DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5.9.2025 and subsequent voicemail from Justin Brask received on 7.15.2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the trench of claims 2 and 7 (note: where is said trench in elected Fig. 1O?) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 20210226020 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising:
a sub-fin (104N/104P) in a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (110, Fig. 2P-3);
a plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (108) over the sub-fin;
a gate dielectric material layer (154) surrounding the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires;
a gate electrode structure (156) over the gate dielectric material layer;
a confined epitaxial source or drain structure (132/142) at an end of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (Figs. 2P-1 and 2P-2); and
a dielectric anchor (112) laterally spaced apart from the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires and recessed into a first portion of the STI structure (Fig. 2P-3), the dielectric anchor in direct physical contact with the first portion of the STI structure, and the dielectric anchor having an uppermost surface below an uppermost surface of the confined epitaxial source or drain structure (Fig. 2P-1) and below an uppermost surface of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (Fig. 2P-3).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein a second portion of the STI structure (110) on a side of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (108) opposite the dielectric anchor (one anchor 112) has a trench therein (occupied by another anchor 112; Fig. 2P-3).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses an integrated circuit structure, comprising:
a fin (104N/104P/108) having a portion (108) protruding above a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (110, Figs. 2P-1 and 2P-3);
a gate dielectric material layer (154) over the protruding portion (108) of the fin;
a gate electrode structure (156) over the gate dielectric material layer;
a confined epitaxial source or drain structure (132/142) at an end of the fin (Fig. 2P-2); and
a dielectric anchor (112) laterally spaced apart from the fin and recessed into a first portion of the STI structure (110), the dielectric anchor in direct physical contact with the first portion of the STI structure (110), and the dielectric anchor having an uppermost surface below an uppermost surface of the confined epitaxial source or drain structure (Fig. 2P-1) and below an uppermost surface of the fin (Fig. 2P-3; see annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the integrated circuit structure of claim 6, wherein a second portion of the STI structure (110) on a side of the fin opposite the dielectric anchor (one 112) has a trench therein (occupied by another 112; Figs. 2P-1 and 2P-3).
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20210226020 A1) in view of Mehandru et al. (of record, US 20190252525 A1).
Regarding claims 11-15, Lin discloses (claim 11) a computing device, comprising:
a sub-fin (104N/104P) in a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (110, Fig. 2P-3);
a plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (108) over the sub-fin;
a gate dielectric material layer (154) surrounding the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires;
a gate electrode structure (156) over the gate dielectric material layer;
a confined epitaxial source or drain structure (132/142) at an end of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (Figs. 2P-1 and 2P-2); and
a dielectric anchor (112) laterally spaced apart from the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires and recessed into a first portion of the STI structure (Fig. 2P-3), the dielectric anchor in direct physical contact with the first portion of the STI structure, and the dielectric anchor having an uppermost surface below an uppermost surface of the confined epitaxial source or drain structure (Fig. 2P-1) and below an uppermost surface of the plurality of horizontally stacked nanowires (Fig. 2P-3; see figures annotated above).
Lin fails to disclose (claim 11) a board; and a component coupled to the board, the component including an integrated circuit structure, (claim 12) further comprising: a memory coupled to the board, (claim 13) further comprising: a communication chip coupled to the board, (claim 14) wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die, and, (claim 15) wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor, a communications chip, and a digital signal processor.
Mehandru discloses (claim 11) a board (2902, Fig. 29); and a component (2904/2906) coupled to the board, the component including an integrated circuit structure (inherent, [0140]), (claim 12) further comprising: a memory (e.g., DRAM) coupled to the board (2902, Fig. 29), (claim 13) further comprising: a communication chip (2906) coupled to the board (Fig. 29), (claim 14) wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die ([0140]), and, (claim 15) wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor, a communications chip, and a digital signal processor ([0137-0140], Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to include the arrangement of Mehandru in Lin and arrive at the claimed invention so as to provide an integrated computing device with diverse electronic devices for the purposes of creating, e.g., a consumer electronic product with multiple functions, e.g., a cell phone, and/or because the use of conventional elements (boards, components, memories, processors, communication chips, packages and digital signal processors) to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious and would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 16-20, Lin discloses a computing device, comprising:
a fin (104N/104P/108) having a portion (108) protruding above a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure (110, Figs. 2P-1 and 2P-3);
a gate dielectric material layer (154) over the protruding portion (108) of the fin;
a gate electrode structure (156) over the gate dielectric material layer;
a confined epitaxial source or drain structure (132/142) at an end of the fin (Fig. 2P-2); and
a dielectric anchor (112) laterally spaced apart from the fin and recessed into a first portion of the STI structure (110), the dielectric anchor in direct physical contact with the first portion of the STI structure (110), and the dielectric anchor having an uppermost surface below an uppermost surface of the confined epitaxial source or drain structure (Fig. 2P-1) and below an uppermost surface of the fin (Fig. 2P-3; see annotated figures above).
Lin fails to disclose (claim 16) a board; and a component coupled to the board, the component including an integrated circuit structure, (claim 17) further comprising: a memory coupled to the board, (claim 18) further comprising: a communication chip coupled to the board, (claim 19) wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die, and, (claim 20) wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor, a communications chip, and a digital signal processor.
Mehandru discloses (claim 16) a board (2902, Fig. 29); and a component (2904/2906) coupled to the board, the component including an integrated circuit structure (inherent, [0140]), (claim 17) further comprising: a memory (e.g., DRAM) coupled to the board (2902, Fig. 29), (claim 18) further comprising: a communication chip (2906) coupled to the board (Fig. 29), (claim 19) wherein the component is a packaged integrated circuit die ([0140]), and, (claim 20) wherein the component is selected from the group consisting of a processor, a communications chip, and a digital signal processor ([0137-0140], Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to include the arrangement of Mehandru in Lin and arrive at the claimed invention so as to provide an integrated computing device with diverse electronic devices for the purposes of creating, e.g., a consumer electronic product with multiple functions, e.g., a cell phone, and/or because the use of conventional elements (boards, components, memories, processors, communication chips, packages and digital signal processors) to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious and would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Andres Munoz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818