CTFR 17/552,181 CTFR 100154 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION The amendment filed on 03/03/2026 has been entered. . No new matter was added. Claims 1, 19 and 22 were amended in the claim set filed on 03/03/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-19 and 22-24 in the claim set filed on 03/03/2026 are pending and currently under examination . Response to the Arguments Applicant’s arguments regarding previous rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12-19, and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s argument on Pg. 15, states that “ Knapp does not disclose that a capillary bed configuration of a first lyophilized chamber module and/or a second lyophilized chamber module comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns.” The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections documented in the previously mailed non-final have been withdrawn in light of applicants claim amendments and arguments on Pg. 12-20. However, upon further consideration and search, new grounds of rejection are made as documented below in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection in this office action on Pg. 3-28 in view of Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann or Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich, Zimmermann and Ocola . The rejections for claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-19 and 22-24 are documented below in this Final Office Action are necessitated by claim amendments filed on 03/03/2026. Priority This application claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/172,842 filed on April 9, 2021. Accordingly, the priority date of instant claims is determined to be April 9, 2021, the filing date of provisional application 63/172,842. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12-19 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer et al . (“Glezer” US Patent App. Pub. US 20120178091 A1, July 12, 2012) in view of Selden et al. (“Selden” US Patent App. Pub. US 20140370580 A1, December 18, 2014), Jovanovich et al. (“Jovanovich” WO Patent App. Pub. WO 2012024658 A2, February 12, 2012) and Zimmermann et al. (“Zimmermann”; (2007). Capillary pumps for autonomous capillary systems. Lab on a Chip , 7(1), 119-125.) . Glezer discloses assay cartridges that have purification, reaction, and detection zones and other fluidic components which can include sample chambers, waste chambers, conduits, vents, reagent chambers, reconstitution chambers and the like for conducting PCR analysis (Abstract; Para. 8). Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches a cartridge device comprising a sample inlet, a sample outlet, a fluidic network and a plurality of chambers (Para. 8). Glezer teaches a device wherein the cartridge includes a fluidic network and one or more chambers and zones for conducting a multiplexed nucleic acid measurement on a biological fluid sample (Para. 69). Thus, Glezer teaches “A multi-module sample preparation device, comprising: a sample inlet for receiving a liquid sample comprising DNA; a sample outlet; and a plurality of operatively connected modules”. Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches a device wherein one or more liquid and/or dried reagent chambers (Para. 72; Fig 2a (26), Fig. 3c-f). Glezer teaches a device wherein a chamber houses the pill containing reagents for PCR amplification, including dNTP's, primers, and Taq polymerase (Para. 118). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, so that a sample introduced into the sample inlet can be … sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path (Para. 72). Furthermore, Glezer teaches a device wherein the fluidic network within the cartridge can include a primary flow path (1) and one or more fluidic conduits (2), connecting the primary flow path to one or more chambers (3) for reagents and other materials/operations used and/or conducted in the cartridge during the conduct of an assay (Para. 71). Glezer also teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a device wherein a first lyophilized chamber module comprising a plurality of lyophilized PCR primers and a lyophilized PCR master mix including one or more deoxynucleotide triphosphates (dNTPs), one or more buffers, and/or one or more polymerases, and suggests the first lyophilized chamber module includes a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet, and a first lyophilized chamber outlet. Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches a device comprising a mixing chamber, wherein a metered volume of fluid can be directed along the primary flow path into the chamber via the first fluidic conduit, where it can be mixed with one or more reagents and subsequently redirected to the primary flow path and where a mixing chamber can also be connected to one or more reagent chambers and a metered volume of reagent can be directed into the mixing chamber, before or after a metered volume of sample is introduced to the mixing chamber (Para. 75; Para. 113; Fig 2a element 28). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a first mixing module, and suggests the first mixing module includes a first mixing module inlet operatively connected to the first lyophilized chamber outlet, and a first mixing module outlet. Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches a device comprising a PCR reaction zone within the primary flow path wherein two temperature-controlled regions, (i.e., the denature region maintained at about 96° C and the anneal/ extend region maintained at about 60° C) are controlled by heaters (Para. 156; Fig. 2a element 23, Fig. 6c elements 65 and 66). Glezer teaches Figures 2a and 6c involving one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, wherein the one or more heaters are oriented to produce one or more amplified target DNA regions. Thus, Glezer teaches a PCR module comprising a microfluidic channel and one or more heaters and suggests a PCR inlet and PCR outlet, one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, wherein the one or more heaters are oriented to produce one or more amplified target DNA regions, and wherein the PCR inlet is operatively connected to the first mixing module outlet. Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches one or more dried reagent chambers (Para. 72). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, and a metered volume of sample can be sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path. Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a second lyophilized chamber module and suggests the second lyophilized chamber module includes a second lyophilized chamber module inlet operatively connected to a stream outlet, and a second lyophilized chamber module outlet. Regarding claim 1, Glezer teaches one or more dried reagent chambers (Para. 72). Glezer also teaches dry reagents can be include pH buffers and the like (Para. 92). Sequencing buffer reads on any buffer in the module because the buffer does not teach any kind of buffer. Glezer teaches reagent reconstitution chambers are in fluidic communication with the primary flow path, allowing fluid to enter the chamber and dissolve the dried reagent pill (Para. 93). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a third lyophilized chamber module and suggest that it includes a third lyophilized chamber module inlet operatively connected to a source of a reconstitution fluid, and a third lyophilized chamber module outlet. Glezer does not explicitly teach i) the inlet and outlet in operative communication of the following: a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet and first lyophilized outlet, a PCR module comprising a PCR inlet, a PCR outlet, a microfluidic channel, and one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, and wherein the PCR inlet is operatively connected to the first mixing module outlet ; ii) “a second lyophilized chamber module comprising a plurality of lyophilized adapter sequences for enabling sequencing of the amplified target DNA regions”; and iii) wherein the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a capillary bed configuration that exerts a capillary force on the liquid sample that is greater than gravitational forces acting on the liquid sample, and wherein the capillary bed configuration of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module (i) Regarding the limitations of claim 1, Selden discloses a fully integrated biochip that enables purification of nucleic acids from samples, amplification of the purified DNA, sanger sequencing of the amplified DNA, ultrafiltration of the sequenced DNA, electrophoretic separation of the ultrafiltered DNA and generation of multiplexed DNA sequence (abstract). Seldon teaches a biochip device comprising “microfluidic features such as one or more fluid transport channels (which may be independent, connected, or networked), through holes, alignment features, liquid and lyophilized reagent storage chambers, reagent release chambers, pumps, metering chambers, lyophilized cake reconstitution chambers, ultrasonic chambers, joining and mixing chambers, mixing elements… heating elements… reaction chambers, waste chambers … thermal transfer regions … valve lines, valve structures, assembly features, instrument interface regions...” (Para. 143). Furthermore, Seldon teaches “at least one fluidic transport channel comprising an inlet for receiving said nucleic acid solution, and a primary flow path, said path in fluidic communication with said at least one reconstitution chamber” (Claim 1). “microfluidic features such as one or more fluid transport channels (which may be independent, connected, or networked)” reads on inlets, through channels, and outlets operatively connecting any chamber and/or module within or connected to the device. “a primary flow path, said path in fluidic communication with said at least one reconstitution chamber” reads on a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet and, and a first lyophilized chamber outlet. The reconstitution chamber is noted recited above as a lyophilized cake reconstitution chamber (Para. 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-module sample preparation device comprising a sample inlet and outlet, a plurality of connected modules/chambers including: one or more lyophilized chambers, a PCR module, and a mixing module, and wherein one or more modules are fluidically connected to each other as taught by Glezer to incorporate the device features of inlets, through channels, and outlets operatively connecting any chamber and/or module within or connected to the device as taught by Selden and provide a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet and first lyophilized outlet, a PCR module comprising a PCR inlet, a PCR outlet, a microfluidic channel, and one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, and wherein the PCR inlet is operatively connected to the first mixing module outlet”. Doing so would allow for the device to be constructed to comprise multiple connected modules for the preparation of a DNA sample (e.g., amplification of target regions and buffer exchange) with the reasonable expectation of minimal interaction by a user once the DNA sample enters the device. Also, it is noted that it would be obvious to one of skill in the art that operatively connected could mean directly or indirectly connected, yet functionally connected to perform the intended function of the device. See MPEP § 2173.05(g). (ii) Regarding the limitations of claim 1 , Jovanovich discloses systems, devices, methods, and kits for performing an integrated analysis. The integrated analysis can include sample processing, library construction, amplification, and sequencing. The integrated analysis can be performed within one or more modules that are fluidically connected to each other. The one or more modules can be controlled and/or automated by a computer. The integrated analysis can be performed on a tissue sample, a clinical sample, or an environmental sample. (abstract) Regarding claim 1, Jovanovich teaches device comprising an adapter for sequencing nucleic acids (Para. 32). Thus, Jovanovich teaches a device comprising adapter sequences for enabling sequencing of the amplified target DNA regions. It is noted that the courts have held that “while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In addition, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). See MPEP § 2114. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-module sample preparation device comprising lyophilized chambers with dried reagents and wherein one or more modules are fluidically connected to each other as taught by Glezer and Selden to incorporate the adapter reagent as taught by Jovanovich and provide a second lyophilized chamber comprising a plurality of lyophilized adapter sequences. Doing so would allow for the device to also comprise lyophilized adapter sequences reagents with the reasonable expectation of reducing the volume and weight of a cartridge, enhancing shelf-life stabilization and maintaining appropriate concentrations of sequencing adapters before reconstitution in a device designed for sequencing sample preparation. Furthermore, the lyophilized adapter sequences would be expected to be used within the preparation device to be attached to the DNA sample for use in sequencing with minimal interaction by a user once the DNA sample enters the device. (iii) Regarding the limitations of claim 1 , Zimmermann discloses autonomous capillary systems (CSs), where liquids are displaced by means of capillarity, are efficient, fast and convenient platforms for many bioanalytical applications. The proper functioning of these microfluidic devices requires displacing accurate volumes of liquids with precise flow rates. In this work, we show how to design capillary pumps for controlling the flow properties of CSs. The capillary pumps comprise microstructures of various shapes with dimensions from 15–250 µm, which are positioned in the capillary pumps to encode a desired capillary pressure. The capillary pumps are designed to have a small flow resistance and are preceded by a constricted microchannel, which acts as a flow resistance. Therefore, both the capillary pump and the flow resistance define the flow rate in the CS, and flow rates from 0.2–3.7 nL s−1 were achieved. The placement and the shape of the microstructures in the capillary pumps are used to tailor the filling front of liquids in the capillary pumps to obtain a reliable filling behaviour and to minimize the risk of entrapping air. The filling front can, for example, be oriented vertically or tilted to the main axis of the capillary pump. We also show how capillary pumps having different hydrodynamic properties can be connected to program a sequence of slow and fast flow rates in a CS. (Abstract) Regarding claim 1, Zimmermann teaches “Microfluidic devices are promising for applications that require precise displacement of small amounts of liquids or that can benefit from peculiar behaviours that liquids and chemical reactions exhibit at the micrometre length scale...surface tension forces dominate gravitation forces” and “In passive microfluidics, flow rates are encoded in the design of the microfluidics. Typical driving forces for propelling liquids in passive microfluidics are, for example… capillary forces” (Pg. 119, Introduction, Para.1). Zimmermann teaches “driven by capillary forces” (Pg. 119, Introduction, Para. 2). Zimmermann teaches “The next simplest capillary pump is a cavity, which can have supporting posts to prevent collapse … (“Posts” capillary pump in Fig. 2a). Capillary pressure in the capillary pump can be increased by splitting the capillary pump into smaller parallel microchannels (“Tree lines a” in Fig. 2a) (Pg. 121, Designing advanced capillary pumps , Para. 2; Figure 2). Figure 1 depicts an example of structures of the capillary pump in a topview (a) and the crossview (b) wherein the posts extend at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth. “Capillary pump” reads on capillary bed configuration, and connected or networked through channels that includes additional microfluidic features such as capillary force and positioned posts or columns to aide in controlling the pressure, flow and direction. The presence of “posts” read on a capillary bed structure comprising posts that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth. The presence of “lines” and “parallel microchannels” read on a capillary bed structure comprising columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device wherein the one or more lyophilized chamber module(s) comprise a capillary bed configuration that exerts a capillary force on the liquid sample that is greater than gravitational forces acting on the liquid sample, and wherein the capillary bed configuration of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module. Again, it is noted that the courts have held that “while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In addition, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). See MPEP § 2114. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-module sample preparation device comprising lyophilized chambers with dried reagents as taught by Glezer , Selden and Jovanovich to incorporate one or more capillaries that exert a capillary force on the liquid sample as taught by Zimmermann in order to provide a first and/or second lyophilized chamber(s) comprising a capillary bed configuration comprising columns and/or posts with similar functionality of drawing or transferring fluid. Furthermore, it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to include a capillary bed configuration to the lyophilization chamber that comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth, as the prior art teaches a reasonable expectation of success. The teachings of Glezer , Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann are documented above in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claims 2, 4, 6-10, 12-18 and 22-24 depend on claim 1. Claim 9 depends on claim 8, which depends on claim 1. Claim 17 depends on claim 16. Claims 16 and 18 depend on claim 15, which depends on claim 14, which depends on claim 1. Claims 1 and 19 are independent. Regarding claims 2 and 10, Zimmermann teaches “capillary pumps have characteristic dimensions of 15–250 µm” (Pg. 122). The term about is broad and thus the claimed range is encompassed by the range taught by Zimmermann. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device herein the first lyophilized chamber module comprises a microfluidic chamber, wherein the microfluidic chamber of the first lyophilized chamber module has an average depth from about 5 to about 750 microns; and wherein the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a microfluidic chamber, wherein the microfluidic chamber of the second lyophilized chamber module has an average depth from about 25 to about 750 microns. Regarding claims 4, Glezer teaches a device that includes a fluidic network where mixing can be further facilitated by the addition of a series of Z-transitions in the primary flow path at a position distal to the mixing chamber fluidic junction (Para. 113; Fig 3b element 33). The serpentine mixer reads on a serpentine-like channel used for mixing. Z- transitions read on serpentine-like channels that allow the flow of liquid whilst mixing. Channels used for mixing read on a mixing module. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest “wherein the first mixing module further comprises a serpentine, non-pooling mixer”. Regarding claim 6, Glezer teaches a device that includes a fluidic network comprising a PCR reaction zone within the primary flow path wherein two temperature controlled regions, (i.e., the denature region maintained at about 96° C and the anneal/ extend region maintained at about 60° C) are controlled by heaters (Para. 156; Fig. 2a element 23, Fig. 6a and c elements 65 and 66). Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device wherein the one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel defines denaturing zones, annealing zones, and extension zones along a length of the microfluidic channel. Regarding claim 7, Glezer teaches a device that includes a fluidic network where mixing can be further facilitated by the addition of a series of Z-transitions in the primary flow path at a position distal to the mixing chamber fluidic junction (Para. 113; Fig 3b element 33). Z- transitions read on a serpentine-like channels that allow the flow of liquid whilst mixing. The cross-section depicted in Figure 3b is displayed as uniform. In addition, the primary microfluidic network channel depicted in Figure 6 shown within the modules (PCR reaction zone) exhibits a serpentine-like channel with a uniform appearance (Fig 6). Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest wherein the microfluidic channel is a serpentine microfluidic channel comprising a uniform cross-section along a length of the serpentine microfluidic channel. Regarding claims 8-9, Glezer teaches a device wherein primary fluid path comprises a purification zone, a purification reagent chamber, and a waste chamber (Para. 23) and a purification membrane (glass fiber membrane) is positioned on a frit within the primary flow path to facilitate capture of nucleic acids on the membrane (Para. 114; Para. 115; Fig. 3c, Fig. 11). Glezer also teaches the purification zone includes a waste multi-conduit fluidic junction including (a) a first waste chamber conduit connecting the primary flow path and the waste chamber; and (b) a second waste chamber conduit connecting the waste chamber and a waste chamber air vent port. (Para. 23). The disclosure of “purification membrane (glass fiber membrane)” reads on active region including a solid phase. Regarding claims 8-9, it is noted that the courts have held that “while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In addition, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). See MPEP § 2114. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device further comprising: a waste outlet; and a purification module comprising: an active region including a solid phase configured to bind the one or more amplified target DNA regions, and to release the one or more bound amplified target DNA regions upon exposure to one or more reagents and/or stimuli; a purification inlet in operative communication with the PCR outlet; a purification outlet being operatively and selectively connected with a first pathway from the purification outlet to the waste outlet and a second pathway from the purification outlet to a purified stream outlet; and one or more mobile phase inlets in operative communication with the active region, the purification module also comprises a valve comprising a first orientation that defines the first pathway from the purification outlet to the waste outlet and a second orientation that defines the second pathway from the purification outlet to the purified stream outlet; and wherein the solid phase of the purification module comprises packing media or a functionalized surface. Regarding claim 12, Jovanovich teaches a device comprising a chamber fluidically connected via channels to a reservoir, wherein the chamber comprises a pneumatically actuated valve (Para. 32). The reservoir reads on a mixture pool within the device that has the ability to have a delay in flow as to achieve a desired residence time until the ready to proceed to the next module. The actuated valve is reads on being able to open or close off the inlet or outlet to/from the reservoir within the chamber. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device wherein the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a delay circuit configured to provide a desired residence time for attachment of the adapter sequences to the one or more amplified target DNA regions. Regarding claim 13, Jovanovich teaches a device comprising N mixing chambers to perform at least N mixing reactions. Reagents for the N mixing reactions can be introduced via N+1 inlets or stored in N+1 reagent reservoirs. In some embodiments, at least a portion or component of the mixed reaction can be removed from the linear array, such as through an outlet port or reservoir. In some embodiments, an inlet port or reservoir can also serve as an outlet port/reservoir (Para. 252). N reads on any number. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device further comprising a second mixing module comprising one or more second mixing pools, the second mixing module includes one or more second mixing module inlets operatively connected to the second lyophilized chamber module outlet and the third lyophilized chamber module outlet, and a second mixing module outlet connected to the sample outlet, wherein the one or more second mixing pools of the second mixing module located between and operatively connected to a plurality of separate second mixing inlet channels operatively connected to the second mixing module inlet and a plurality of separate second mixing outlet channels operatively connected to the sample outlet. Regarding claim 14, Jovanovich teaches a device wherein modules can be linked by movable microfluidic structures such as a sliding linear valve or sliding rotary valves that can move a linking microfluidic structure into or out of fluidic communication with one or more modules (Para. 103). “a sliding linear valve or sliding rotary valves” reads on a sequencing interface. “One or more modules” reads on a sample outlet and a DNA sequencer. “modules can be linked by movable microfluidic structures” further reads on operatively connected. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device further comprising a sequencer interface module operatively connected to the sample outlet and a DNA sequencer. Regarding claims 15-17, Selden teaches a device comprising a pneumatic subassembly that includes a pneumatic plate having a top patterned thermoplastic sheet bonded thereon, and one or a plurality of drive lines to pneumatically drive fluids on instructions from the process controller. Selden teaches the biochip also includes a valve subassembly, positioned between and connected to the fluidic and pneumatic subassemblies and a separation and detection subassembly adapted for connecting to the high voltage and optical subsystems and process controller on the instrument. (Para. 19 and 121). The valve reads on a microfluidic multi-port rotary valve designed for automated microfluidic fluid transfer. It would be obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filling date to include six ports with three pairs of through-channels that to the valve subassembly of Selden with the reasonable expectation of a directing a plurality of fluid streams. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a device, wherein the sequencer interface module comprises: a priming buffer inlet, a sequencing-ready liquid sample inlet, and a waste outlet; wherein the multi-port rotary valve includes a plurality of ports and fluid pathways formed therein; wherein the plurality of ports and through-channels comprise six ports and three through-channels, wherein the six ports include a first pair of ports and a first through-channel formed there between, a second pair of ports and a second through-channel formed there between, and a third pair of ports and a third through-channel formed there between. Regarding claim 18, Jovanovich teaches a device wherein movement within the cartridge, or from the cartridge to the sequencing module, can be controlled by pumps or valves, including microfluidic pumps (Para. 104). The disclosure of “movement within the cartridge, or from the cartridge to the sequencing module, can be controlled by pumps or valves” reads on a drive mechanism operatively connected to the multi-port rotary valve. “valves” also reads on multi-port rotary valve and being configured to cycle the multi-port rotary valve between the first position and the second position.” Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest further comprising a drive mechanism operatively connected to the multi-port rotary valve and being configured to cycle the multi-port rotary valve between the first position and the second position. Regarding claim 22, Zimmermann teaches Figure 1 which depicts an example of structures of the capillary pump in a topview (a) and the crossview (b) wherein the posts extend the entire distance of a capillary bed depth. (Figure 1) Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a sample preparation device wherein the plurality of posts and/or columns extends completely over the distance of the capillary bed depth of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module. Regarding claim 23, Zimmermann teaches a device wherein “Changing the width ( u ) of the structures compared with their spacing ( v ) affects the progression rates of the liquid in the vertical and horizontal directions” (Pg. 121, Designing advanced capillary pump , Para. 3). Zimmermann also teaches Characteristic dimensions/µm and Comments regarding filling in Table 1. (Table1) Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a sample preparation device wherein the distance between individual posts and/or columns directs a flow path of the liquid sample within the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module. Regarding claim 24, Glezer teaches Fig. 3 (f-g) which depicts one or more choke-points within the capillary configuration in connection with the lyophilized chamber(s). Chokepoint is considered any area that is narrower or has the ability to narrow or close off and/or slow or stop flow. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a sample preparation device wherein the capillary bed configuration of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises one or more choke-points. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches a system comprising a sample inlet, a sample outlet, a fluidic network and a plurality of chambers (Para. 8). Glezer teaches a device wherein the cartridge includes a fluidic network and one or more chambers and zones for conducting a multiplexed nucleic acid measurement on a biological fluid sample (Para. 69). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, so that a sample introduced into the sample inlet can be routed to a sample chamber, and a metered volume of sample can be sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path (Para. 72). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Glezer teaches waste chambers are linked to the primary flow path via a waste chamber conduit (Para. 100). Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest “A system, comprising: a liquid sample collection apparatus including a collection apparatus outlet; a sample inlet for receiving a liquid sample comprising DNA, wherein the sample inlet in operative communication with the collection apparatus outlet; a sample outlet; a waste outlet; a plurality of operatively connected modules”. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches a system comprising one or more liquid and/or dried reagent chambers (Para. 72; Fig 2a (26), Fig. 3c-f). Glezer teaches a system comprising wherein a chamber houses the pill containing reagents for PCR amplification, including dNTP's, primers, and Taq polymerase (Para. 118). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, so that a sample introduced into the sample inlet can be … sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path (Para. 72). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest a system wherein a first lyophilized chamber module comprising a plurality of lyophilized PCR primers and a lyophilized PCR master mix including one or more deoxynucleotide triphosphates (dNTPs), one or more buffers, and/or one or more polymerases, the first lyophilized chamber module includes a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet, and a first lyophilized chamber outlet. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches a device comprising a mixing chamber, wherein a metered volume of fluid can be directed along the primary flow path into the chamber via the first fluidic conduit, where it can be mixed with one or more reagents and subsequently redirected to the primary flow path and where a mixing chamber can also be connected to one or more reagent chambers and a metered volume of reagent can be directed into the mixing chamber, before or after a metered volume of sample is introduced to the mixing chamber (Para. 75; Para. 113; Fig 2a element 28). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, so that a sample introduced into the sample inlet can be … sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path (Para. 72). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a system comprising a first mixing module and suggests the first mixing module includes a first mixing module inlet operatively connected to the first lyophilized chamber outlet, and a first mixing module outlet. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches a system comprising a PCR reaction zone within the primary flow path wherein two temperature-controlled regions, (i.e., the denature region maintained at about 96° C and the anneal/ extend region maintained at about 60° C) are controlled by heaters (Para. 156; Fig. 2a element 23, Fig. 6a and c elements 65 and 66). Glezer teaches Figures 2a, 6a and 6c involving one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, wherein the one or more heaters are oriented to produce one or more amplified target DNA regions. Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, so that a sample introduced into the sample inlet can be … sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path (Para. 72). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a system comprising a PCR module comprising a PCR inlet, a PCR outlet, a microfluidic channel and one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, wherein the one or more heaters are oriented to produce one or more amplified target DNA regions, wherein the PCR inlet is suggested to be operatively connected to the first mixing module outlet. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches a system comprising device wherein a primary fluid path comprises a purification zone, a purification reagent chamber, and a waste chamber (Para. 23) and a purification membrane (glass fiber membrane) is positioned on a frit within the primary flow path to facilitate capture of nucleic acids on the membrane (Para. 114; Para. 115; Fig. 3c, Fig. 11). Glezer also teaches the purification zone includes a waste multi-conduit fluidic junction including (a) a first waste chamber conduit connecting the primary flow path and the waste chamber; and (b) a second waste chamber conduit connecting the waste chamber and a waste chamber air vent port. (Para 23). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, so that a sample introduced into the sample inlet can be … sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path (Para. 72). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. The disclosure of “purification membrane (glass fiber membrane)” reads on active region including a solid phase. Thus, Glezer teaches a system comprising a purification module comprising an active region including a solid phase configured to bind the one or more amplified target DNA regions and to release the one or more bound amplified target DNA regions upon exposure to one or more reagents and/or stimuli, and wherein the purification module is suggested to include a purification inlet in operative communication with the PCR outlet, and a purification outlet is suggested to being operatively and selectively connected with a first pathway from the purification outlet to the waste outlet and a second pathway from the purification outlet to a purified stream outlet. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches one or more dried reagent chambers (Para. 72). Glezer also teaches the chambers are connected to the primary flow path via a plurality of fluidic conduits, and a metered volume of sample can be sequentially delivered to and processed in one or more chambers/zones intersecting and/or positioned along the primary flow path. Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a system comprising a second lyophilized chamber module and the second lyophilized chamber module includes a second lyophilized chamber module inlet operatively connected to a stream outlet, and a second lyophilized chamber module outlet. Regarding claim 19, Glezer teaches one or more dried reagent chambers (Para. 72). Glezer also teaches dry reagents can be include pH buffers and the like (Para. 92). Sequencing buffer is considered as any buffer in the module because the buffer does not teach any kind of buffer. Glezer teaches reagent reconstitution chambers are in fluidic communication with the primary flow path, allowing fluid to enter the chamber and dissolve the dried reagent pill (Para. 93). Furthermore, Glezer teaches the fluidic network in fluidic communication with the various chambers as to allow for the directed movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone (Para. 72). “Movement of fluid into or out of a specified chamber/zone” reads on entering, exiting, inlet and/or outlet. Thus, Glezer teaches a system comprising a third lyophilized chamber module and suggests that a third lyophilized chamber module inlet is operatively connected to a source of a reconstitution fluid, and a third lyophilized chamber module outlet. Again, it is noted that it would be obvious to one of skill in the art that operatively connected could mean directly or indirectly connected, yet functionally connected to perform the intended function of the device. See MPEP § 2173.05(g). Again, it is noted that the courts have held that “while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.” In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In addition, “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). See MPEP § 2114. Glezer does not explicitly teach i) the inlet and outlet in operative communication of the following: a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet and first lyophilized outlet, a PCR module comprising a PCR inlet, a PCR outlet, a microfluidic channel, and one or more heaters in operative communication with a plurality of predetermined zones of the microfluidic channel, and wherein the PCR inlet is operatively connected to the first mixing module outlet ; ii) “a second lyophilized chamber module comprising a plurality of lyophilized adapter sequences for enabling sequencing of the amplified target DNA regions”; iii) wherein the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a capillary bed configuration that exerts a capillary force on the liquid sample that is greater than gravitational forces acting on the liquid sample, wherein the capillary bed configuration comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns. (i) Regarding the limitations of claim 19, Selden discloses a fully integrated biochip that enables purification of nucleic acids from samples, amplification of the purified DNA, sanger sequencing of the amplified DNA, ultrafiltration of the sequenced DNA, electrophoretic separation of the ultrafiltered DNA and generation of multiplexed DNA sequence (abstract). Seldon teaches a system comprising “microfluidic features such as one or more fluid transport channels (which may be independent, connected, or networked), through holes, alignment features, liquid and lyophilized reagent storage chambers, reagent release chambers, pumps, metering chambers, lyophilized cake reconstitution chambers, ultrasonic chambers, joining and mixing chambers, mixing elements… heating elements… reaction chambers, waste chambers … thermal transfer regions … valve lines, valve structures, assembly features, instrument interface regions...” (Para. 143). Furthermore, Seldon teaches “at least one fluidic transport channel comprising an inlet for receiving said nucleic acid solution, and a primary flow path, said path in fluidic communication with said at least one reconstitution chamber” (Claim 19). The disclosure of “microfluidic features such as one or more fluid transport channels (which may be independent, connected, or networked)” reads on inlets, through channels, and outlets operatively connecting any chamber and/or module within or connected to the device. “a primary flow path, said path in fluidic communication with said at least one reconstitution chamber” reads on a first lyophilized chamber inlet operatively connected to the sample inlet and, and a first lyophilized chamber outlet. The reconstitution chamber is recited above as a lyophilized cake reconstitution chamber (Para. 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Glezer to incorporate a system featuring inlets, through channels, and outlets operatively connecting any chamber and/or module within or connected to the device as taught by Selden and provide a system comprising a device of interconnected modules/chambers to allow for the transfer of the sample to one or more modules/chambers as the sample is prepared. Doing so would allow for the system comprising a device to comprise multiple connected modules for the preparation of a DNA sample (e.g., amplification of target regions and buffer exchange) with the reasonable expectation of transfer of sample from one module to another one or more modules with minimal interaction by a user once the DNA sample enters the system. (ii) Regarding the limitations of claim 19 , Jovanovich discloses systems, devices, methods, and kits for performing an integrated analysis. The integrated analysis can include sample processing, library construction, amplification, and sequencing. The integrated analysis can be performed within one or more modules that are fluidically connected to each other. The one or more modules can be controlled and/or automated by a computer. The integrated analysis can be performed on a tissue sample, a clinical sample, or an environmental sample. (abstract) Regarding claim 19, Jovanovich teaches system comprising an adapter for sequencing nucleic acids (Para. 32). Thus, Jovanovich teaches a system comprising adapter sequences for enabling sequencing of the amplified target DNA regions. Regarding claim 19, Jovanovich teaches a system with a nucleic acid sequencer configured to accept and generate sequence information on the normalized nucleic acid. (Para. 52; Fig. 24). Thus, Jovanovich wherein the sequencer is in operative communication with the sample outlet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of as taught by Glezer and Selden to incorporate system including sequencing adapters and sequencer connected to a multimodule sample preparation device as taught by Jovanovich and provide a system for DNA sample preparation and sample transfer to sequencer. Doing allow for the preparation of a DNA sample for sequencing and transfer of the prepared sample to the sequencer with a reasonable expectation of preparing and setting the sample up for sequencing with minimal interaction by the user. (iii) Regarding the limitations of claim 19, Zimmermann discloses Autonomous capillary systems (CSs), where liquids are displaced by means of capillarity, are efficient, fast and convenient platforms for many bioanalytical applications. The proper functioning of these microfluidic devices requires displacing accurate volumes of liquids with precise flow rates. In this work, we show how to design capillary pumps for controlling the flow properties of CSs. The capillary pumps comprise microstructures of various shapes with dimensions from 15–250 µm, which are positioned in the capillary pumps to encode a desired capillary pressure. The capillary pumps are designed to have a small flow resistance and are preceded by a constricted microchannel, which acts as a flow resistance. Therefore, both the capillary pump and the flow resistance define the flow rate in the CS, and flow rates from 0.2–3.7 nL s−1 were achieved. The placement and the shape of the microstructures in the capillary pumps are used to tailor the filling front of liquids in the capillary pumps to obtain a reliable filling behaviour and to minimize the risk of entrapping air. The filling front can, for example, be oriented vertically or tilted to the main axis of the capillary pump. We also show how capillary pumps having different hydrodynamic properties can be connected to program a sequence of slow and fast flow rates in a CS. (Abstract) Regarding claim 19, Zimmermann teaches “Microfluidic devices are promising for applications that require precise displacement of small amounts of liquids or that can benefit from peculiar behaviours that liquids and chemical reactions exhibit at the micrometre length scale...surface tension forces dominate gravitation forces” and “In passive microfluidics, flow rates are encoded in the design of the microfluidics. Typical driving forces for propelling liquids in passive microfluidics are, for example… capillary forces” (Pg. 119, Introduction, Para.1). Zimmermann teaches “driven by capillary forces” (Pg. 119, Introduction, Para. 2). Zimmermann teaches “The next simplest capillary pump is a cavity, which can have supporting posts to prevent collapse … (“Posts” capillary pump in Fig. 2a). Capillary pressure in the capillary pump can be increased by splitting the capillary pump into smaller parallel microchannels (“Tree lines a” in Fig. 2a) (Pg. 121, Designing advanced capillary pumps, Para. 2; Figure 2). Figure 1 depicts an example of structures of the capillary pump in a top view (a) and the cross view (b) wherein the posts extend at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth. “Capillary pump” reads on capillary bed configuration, and connected or networked through channels that includes additional microfluidic features such as capillary force and positioned posts or columns to aide in controlling the pressure, flow and direction. The presence of “posts” read on a capillary bed structure comprising posts that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth. The presence of “lines” and “parallel microchannels” read on a capillary bed structure comprising columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann suggest wherein the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a capillary bed configuration that exerts a capillary force on the liquid sample that is greater than gravitational forces acting on the liquid sample, and wherein the capillary bed configuration of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth of the first lyophilized chamber module and/or the second lyophilized chamber module. Therefore, it would be prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sample preparation device comprising one or more lyophilized chambers and wherein one or more modules are fluidically connected to each other as taught by Glezer, Selden, and Jovanovich to further comprise a capillary bed configuration that exerts a capillary force on the liquid sample that is greater than gravitational forces acting on the liquid sample and wherein the capillary bed configuration comprises a plurality of posts and/or columns that extends at least a portion of the distance of a capillary bed depth as taught by Zimmermann in order to yield a predictable result according to the limitations of claim 1, as the prior art teaches a reasonable expectation of the success as described in the 103 rejection above . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments (Pg. 12-20) filed on 03/03/2026, with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12-19, and 22-24 do not apply to the new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glezer et al . (“Glezer” US Patent App. Pub. US 20120178091 A1, July 12, 2012) in view of Selden et al. (“Selden” US Patent App. Pub. US 20140370580 A1, December 18, 2014), Jovanovich et al. (“Jovanovich” WO Patent App. Pub. WO 2012024658 A2, February 12, 2012) and Zimmermann et al. (“Zimmermann”; (2007). Capillary pumps for autonomous capillary systems. Lab on a Chip , 7(1), 119-125.), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ocola et al. ("Ocola ", US Patent App. Pub. US 20120218857 A1, August 30, 2018) . The teachings of Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann are documented above in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12-19 and 22-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 5 depends on claim 1. Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Zimmermann do not explicitly teach wherein the first mixing module comprises one or more first mixing pools having an average depth from about 50 to about 600 microns. Ocola discloses a fluid mixer comprising a substrate defining channels having varying widths and depths. Regarding claim 5, Ocola teaches a device wherein a microfluidic mixer has a depth of 250 microns. (Para. 40) The term about is broad and thus the claimed range is encompassed by the depth taught by Ocola. Thus, Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich and Knapp teach a device wherein the first mixing module further comprises one or more first mixing pools, wherein the one or more first mixing pools have an average depth from about 50 to about 600 microns. Therefore, it would be prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sample preparation device comprising one or more lyophilized chambers, a PCR module, and mixing module as taught by Glezer , Selden , Jovanovich and Zimmermann to further comprise a mixing module comprising one or more mixing pools having an average depth from about 50 to about 600 microns as taught by Ocola in order to yield a predictable result of a mixing module comprising one or more mixing pools with similar functionality of defining the flow rate within the mixer. It would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to include a mixing pools to the mixing module of Glezer , Selden , Jovanovich and Zimmermann as Ocola teaches a reasonable expectation of more efficient mixing of fluids through the space provided to generate lateral and vertical changes in fluid flow within the pool(s) . Response to Arguments Applicants’ argument: “Claim 5 depends from claim I and is allowable as being dependent from an allowable claim. Ocola fails to overcome the deficiencies of Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich, and Knapp.” Response: Applicant's arguments, filed 03/03/2026, with regards to claim 5 have been fully considered but do not apply to the new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Glezer, Selden, Jovanovich, Zimmermann and Ocola. Conclusion of Response to Arguments In view of the amendments, new grounds of rejections and above responses to arguments are documented in this Final Office Action. No claims are in condition for allowance. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ghosh et al. (2020). A new microchannel capillary flow assay (MCFA) platform with lyophilized chemiluminescence reagents for a smartphone-based POCT detecting malaria. Microsystems & Nanoengineering, 6(1), 5. Lab chip, microfluidic components, lyophilization chambers and delay valves (Fig. 1) and micropillars (Fig. 6) – related to claims 1, 12 and 19 Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KENDRA R VANN-OJUEKAIYE whose telephone number is (571)270-7529. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 AM- 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Winston Shen can be reached at (571)272-3157. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENDRA R VANN-OJUEKAIYE/Examiner, Art Unit 1682 /WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682 Application/Control Number: 17/552,181 Page 2 Art Unit: 1682 Application/Control Number: 17/552,181 Page 3 Art Unit: 1682