DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 10 – 15 and 17 – 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BIDDLE et al. (US 20130056253 A1, “BIDDLE”) in view of Bajorek et al. (US 4349862 A)
Regarding claim 1, BIDDLE discloses (Fig. 1, 6, 8 and 9) an electronic package, comprising: a core, wherein the core comprises glass (See para [00[53]); a first via (1a, 1b, or 1g) vertically through the core; a first fin that extends out laterally from the first via; a second via (1a, 1b, or 1g) vertically through the core; and a second fin that extends out laterally from the second via, wherein the first fin and the second fin are laterally between the first via and the second via, and wherein a face of the first fin laterally overlaps with a face of the second fin (see annotated figure below).
BIDDLE is silent on wherein the first fin and the second fin are laterally between the first via and the second via
However, Bajorek discloses (Fig. 6.1) wherein the first fin (325) and the second fin (324’) are laterally between the first via and the second via (Fig. 6.1)
BIDDLE and Bajorek are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vias structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BIDDLE to incorporate the teachings of Bajorek and provide wherein the first fin (325) and the second fin (324’) are laterally between the first via and the second via (Fig. 6.1). Doing so would provide a capacitive element (See Col. 5, Lines: 55 - 62)
Regarding claim 2, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the first fin has a height that is smaller than a height of the first via (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 3, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 2, wherein the first fin has a top surface substantially coplanar with a top surface of the first via, and a bottom surface that is above a bottom surface of the first via (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 4, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 2, wherein the second fin has the height (See BIDDLE Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 4, wherein a top surface of the first fin is substantially coplanar with a top surface of the second fin (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 10, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein BIDDLE further discloses the first via and the second via are part of single ended signaling interfaces (see para [0010] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, BIDDLE (Fig. 1, 6, 8 and 9) discloses an electronic package, comprising: a substrate with a first surface and a second surface opposite from the first surface, wherein the substrate comprises glass (para [0053]); a first via (1a, 1b, or 1g) vertically through the substrate from the first surface to the second surface; a first fin extending laterally out from the via; a second via (1a, 1b, or 1g) vertically through the substrate from the first surface to the second surface; and a second fin extending laterally out from the second via, wherein the first fin and the second fin are laterally between the first via and the second via, and wherein a face of the first fin laterally overlaps with a face of the second fin (see annotated figure below).
BIDDLE is silent on wherein the first fin and the second fin are laterally between the first via and the second via
However, Bajorek discloses (Fig. 6.1) wherein the first fin (325) and the second fin (324’) are laterally between the first via and the second via (Fig. 6.1)
BIDDLE and Bajorek are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vias structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BIDDLE to incorporate the teachings of Bajorek and provide wherein the first fin (325) and the second fin (324’) are laterally between the first via and the second via (Fig. 6.1). Doing so would provide a capacitive element (See Col. 5, Lines: 55 - 62)
Regarding claim 12, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 11, wherein a thickness of the first fin is less than a diameter of the first via (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 13, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 11, wherein a length of the first fin is greater than a diameter of the first via (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 14, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 11, wherein BIDDLE further discloses a top surface of the first fin is substantially coplanar with the first surface of the substrate (se Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 15, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 11, wherein a height of the first fin is less than a height of the first via (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 17, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 11, wherein the first via is part of a single ended signaling interface (see para [0010] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 11, further comprising: a first pad over the first via on the first surface of the substrate; and a second pad under the first via on the second surface of the substrate (see annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BIDDLE et al. (US 20130056253 A1, “BIDDLE”) in view of Bajorek et al. (US 4349862 A) and LIU et al. (US 20110094786 A1, “LIU”).
Regarding claim 6, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek discloses the electronic package of claim 2,
BIDDEL in view of Bajorek is silent on wherein the second fin has a height that is different than the height of the first fin.
However, LIU discloses (Fig. 1) to disclose wherein the second fin has a height that is different than the height of the first fin (see annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BIDDLE in view of Bajorek to incorporate the teachings of LIU and provide wherein the second fin has a height that is different than the height of the first fin (see figure above) . Doing so would provide design flexibility, improved signal integrity and tailored performance for high-speed electronic packages.
Claim(s) 24 – 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BIDDLE et al. (US 20130056253 A1, “BIDDLE”) in view of Bajorek et al. (US 4349862 A) and ELSHERBINI et al. (US 20200273839 A1).
Regarding claim 24, BIDDLE (Fig. 1, 6, 8 and 9) discloses an electronic system, comprising: a board; a package substrate coupled to the board, wherein a single ended signaling interface is provided in the package substrate (See abstract), wherein the single ended signaling interface comprises: a first via (1a, 1b, or 1g) vertically through a package core (para [0053]); a first fin extending laterally out from the first via; a second via (1a, 1b, or 1g) vertically through the package core; a second fin extending laterally out from the second via, wherein the first fin and the second fin are laterally between the first via and the second via, and wherein a surface of the second fin laterally overlaps with a surface of the first fin (see annotated figure below);
BIDDLE is silent on wherein the first fin and the second fin are laterally between the first via and the second via
However, Bajorek discloses (Fig. 6.1) wherein the first fin (325) and the second fin (324’) are laterally between the first via and the second via (Fig. 6.1)
BIDDLE and Bajorek are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vias structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BIDDLE to incorporate the teachings of Bajorek and provide wherein the first fin (325) and the second fin (324’) are laterally between the first via and the second via (Fig. 6.1). Doing so would provide a capacitive element (See Col. 5, Lines: 55 - 62)
BIDDLE in view of Bajorek is silent on a die coupled to the package substrate.
However, ELSHERBINI discloses (Fig. 1) a die (114-3, 114-4) coupled to the package substrate (100).
BIDDLE in view of Bajorek and ELSHERBINI are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DIBBLE in view of Bajorek to incorporate the teachings of ELSHERBINI and provide a die (114-3, 114-4) coupled to the package substrate (100). Doing so would provide mechanical stability and to facilitate connection to other components, such as circuit boards (para [0001]).
Regarding claim 25, BIDDLE in view of Bajorek and ELSHERBINI discloses the electronic system of claim 24, wherein the first fin is at a top of the first via, and wherein the second fin is at a top of the second via (see annotated figure below).
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847