifts is based on at least one of a maximum-length sequence, a Gold code, or a Barker code ([0094] In embodiments, each of the plurality of codes being different binary phase-shift keyed (BPSK) encoded PN codes, and the time-varying signal includes Gold codes. In such embodiments, the amplitude and phase extraction of step 1650 may include uses a bank of Gold code correlators.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the shifts based on correlation functions such as Gold code similar to Wagner, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a calibration method known to the art to perform frequency calibration.
Claims 8-11, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Thorpe et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20200011994A1), hereinafter Thorpe.
Regarding claim 8, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the light source subsystem comprises:
locking the first beam to the first frequency offset relative to the LO beam ([0041] The first frequency may be modulated electrically, mechanically, acousto-optically, or otherwise modulated as would be apparent; [0064] The frequency shifting device may include an acousto-optical modulator 272, or other device. Acousto-optical modulator 272 may provide a frequency offset to second local oscillator beam 248, which may enhance downstream processing.).
Sebastian fails to teach the system wherein an optical feedback loop (OFL) configured to lock the first frequency.
However, Thorpe teaches the system wherein an optical feedback loop (OFL) configured to lock the first frequency ([0051] The chirped laser 202, coupler 206, reference interferometer 210, coupler 208, photo detector 224, phase detector 226, servo filter 228, ramp generator 230, and combiner 232 may form a feedback loop to control the chirped laser 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the optical feedback loop similar to Thorpe, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the desired frequency is the one that will be emitted in any and all source beams prior to emission, cutting down on calibration time and ensuring accuracy.
Regarding claim 9, Sebastian, as modified above, teaches the system of claim 8,
Sebastian fails to teach the system wherein the OFL comprises: a coherent photodetector configured to: receive a copy of the first beam and a copy of the LO beam; generate an electrical signal representative of a phase difference between the copy of the first beam and the copy of the LO beam; and one or more OFL circuits configured to adjust, in view of the electrical signal, a frequency of the first beam
However, Thorpe teaches the system wherein the OFL comprises: a coherent photodetector ([0051] photo detector 224) configured to:
receive a copy of the first beam and a copy of the LO beam ([0056] Laser light exiting the reference interferometer from coupler 214 may be directed to coupler 208. A split portion from the coupler 208 may be directed to photo detector 224 to create a first interference signal.);
generate an electrical signal representative of a phase difference between the copy of the first beam and the copy of the LO beam ([0056] The first interference signal may be directed to phase detector 226 to produce a first error signal.); and
one or more OFL circuits configured to adjust, in view of the electrical signal, a frequency of the first beam ([0056] The first error signal may be filtered in servo filter 228, which may include a combination of proportional, integral and/or derivative gain components, summed in combiner 232 with an electronic ramp from ramp generator 230,...The phase detector 226 and phase detector 236 may receive reference RF signals from RF frequency source 246 and/or RF frequency source 248. RF switch 244 may be used to effectively switch between RF signal frequencies, which may be used to switch to different chirp rates in some examples.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the optical feedback loop as described similar to Thorpe, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the desired frequency is the one that will be emitted in any and all source beams prior to emission, cutting down on calibration time and ensuring accuracy.
Regarding claim 10, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a coherent photodetector ([0069] For example, processor 234 may include a detector 610 that receives first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264) configured to:
Sebastian fails to teach the system wherein the photodetector is configured to generate a first electrical signal representative of a phase difference of the third beam and the LO beam ; wherein the one or more circuits are further configured to receive the first electric signal.
However, Thorpe teaches the system wherein the photodetector is configured to generate a first electrical signal representative of a phase difference of the third beam and the LO beam ([0056] Laser light exiting the reference interferometer from coupler 214 may be directed to coupler 208. A split portion from the coupler 208 may be directed to photo detector 224 to create a first interference signal. The first interference signal may be directed to phase detector 226 to produce a first error signal.) ;
wherein the one or more circuits are further configured to receive the first electric signal ([0056] The first error signal may be filtered in servo filter 228, which may include a combination of proportional, integral and/or derivative gain components, summed in combiner 232 with an electronic ramp from ramp generator 230, and applied to an actuator of the chirped laser 202 to control the chirped laser 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the phase difference calculation as described similar to Thorpe, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the outgoing signal is aligned in a desired way for coherent object detection.
Regarding claim 11, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more circuits comprise: a first filter to generate, based on the first electrical signal, a second electrical signal representative of the phase difference of the third beam and the LO beam ([0058] Processor 234 may receive first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264.);
a second filter to generate, based on the first electrical signal, a third electrical signal representative of the phase difference of the fourth beam and the LO beam ([0058] Processor 234 may receive first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264.); and
a signal processing stage ([0058] Processor 234) configured to
determine, based on the second electrical signal, the velocity of the first object ([0058] Based on first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264, processor 234 may generate the range signal and the range rate signal. Based on the range signal and the range rate signal, the range and the range rate of target 216 may be unambiguously determined.); and
determine, based on the second electrical signal and the third electrical signal, the distance to the first object ([0058] Based on first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264, processor 234 may generate the range signal and the range rate signal. Based on the range signal and the range rate signal, the range and the range rate of target 216 may be unambiguously determined.).
Regarding claim 24, Sebastian teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first beam has a first frequency and the second beam has a second frequency ([0041] According to various embodiments of the invention, first laser source 218 may have a first carrier frequency. [0042] In some embodiments of the invention, second laser source 220 may emit a second laser beam 246 at a second frequency.), the method further comprising
locking one of the first beam to the first frequency offset relative to the LO beam ([0041] The first frequency may be modulated electrically, mechanically, acousto-optically, or otherwise modulated as would be apparent; [0064] The frequency shifting device may include an acousto-optical modulator 272, or other device. Acousto-optical modulator 272 may provide a frequency offset to second local oscillator beam 248, which may enhance downstream processing.).
Sebastian fails to teach the method wherein an optical feedback loop (OFL) configured to lock one of the first frequency or the second frequency.
However, Thorpe teaches the method wherein an optical feedback loop (OFL) configured to lock one of the first frequency or the second frequency ([0051] The chirped laser 202, coupler 206, reference interferometer 210, coupler 208, photo detector 224, phase detector 226, servo filter 228, ramp generator 230, and combiner 232 may form a feedback loop to control the chirped laser 202.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the optical feedback loop similar to Thorpe, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the desired frequency is the one that will be emitted in any and all source beams prior to emission, cutting down on calibration time and ensuring accuracy.
Regarding claim 25, Sebastian teaches the method of claim 24,
Sebastian fails to teach the method wherein the OFL comprises: receiving a copy of the first beam and a copy of the LO beam; generating an electrical signal representative of a phase difference between the copy of the first beam and the copy of the second beam; adjusting, using one or more OFL circuits and in view of the electrical signal, a frequency of the first beam.
However, Thorpe teaches the method wherein the OFL comprises: receiving a copy of the first beam and a copy of the LO beam ([0052] the reference interferometer 210 may be used in the feedback loop used to control chirped laser 202 and in the feedback loop used to control chirped laser 204.);
generating an electrical signal representative of a phase difference between the copy of the first beam and the copy of the second beam ([0056] The first interference signal may be directed to phase detector 226 to produce a first error signal.); and
adjusting, using one or more OFL circuits and in view of the electrical signal, a frequency of the first beam ([0056] The first error signal may be filtered in servo filter 228, which may include a combination of proportional, integral and/or derivative gain components, summed in combiner 232 with an electronic ramp from ramp generator 230, and applied to an actuator of the chirped laser 202 to control the chirped laser 202)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the optical feedback loop as described similar to Thorpe, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring the desired frequency is the one that will be emitted in any and all source beams prior to emission, cutting down on calibration time and ensuring accuracy.
Claims 7, 23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian in view of Stochino (United States Patent No. 10444366 B1), hereinafter Stochino.
Regarding claim 7, Sebastian teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first beam is obtained by imparting the first offset frequency, and the second beam is produced by imparting the second offset frequency ([0042] The second frequency may be modulated at a second chirp rate different from the first chirp rate.)
Sebastian fails to teach the system wherein the light source subsystem comprises: a light source configured to generate a common beam, wherein the first beam and the second beam are obtained from the common beam
However, Stochino teaches the system wherein the light source subsystem comprises: a light source configured to generate a common beam, wherein the first beam and the second beam are obtained from the common beam (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the common beam similar to Stochino, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of utilizing a laser configuration known in the art to conserve space and limit the number of required components.
Regarding claim 23, Sebastian teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first beam is obtained by imparting the first offset frequency, and the second beam is produced by imparting the second offset frequency ([0042] The second frequency may be modulated at a second chirp rate different from the first chirp rate.)
Sebastian fails to teach the method wherein the first beam and the second beam are produced using a common beam,
However, Stochino teaches the method wherein the first beam and the second beam are produced using a common beam (Fig. 3),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the common beam similar to Stochino, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of utilizing a laser configuration known in the art to conserve space and limit the number of required components.
Regarding claim 27, Sebastian teaches a sensing system comprising:
a light source subsystem configured to produce a first beam having a first frequency offset relative to a local oscillator (LO) beam and a second beam having a second frequency offset relative to the LO beam; ([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210; [0041] According to various embodiments of the invention, first laser source 218 may have a first carrier frequency.; [0042] In some embodiments of the invention, second laser source 220 may emit a second laser beam 246 at a second frequency. [0064] The frequency shifting device may include an acousto-optical modulator 272, or other device. Acousto-optical modulator 272 may provide a frequency offset to second local oscillator beam 248, which may enhance downstream processing.);
a modulator configured to impart a modulation to the second beam ([0042] The second frequency may be modulated at a second chirp rate different from the first chirp rate.);
an optical interface subsystem configured to: receive a third beam caused by interaction of the first beam and the second beam with an object, and ([0040] In some embodiments of the invention, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be reflected by target 216 back toward laser radar system 210.; [0054] In other embodiments, first target beam 212 and second target beam 214 may be coupled by a target optical coupler 226 into a combined target beam 252 prior to emission that may be directed toward target 216); and
one or more circuits configured to: determine, based on a first phase information obtained using the third beam and associated with the first offset frequency, a velocity of the object ([0038] Range information determined based on the target signal and the reference signal may be used to determine a range rate of target 130 with respect to target interferometer 122.; [0048] In some embodiments of the invention, first local oscillator beam 242 may be divided into a plurality of first local oscillator beams and second local oscillator beam 248 may be divided into a plurality of second local oscillator beams...This may ensure that one of the plurality of first local oscillator beams and one of the plurality of second local oscillator beams may have been delayed for delay periods that may enable the range and range rate of the target to determined accurately.);
wherein the first phase information is independent of a distance to the object; and determine the distance to the object based on a combination of: the first phase information, and a second phase information obtained by the third beam and associated with (i) the modulation imparted to the second beam ([0055] However, because various embodiments of laser radar system 210 use simultaneous measurements (or substantially so) to unambiguously determine range and range rate…[0058] Based on first combined target beam 262 and second combined target beam 264, processor 234 may generate the range signal and the range rate signal. Based on the range signal and the range rate signal, the range and the range rate of target 216 may be unambiguously determined.)
Sebastian fails to teach the system on an autonomous vehicle (AV) comprising: an AV control system configured to: determine a driving path of the AV in view of the velocity of the object and the distance to the object.
However, Stochino teaches the system on an autonomous vehicle (AV) ([Col. 15, lines 27-29] autonomous or semi-autonomous devices such as robots or unmanned ground or aerial vehicles,) comprising:
an AV control system configured to: determine a driving path of the AV in view of the velocity of the object and the distance to the object ([Col. 15, lines 5-29] According to one embodiment, the techniques described herein (such as for measuring distances, velocities, and reflectivities) are implemented by at least one computing device….The computing devices may be…autonomous or semi-autonomous devices such as robots or unmanned ground or aerial vehicles,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sebastian to comprise the autonomous vehicle configuration similar to Stochino, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing the overall lidar system in an application relevant to real world scenarios.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 29th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument made that the amendments have overcome the rejection cited previously, while the examiner notes the amendments have overcome the rejection of record, further consideration of the prior art in light of the amendments shows that the prior art of record as a whole still teaches the claimed invention as currently presented. Under the prior art of Sebastian, the two beams and reference beams can be treated as independent signals to unambiguously determine the velocity, or the range rate as it is referred to in the prior art, and the distance. As such the prior art shows the teaching of claim limitations as amended currently under the broadest reasonable interpretation to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, as presented above, the rejection is maintained under this Non-Final Office Action.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645