DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10-11, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. ('955) in view of Kang et al. (U.S. 2016/0192490).
Regarding to claim 1, Morimoto discloses an electronic package (semiconductor
device, para-0055, line 1) as shown in figures 1-11, comprising:
a core (L2) with a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom
surface), wherein the core comprises glass (silicon oxide = silica, para-0061+);
a first buildup layer (L3, L4) over the first surface of the core;
a second buildup layer (L1, 7, 1) under the second surface of the core;
a via (not label, the via is formed where the element W2, P2 are conductor filled
in, hereafter V) through the core (L2) between the first and second surfaces of the core;
and
a recess (not label, the recess is formed where the metal film 9 filled in, hereafter
R) into the first surface of the core and filled with a metal (9, para-0061), wherein a
width of the recess (R) is greater than a width of the via (V), and wherein the metal (9)
has an uppermost surface at a same level as the first surface of the core (L2), see
figure 3.
Morimoto does not specifically disclose the via has a width at the first surface of the core the same as a width at the second surface of the core, and a pad over the first surface of the core and on the via, the pad having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via at an interface between the pad and the via.
Kang teaches a printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2 comprising the via (245) has a width at the first surface of the core (210) the same as a width at the second surface of the core, and a pad (243, para-0057) over the first surface of the core and on the via (245), the pad (243) having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via (245) at an interface between the pad and the via.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto in order to ensure a reliable internal electrical connection between different layers of the PCB, particularly when there might be slight misalignment between layers due to manufacturing tolerances, or to improve the electrical connection between different layers of the board by providing a wider surface area for plating at the top and bottom of the hole, while maintaining a smaller diameter in the middle to minimize the amount of space taken up between layers; essentially optimizing signal transmission and reducing potential for signal interference by minimizing the "stub" length of the via where the signal transitions between layers.
As to claim 10, Morimoto discloses a method of forming an electronic package
(the semiconductor device) as shown in figures 1-11 comprising:
providing a core (L2), wherein the core is a glass substrate (silicon oxide, para-
0061+) with a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface);
exposing the first surface and the second surface with a laser (using BEOL, Black End of the Line, process, i.e. ablation) to form exposed regions, wherein the exposed regions comprise:
a plane region (9); and
a via region (W2, P2);
etching (para-0066+) the exposed regions to form a plane opening (not label, the
recess is formed where the metal film 9 filled in, hereafter R) and a via opening (not
label, the via is formed where the element W2, P2 are conductor filled in, hereafter V);
and filling the plane opening (W2, P2) and the via opening (9) with a conductive
material to form a plane and a via, wherein the plane has an uppermost surface at a
same level as the first surface of the core (L2), figure 3.
Morimoto does not specifically disclose the via has a width at the first surface of the core the same as a width at the second surface of the core, and a pad over the first surface of the core and on the via, the pad having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via at an interface between the pad and the via.
Kang teaches a printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2 comprising the via (245) has a width at the first surface of the core (210) the same as a width at the second surface of the core, and a pad (243, para-0057) over the first surface of the core and on the via (245), the pad (243) having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via (245) at an interface between the pad and the via.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto in order to ensure a reliable internal electrical connection between different layers of the PCB, particularly when there might be slight misalignment between layers due to manufacturing tolerances, or to improve the electrical connection between different layers of the board by providing a wider surface area for plating at the top and bottom of the hole, while maintaining a smaller diameter in the middle to minimize the amount of space taken up between layers; essentially optimizing signal transmission and reducing potential for signal interference by minimizing the "stub" length of the via where the signal transitions between layers.
Regarding claims 3, 13-14, Morimoto discloses all the limitations of claimed
invention except for the via comprises tapered sidewalls or an hourglass shaped cross-
section.
Kang teaches the printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2
comprising the via (245) comprises tapered sidewalls or an hourglass shaped cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto in order to ensure a reliable electrical connection between different layers of
the PCB, particularly when there might be slight misalignment between layers due to
manufacturing tolerances, or to improve the electrical connection between different
layers of the board by providing a wider surface area for plating at the top and bottom of
the hole, while maintaining a smaller diameter in the middle to minimize the amount of
space taken up between layers; essentially optimizing signal transmission and reducing
potential for signal interference by minimizing the "stub" length of the via where the
signal transitions between layers.
As to claim 4, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses in figure 3 that a top
surface of the recess (R) is substantially coplanar with the first surface (top surface) of
the core (L2).
Regarding claim 5, Morimoto discloses all the limitations of claimed invention
except for a surface metal over the recess on the first surface of the core.
Kang teaches the printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2 comprising a surface metal (247) over the recess (the recess in the circuit layer 233) on the first surface of the core.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
As to claim 11, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses the plane region (9) is
formed by exposing only the first surface of the core, and wherein the via region (W2,
P2) is formed by exposing the first surface of the core and the second surface of the
core (L2).
As to claim 15, Morimoto as modified by Hibino discloses the width of the plane (9 or R) is greater than the width of the via (V).
Regarding claim 17, Morimoto discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except for the via is a high speed I/O via.
Kang teaches the via (245) is a high speed I/O via.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Regarding claims 18-19, Morimoto discloses all the limitations of claimed
invention except for a metal layer over the plane on the first surface of the core, and
a second pad below the via.
Kang teaches a printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2
comprising a surface metal (247) over the recess (the recess where the element 233 formed in) on the first surface of the core; and a second pad (243) below the via (245).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Claim(s) 2, 7-9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of Kang, and further in view of Hibino all references cited in the record.
Regarding claims 2, 12, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except for the recess or plane comprises tapered sidewalls.
Hibino teaches a printed circuit board (10) as shown in figures 2-7 comprising a glass core substrate (30) having the recess or plane (26a) comprises tapered sidewalls.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hibino employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto and Kang in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Regarding claim 7, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except for a plurality of recesses into the first surface of the core, wherein the plurality of recesses are substantially parallel to each other.
Hibino teaches the core (30) having a plurality of recesses (26 or 38A) into the
first surface of the core, wherein the plurality of recesses (26 or 38A) are substantially parallel to each other, see figure 2E.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hibino employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto and Kang in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Regarding claim 8, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except for a second plurality of recesses into the second surface of the core, wherein the second plurality of recesses are interdigitated with the plurality of recesses.
Hibino teaches the core (30) having a second plurality of recesses (26b or 38B)
into the second surface of the core, wherein the plurality of recesses (26b or 38B) are
interdigitated with the plurality of recesses, see figure 2E.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hibino employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto and Kang in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Regarding claim 9, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except for the plurality of recesses are coupled together by a first metal layer on the first surface of the core, and wherein the second plurality of recesses are coupled together by a second metal layer on the second surface of the core.
Hibino teaches the core (30) having the plurality of recesses (38A) are coupled
together by a first metal layer (34A) on the first surface of the core, and wherein the
second plurality of recesses (38B) are coupled together by a second metal layer (34B)
on the second surface of the core.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hibino employed in the electronic package of Morimoto and Kang in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Morimoto in view of Kang, and further in view of Won et al. (U.S. 2006/0157766).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Morimoto as modified by Kang discloses all the
limitations of claimed invention except for the recess or plane extends past a midpoint of
the core in a thickness direction.
Won teaches a glass core (230, para-0070+) comprising the recess or plane
(219) extends past a midpoint of the core (230) in a thickness direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Won employed in the electronic package of
Morimoto and Kang in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Claim(s) 20-21 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai ('470) in view of Morimoto ('955), and further in view of Kang, all references cited in the record.
As to claim 20, Arai discloses an electronic package (10) as shown in figures 2-
12, comprising:
a core (11) with a first surface (11b) and a second surface (11a), wherein the
core is a glass substrate;
a first buildup layer (16, 18, 20) over the first surface of the core;
a second buildup layer (21, 23, 25) under the second surface of the core;
power delivery features (13, 14) embedded within a thickness of the core (11),
wherein the power delivery features (13, 14) comprise a plurality of conductive
planes (ground/power planes, and wherein the metal power delivery features (13, 14) having an uppermost surface; and a via (15 or 11z) through a thickness of the core (11).
Arai does not specifically disclose the metal power delivery features having an
uppermost surface at the same level as the first surface of the core.
Morimoto teaches the semiconductor device (para-0055) comprising a core (L2)
having a metal power delivery feature (9, para-0061+) having an uppermost surface,
figure 3, at the same level as the first surface of the core (L2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Morimoto employed in the electronic package
of Arai in order to provide stabilizing potential power supply structures for the electronic
package.
Arai and Morimoto do not specifically disclose the via has a width at the first surface of the core the same as a width at the second surface of the core and a pad over the first surface of the core and on the via, the pad having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via at an interface between the pad and the via.
Kang teaches a printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2 comprising the via (245) has a width at the first surface of the core (210) the same as a width at the second surface of the core, and a pad (243, para-0057) over the first surface of the core and on the via (245), the pad (243) having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via (245) at an interface between the pad and the via.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Kang employed in the electronic package of
Arai and Morimoto in order to ensure a reliable internal electrical connection between different layers of the PCB, particularly when there might be slight misalignment between layers due to manufacturing tolerances, or to improve the electrical connection between different layers of the board by providing a wider surface area for plating at the top and bottom of the hole, while maintaining a smaller diameter in the middle to minimize the amount of space taken up between layers; essentially optimizing signal transmission and reducing potential for signal interference by minimizing the "stub" length of the via where the signal transitions between layers.
Regarding to claim 21, Arai as modified by Morimoto and Kang discloses the
plurality of conductive planes (13, 14) extend into the first surface (11a) of the core, and
wherein the plurality of conductive planes (13, 14) do not pass entirely through the
thickness of the core.
Regarding claim 23, Arai as modified by Morimoto and Kang, Kang teaches
the via (245) comprises tapered sidewalls or an hourglass shaped cross-section.
As to claim 24, Arai discloses an electronic system as shown in figures 2-12,
comprising:
a board (mount board or motherboard, not illustrated, para-0059+);
a package substrate (10) coupled to the board (the electrode pads 24 are
connected to the motherboard),
wherein the package substrate (10) comprises:
a core (11) with a first surface (11a) and a second surface (11b), wherein the
core comprises glass (para-0002, 0029):
a first buildup layer (16, 18, 20) over the first surface of the core;
a second buildup layer (21, 23, 25) under the second surface of the core;
a via through (15) the core between the first surface of the core and the second
surface of the core; and a plane (13 or 14) into the first surface of the core,
wherein a width of the plane (13 or 14) is greater than a width of the via (15), and
a die (semiconductor chip, para-0055, not illustrated) coupled to the package
substrate (10).
Arai does not specifically disclose the plane has an uppermost surface at the
same level as the first surface of the core.
Morimoto teaches the semiconductor device (para-0055) comprising a core (L2)
having a plane (9, para-0061+) having an uppermost surface, figure 3, at the same level
as the first surface of the core (L2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Morimoto employed in the electronic package
of Arai in order to provide stabilizing potential power supply structures for the electronic
package.
Arai and Morimoto do not specifically disclose the via has a width at the first surface of the core the same as a width at the second surface of the core and a pad over the first surface of the core and on the via, the pad having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via at an interface between the pad and the via.
Kang teaches a printed circuit board (para-0053) as shown in figure 2 comprising the via (245) has a width at the first surface of the core (210) the same as a width at the second surface of the core, and a pad (243, para-0057) over the first surface of the core and on the via (245), the pad (243) having a lateral width greater than a lateral width of the via (245) at an interface between the pad and the via.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hibino employed in the electronic package of
Arai and Morimoto in order to ensure a reliable internal electrical connection between different layers of the PCB, particularly when there might be slight misalignment between layers due to manufacturing tolerances, or to improve the electrical connection between different layers of the board by providing a wider surface area for plating at the top and bottom of the hole, while maintaining a smaller diameter in the middle to minimize the amount of space taken up between layers; essentially optimizing signal transmission and reducing potential for signal interference by minimizing the "stub" length of the via where the signal transitions between layers.
Claim(s) 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of Morimoto and Kang, and further in view of Hibino all references cited in the record.
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Arai as modified by Morimoto and Kang discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except for the recess or plane comprises tapered
sidewalls.
Hibino teaches a multilayer printed circuit board (10) as shown in figures 2-7
comprising a glass core substrate (30) having the recess or plane (26a) comprises
tapered sidewalls.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Hibino employed in the electronic package of
Arai and Morimoto and Kang in order to provide excellent electrical bonding connections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but
are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in
the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the
argument.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847