DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 2/11/2026. Claims 13-20 are pending in this application. Claims 13, 17-18, and 20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 2021/0151374; hereinafter ‘Zou’) in view of Bhatkar et al. (US 2016/0133565; hereinafter ‘Bhatkar’), and further in view of Wang (US 2005/0190035).
Regarding claim 13, Zou teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device (300, Figure 3A, [0040]), comprising:
a support structure (the upper portion of 220, which excludes the substrate of 220, [0037]; hereinafter ‘SS’) comprising a first surface (the upper surface of SS, which is in contact with 328, [0050]; hereinafter ‘SS1’) and a second surface (the lower surface of SS; hereinafter ‘SS2’) opposing the first surface (SS2 opposing SS1), the first surface (SS1) opposite the second surface (SS2) in a direction (in the vertical stacking direction perpendicular to the substrate surface 318, [0046]);
elongated structures (the second stack of 218, corresponding to 810 of 802, Figure 8, [0087]; hereinafter ‘218810’), individual elongated structures comprising a first magnetic material (218810 comprising CoZrTa, CoZrTaB, FeCoB, [0094]) and extending from the first surface into the support structure (218810 extending from SS1 into SS);
a plate (the first magnetic layer of the first stack of 218, corresponding to 808 of 802; hereinafter ‘218808’) adjoining the second surface (218808 adjoining SS2) and comprising a second magnetic material (218808 comprising CoZrTa, CoZrTaB, FeCoB, [0092]);
vias (the conductive wire of 218, corresponding to 806 of 802; hereinafter ‘218806’), individual vias connected to individual elongated structures and the plate (218806 connected to 218810 and 218808), and at least partially embedded in the support structure (218806 embedded in SS);
Note: “connected” is considered in a physical/positional sense.
a first buried power rail (702A, Figures 7A and 7B, [0070]) at least partially in the support structure (702A in SS, since 702 is formed on the substrate of 220, [0071]), wherein the first buried power rail comprises a first electrical conductor (702A is made of conductive metal), and the first buried power rail is coupled to a first subset of the elongated structures, a first subset of the vias, and a first portion of the plate (702A is coupled to the respective 218 of 218810, 218806, and 218808, Figure 10, [0072, 0102]); and
a second buried power rail (702B) at least partially in the support structure (702B in SS), wherein the second buried power rail comprises a second electrical conductor (702B is made of conductive metal), and the second buried power rail is coupled to a second subset of the elongated structures, a second subset of the vias, and a second portion of the plate (702B is coupled to the respective 218 of 218810, 218806, and 218808).
Zou does not teach the IC device comprising individual vias comprising a third magnetic material, wherein the vias are between the elongated structures and the plate in the direction.
Bhatkar teaches an IC device (100, FIG. 1A, [0018]) comprising individual vias (178, [0025]) comprising a third magnetic material (178 comprises magnetic material).
As taught by Bhatkar, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Zou to obtain and achieve the IC device comprising individual vias comprising a third magnetic material as claimed, because magnetic vias form a low-reluctance flux path between stacked magnetic layers, ensuring magnetic continuity, improving inductance density, and reducing electromagnetic interference [0027]. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Bhatkar in combination with Zou due to above reason.
Zou in view of Bhatkar does not teach the IC device wherein the vias are between the elongated structures and the plate in the direction.
Wang teaches an IC device (FIGS. 3 and 4, [0005]) wherein vias (49 comprising magnetic material, FIG. 3, [0015, 0022]) are between the elongated structures (41, 43, 45, and 47 comprising magnetic material) and the plate (87 is a magnetic layer, [0025]) in the direction (in the vertical stacking direction perpendicular to the substrate surface).
As taught by Wang, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Zou in view of Bhatkar to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein the vias are between the elongated structures and the plate in the direction as claimed, because it enables magnetic coupling between the elongated structures and the plate and provides a magnetic path extending thereby improving magnetic continuity and inductive performance [0005, 0018].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Wang in combination with Zou in view of Bhatkar due to above reason.
Regarding claim 14, Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang teaches the IC device according to claim 13, wherein the first magnetic material and the second magnetic material are the same (Zou: the magnetic material in 218810 and 218808 are the same, [0094]).
Zou in view of Wang does not teach the IC device wherein the first magnetic material and the second magnetic material, and the third magnetic material are the same.
Bhatkar teaches the IC device wherein the first magnetic material (and the second magnetic material, and the third magnetic material are the same (the magnetic material of 171-175, 151, and 178 are the same, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Bhatkar to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein the first magnetic material and the second magnetic material, and the third magnetic material are the same as claimed, because using the same magnetic material forms a continuous, low-reluctance magnetic flux path between the stacked magnetic layers, ensuring magnetic continuity, improving inductance density, and reducing electromagnetic interference [0027]. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 16, Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang teaches the IC device according to claim 13, further comprising a power plane (Zou: 312, Figure 6, [0064]) and a ground plane (614, [0067]), wherein the first buried power rail is coupled to the power plane (702A is electrically coupled to the internal voltage supply [0072]) and the second buried power rail is coupled to the ground plane (702B is electrically coupled to the ground).
Regarding claim 17, Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang teaches the IC device according to claim 13, further comprising an additional plate (Zou: the second magnetic layers of the first stack of 218, Figure 8, [0087]; hereinafter ‘218R808’) comprising the second magnetic material (218R808 comprising CoZrTa, CoZrTaB, FeCoB, [0092]).
Although, Zou does not teach the IC device wherein an individual elongated structure of the elongated structures is coupled to the plate by a first via of the vias and is coupled to the additional plate by a second via of the vias.
Zou, however, recognizes that the vias 218806 includes a first conductive wire and a second conductive wire that are electrically coupled at respective ends of their electrical paths. These conductive wires operation in parallel, thereby forming electrically separated paths between the elongated structure 218810 and the plate 218808 [0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Zou to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein an individual elongated structure of the elongated structures is coupled to the plate by a first via of the vias and is coupled to the additional plate by a second via of the vias as claimed, because providing the separated conductive paths improves current handling and magnetic coupling symmetry, which are routine design optimizations in integrated circuit devices.
Regarding claim 18, Zou teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device (300, Figure 3A, [0040]), comprising:
a support structure (the upper portion of 220, which excludes the substrate of 220 and the first stack of 218 (hereinafter ‘218808’) corresponding to 808 of 802, Figure 8, [0037, 0087]; hereinafter ‘SSR’);
elongated structures (the second stack of 218, corresponding to 810 of 802; hereinafter ‘218810’), individual elongated structures comprising a first magnetic material (218810 comprising CoZrTa, CoZrTaB, FeCoB, [0094]) and buried in the support structure (218810 buried in SSR);
plates (218808), individual plates being over the support structure (218808 being over SSR) and comprising a second magnetic material (218808 comprising CoZrTa, CoZrTaB, FeCoB, [0092]);
vias (the conductive wire of 218, corresponding to 806 of 802; hereinafter ‘218806’), individual vias connected to individual elongated structures and individual plates (218806 connected to 218810 and 218808), and buried in the support structure (218806 buried in SSR); and
Note: “connected” is considered in a physical/positional sense.
a buried power rail (702, Figures 7A and 7B, [0070]) at least partially in the support structure (702 in SSR, since 702 is formed on the substrate of 220, [0071]), wherein the buried power rail comprises an electrical conductor (702 is made of conductive metal) that is coupled to the elongated structures, the vias, and the plates (702 is coupled to the respective 218 of 218810, 218806, and 218808, Figure 10, [0072, 0102]).
Zou does not teach the IC device comprising individual vias comprising a third magnetic material, wherein the vias are between the elongated structures and the plate.
Bhatkar teaches an IC device (100, FIG. 1A, [0018]) comprising individual vias (178, [0025]) comprising a third magnetic material (178 comprises magnetic material).
As taught by Bhatkar, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Zou to obtain and achieve the IC device comprising individual vias comprising a third magnetic material as claimed, because magnetic vias form a low-reluctance flux path between stacked magnetic layers, ensuring magnetic continuity, improving inductance density, and reducing electromagnetic interference [0027]. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Bhatkar in combination with Zou due to above reason.
Zou in view of Bhatkar does not teach the IC device wherein the vias are between the elongated structures and the plate.
Wang teaches an IC device (FIGS. 3 and 4, [0005]) wherein vias (49 comprising magnetic material, FIG. 3, [0015, 0022]) are between the elongated structures (41, 43, 45, and 47 comprising magnetic material) and the plate (87 is a magnetic layer, [0025]).
As taught by Wang, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Zou in view of Bhatkar to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein the vias are between the elongated structures and the plate as claimed, because it enables magnetic coupling between the elongated structures and the plate and provides a magnetic path extending thereby improving magnetic continuity and inductive performance [0005, 0018].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Wang in combination with Zou in view of Bhatkar due to above reason.
Regarding claim 19, Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang teaches the IC device according to claim 18, wherein: an elongated structure of the elongated structures (Zou: the first magnetic layer of 218R810, Figure 8, [0087]).
Although, Zou does not explicitly teach the IC device wherein an individual elongated structure is coupled to a first plate of the plates by a first via of the vias, the elongated structure is coupled to a second plate of the plates by a second via of the vias, and the second via is separated from the first via.
Zou, however, recognizes that the vias 218806 includes a first conductive wire and a second conductive wire that are electrically coupled at respective ends of their electrical paths. These conductive wires operation in parallel, thereby forming electrically separated paths between the elongated structure 218810 and the plate 218808 [0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Zou to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein an individual elongated structure is coupled to a first plate of the plates by a first via of the vias, the elongated structure is coupled to a second plate of the plates by a second via of the vias, and the second via is separated from the first via as claimed, because providing the separated conductive paths improves current handling and magnetic coupling symmetry, which are routine design optimizations in integrated circuit devices.
Regarding claim 20, Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang teaches the IC device according to claim 18, wherein:
the support structure includes a first surface (the upper surface of SSR, which is in contact with 328, Figure 3A, [0050]; hereinafter ‘SSR1’) and a second surface (the lower surface of SSR; hereinafter ‘SSR2’) opposing the first surface (SSR2 opposing SSR1),
an individual elongated structure (the first magnetic layer of 218810) adjoins the first surface (218810 adjoins SSR1),
an individual via (the first conductive wire of 218806, [0090]) adjoins the second surface (218806 adjoins SSR2).
Although, Zou does not teach the IC device wherein the individual elongated structure is connected to the individual via.
Zou, however, recognizes that the vias 218806 includes a first conductive wire and a second conductive wire that are electrically coupled at respective ends of their electrical paths. These conductive wires operation in parallel, thereby forming electrically separated paths between the elongated structure 218810 and the plate 218808 [0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Zou to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein the individual elongated structure is connected to the individual via as claimed, because providing the separated conductive paths improves current handling and magnetic coupling symmetry, which are routine design optimizations in integrated circuit devices.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (US 2021/0151374) in view of Bhatkar (US 2016/0133565) and Wang (US 2005/0190035), further in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2020/0373079; hereinafter ‘Yoshioka’).
Regarding claim 15, Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang teaches the IC device according to claim 13, but does not teach the IC device wherein the first buried power rail or the second buried power rail has a spiral shape.
Yoshioka teaches an IC device [0112] wherein the first buried power rail or the second buried power rail (21 and 22 functioning as a power feeding path with 51-53, Fig. 1, [0113, 0201]) has a spiral shape (shown in Fig. 1).
As taught by Yoshioka, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang to obtain and achieve the IC device wherein the first elongated structure, the second elongated structure, the third elongated structure, and the plate include a same magnetic material as claimed, because such a configuration improves the device by minimizing unnecessary routing and enhancing adaptability to three-dimensional mounting [0123-0125]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yoshioka in combination with Zou in view of Bhatkar and Wang due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIYOUNG OH/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 2/24/26