DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-29 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 15, 21, and 23 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues –
With respect to "an application programming interface ("API") call comprising a flag indicative of enabling seamless cubemap filtering of one or more three-dimensional (3D) graphics objects to be created in response to the API call," the Office cites OpenGL's "TEXTURE_CUBE_ MAPSEAMLESS." Office Action at p. 6. The cited portion of OpenGL recites "[w]hen sampling from cube map textures, a three-dimensional texture coordinate is used to select one of the cube map faces and generate a two dimensional texture coordinate (s t), at which a texel is sampled from the determined face of the cube map texture," and that "[t]his new (s t) is used to find a texture value in the determined face's two-dimensional texture image using the rules given in sections 3.8.7 through 3.8.9." OpenGL at pp. 1-2. OpenGL also recitesPage 8 of 12
"[s]eamless cube map filtering is enabled or disabled by calling Enable or Disable, respectively, with the symbolic constant TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS." OpenGL at p. 2.
However, OpenGL 's symbolic constant TEXTURECUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS is not disclosed as a flag included in an API call that creates one or more 3D graphics objects, where the flag controls whether seamless cubemap filtering is applied to the one or more 3D graphics objects created in response to the API call as recited in claim 1. Rather, OpenGL describes TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS as a global enable/disable state set via "Enable or Disable" and that "[t]he required state is one bit indicating whether seamless cube map filtering is enabled or disabled." OpenGL at p. 2. OpenGL also recites that TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS "does not apply per dimension, but rather to a texture as a whole" and is a "global state." Id. Accordingly, OpenGL 's TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS is a global state that applies to all cube map filtering operations, rather than a flag included in an API call that controls whether seamless cubemap filtering is applied selectively to specific 3D graphics objects created in response to that API call containing the flag.
Therefore, OpenGL does not disclose, teach, or suggest "an application programming interface ("API") call comprising a flag indicative of enabling seamless cubemap filtering of one or more three-dimensional (3D) graphics objects to be created in response to the API call," and "wherein the seamless cubemap filtering is not applied to one or more other objects created in response to the API call without the flag being set," as recited in claim 1. Neither Kim nor Cubemap cures these deficiencies.
For at least the reasons discussed above, Applicant respectfully submits that the proposed combination of Kim, Cubemap, and OpenGL, does not teach such subject matter as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, for at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Kim in view of Cubemap and OpenGL. Withdrawal of the pending rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is, therefore, respectfully requested.
[See applicant’s response of 8/3/2026]
The above arguments can potentially be summarized in three points raised by the applicant –
OpenGL 's symbolic constant TEXTURECUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS is not disclosed as a flag included in an API call
OpenGL does not disclose, teach, or suggest "an application programming interface ("API") call comprising a flag indicative of enabling seamless cubemap filtering of one or more three-dimensional (3D) graphics objects to be created in response to the API call
TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS "does not apply per dimension, but rather to a texture as a whole" and is a "global state." Id. Accordingly, OpenGL 's TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS is a global state that applies to all cube map filtering operations, rather than a flag included in an API call that controls whether seamless cubemap filtering is applied selectively to specific 3D graphics objects created in response to that API call containing the flag.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and conclusions drawn therefrom. Examiner’s response is provided below in a tabular format. Important to note here that, Examiner has changed previously used OpenGL API function “ARB_seamless_cube_map” published on July 3, 2009, with a newer OpenGL API version thereof, named as “ ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture”, published on
June 3, 2013. The newer version tackles few of the issues raised by Applicant, primarily pertaining to Global state of the earlier API.
Argument
Response
OpenGL 's symbolic constant TEXTURECUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS is not disclosed as a flag included in an API call
OpenGL API, either previous one GL_ARB_seamless_cube_map, or newly relied on GL_ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture
Supports API call having a parameter that functions as a flag controlling seamless cubemap filtering. The API extension includes token GL_TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS, which allows it to be used with OpenGL texture/sampler parameter.
However, OpenGL 's symbolic constant TEXTURECUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS is not disclosed as a flag included in an API call that creates one or more 3D graphics objects
API call that creates one or more Cubemap graphics objects is disclosed in the base paper Kim et al. (US 20160300381 A1). See fig. 6, where OpenGL is used as API to create graphics objects (The GPU calls an API 430 with regard to the nodes G1, G3, G4 and G5 of the graphic layer tree 420, and the results from process by the call of the API 430 are respectively loaded to textures T1, T3, T4 and T5 of the video memory 440, ¶0134;
On the other hand, the call of the API 470, rendering of the texture and display of an image are performed by the GPU, ¶0146;
Graphics object could be 3D graphics object like Cubemap, ¶210-0213; fig. 21). Thus, when graphics objects are created using OpenGL API, the flag can also be inserted therein as an obvious extension which enables/disables seams on the created graphics objects based on the flag set on API GL_ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture
TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS "does not apply per dimension, but rather to a texture as a whole" and is a "global state." Id. Accordingly, OpenGL 's TEXTURECUBEMAPSEAMLESS is a global state that applies to all cube map filtering operations, rather than a flag included in an API call that controls whether seamless cubemap filtering is applied selectively to specific 3D graphics objects created in response to that API call containing the flag
This portions of the argument appears partially persuasive. That is the reason Examiner is now relying on the later version of OpenGL cubemap seamless,
GL_ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture
The overview portion states –
However, in ARB_seamless_cube_map, this feature was exposed as a global state, affecting all bound cube map textures. It was not possible to mix seamless and per-face cube map sampling modes during sampling. Furthermore, if an application included cube maps that were meant to be sampled seamlessly and non-seamlessly, it would have to track this state and enable or disable seamless cube map sampling as needed.
For further details see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over et al. (US 20160300381 A1, hereinafter Kim) in view of UnityCubemap (Unity Cubemap API documentation is attached herein, which is retrieved from https://docs.unity3d.com/2020.3/Documentation/ScriptReference/Cubemap.html.
Citations are given from version 2020.3 released in 2020) and further in view of OpenGL (OpenGL documentation about CubeMap sampling, called
ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture published on 6/3/2013, registry.khronos.org/OpenGL/extensions/ARB/ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture.txt; hereinafter OpenGL).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, if performed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to (Abstract, ¶0238) at least:
in response to, an application programming interface ("API") call comprising a
The GPU calls an API 430 with regard to the nodes G1, G3, G4 and G5 of the graphic layer tree 420, and the results from process by the call of the API 430 are respectively loaded to textures T1, T3, T4 and T5 of the video memory 440, ¶0134.
On the other hand, the call of the API 470, rendering of the texture and display of an image are performed by the GPU, ¶0146.
Graphics object could be 3D graphics object like Cubemap, ¶210-0213); and
Kim is not found disclosing explicitly the limitation of ("API") call comprising a flag indicative of enabling seamless cubemap filtering of the created 3D graphics objects in response to API call, and apply seamless cubemap filtering on a texture of the one or more 3D graphics objects based, at least in part, on a flag being set in the API, the flag indicating that the seamless cubemap filtering should be applied to the texture of the one or more 3D graphics objects created in response to the API call.
However, UnityCubemap discloses scripting API provided by Unity Engine, wherein a cubemap 3D graphics object and/or asset to be instantiated in a graphics application. Cubemap scripting API function allows creating and modifying the features to create, e.g., a seamless cubemap. E.g., see figure 1, where the description reads Class for handling cube maps, Use this to create or modify existing cube map assets. For example, public Method SmoothEdges discloses, performs smoothing of near edge regions (see figure 2 below).
OpenGL on the other hand discloses that in unextended OpenGL, cube maps are treated as sets of six, independent texture images. Once a face is selected from the set, it is treated exactly as any other two-dimensional texture would be. When sampling linearly from the texture, all of the individual texels that would be used to create the final, bilinear sample values are taken from the same cube face. The normal, two-dimensional texture coordinate wrapping modes are honored. This sometimes causes seams to appear in cube maps.ARB_seamless_cube_map (and subsequently, OpenGL 3.2) addresses this issue by providing a mechanism whereby an implementation could take each of the taps of a bilinear sample from a different face, spanning face boundaries and providing seamless filtering from cube map textures. However, in ARB_seamless_cube_map, this feature was exposed as a global state, affecting all bound cube map textures. It was not possible to mix seamless and per-face cube map sampling modes during sampling. Furthermore, if an application included cube maps that were meant to be sampled seamlessly and non-seamlessly, it would have to track this state and enable or disable seamless cube map sampling as needed. This extension addresses this issue and provides an orthogonal method for allowing an implementation to provide a per-texture setting for enabling seamless sampling from cube maps.
TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS functions as a flag, enabling a specific texture unit by setting the TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS sampler parameter to TRUE for the sampler object bound to that texture unit (or for the texture object itself, if no sampler object is bound).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to instantiate and/or implement the cubemap 3D graphics object of Kim (Kim ¶0210-0213), in a graphics application like a game (see ¶0007 of Kim, ‘For example, there is a 3D graphic object generally applied to a game or the like’), according to the API support (see Kim ¶0134, API includes OpenGL extension see fig. 6, item 351, ¶0096) using the UnityEngine’s scripting API support provided for Cubemap graphics object such that filtering can be applied on the cubemap object using SmoothEdges scripting API interface available under the public method, API further including seamless cubemapping approach to the texture of the 3d graphics object according to TEXTURE_CUBE_MAP_SEAMLESS of OPENGL functioning as a flag passed as parameter to the OpenGL/Unity3D call when 3d Graphics are created, to obtain, ("API") call comprising a flag indicative of enabling seamless cubemap filtering of the created 3D graphics objects in response to API call, and apply seamless cubemap filtering on a texture of the one or more 3D graphics objects based, at least in part, on a flag being set in the API, the flag indicating that the seamless cubemap filtering should be applied to the texture of the one or more 3D graphics objects created in response to the API call, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the versatility of the overall system.
Figure 1 – Cubemap graphic object scripting API interface provided under UnityEngine
Figure 2 – SmoothEdges public method of API interface allows performing smoothing of the near edge regions of cubemap 3D graphics objects instantiated withing a graphics application
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the one or more 3D graphics objects comprises a seamless cubemap and a parameter to the API indicates that one or more filters are to be applied to the seamless cubemap (See OpenGL reference provided above. Also, see smoothEdges method of Unity3d, according to figure 1, where the description reads
Figure 3 – SmoothEdges public method API provides affordances to implement edge smoothening (understood as filtering) up until a gives pixel distances from the cube edges.
Class for handling cube maps, Use this to create or modify existing cube map assets. Public method SmoothEdges disclose, Performs smoothing of near edge regions, which is understood as method for creating seamless cubemap having smooth edges. See following figure 2, for Public Methods. Also see fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein application of the seamless cubemap filtering to the one or more 3D graphics objects is enabled by a Boolean variable value provided as a parameter to the API (See OpenGL documentation provided above.
Also see Unity3D documentation for, Boolean variable ‘bool’, != and == are included in an API function which enables creation and modification of the Cubemap object. See fig. 4).
Fig. 4 – Unity 3D Operator for cubemap
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein one or more filters are applied to the one or more 3D graphics objects created (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, the scripting API provides public method interfaces called “SmoothEdges” which applies smoothing filtering along the seams or edges of the created Cubemap 3D object created by performance of the scripting API provided under UnityEngine. See combination of references in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein creation of the one or more 3D graphics objects and an indication of one or more filters occurs in response to an individual invocation of the API (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, this limitation is understood met, since when instantiation of the Cubemap through scripting API is made with proper arguments, the 3D cubemap class is constructed first according to the constructor method and modified as well using the passed on arguments provided in the API interface).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further to apply one or more filters specifically to the one or more 3D graphics objects created (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, since public method “SmoothEdges” is part of Cubemap Class instantiated and later updated by API the smoothening function can be applied to the specific cubemap graphics object and/or asset created under the three-dimensional (3D) graphics objects generated by the scripting API provided under UnityEngine).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein creation of the one or more 3D graphics objects and an indication of one or more filters is enabled by the flag provided as a parameter to the API (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, this limitation is understood met, since when instantiation of the Cubemap API is made with proper arguments, the 3D cubemap class is constructed first according to the constructor and modified as well using the passed on arguments provided in the AP interface - ‘hideflag’ is used as a flag that is contained in API when instantiated with this argument enabled. See fig. 4 for ‘hideflag’ method).
Regarding claim 8 although wording is different, the material is considered significantly similar to claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: the one or more 3D graphics objects comprise a seam, and an application of one or more filters makes the seam appear nonexistent (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, figure 1, where the description reads Class for handling cube maps, Use this to create or modify existing cube map assets. Public method SmoothEdges disclose, Performs smoothing of near edge regions, which is understood as method for creating seamless cubemap having smooth edges. See following figure 2, for Public Methods. Also see fig. 3 below. Since edge seams are smoothed, it is understood that seams appear nonexistent).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: including a Boolean variable within a set of Boolean variables for the API to control creation and modification of features of the one or more 3D graphics objects (
See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, Boolean variable ‘bool’, != and == are included in an API function which enables creation and modification of the Cubemap object. See fig. 4 above. A set of Boolean variable is understood met in implementation where multiple cubemaps are instantiated and/or created).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: the applying seamless cubemap filtering is not globally applied (since the API call is directed for 3d graphics objects, it is not Globally applied to the entire scene, and rather is applied only to the 3d graphics objects created through the API call).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: setting parameters for the one or more objects includes setting parameters for the generating of the one or more 3D graphics objects and the applying of the seamless cubemap filtering (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, Cubemap AP interface provides multiple parameters [e.g., height, width, wrapmode … etc.] settable for the generating of the one or more 3D graphics Cubemap objects, and “SmoothEdge” public method API indicates that the one or more filters are to be applied to the one or more 3D graphics Cubemap objects features. See figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the API enables the application of the seamless cubemap filtering to the one or more 3D graphics objects (Cubemap API enables the application of the one or more filters to the one or more 3D graphics Cubemap objects through SmoothEdges public method interface).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: the applying seamless cubemap filtering is optionally applied on a per texture basis (texture call creates the cubemap object capable of applying cubemap filtering therein, therefore, it is understood that seamless cubemap filtering is optionally applied on a per texture basis).
Regarding claim 15 although wording is different, the material is considered significantly similar to claim 1 as discussed above (Processor is disclosed in Kim abstract and ¶009-017, fig. 3 CPU and/or GPU).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein: the one or more 3D graphics objects comprise texels (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, Cubemap inherits from “Texture” class, and thus all texture elements are understood as texels),
one or more features of the one or more 3D graphics objects is a seam (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, as API creates cubemap, the intersection of sides meet in a seam), and
creation and modification of the seam uses at least one texel from adjacent faces of texels that meet at the seam (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, ‘smoothEdges’ methods performs smoothing of near edge regions, which is understood as meeting the limitation. See figs. 1-3 above).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein:
the circuitry reads a variable included in an API function to control creation and modification of one or more features of the one or more 3D graphics objects (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, ‘bool’ variable included in an API function that creates cubemap, can also be used to control the creation and modification of the features).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein: the circuitry creates and modifies one or more features for each of the one or more 3D graphics objects (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, each instance of the cubemap creates and modifies features of each of the 3D graphics respectively).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein: the API receives parameters for generating one or more features of the one or more 3D graphics objects (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, this limitation is understood met, since when instantiation of the Cubemap API is made with proper arguments/parameters, the 3D cubemap class is constructed first according to the constructor and modified as well using the passed on arguments/parameters provided in the AP interface).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein:
the circuitry reads the flag to control a feature indicating that one or more filters are to be applied to features of the one or more 3D graphics object (See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, this limitation is understood met, since when instantiation of the Cubemap API is made with proper arguments, the 3D cubemap class is constructed first according to the constructor and modified as well using the passed on arguments provided in the AP interface - ‘hideflag’ is used as a flag that is contained in API when instantiated with this argument enabled. See fig. 4 for ‘hideflag’ method).
Regarding claim 21 although wording is different, the material is considered significantly similar to claims 1, and/or 15 as discussed above (system is shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: one of the one or more 3D graphics objects is a mimapped cubemap (see Properties section, e.g. ‘desiredMipmapLevel’ and other properties in fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 25, Kim in view of UnityCubemap discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: an application of one or more filters comprises seamless cubemapping and occurs in response to a flag received by the API (see OpenGL documentation above).
Regarding claim 27, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGl discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: the API causes seamless cubemapping to be performed with a specific graphics object filtering mode set by the API (specific graphics object filtering mode set in the API is understood implemented in method smoothEdges; that performs seamless cubemapping).
Regarding claim 28, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein: an application of one or more filters comprises seamless cubemapping and occurs in response to a flag received by the API(See OpenGL documentation provided above. Also see Unity3D documentation for, this limitation is understood met, since when instantiation of the Cubemap API is made with proper arguments, the 3D cubemap class is constructed first according to the constructor and modified as well using the passed on arguments provided in the AP interface - ‘hideflag’ is used as a flag that is contained in API when instantiated with this argument enabled. See fig. 4 for ‘hideflag’ method).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL and further in view of Ren et al. (US 20140267346 A1, hereinafter Ren).
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: the one or more 3D graphics objects comprise texels (Cubemap inherits from “Texture” class, and thus all texture elements are understood as texels), the one or more 3D graphics objects comprise a seam (As API creates cubemap, the intersection of sides meet in a seam), the generation of the one or more 3D graphics objects and the indication that the one or more filters are to be applied to the one or more 3D graphics objects of uses (see figure 1, where the description reads Class for handling cube maps, Use this to create or modify existing cube map assets. Public method SmoothEdges disclose, Performs smoothing of near edge regions, which is understood as method for creating seamless cubemap having smooth edges. See following figure 2, for Public Methods. Also see fig. 3 below) an average of at least two texel values from at least adjacent faces of texels that meet at the seam.
Kim in view of UnityCubemap is not found disclosing expressly that the smoothening at the edge of the cubemap object is probably done through averaging the pixel or texels around the edge seam (see fig. 3 above). However, the operational details of the pixel/texel smoothening is not described expressly the Unity manual.
Nevertheless, Ren discloses that the color of this texel is usually the average color of the original texture tile, which introduces the seam artifact as the color is different from the border color of the original texture tile (¶0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to implement the smoothening operation of the seam in UnityEngine using averaging of the texel values around the seam as disclosed by Ren, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Claims 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL and further in view of OpenGL and Nordquist et al. (US 7948495 B1, hereinafter Nordquist).
Regarding claim 29, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the processor of claim 21, wherein:
Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL is not found disclosing, the API is a driver API.
Nordquist on the other hand discloses that OpenGL graphics API is a driver API (Col. 4, lines 56-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to implement the Cubemapping of UnityCubemap using OpenGL graphics driver API, setting the cubemapping in a linear filtering mode, because, simple substitution of one known element for another and/or combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious.
Regarding method claim(s) 26, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the system claim(s) 29 as described above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 24 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of UnityCubemap and OpenGL discloses the system of claim 21, wherein: the one or more 3D graphics objects comprise cubemaps (the asset or 3d object is Cubemap, see fig. 2 above. Also see ¶0210-0213 of Kim), the cubemaps comprise faces and seams (cubemap is a cuboid texture having faces and edges, see e.g., public methods “smoothEdges” and “GetPixelData”. Also see fig. 5 below for Cubemap.GetPixelData, which has face as a parameter).
Figure 5 – face is a parameter of cubemap.GetPixelData public method
AnisoLevel property of texture also defines the anisotropic filtering level of the Texture (in this instance, texture is the cubemap object. See figure 6 below).
However, Prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest that, the one or more processors are further to filter the cubemap faces anisotropically and filter the cubemap seams isotropically.
Conclusion
/NURUN FLORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619