DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-32, 34 and 37 drawn to a GIP receptor agonist peptide) in the reply filed on June 11th 2024 is acknowledged. Additionally, Applicant’s election without traverse of SEQ ID NO: 26 as Species A (i.e., a single and specific GIP receptor agonist peptide indicating single and specific formula and sequence identification number) in the reply filed on June 11th 2024 is acknowledged. Note: Applicant’s elected species (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 26) is not recited in the claims of the elected invention. However, SEQ ID NO: 26 is a species of SEQ ID NO: 358 and recites P1-Tyr-A2-Glu-Gly-Thr-A6-A7-Ser-Asp-Tyr-Ser-Ile-A13-A14-Asp-A16-A17-A18-Gln-A20-A21-Phe-Val-Asn-Trp-Leu-Leu-A28-A29-A3 0-A31-A32-A33-A34-A35-A36-A37-A38-A39-P2 (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 358).
Claims 1-56 are currently pending and claims 6-13, 15, 18, 24-26, 29-30, 34 and 37 are under consideration as claims 1-5, 14, 16-17 and 19-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, claims 33, 35-36, 38-56 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 11th 2024.
Claims 27-32, were inadvertently misclassified in the restriction mailed on 05/22/2024. Since these claims are drawn to a product comprising the GIP receptor agonist peptide according to claim 6, the claims are hereby rejoined and fully examined.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-56 were originally filed on December 17th 2021.
The amendment received on October 6th 2023, amended claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12, 16 and 18-23.
The amendment received on March 28th 2025, amended claims 6-9, 12-13, 15-16, 18-30, 33-35, 37, 41-46, 4-9 and 51-54.
The amendment received on September 2nd 2025, amended claims 6-7.
Claims 1-56 are currently pending and claims 6-13, 15, 18, 24-32, 34 and 37 are under consideration.
Priority
The present application claims the benefit under 35 U.S.C 119 (e) to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/994,716 filed March 25th 2020. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C 119 (e) or under 35 U.S.C 120, 121, or 365 (c ) is acknowledged.
Sequence Interpretation
Regarding claim 6, please note that given that there is no specified transitional phrase recited, the Examiner is interpreting the scope of a GIP receptor agonist peptide represented by formula (IV) as open-ended, requiring 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 358 with the variability limited to the recited modifications for P1, P2, A2, A6, A7, A13-A14, A16-A18, A20-A21, and A28-A39 with any N- and/or C-terminal additions when P1 is absent and/or P2 is -OH. Additionally, based on this interpretation the GIP receptor agonist peptide encompasses where a peptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 358 is part of a larger peptide sequence, or the GIP receptor agonist could also be a peptide sequence solely comprising SEQ ID NO: 358. Similarly, in light of the phrase “is selected from the group consisting of”, the Examiner is interpreting the scope of the linker in the residue Lys(R) as close-ended, requiring 100% identity and the same length to SEQ ID NOs: 310, 311, 317, 313, 318, 309, 319, 314, 315, 310 and 312.
Additionally, regarding the linker, the elected species is 2OEGgEgE as the linker with the following structure (see instant specification, pg. 101).
The linker 2OEGgEgE consists of 2 gamma Glu units (i.e., γGlu) linked to OEG (i.e., OEG=AEEA=PEG3). However, upon comparing the structure of gEgE to the structures of (γGlu)2 in (γGlu)2-PEG3 (see instant specification, pg. 99) and OEG=AEEA=PEG3 (see instant specification, pg. 101) (note: OEG is the same structurally as PEG3), it is noted that the stereochemical conformation of gEgE differs from (γGlu)2. As such, the Examiner is interpreting the scope of the gEgE in the elected 2OEGgEgE as γGlu-γGlu with different stereochemistry. Regarding claim 8, please note that in light of the phrase “is selected from the group consisting of”, the Examiner is interpreting the scope of L as close-ended, requiring 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 310, 313, 318, 309, 319, 314, 315, 310, and 312.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al., WO2006/086769 A2 published on August 17th 2006 (herein after “Levy’), as evidenced by Northwestern Medicine, GERD Symptoms You Shouldn't Ignore, 2019, pp. 1-2, retrieved from https://www.nm.org/healthbeat/healthy-tips/gerd-symptoms-you-shouldnt-ignore on 05/28/2025 (here in after “NW Medicine”), in view of Dimarchi et al., US2015/0368310 A1 published on December 17th 2015 (herein after “Dimarchi”), and Caslo ApS., Peptide Synthesis with Modifications., 2013, pp. 1-7 available at https://www.caslo.com/peptide-modifications.html (herein after “Caslo”), have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 6-13, 15, 18, 24-26, 29-30, 34 and 37 has been maintained.
2. Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al., WO2006/086769 A2 published on August 17th 2006 (herein after “Levy’), in view of Dimarchi et al., US2015/0368310 A1 published on December 17th 2015 (herein after “Dimarchi”) and Caslo ApS., Peptide Synthesis with Modifications., 2013, pp. 1-7 available at https://www.caslo.com/peptide-modifications.html (herein after “Caslo”), and in further view of Levy et al., US2011/0136737 A1 published on June 9th 2011 (herein after “Levy 2”); been fully considered but are not persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 26 has been maintained.
5. Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection has been maintained.
Maintained/Modified Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 - KSR Examples of 'Rationales' Supporting a Conclusion of Obviousness
(Consistent with the "Functional Approach" of Graham)
Further regarding 35 USC 103(a) rejections, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (KSR) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Also, a reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976).
1. Claims 6-13, 15, 18, 24-32, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al., WO2006/086769 A2 published on August 17th 2006 (herein after “Levy’), as evidenced by Northwestern Medicine, GERD Symptoms You Shouldn't Ignore, 2019, pp. 1-2, retrieved from https://www.nm.org/healthbeat/healthy-tips/gerd-symptoms-you-shouldnt-ignore on 05/28/2025 (here in after “NW Medicine”), in view of Just et al., US 10,100,097 B2 Date of Patent: Oct. 16, 2018 (herein after “Just”), Dimarchi et al., US2015/0368310 A1 published on December 17th 2015 (herein after “Dimarchi”), and Caslo ApS. Peptide Synthesis with Modifications., 2013, pp. 1-7 available at https://www.caslo.com/peptide-modifications.html (herein after “Caslo”). Please note that the rejection has been modified necessitated by the amendments to claims 6-7.
Regarding claim 6, a GIP receptor agonist peptide represented by formula (IV): P1-Tyr-A2-Glu-Gly-Thr-A6-A7-Ser-Asp-Tyr-Ser-Ile-A13-A14-Asp-A16-A17-A18-Gln-A20-A21-Phe-Val-Asn-Trp-Leu-Leu-A28-A29-A30-A31-A32-A33-A34-A35-A36-A37-A38-A39-P2 (SEQ ID NO: 358), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein P1 represents H, C1-6 alkyl, or absent; P2 represents -NH2 or -OH; A2 represents Aib, Gly, or Ser; A6 represents Phe or Leu; A7 represents Ile or Thr; A13 represents Ala, Aib, or Tyr; A14 represents Leu, Lys, or Lys(R); A16 represents Lys, Arg, or Ser; A17 represents Aib, Lys, or Lys(R); A18 represents Ala, His, Lys, or Lys(R); A20 represents Gln, Lys, Lys(R), or Aib; A21 represents Asp, Lys, Lys(R), or Asn; A28 represents Ala, Aib, or, Lys, Lys(R); A29 represents Gln, Lys, Lys(R), or Aib; A30 represents Lys, Ser, Arg, Lys(R), or Lys(Ac); A31 represents Pro, Gly, or a deletion; A32 represents Ser, Gly, or a deletion; A33 represents Ser, Gly, or a deletion; A34 represents Gly, Lys, or a deletion; A35 represents Ala, Ser, Lys, or a deletion; A36 represents Pro, Lys, or a deletion; A37 represents Pro, Lys, Gly, or a deletion; A38 represents Pro, Lys, or a deletion; and A39 represents Ser, Gly, Lys, or a deletion, wherein one of A14, A17, A18, A20, A21, A28, A29, or A30 is Lys(R), in which the (R) portion represents X-L-, wherein L represents a linker and is selected from the group consisting of 1OEGgE, 2OEG, 2OEGgE, 2OEGgEgE, 2OEGgEgEgE, 30EGgE, 30EGgEgE, G2E3 (SEQ ID NO: 310), G3gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 311), G4E2 (SEQ ID NO:317), G4gE(SEQ ID NO: 313), G4gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 318), GGGGG (SEQ ID NO: 309),G5E (SEQ ID NO: 319), G5gE (SEQ ID NO: 314), G5gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 315), gE, gEgEgE, GGEEE (SEQ ID NO: 310), GGPAPAP (SEQ ID NO: 312), OEGgEgE, and OEGgEgEgE; and X represents C14-Cis monoacid or C14-Cis diacid:
Levy is in the field of GIP analogs and GIP hybrid polypeptides with selectable properties (see Levy, Abstract). Of particular interest are analogs modified at or near the dipeptidyl peptidase IV (DPP-IV) specific cleavage site, which improve DPP-IV resistance and consequently prolong half-life (see Levy, pg. 17, para[0077]). Levy teaches that the GIP analog or a GIP hybrid comprises a polypeptide comprising the formula D-L-C-S, wherein D comprises a dipeptidyl peptidase IV resistant GIP N-terminal region (see Levy, pg. 70, para[00264]). Levy’s GIP analog or hybrid comprises the sequence X1-X2-X3-X4-X5-X6-X7-X8-X9-X10-X11-X12-X13-X14, as the D region of the GIP analog (see Levy, pg. 72, para[00273]). It is noted that Levy’s D region of the GIP analog does not comprise H or C1-6 alkyl at the N-terminus (i.e., prior to X1), thereby corresponding to the absence of P1 as recited in instant claim 6. Amino acid alterations include modifications of the first 3 or 4 residues of GIP and/or the bond between residues 2 and 3, which is cleaved by DPP-IV (see Levy, pg. 17, para[0077]). Modifications and substitutions include N-terminal modifications, L-amino acids, D-amino acids, proteinogenic and non-proteinogenic amino acids (see Levy, pg. 17, para[0077]). Levy’s modifications can be combined with at least one other change such as a change that imparts DPP-IV resistance, reduces or eliminates oxidation, reduces renal clearance, improves receptor binding, or improves receptor activation (see Levy, pg. 19, para[0085]). Of further interest are analogs wherein the amino acid in the 2 or 3 position is substituted by lysine, serine, 4-amino butyric acid, Aib, D-alanine, Sarcosine or proline (see Levy, pg. 18, para[0079]). Levy’s X2 is an amino acid substitution or modification providing DPP-IV resistance such as Aib, thereby constituting where instant A2 is Aib, as recited in instant claim 6. Levy goes on to teach that X6 is Phe or Ala (see Levy, pg. 73, para[00280]), thereby constituting where A6 represents Phe as recited in instant claim 6. X7 is Ile or Ala (see Levy, pg. 73, para[00281]), thereby constituting where A7 represents Ile as recited in instant claim 6. X13 is Ala, Tyr, Glutamine or Asp (see Levy, pg. 74, para[00287]), thereby constituting where A13 represents Ala as recited in instant claim 6. X14 is Met, Ala or Leu (see Levy, pg. 74, para[00288]), and that to eliminate or reduce oxidation, the methionine at position 14 is deleted or substituted, for example with leucine or other small hydrophobic amino acid (see Levy, pg. 18, para[0080]), thereby constituting where A14 represents Leu as recited in instant claim 6. Levy also teaches that the L (i.e., Linker) in the formula D-L-C-S can be absent or comprise the sequence X15-X16-X17-X18 (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00295]). Where X16 is K, G, E or a conservative amino acid change thereof or of a native X16 residue (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00296]), thereby constituting where A16 represents Lys as recited in instant claim 6. Levy teaches that a "conservative amino acid substitution" is one in which the amino acid residue is replaced with an amino acid residue having a similar side chain, or physicochemical characteristics (e.g., electrostatic, hydrogen bonding, isosteric, hydrophobic features) (see Levy, pg. 86, para[00330]). It is noted that the native GIP sequence comprises Lys at position 16 (see Levy, pg. 15, para[0064]). Therefore when the original residue is Lys (K), “Exemplary Substitutions” are Arg; Gln; and Asn, with Arg being the “Preferred Substitution” (see Levy, pg. 87, para[00330]). Thereby Levy implies that the GIP analogs of the formula D-L-C-S contains X16 as part of the L segment (i.e., Linker), and that the lysine at X16 can be substituted by a preferred substitution such as Arg, thereby constituting where A16 represents Arg as recited in instant claim 6.
Levy teaches that X17 is I, Q ,E or a conservative amino acid change thereof or of a native X17 residue (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00296]). However, Levy does not expressly teach wherein A17 represents Aib, Lys, or Lys(R), as recited in instant claim 6.
Just teaches GIP-GLP1 dual acting receptor agonists are superior to existing and marketed GLP-1 analogues because the dual agonists offer improved glycemic control, and enhanced body weight loss (see column 2, lines 16-19). Just’s GIP analogues comprise non-conservative substitutions at one or more of amino acid positions 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, and 30 of the wild-type GIP sequence in combination with Ile, Gln, Lys, Arg or Glu in position 17 (see column 2, lines 23-28). Thereby constituting wherein A17 represents Lys, as recited in instant claim 6. Just adds that the non-conservative and non-obvious substitution of Ile for Lys in position 17 may enhance GLP-1 receptor activity and in addition provide a handle for acylation to prolong half-life of the peptide (see column 11, lines 2-5). Just’s Formula I, depicts a GIP analogue or a pharmaceutical salt or solvate thereof (see column 2, lines 35-45). It is noted that the variables in the instantly claimed GIP receptor agonist peptide (i.e., Formula IV) correspond to Just’s Formula I, in particular Just’s variable X17 which is Ile, Lys, Gln, Arg or Glu (see column 2, lines 35-61).
From the teachings of the references, the Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the amino acid at position X17 (i.e., I, Q ,E or a conservative amino acid change thereof or of a native X17 residue) in Levy’s GIP analog for a non-conservative and non-obvious substitution of Ile for Lys as taught by Just. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because Lys in position 17 (i.e., instant A17) may enhance GLP-1 receptor activity and in addition provide a handle for acylation to prolong half-life of the peptide as taught by Just. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the GIP analog of Levy comprises Ile at position 17; and given that Just’s GIP analogues comprise non-conservative substitutions at one or more of amino acid positions 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, and 30 of the wild-type GIP sequence and also offer improved glycemic control and enhanced body weight loss. Therefore, substituting Ile at position X17 of Levy’s GIP analog with Lys would support a GIP receptor (GIP) agonist peptide having formula (IV) (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 358. Which reads on the elected species SEQ ID NO: 26), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success pursuant to KSR.
Levy’s L segment of formula D-L-C-S contains X18 which is H, R, A or a conservative amino acid thereof or of a native X18 residue (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00296]). Further exemplary substitutions are those derived from GIP of other (non-human) species, for example the histidine 18 replaced by alanine, arginine or lysine (see Levy, pg. 19, para[0082]), thereby constituting where A18 represents Ala, His, or Lys as recited in instant claim 6. The C region of Levy’s GIP analog contains the sequence X19-X20-X21-X22-X23-X24-X25-X26-X27-X28-X29-X30, each position being independently selected, wherein X20 is Q or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A20 represents Gln as recited in instant claim 6. X21 is D (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A21 represents Asp as recited in instant claim 6. X28 is A, N, D, K, R, E or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where instant A28 represents Ala or Lys as recited in instant claim 6. X29 is Q, G or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof or is absent (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A29 is Gln recited in instant claim 6. X30 is K, G, R, P or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof or is absent (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A30 represents Arg or Lys as recited in instant claim 6. The GIP analog or hybrid polypeptides of Levy’s invention may have one or more amino acid residues deleted from the amino acid sequence of native GIP, or a region S, alone or in combination with one or more insertions or substitutions (see Levy, pg. 88, para[00334]). In another embodiment, the GIP analog or hybrid polypeptide may have one or more amino acid residues deleted at amino acid positions 1 through 42 of a native GIP, GIP(1-30) (see Levy, pg. 88, para[00334]), thereby implying that residues 31-40 can be deleted. As such, the teachings of Levy constitute where A32-A39 are represented by a deletion as recited in instant claim 6. Levy also teaches that the hybrid region S consists of the sequence X31-X39, where X31 is Pro, homoproline, 3Hyp, 4Hyp, thioproline, N-alkylglycine, N-alkylpentylglycine or Nalkylalanine, G, S (see Levy, pg. 78, para[00301]) and that in further embodiments a Pro is retained at position X31 to interact with Trp at position X25 (see Levy, pg. 88, para[00336]), thereby constituting where A31 is represented by Pro and Gly as recited in instant claim 6. Additionally, it is noted that Levy teaches some embodiments where the linker is placed after X30 (i.e., YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker-KCNTATCVLGRLSQELHRLQTYPRTNTGSETF or its Gly linker species analog YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Gly-Gly-Gly-KCNTATCVLGRLSQELHRLQTYPRTNTGSETF) (see Levy, pg. 52, para[00217]). Levy also teaches that the Gly linker or spacer is 1 to 20 residues long and that in one embodiment a Gly linker is used, and in particular embodiments a three residue linker Gly-Gly-Gly (see Levy, pg. 52, para[00217]), thereby the teachings of Levy suggest the claim limitations where A31 is Gly as recited in instant claim 6 and in the elected species (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 26). It is also noted that Levy recites that the GIP analogs are preferably C-terminally amidated, in other words, the C-terminus of the peptides may have a free OH or -NH2 group (see Levy, pg. 85, para[00326]), thereby constituting where instant P2 is -NH2 or -OH as recited in instant claim 6.
However, Levy does not expressly teach wherein A14, A17, A18, A20, A21, A28, A29 or A30 is Lys(R), in which the (R) portion represents X-L-, wherein L represents a linker and is selected from the group consisting of 1OEGgE, 2OEG, 2OEGgE, 2OEGgEgE, 2OEGgEgEgE, 30EGgE, 30EGgEgE, G2E3 (SEQ ID NO: 310), G3gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 311), G4E2 (SEQ ID NO:317), G4gE(SEQ ID NO: 313), G4gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 318), GGGGG (SEQ ID NO: 309),G5E (SEQ ID NO: 319), G5gE (SEQ ID NO: 314), G5gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 315), gE, gEgEgE, GGEEE (SEQ ID NO: 310), GGPAPAP (SEQ ID NO: 312), OEGgEgE, and OEGgEgEgE; and X represents C14-Cis monoacid or C14-Cis diacid, as recited in instant claim 6.
Regarding where A21 is Lys(R) (Applicant’s elected invention), in which the (R) portion represents X-L, wherein L represents a linker and is selected from the group consisting of 1OEGgE, 2OEG, 2OEGgE, 2OEGgEgE, 2OEGgEgEgE, 30EGgE, 30EGgEgE, G2E3 (SEQ ID NO: 310), G3gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 311), G4E2 (SEQ ID NO:317), G4gE(SEQ ID NO: 313), G4gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 318), GGGGG (SEQ ID NO: 309),G5E (SEQ ID NO: 319), G5gE (SEQ ID NO: 314), G5gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 315), gE, gEgEgE, GGEEE (SEQ ID NO: 310), GGPAPAP (SEQ ID NO: 312), OEGgEgE, and OEGgEgEgE; and X represents C14-Cis monoacid or C14-Cis diacid: as recited in instant claim 6:
Dimarchi’s invention provides a peptide comprising the sequence of X1X2X3GTFTSDX10SKYLX15X16X17X18X19X20X21FVQWLX27X28X29X30PSSGX35PPPS (see Dimarchi, pg. 2, para[0033]), where the amino acid at position 21 is Lys, Arg, Orn, Citrulline, Glu, homoglutamic acid or homocysteic acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 26, para[0375]), thereby constituting where A21 represents Lys as recited in instant claim 6. Dimarchi also teaches that the glucagon analog is conjugated to a hydrophilic moiety via covalent linkage between a side chain of an amino acid of the glucagon analog and the hydrophilic moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0583]); or the glucagon analog is conjugated to a hydrophilic moiety via the side chain of an amino acid at position 16, 17, 21, 24, or 29, a position within a C-terminal extension, or the C-terminal amino acid, or a combination of these positions (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0583]). The amino acid covalently linked to a hydrophilic moiety (e.g., the amino acid comprising a hydrophilic moiety) is a Cys, Lys, Orn, homo-Cys, or Ac-Phe, and the side chain of the amino acid is covalently bonded to a hydrophilic moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0583]). Dimarchi further teaches that the glucagon analogs can be further modified to improve its solubility and stability in aqueous solutions at physiological pH, while retaining the high biological activity relative to native glucagon (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0579]). As such, Dimarchi’s teachings of an amino acid (i.e., Lys) comprising a hydrophilic moiety constitute where A21 represents Lys(R) as recited in instant claim 6. Dimarchi also teaches that the amino acid at position 21 is an amino acid comprising a side chain which is conjugated to a heterologous moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 26, para[0375]), thereby constituting the (R) portion of the Lys residue at A21; and the heterologous moiety is a lipid (see Dimarchi, pg. 37, para[0561]), that is attached to the analog via a linker (see Dimarchi, pg. 37, para[0562]), thereby constituting the L portion of (R).
Additionally, Dimarchi teaches the alpha helix of the GIP agonist peptide can be stabilized with a cross-linking agent, such as a dicarboxylic acid, e.g., suberic acid (octanedioic acid), etc. can introduce a link between two functional groups of an amino acid side chain, such as a free amino, hydroxyl thiol group, and combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 21, para[0276]), thereby constituting a diacid. Therefore, an ordinary skill person would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to introduce a dicarboxylic acid between the linker and the fatty acid. The GIP agonist peptides taught by Dimarchi comprise a non-native acylated group referred to as an “acylated amino acid,” regardless of how it is prepared, e.g., by incorporation of a previously-acylated amino acid into the peptide, or acylation of the peptide after synthesis (see Dimarchi, pg. 7, para[0142]). The acylated amino acid causes the GIP agonist peptide to have one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delayed onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, such as DPP-IV, and (v) increased potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor (see Dimarchi, pg. 8, para[0143]). The acylated amino acid or alkylated amino acid is linked to the acyl group or alkyl group via a spacer (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]), where the spacer comprises one or two gamma-Glu (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]), thereby constituting where the L portion contains γEγE as part of the linker. Although Dimarchi does not expressly teach adjusting the stereochemical conformation of γEγE, an ordinary skill artisan would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success given that the gEgE linker comprises a finite number of stereochemical conformations therefore it would be obvious to try a different stereochemical conformation of gEgE to arrive at the claim invention as recited in claims 10 and 11. As such, the teachings of Dimarchi suggest where the linker contains gEgE as recited in instant claim 6. The acyl group of the acylated amino acid can be of any size, e.g., any length carbon chain, and can be linear or branched (see Dimarchi, pg. 10, para[0170]). For example, the acyl group is a C4 to C30 fatty acid or a C12 to C18 fatty acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 10, para[0170]). The acyl group in some aspects is a C12 to C18 (e.g., C12, C13, C14, C15, C16, C17, C18) fatty acyl group (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0442]), thereby constituting where X represents C14-C18- monoacid as recited in instant claim 6. Dimarchi also teaches that the spacer is a hydrophilic bifunctional spacer (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0160]), and the hydrophilic bifunctional spacer comprises two or more reactive groups, e.g., an amine, a hydroxyl, a thiol, and a carboxyl group or any combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0160]). In this regard, the spacer can comprise, for example, NH2(CH2CH2O)n(CH2)mCOOH, wherein m is any integer from 1 to 6 and n is any integer from 2 to 12, such as e.g., 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanioic acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0160]). Dimarchi also adds that the spacer comprises a small polyethylene glycol moiety (PEG) comprising a structure [ —O—CH2—CH2—]n wherein n is an integer between 2 and 16, (e.g., 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16) (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]) thereby constituting where n is 2 (i.e., diacid). Such small PEGs are referred as a “miniPEG” (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). The miniPEG is a functionalized miniPEG comprising one or more functional groups (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). Suitable functional groups include, but are not limited to, an amine, a hydroxyl, a thiol, and a carboxyl group or any combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]).
Caslo teaches that a number of different types of linkers can be inserted between active groups and the peptide sequence (see Caslo, pg.5, second to last paragraph). The most commonly used linkers are aminohexanoic acid (Ahx) and 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG) (see Caslo, pg.5, second to last paragraph). Therefore, the teachings of Dimarchi when combined with the teachings of Caslo are suggestive of the claim limitations as recited in claim 6, where the linker comprises OEGgEgE and where X represents C14-C18 monoacid. However, when considering the teachings Dimarchi as a whole in combination with Caslo, an ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use a C15 dicarboxylic acid conjugated to a linker comprising 2OEGgEgE.
From the teachings of the references, the Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the amino acid at position X21 (i.e., Asp or D) present in the C region of Levy’s GIP analog with Lys comprising a hydrophilic heterologous lipid moiety (i.e., acyl group is a C4 to C30 fatty acid or a C12 to C18 fatty acid), linked via a spacer that comprises one or two gamma-Glu as taught by Dimarchi. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because substituting the amino acid residue at position A21 with a modified lysine such as Lys-2OEGgEgE-C15DA was known to cause the GIP agonist peptide to have a prolonged half-life in circulation, a delayed onset of action, an extended duration of action, an improved resistance to proteases and an increase potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor as taught by Dimarchi; because it was also known that 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG) was known to be a commonly used linker as taught by Caslo.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the GIP analog of Levy comprises the amino acid sequence of YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker, where the Gly linker is 1 amino acid long (i.e., Gly), and given that a modified Lys such as Lys-2OEGgEgE-C15DA in order to improve solubility and stability in aqueous solutions at physiological pH while retaining the high biological activity relative to the native glucagon as well as resulting in one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delayed onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, such as DPP-IV, and (v) increased potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor. Therefore, substituting the Asp at position A21 with a modified lysine, where the modification comprises 2OEGgEgE-C15DA would support a GIP receptor (GIPR) agonist peptide having formula (IV) (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 358 which reads on the elected species SEQ ID NO: 26), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and/or utilizing the “Obvious to try” rationale – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success pursuant to KSR.
Regarding claim 7, wherein A14 represents Leu or Lys(R); A17 represents Aib, or Lys(R); A18 represents Ala, His, or Lys(R); A20 represents Gln, Lys(R), or Aib; A21 represents Asp, Lys(R), or Asn; A28 represents Ala, Aib, or Lys(R); A29 represents Gln, Lys(R), or Aib; and A30 represents Lys, Ser, Arg, Lys(R), or Lys(Ac):
As previously discussed, Levy teaches that to eliminate or reduce oxidation, the methionine at position 14 is deleted or substituted, for example with leucine or other small hydrophobic amino acid (see Levy, pg. 18, para[0080]), thereby constituting where A14 represents Leu as recited in instant claim 7.
With respect to wherein A17 represents Aib or Lys(R), as previously mentioned, Just teaches that GIP analogues comprise non-conservative substitutions at one or more of amino acid positions 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, and 30 of the wild-type GIP sequence (see Just, column 2, lines 23-28). Just also teaches that a non-conservative substitution means any other substitution of an amino acid residue of the native human GIP sequence, e.g. such as substituting with a nonprotein amino acid (Sar, Nie, Aib, 1Nal) or substituting with an amino acid which does not belong to the same group (see Just, column 28, lines 66-67 and column 29, lines 1-3), thereby constituting wherein A17 represents Aib, as recited in instant claim 7.
Levy’s L segment of formula D-L-C-S contains X18 which is H, R, A or a conservative amino acid thereof or of a native X18 residue (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00296]), thereby constituting where A18 is Ala or His as recited in instant claim7. The C region of Levy’s GIP analog contains the sequence X19-X20-X21-X22-X23-X24-X25-X26-X27-X28-X29-X30, each position being independently selected, wherein X20 is Q or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A20 represents Gln as recited in instant claim 7. X21 is D (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A21 represents Asp as recited in instant claim 7. X28 is A, N, D, K, R, E or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where instant A28 represents Ala or Lys as recited in instant claim 7. X29 is Q, G or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof or is absent (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A29 is Gln recited in instant claim 7. X30 is K, G, R, P or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof or is absent (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A30 represents Arg or Lys as recited in instant claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, wherein A2 represents Aib; A17 represents Aib, Lys, or Lys(R); A20 represents Aib; and A28 represents Ala or Aib, wherein L is selected from the group consisting of 2OEG, 2OEGgE, 2OEGgEgE, G2E3 (SEQ ID NO:310), G4gE(SEQ ID NO: 313), G4gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 318), G5(SEQ ID NO: 309), G5E (SEQ ID NO: 319), G5gE (SEQ ID NO: 314), G5gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 315), gEgEgE, GGEEE (SEQ ID NO: 310), GGPAPAP (SEQ ID NO: 312),OEGgEgE, and OEGgEgEgE:
Levy teaches that amino acid alterations include modifications of the first 3 or 4 residues of GIP and/or the bond between residues 2 and 3, which is cleaved by DPP-IV (see Levy, pg. 17, para[0077]). Modifications and substitutions include N-terminal modifications, L-amino acids, D-amino acids, proteinogenic and non-proteinogenic amino acids (see Levy, pg. 17, para[0077]). Of further interest are analogs wherein the amino acid in the 2 or 3 position is substituted by lysine, serine, 4-amino butyric acid, Aib, D-alanine, Sarcosine or proline (see Levy, pg. 18, para[0079]), thereby constituting where instant A2 is Aib, as recited in instant claim 8. Levy also teaches wherein X28 is A, N, D, K, R, E or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where instant A28 represents Ala as recited in instant claim 8.
However, Levy does not expressly teach wherein A17 represents Aib, Lys, or Lys(R); A20 represents Aib; nor wherein L is selected from the group consisting of 2OEG, 2OEGgE, 2OEGgEgE, G2E3 (SEQ ID NO:310), G4gE(SEQ ID NO: 313), G4gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 318), G5(SEQ ID NO: 309), G5E (SEQ ID NO: 319), G5gE (SEQ ID NO: 314), G5gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 315), gEgEgE, GGEEE (SEQ ID NO: 310), GGPAPAP (SEQ ID NO: 312),OEGgEgE, and OEGgEgEgE.
Dimarchi’s glucagon analog comprises an amino acid modification at either or both of positions 17 and 18 (see Dimarchi, pg. 25, para[0356]). Dimarchi adds that the amino acid at position 17 is an aliphatic amino acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 25, para[0356]). Dimarchi also teaches that the GIP agonist peptide comprises at least one alpha helix promoting amino acid at one or more of positions 16-21 of the peptide analog (e.g., one or more of positions 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21) (see Dimarchi, pg. 18, para[0256]). The alpha helix promoting amino acid is an alpha, alpha di-substituted amino acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 18, para[0257]). The alpha, alpha di-substituted amino acid comprises R1 and R2, each of which is bonded to the alpha carbon, wherein each of R1 and R2 is independently selected from the group consisting of C1-C4 alkyl (see Dimarchi, pg. 18, para[0257]). Each of R1 and R2 is methyl, such that the alpha, alpha disubstituted amino acid is alpha-amino iso-butyric acid (AIB) (see Dimarchi, pg. 18, para[0257]). The alpha, alpha disubstituted amino acid is capable of stabilizing the alpha helix in the absence of a covalent bridge (see Dimarchi, pg. 18, para[0258]). Dimarchi’s GIP agonist peptide comprises one or more alpha, alpha di-substituted amino acids (i.e., amino iso-butyric acid (Aib)) at the C-terminus (around positions 12-29), at one, two, three, four, five, or all of positions 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, or 21 of the GIP agonist peptide (see Dimarchi, pg. 19, para[0258]). Dimarchi teaches that substitution of position 20 with AIB enhances GIP activity, in the absence of an intramolecular bridge e.g., a non-covalent intramolecular bridge (e.g., a salt bridge) or a covalent intramolecular bridge (e.g., a lactam) (see Dimarchi, pg. 19, para[0258]). As such the teachings of Dimarchi suggest where the amino acid at position 17 and at position A20 is Aib, thereby constituting where A17 represents Aib and wherein A20 represents Aib as recited in instant claim 9.
Regarding where L is selected from the group consisting of 2OEG, 2OEGgE, 2OEGgEgE, G2E3 (SEQ ID NO:310), G4gE(SEQ ID NO: 313), G4gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 318), G5(SEQ ID NO: 309), G5E (SEQ ID NO: 319), G5gE (SEQ ID NO: 314), G5gEgE (SEQ ID NO: 315), gEgEgE, GGEEE (SEQ ID NO: 310), GGPAPAP (SEQ ID NO: 312),OEGgEgE, and OEGgEgEgE:
The GIP agonist peptides taught by Dimarchi comprise a non-native acylated group referred to as an “acylated amino acid,” regardless of how it is prepared, e.g., by incorporation of a previously-acylated amino acid into the peptide, or acylation of the peptide after synthesis (see Dimarchi, pg. 7, para[0142]). The acylated amino acid causes the GIP agonist peptide to have one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delayed onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, such as DPP-IV, and (v) increased potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor (see Dimarchi, pg. 8, para[0143]). The acylated amino acid or alkylated amino acid is linked to the acyl group or alkyl group via a spacer (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]); where the spacer comprises one or two gamma-Glu (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]), thereby constituting where the L portion contains γEγE (i.e., gEgE) as part of the linker. Dimarchi also teaches that the spacer comprises a small polyethylene glycol moiety (PEG) comprising a structure [ —O—CH2—CH2—]n wherein n is an integer between 2 and 16, (e.g., 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16) (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]) thereby constituting where n is 2 (i.e., diacid). Such small PEGs are referred as a “miniPEG” (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). The miniPEG is a functionalized miniPEG comprising one or more functional groups (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). Suitable functional groups include, but are not limited to, an amine, a hydroxyl, a thiol, and a carboxyl group or any combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). Caslo teaches that a number of different types of linkers can be inserted between active groups and the peptide sequence (see Caslo, pg.5, second to last paragraph). The most commonly used linkers are aminohexanoic acid (Ahx) and 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG) (see Caslo, pg.5, second to last paragraph). Therefore, the teachings of Dimarchi when combined with the teachings of Caslo are suggestive of the claim limitations as recited in claim 8, where the linker comprises OEGgEgE.
From the teachings of the references, the Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the amino acids at position X17 (i.e., I, Q, E or a conservative amino acid change thereof or of a native X17 residue) and X20 (i.e., Q or a conservative amino acid thereof), present in Levy’s GIP analog with Aib as taught by Dimarchi. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because it was known that the alpha, alpha disubstituted amino acid is capable of stabilizing the alpha helix in the absence of a covalent bridge, and because substitution of position 20 with AIB enhances GIP activity, in the absence of an intramolecular bridge e.g., a non-covalent intramolecular bridge (e.g., a salt bridge) or a covalent intramolecular bridge (e.g., a lactam). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that Dimarchi’s GIP agonist peptide comprises one or more alpha, alpha di-substituted amino acids (i.e., amino iso-butyric acid (Aib)) at the C-terminus (around positions 12-29), at one, two, three, four, five, or all of positions 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, or 21 of the GIP agonist peptide.
Additionally, the Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Levy and alkylate or acylate an amino acid as part of the GIP analogs and GIP hybrid polypeptides by linking an acyl group or alkyl group via a spacer comprising one or two gamma-Glu and small polyethylene glycol moiety (PEG) comprising a structure [ —O—CH2—CH2—]n wherein n is 2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so given that it was known that acylated amino acids cause the GIP agonist peptide to have one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delayed onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, such as DPP-IV, and (v) increased potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor as taught by Dimarchi. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that most commonly used linkers are 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG) as taught by Caslo. Therefore, modifying Levy’s GIP analog by substituting the amino acids at positions X17 and X20 with Aib in addition to acylating one of the amino acid by linking the acyl group via a spacer comprising gEgE and 2 miniPEG (i.e., OEG), would support a GIP receptor (GIRP) agonist peptide having formula (IV) (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 358 which reads on the elected species SEQ ID NO: 26), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof wherein A17 represents Aib, A20 represents Aib and L is 2OEGgEgE by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and/or utilizing the “Obvious to try” rationale – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success pursuant to KSR.
Regarding claim 9, wherein A14 represents Leu or Lys(R); A17 represents Aib or Lys(R); A18 represents Ala, His, or Lys(R); A21 represents Asp, Lys(R), or Asn; A29 represents Gln, Lys(R), or Aib; and A30 represents Lys, Ser, Arg, Lys(R), or Lys(Ac):
Levy teaches that X14 is Met, Ala or Leu (see Levy, pg. 74, para[00288]), and that to eliminate or reduce oxidation, the methionine at position 14 is deleted or substituted, for example with leucine or other small hydrophobic amino acid (see Levy, pg. 18, para[0080]), thereby constituting where A14 represents Leu as recited in instant claim 9. Levy’s X17 is I, Q, E or a conservative amino acid change thereof or of a native X17 residue (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00296]), and that X18 which is H, R, A or a conservative amino acid thereof or of a native X18 residue (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00296]). Further exemplary substitutions are those derived from GIP of other (non-human) species, for example the histidine 18 replaced by alanine, arginine or lysine (see Levy, pg. 19, para[0082]), thereby constituting where A18 represents Ala, His, or Lys as recited in instant claim 9. Levy’s X21 is D (see Levy, pg. 76, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A21 represents Asp as recited in instant claim 9. Levy’s X29 is Q, G or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof or is absent (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A29 is Gln recited in instant claim 9. X30 is K, G, R, P or a conservative amino acid substitution thereof or is absent (see Levy, pg. 77, para[00297]), thereby constituting where A30 represents Arg or Lys as recited in instant claim 9. However, Levy does not expressly teach wherein A17 represents Aib or Lys(R) as recited in instant claim 9.
As previously discussed, Dimarchi’s glucagon analog comprises an amino acid modification at either or both of positions 17 and 18 (see Dimarchi, pg. 25, para[0356]). Dimarchi adds that the amino acid at position 17 is an aliphatic amino acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 25, para[0356]). Dimarchi’s GIP agonist peptide comprises one or more alpha, alpha di-substituted amino acids (i.e., amino iso-butyric acid (Aib)) at the C-terminus (around positions 12-29), at one, two, three, four, five, or all of positions 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, or 21 of the GIP agonist peptide (see Dimarchi, pg. 19, para[0258]). The alpha, alpha disubstituted amino acid is capable of stabilizing the alpha helix in the absence of a covalent bridge (see Dimarchi, pg. 18, para[0258]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the amino acid at position X17 (i.e., I, Q, E or a conservative amino acid change thereof or of a native X17 residue) present in Levy’s GIP analog with Aib as taught by Dimarchi. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because it was known the alpha, alpha disubstituted amino acid is capable of stabilizing the alpha helix in the absence of a covalent bridge. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that Dimarchi’s GIP agonist peptide comprises one or more alpha, alpha di-substituted amino acids (i.e., amino iso-butyric acid (Aib)) at the C-terminus (around positions 12-29), at one, two, three, four, five, or all of positions 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, or 21 of the GIP agonist peptide. Therefore, modifying Levy’s GIP analog by substituting the amino acids at positions X17 with Aib would support a GIP receptor (GIRP) agonist peptide having formula (IV) (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 358 which reads on the elected species SEQ ID NO: 26), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof wherein A17 represents Aib by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and/or utilizing the “Obvious to try” rationale – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success pursuant to KSR.
Regarding wherein the lipid X is C14-C16 monoacid or diacid, as recited in claim 10; and wherein the lipid X is a C15 diacid or C16 diacid, as recited in claim 11:
Levy teaches modification of the polypeptide include, but are not limited to acetylation, carboxylation, glycosylation, phosphorylation, lipidation and acylation (see Levy, pg. 114, para[00440]). However, Levy does not expressly teach wherein the lipid X is C14-C16 monoacid or diacid, as recited in claim 10; and wherein the lipid X is a C15 diacid or C16 diacid as recited in instant claim 11.
Dimarchi teaches that one or more of the glucagon analogs described are conjugated to a heterologous moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 36, para[0551]), and that in some embodiments the heterologous moiety is a lipid (see Dimarchi, pg. 36, para[0561]).Dimarchi also teaches the alpha helix of the GIP agonist peptide can be stabilized with a cross-linking agent, such as a dicarboxylic acid, e.g., suberic acid (octanedioic acid), etc. can introduce a link between two functional groups of an amino acid side chain, such as a free amino, hydroxyl thiol group, and combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 21, para[0276]), thereby constituting a diacid. Therefore, an ordinary skill person would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to introduce a dicarboxylic acid between the linker and the fatty acid. Additionally, Dimarchi teaches that the acyl group of the acylated amino acid can be of any size, e.g., any length carbon chain, and can be linear or branched (see Dimarchi, pg. 10, para[0170]). For example, the acyl group is a C4 to C30 fatty acid or a C12 to C18 fatty acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 10, para[0170]). The acyl group in some aspects is a C12 to C18 (e.g., C12, C13, C14, C15, C16, C17, C18) fatty acyl group (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0442]), thereby constituting where X represents C14-C18 monoacid as recited in instant claim 10. Additionally, the acylated amino acid or alkylated amino acid is linked to the acyl group or alkyl group via a spacer (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]), where the spacer comprises one or two gamma-Glu (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]). Although Dimarchi does not expressly teach adjusting the stereochemical conformation of gEgE, an ordinary skill artisan would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success given that the gEgE linker comprises a finite number of stereochemical conformations therefore it would be obvious to try a different stereochemical conformation of gEgE to arrive at the claim invention wherein the lipid is a C14-C16 monoacid or diacid as recited in instant claim 10, and where the lipid X is a C15 diacid or C16 diacid as recited in instant claim 11.
The Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GIP analogs/hybrids of Levy and stabilize the alpha helix of the GIP agonist peptide by introducing a dicarboxylic acid between the linker and the fatty acid in order to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because it was known that the acylated amino acid can be of any size , e.g., any length carbon chain such as a C12 to C18 (e.g., C12, C13, C14, C15, C16, C17, C18) fatty acyl group as taught by Dimarchi. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that that the gEgE linker comprises a finite number of stereochemical conformations therefore it would be obvious to try a different stereochemical conformation of gEgE to attach a C14-C16 diacid. Therefore modifying the GIP analog/hybrid of Levy with a hydrophilic heterologous lipid moiety (i.e., acyl group is a C4 to C30 fatty acid or a C12 to C18 fatty acid), linked via a spacer that comprises one or two gamma-Glu as taught by Dimarchi would support the GIPR agonist peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof wherein the lipid X is C14-C16 monoacid or diacid or C15 diacid or C16 diacid by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and/or utilizing the “Obvious to try” rationale – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success pursuant to KSR.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the linker L is 2OEGgEgE or GGGGG (SEQ ID NO: 309); Levy teaches that where amidation the C-terminal end of the N-terminally located bio-active peptide hormone module is not desired, the module may be attached to a second module directly or using any appropriate linking group known in the art such as 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoyl, or other cleavable and non-cleavable linkers known in the art (see Levy, pg. 51, para[00217]). Levy teaches embodiments of specific hybrids in which the linker is a Gly linker, particularly embodiments where the linker is Gly-Gly-Gly (see Levy, pg. 51, para[00217]). Levy also teaches that a linker or spacer is 1 to 30 residues long, in another embodiment 2 to 30 residues, and in yet another 3-30 residues long, and any integer length from 2 to 30 inclusive; each integer unit is contemplated, e.g. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, etc. (see Levy, pg. 51, para[00217]). As such the teachings of Levy suggest the claim limitations recited in claim 12, wherein the linker is GGGGG (SEQ ID NO: 309).
Regarding claim 13; wherein (R) is 2OEGgEge-C15 diacid or 2OEGgEgE-C16 diacid:
As previously mentioned, Levy teaches 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoyl, as an appropriate linking group (see Levy, pg. 51, para[00217]). Levy also teaches that modification of the polypeptide include, but are not limited to acetylation, carboxylation, glycosylation, phosphorylation, lipidation and acylation (see Levy, pg. 114, para[00440]). However Levy does not expressly teach wherein R is 2OEGgEge-C15 diacid or 2OEGgEgE-C16 diacid.
Dimarchi teaches the alpha helix of the GIP agonist peptide can be stabilized with a cross-linking agent, such as a dicarboxylic acid, e.g., suberic acid (octanedioic acid), etc. can introduce a link between two functional groups of an amino acid side chain, such as a free amino, hydroxyl thiol group, and combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 21, para[0276]), thereby constituting a diacid. Dimarchi also teaches a spacer comprising one or two gamma-Glu (i.e., gEgE), and that the spacer links an acyl group or alkyl group to the acylated amino acid in the GIP agonist peptide (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0441]). Dimarchi adds that the acyl group of the acylated amino acid can be of any size, e.g., any length carbon chain, and can be linear or branched (see Dimarchi, pg. 10, para[0170]). For example, the acyl group is a C4 to C30 fatty acid or a C12 to C18 fatty acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 10, para[0170]). The acyl group in some aspects is a C12 to C18 (e.g., C12, C13, C14, C15, C16, C17, C18) fatty acyl group (see Dimarchi, pg. 31, para[0442]). Although Dimarchi does not expressly teach adjusting the stereochemical conformation of gEgE, an ordinary skill artisan would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success given that the gEgE linker comprises a finite number of stereochemical conformations therefore it would be obvious to try a different stereochemical conformation of gEgE to arrive at 2OEGgEgE-C15 diacid or 2OEGgEgE-C15 monoacid.
Caslo teaches that linkers can be inserted between active groups and the peptide sequence and that the most commonly used linkers are aminohexanoic acid (Ahx) and 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG). Therefore, the teachings of Levy, when combined with the teachings of Dimarchi and Caslo suggest the claim limitations recited instant claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the peptide has a Lys(R) amino acid residue at amino acid position A21 and (R) is 2OEGgEgE-C15 diacid:
Dimarchi teaches that the amino acid at position 21 is Lys, Arg, Orn, Citrulline, Glu, homoglutamic acid or homocysteic acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 26, para[0375]), thereby constituting where A21 represents Lys as recited in instant claim15. Dimarchi also teaches that the glucagon analog is conjugated to a hydrophilic moiety via covalent linkage between a side chain of an amino acid of the glucagon analog and the hydrophilic moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0583]); or the glucagon analog is conjugated to a hydrophilic moiety via the side chain of an amino acid at position 16, 17, 21, 24, or 29, a position within a C-terminal extension, or the C-terminal amino acid, or a combination of these positions (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0583]). The amino acid covalently linked to a hydrophilic moiety (e.g., the amino acid comprising a hydrophilic moiety) is a Cys, Lys, Orn, homo-Cys, or Ac-Phe, and the side chain of the amino acid is covalently bonded to a hydrophilic moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0583]). Dimarchi further teaches that the glucagon analogs can be further modified to improve its solubility and stability in aqueous solutions at physiological pH, while retaining the high biological activity relative to native glucagon (see Dimarchi, pg. 39, para[0579]). As such, Dimarchi’s teachings of an amino acid (i.e., Lys) comprising a hydrophilic moiety constitute where A21 represents Lys(R) as recited in instant claims 15. Dimarchi also teaches that the amino acid at position 21 is an amino acid comprising a side chain which is conjugated to a heterologous moiety (see Dimarchi, pg. 26, para[0375]), thereby constituting the (R) portion of the Lys residue at A21; and the heterologous moiety is a lipid (see Dimarchi, pg. 37, para[0561]), that is attached to the analog via a linker (see Dimarchi, pg. 37, para[0562]), thereby constituting the L portion of (R). Additionally, Dimarchi teaches the alpha helix of the GIP agonist peptide can be stabilized with a cross-linking agent, such as a dicarboxylic acid, e.g., suberic acid (octanedioic acid), etc. can introduce a link between two functional groups of an amino acid side chain, such as a free amino, hydroxyl thiol group, and combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 21, para[0276]), thereby constituting a diacid. Therefore, an ordinary skill person would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to introduce a dicarboxylic acid between the linker and the fatty acid.
Dimarchi also teaches that the spacer is a hydrophilic bifunctional spacer (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0160]), and the hydrophilic bifunctional spacer comprises two or more reactive groups, e.g., an amine, a hydroxyl, a thiol, and a carboxyl group or any combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0160]). In this regard, the spacer can comprise, for example, NH2(CH2CH2O)n(CH2)mCOOH, wherein m is any integer from 1 to 6 and n is any integer from 2 to 12, such as e.g., 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanioic acid (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0160]). Dimarchi also adds that the spacer comprises a small polyethylene glycol moiety (PEG) comprising a structure [ —O—CH2—CH2—]n wherein n is an integer between 2 and 16, (e.g., 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16) (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]) thereby constituting where n is 2 (i.e., diacid). Such small PEGs are referred as a “miniPEG” (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). The miniPEG is a functionalized miniPEG comprising one or more functional groups (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]). Suitable functional groups include, but are not limited to, an amine, a hydroxyl, a thiol, and a carboxyl group or any combinations thereof (see Dimarchi, pg. 9, para[0161]).
Caslo teaches that a number of different types of linkers can be inserted between active groups and the peptide sequence (see Caslo, pg.5, second to last paragraph). The most commonly used linkers are aminohexanoic acid (Ahx) and 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG) (see Caslo, pg.5, second to last paragraph). Therefore, the teachings of Dimarchi when combined with the teachings of Caslo are suggestive of the claim limitations as recited in claims 6, 8, and 12-13, where the linker comprises OEGgEgE and where X represents C14-C18 monoacid. However, when considering the teachings Dimarchi as a whole in combination with Caslo, an ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use a C15 dicarboxylic acid conjugated to a linker comprising 2OEGgEgE. Therefore, the teachings of Levy, when combined with the teachings of Dimarchi and Caslo suggest the claim limitations recited instant claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, Levy teaches the amino acid sequence of YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker ) (see Levy, pg. 52, para[00217]). However, Levy does not expressly teach the GIPR agonist peptide of claim 6, or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is represented by the formula P1-Y-Aib-E-G-T-F-I-S-D-Y-S-I-A-L-D-R-Aib-A-Q-Aib-Km-F-V-N-W-L-L-A-Q-K-G-P2 where Km is Lys-2OEGgEgE-C16 diacid (SEQ ID NO: 370).
Based on the teachings of the references discussed above for claim 6, the Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Levy and modify YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker- such that residue X2 is substituted with Aib resulting in DPP-IV resistance, residue X14 is substituted with Leu in order to eliminate or reduce oxidation, residue X16 is substituted with Arg given that Lys and Arg are conservative substitutions, residue X17 is substituted with Aib thereby resulting in alpha helix promotion and stabilization of the alpha helix in the absence of a covalent bridge, residue X18 is substituted with Ala, residue X20 is substituted with Aib thereby resulting in enhanced GIP activity in the absence of an intramolecular bridge, residue X21 is substituted with a modified lysine (i.e., Lys(R)) such as Lys-2OEGgEgE-C15DA thereby resulting in improved solubility and stability in aqueous solutions at physiological pH without compromising the biological activity and one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delay onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, and (v) increased potency at any of one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP receptor, and glucagon receptor. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because substituting the amino acid residues at positions A17 and A20 with Aib was known to promote alpha helix formation and enhance GIP activity as well as substituting the amino acid residue at position A21 with a modified lysine such as Lys-2OEGgEgE-C15DA was known to cause the GIP agonist peptide to have a prolonged half-life in circulation, a delayed onset of action, an extended duration of action, an improved resistance to proteases and an increase potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor as taught by Dimarchi; and because 8-amino-3,6-dioxaoctanoic acid linker (also called OEG or miniPEG) was known to be a commonly used linker as taught by Caslo.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the GIP analog of Levy comprises the amino acid sequence of YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker where the Ala at instant position A2 is substituted with Aib in order to prevent DPP-IV degradation; the Met at instant position A14 is substituted with Leu in order to eliminate or reduce oxidation; the Lys at instant position A16 is substituted with Arg given that it constitutes a conservative substitution that does not impact GIP receptor agonist activity; the Ile at instant position A17 is substituted with Aib in order to promote helix formation, the Arg at instant position A18 is substituted with Ala given that it constitutes a conservative substitution and does not result in GIP receptor agonist activity; the Gln at instant position A20 is substituted with Aib in order to enhance GIP activity in the absence of an intramolecular bridge and thus stabilize the alpha helix; the Asp at instant position A21 is substituted with a modified Lys such as Lys-2OEGgEgE-C15DA in order to improve solubility and stability in aqueous solutions at physiological pH while retaining the high biological activity relative to the native glucagon as well as resulting in one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delayed onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, such as DPP-IV, and (v) increased potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor. Therefore substituting the Lys at position X16 (i.e., instant A16) with Arg would support protein stabilization, the Ile at position X17 (i.e., instant A17) with Aib would support alpha helix promotion and stabilization in the absence of a covalent bridge, the Gln at position X20 (i.e., instant A20) with Aib would support enhanced GIP activity in the absence of an intramolecular bridge, and the Asp at position A21 with a modified lysine would support improved solubility and stability as well as one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delay onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, and (v) increased potency at any of one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP receptor, and glucagon receptor by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and/or utilizing the “Obvious to try” rationale – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success pursuant to KSR.
Regarding claim 24, wherein the GIPR agonist peptide has a selectivity ratio, expressed as a ratio of (GLP1R EC50 / GIPR EC50) of greater than 10, or greater than 100, or greater than 1,000, or greater than 100,000:
Levy teaches that the GIP analogs have increased resistance to DPP-IV or to other proteases, such as those found in human plasma and/or on kidney brush border membranes, which increases in vivo half-life (see Levy, pg. 4, para[0014]). Levy also teaches that GIP analogs that have substitutions, modifications, insertion or deletion in amino acids 4-30 can provide enhanced properties such as increased GIP receptor binding, increased receptor selectivity, and/or increased resistance to degradation by chemical and/or proteolytic means (see Levy, pg. 4, para[0014]). Levy’s polypeptide comprises at least one desired activity of a native GIP and when the desired activity of a novel GIP hybrid is greater than that of the native form, the activity can be at least two-fold greater (see Levy, pg. 70, para[00265]). The desired activity is at least 3-, 4-, 5-, 10-, 50-, or even100-fold greater than the activity compared to a native GIP; and that the activity may be receptor binding receptor activation, receptor antagonism, glucose lowering, inhibition or reduction of gastric secretion, or any other activity, in vitro, ex vivo or in vivo, that may be known in the art (see Levy, pg. 70, para[00265]). However, Levy does not expressly teach wherein the GIPR agonist peptide has a selectivity ratio expressed as a ratio of (GLP1R EC50 / GIPR EC50) as recited in instant claim 24.
Dimarchi teaches that the selectivity of the GIP agonist peptide for the human GLP-1 receptor versus the GIP receptor is less than 100-fold (see Dimarchi, pg. 1, para[0008]). Dimarchi’s peptide has less than 100-fold selectivity for the human GLP-1 receptor versus the GIP receptor (see Dimarchi, pg. 5, para[0104]). Dimarchi adds that the term "selectivity" of a molecule for a first receptor relative to a second receptor refers to the following ratio: EC50 of the molecule at the second receptor divided by the EC50 of the molecule at the first receptor (see Dimarchi, pg. 5, para[0104]). The selectivity of the peptide of the present disclosures for the human GLP-1 receptor versus the GIP receptor is less than 100-fold (e.g., less than or about 90-fold, less than or about 80-fold, less than or about 70-fold, less than or about 60-fold, less than or about 50-fold, less than or about 40-fold, less than or about 30-fold, less than or about 20-fold, less than or about 10-fold, less than or about 5-fold) (see Dimarchi, pg. 5, para[0104]), thereby constituting a selectivity ratio of greater than 10 as recited in instant claim 24. As such, the teachings of Levy when combined with the teachings of Dimarchi suggest the claim limitations recited in instant claim 24.
Regarding claim 25, wherein the GIPR
Levy teaches that the GIP compound is administered by continuous intravenous infusion (see Levy, pg. 111, para[00427]); and that the GIP analog or a GIP hybrid comprises a half-life at least twice that of human GIP(l-30)amide; and that further the half-life can be at least 6 hours (see Levy, pg. 91, para[00352]). Thereby constituting wherein the agonist peptide has an IV T1/2 life of elimination of ranges between 4-10 hours, as recited in instant claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, wherein the GIP receptor agonist peptide has a solubility of 15mg/mL or greater:
The combination of references do not expressly teach and/or suggest that the GIP receptor agonist peptide has a solubility of 15mg/mL or greater. However, since the combination of references teach and/or suggest a GIP analog consisting of amino acid residues YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker (see Levy, pg. 52, para[00217]), thereby constituting a specific sequence with defined residues, a functional property (i.e., solubility of 15mg/ml or greater) of the GIP receptor agonist polypeptide as claimed and the suggested sequence would necessarily read upon the same. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new functional property (i.e., solubility of 15mg/ml or greater) which would necessarily read upon the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 4333 (CCPA 1977).
As such, the teachings of Levy when combined with the teachings of Dimarchi and Caslo are suggestive of the claim li mutations as recited in instant claims 6-15 and 18 because the references disclose GIP analogs and/or hybrids which comprise a GIP derived sequence that has been modified by adding, deleting, or substituting amino acids at different positions to exhibit and/or potentiate the GIP agonist activity.
Regarding claims 27-28, Levy’s invention relates to pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of at least one GIP analog or GIP hybrid polypeptide of the invention, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, together with pharmaceutically acceptable diluents, preservatives, solubilizers, emulsifiers, adjuvants and/or carriers useful in the delivery of the GIP compound (se Levy, pg. 10, para[0031]). Levy also teaches methods for treating or preventing metabolic diseases and disorders and that those methods comprise administering a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of a GIP or GIP analog, or fragment or derivative thereof or a novel GIP analog or GIP hybrid or derivatives thereof as described herein, alone (monotherapy) or in combination with another agent or therapy (adjunct therapy) (see Levy, pg. 13, para[0058]).
As such, it must follow that a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of at least one GIP analog or GIP hybrid polypeptide thereof constitutes a substance used for medical treatment (i.e., medicament); thereby constituting a medicament comprising the GIP receptor agonist peptide according to claim 6, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof as recited in instant claim 27; and also constituting a pharmaceutical composition comprising the GIP receptor agonist peptide according to claim 6, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, as recited in instant claim 28.
Regarding claims 29 and 34, which is administered to treat emesis as a monotherapy; Levy’s polypeptides can be provided as monotherapy (see Levy, pg. 7, para[0022]), thereby constituting administration as a monotherapy as recited in claim 29. Levy also teaches that the GIP compounds can be useful for treating or preventing gastritis, pancreatitis, Barrett’s esophagus, Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) and conditions associated therewith (see Levy, pg. 10, para[0030]). Such conditions can include, but are not limited to, heartburn, heartburn accompanied by regurgitation of gastric/intestinal contents into the mouth or the lungs (see Levy, pg. 10, para[0030]); thereby constituting where emesis is treated as recited in instant claim 29. As evidenced by Northwestern Medicine, vomiting (i.e., emesis) is one of the GERD symptoms not to be ignored (see Northwestern Medicine, pg. 1). Since the teachings of Levy suggest treating or preventing vomiting; it must follow that vomiting is suppress; therefore Levy’s teachings constitute wherein the GIP agonist peptide of claim 6 or a salt thereof for use in suppressing vomiting, as recited in instant 34.
Regarding claim 30,the GIPR agonist peptide according to claim 6, which is administered to a subject Q1D, or once per 24 hours to treat or prevent emesis, including vomiting and/or nausea:
Levy teaches that the GIP compound is administered peripherally at a dose of about 0.5 μg to about 5 mg per day in single or divided doses or controlled continual release (see Levy, pg. 125, paragraph [00479]). Exemplary doses can be derived from the total amount of drug to be given a day and the number doses administered a day; for example, exemplary doses can range from about 0.125 μg/dose (0.5 μg given four times a day) to about 2 mg/dose (2 mg given once a day), thereby constituting administration to a subject Q1D, or once per 24 hours as recited in instant claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, the medicament according to claim 27, which is an activator of a GIP receptor:
Levy teaches that the binding of a ligand to the receptor leads to G protein activation which in turns regulates Adenylyl Cyclase, the enzyme responsible for modulating intracellular levels of cAMP; and that measurement of cAMP levels is widely used as an indicator of receptor function. (see Levy, pg. 143, para[00573]). Levy determined activation of cardiomyocyte Gs- and Gi-coupled receptors as a measure of cAMP production (see pg. 143, para[00573]). Levy performed three :independent experiments of cardiomyocyte Gs-coupled receptor activation, the EC50 (nM) was 15.6 for GIP, 0.7 for urocortin (i.e., a known cardiac myocyte Gs-coupled receptor activator used as a positive control) and 29.8 for the GIP hybrid Compound G (see pg. 144, para[00577]). GIP and the GIP hybrid typically gave receptor activation responses greater than 50%; the results indicate that the GIP compounds can provide a direct action on the heart (see pg. 144, para[00577]). As such, the teachings of Levy suggest the claim limitations recited in instant claim 31, wherein the medicament according to claim 27 is an activator of a GIP receptor.
Regarding claim 32, the medicament according to claim 27, which is a suppressant for vomiting or nausea; Levy teaches that a further beneficial action of the GIP hybrids comprising a DPP-IV resistant GIP analog with a peptidic enhancer such as an exendin tail (e.g., Compound G), arises from a lack of or reduced anorectic effect and an absence of or relatively insignificant nausea effect (see Levy, pg. 105, para[00409]). Thereby Levy’s teachings constitute the claim limitations recited in instant claim 27.
Regarding claim 37, the peptide or a salt thereof according to claim 34, or the method according to claim 36, where the emesis, vomiting or the nausea is caused by one or more conditions or causes selected from the following (1) to (10): (1) Diseases accompanied by vomiting or nausea such as gastroparesis, gastrointestinal hypomotility, peritonitis, abdominal tumor, constipation, gastrointestinal obstruction, , chronic intestinal pseudo-obstruction, functional dyspepsia, cyclic vomiting syndrome, chronic unexplained nausea and vomiting, acute pancreatitis, chronic pancreatitis, hepatitis, hyperkalemia, cerebral edema, intracranial lesion, metabolic disorder, gastritis caused by an infection, postoperative disease, myocardial infarction, migraine, intracranial hypertension, and intracranial hypotension (e.g., altitude sickness):
Levy teaches that use of GIP compounds can minimize or avoid risks associated with GLP-1 in invoking a GIK-like benefit (see Levy, pg. 107, para[00417]). GIP compounds provide further benefit in patients with or at risk of compromised myocardium, and certain other conditions such as renal failure, independent of its insulinotropic action. Further the method includes administering to patients in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a GIP compound that provides a sparing of cardiac muscle, which otherwise tends to atrophy in catabolic states (see Levy, pg. 107, para[00417]). Accordingly, in one embodiment of Levy’s invention, the critical care patient has a disease or condition of catabolic change associated with a critical illness, sepsis, post-traumatic, post-surgical, post-shock, comatose patients, stress-induced hyperglycemia (for example after a vascular event), stroke, myocardial infarction, acute mesenteric ischemia, respiratory distress, ventilator dependency, renal failure, congestive heart failure, edema, hibernating myocardium, cardiomyopathies (ischemic, diabetic), lowering of BNP, ejection dysfunction, hypertension, polyneuropathy, ischemia/reperfusion injury (for example post thrombolytic therapy, post cardiac surgery), histoprotection of organ beds, myocardial infarction (mortality, function, symptomatology), acute coronary syndrome (stable/unstable angina, non-Q wave infarct, ECG positive), disturbances of conduction or rhythm, papillary dysfunction, and/or pulmonary edema (see Levy, pg. 107, para[00418]). For example, in a one embodiment the method comprises attenuating, ameliorating or reducing such disease or conditions including pre- or post-surgical catabolic changes, comprising, administering to a patient in need thereof a GIP compound (see Levy, pg. 107, para[00418]). As such, the teachings of Levy constitute the claim limitations recited in instant claim 37.
2. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al., WO2006/086769 A2 published on August 17th 2006 (herein after “Levy’), in view of Dimarchi et al., US2015/0368310 A1 published on December 17th 2015 (herein after “Dimarchi”) and Caslo ApS. Peptide Synthesis with Modifications., 2013, pp. 1-7 available at https://www.caslo.com/peptide-modifications.html (herein after “Caslo”) as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Levy et al., US2011/0136737 A1 published on June 9th 2011 (herein after “Levy 2”) as applied to claim 26 herewith.
Levy does not expressly teach where the GIP receptor agonist peptide according to claim 7 or a salt thereof, wherein the GIP receptor agonist peptide has a solubility of 15 mg/mL or greater.
Notwithstanding that the combination of references would necessarily teach and/or suggest that the GIP receptor agonist peptide exhibits a solubility of 15 mg/ml or greater given that the combination of references suggest a specific peptide sequence, the prior art expressly suggests an additional modification that improves peptide solubility. More specifically, Levy 2 teaches GIP analogs comprising exemplary “tail” modifications, example those having a frog GLP-1 tail (PKKIRYS) alone or in combination with other modifications and derivatizations (see Levy 2, pg. 50, para[0339]). Analog 0601GIP4233 as an example of a GIP analog having surprisingly high solubility (e.g., solubility greater than 5mg/ml in 30mgM histidine buffer at pH 4 to 8) and contains a frog GLP-1 C-terminal tail (see Levy 2, pg. 52, para[0340]). A further such tail modification that improves solubility of a GIP analog or hybrid into which it is incorporated is a chimera of the frog tail and the exendin tail (see Levy 2, pg. 52, para[0340]). This chimeric tail can be incorporated into other GIP analogs and hybrids to improve solubility (see Levy 2, pg. 52, para[0340]). Thus, given that the sequence interpretation of the instant GIP receptor agonist peptide encompasses C-terminal additions when P2 is -OH (See “Sequence Interpretation” section above), the teachings of Levy 2 imply that the GIP analog has a solubility of 15mg/mL or greater. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metal Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held a proper rejection of a claim directed toward an alloy of having "0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.) Therefore, the claimed solubility would have been suggested to one skilled in the art.
From the teachings of the references, the Examiner recognizes that it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Levy and modify the GIP analog or hybrid to incorporate a frog GLP-1 C-terminal tail modification in combination with other modifications and derivatizations thereby resulting in a GIP analog with high solubility. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because incorporating a tail modification was known to improve solubility of a GIP analog or hybrid as taught by Levy 2. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the inventions has made would have had a reasonable expectation of success given that the GIP hybrid analog of Levy contains the amino acid sequence of YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker where the Ala at instant position A2 is substituted with Aib in order to prevent DPP-IV degradation; the Met at instant position A14 is substituted with Leu in order to eliminate or reduce oxidation; the Lys at instant position A16 is substituted with Arg in order to stabilize the peptide; the Ile at instant position A17 is substituted with Aib in order to promote helix formation, the Arg at instant position A18 is substituted with Ala given that it constitutes a conservative substitution and does not result in GIP receptor agonist activity; the Gln at instant position A20 is substituted with Aib in order to enhance GIP activity in the absence of an intramolecular bridge and thus stabilize the alpha helix; the Asp at instant position A21 is substituted with a modified Lys in order to improve solubility and stability in aqueous solutions at physiological pH while retaining the high biological activity relative to the native glucagon as well as resulting in one or more of (i) a prolonged half-life in circulation, (ii) a delayed onset of action, (iii) an extended duration of action, (iv) an improved resistance to proteases, such as DPP-IV, and (v) increased potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor. Therefore incorporating a frog GLP-1 C-terminal tail modification in combination with other modifications and derivatizations would support a GIP analog with high solubility by constituting some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention pursuant to KSR.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references above.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 6-15, 18, 24-32, 34 and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 16-18, 25-26, and 36 of Copending Application No. 17/914,013 (herein after “013”).
‘013 Claims (claim set filed on 03/22/2023):
(Copending Application ‘013 claims 1-14, 16-18, 25-26, and 36 corresponding to instant claims 6-15, 18, 24-32 and 34). ‘013 claims a GIP receptor agonist peptide or a or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof represented by the intrinsic claimed formula (I). It Is noted that upon comparison of instant formula (I) and the formula claimed in ‘013; instant formula (I) is a subgenus of ‘013’s formula (I), where each residue in instant formula (I) is encompassed by the broader peptide in ‘013’s formula (I). As such, formula (I) in Copending Application ‘013 comprises 42 residues in total with some positions having more or less amino acid options to substitute from when compared to instant formula (I). For example, residue A14 includes Ile or Nle in addition to the options listed for instant A14, residue A17 includes Ala in addition to the options listed for instant A17, residue A20 does not include Lys when compared to instant A20, residue A24 includes Gln in addition to the options listed for instant A24, residue A32 includes Pro in addition to the options listed for instant A32, residue A33 includes Lys in addition to the options listed for instant A33, residue A34 does not include Lys when compared to instant A34, residue A35 includes Asn but does not include Lys in addition to the options listed for instant A35, residue A36 does not include Lys when compared to the options listed for instant A36, residue A37 does not include Gly when compared to the options listed for instant A37, residue A38 does not include Lys when compared to the options listed for instant A38, residue A39 does not include Gly nor Lys when compared to the options listed for instant A39 and finally residue A40 does not include Lys when compared to the options listed for instant A40. The remainder of the variables are the same as in instant formula (I). Similarly, ‘013 also claims that the GIP receptor peptide comprises a C17-C20 monoacid or diacid lipid (see ‘013 claims 10-11), and a linker comprising 2OEGgEgE or GGGGG (see ‘013 claims 12-14). Although ‘013 does not expressly claim where the solubility of the GIP receptor agonist peptide is greater than 15mg/L, since ‘013 claims peptides that are encompassed by instant SEQ ID NO: 358 in claim 6 it would necessarily follow that the ‘013 peptides exhibit the same function. Additionally, ‘013’s claims 25-26 are encompassed by the instantly claimed invention, and ‘013 claim 36 is directed to a method of using the GIP receptor agonist peptide. Therefore the Copending Application claims are not patentably distinct from the instantly claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 6-15, 18, 24-32, 34 and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-12, 14-29 of US 12,122,815 B2 (Imoto et al.) (herein after “815”).
‘815 Claims:
(See ‘815 claim 1 corresponding to instant claims 6-11). ‘815 claims 9-12 and 14-16 also correspond to instant claims 6-15. ‘815 claims a GIP receptor agonist peptide represented by formula (I) or a salt thereof. It Is noted that upon comparison of instant formula (I) and the formula claimed in ‘815; instant formula (I) comprises 40 amino acid residues while ‘815’ formula (I) comprises 41 residues. Additionally, the residues in instant formula (I) are encompassed by the broader peptide ‘815’s, therefore instant formula (I) represents a subgenus for ‘815’s formula (I). Similarly, ‘815 also claims that the GIP receptor peptide comprises a C6-C20 monoacid or diacid group (see ‘815 claims 14-15), and a linker comprising 2OEGgEgE or GGGGG (see ‘815 claims 11-12 and 16). Moreover ‘815 also claims the selectivity ratio to be greater than 10, 100, 1000 or 100,000 (see ‘815 claim 17), an effective amount of administration (see ‘815 claim 26-27), as well as methods to treat or prevent emesis in a subject, to treat type 2 diabetes mellitus or obesity, and vomiting or nausea induced by chemotherapeutic drugs (see ‘815 claims 21-22, 24-25, 28-29). These claims are encompassed by the instantly claimed invention. Although ‘815 does not expressly claim where the solubility of the GIP receptor agonist peptide is greater than 15mg/L, since ‘815 claims peptides that are encompassed by instant SEQ ID NO: 358 in instant claim 6 it would necessarily follow that the ‘815 peptides exhibit the same function. Therefore the US 12,122,815 B2 claims are not patentably distinct from the instantly claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 6-15, 18, 24-32, 34 and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 64-70, 79-82, 90-93, 95-110 and 134-141 of Copending Application No. 17/279,228 (herein after “228”).
‘228 Claim (claim set filed on 05/15/2024) :
(See Copending Application ‘228 claim 1 corresponding to instant claims 6-11). ‘228 claims 134-141 also correspond to instant claims 6-11. ‘228 claims a method for treating emesis in a subject, the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a GIP receptor agonist peptide or salt thereof, where the GIP receptor agonist peptide comprises formula (II). Upon comparing instant formula (I) to ‘228’s formula (II) it is noted that the latter comprises 43 amino acid residues. Additionally, instant formula (I) is a subgenus of ‘228’s formula (II) where each residue in instant formula (I) is encompassed by the broader genus. It is also noted that Copending Application ‘228 also claims a method of administering the GIP peptide, an effective amount, a method of treating diabetes mellitus and/or emesis and/or vomiting and nausea due to chemotherapy (see ‘228 claims 64-70, 79-82, 90-93, 95-110), which further limit the method of using the instantly claimed GIP receptor agonist peptide. Although ‘228 does not expressly claim where the solubility of the GIP receptor agonist peptide is greater than 15mg/L, since ‘228 claims peptides that are encompassed by instant SEQ ID NO: 358 in claim 6 it would necessarily follow that the ‘228 peptides exhibit the same function. Therefore the Copending Application claims are not patentably distinct from the instantly claimed invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 09/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
In response to Applicants’ first argument, i.e., Levy does not teach or suggest a peptide in which residue A17 represent Aib, Lys, or Lys(R); and that there are no common peptide resides or modifications between Levy and the current application for position 17 (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 19, third paragraph), it is found unpersuasive.
It is acknowledged that there is not a single reference that teaches and/or suggests every claim limitation recited in instant claims 6-15, 18, 24-26, 29-30 and 34. However, Applicants are respectfully reminded that the rejections supra are based on obviousness. Pursuant to MPEP 2142, 35 USC 103 authorizes a rejection where; to meet the claim, it is necessary to modify a single reference or to combine it with one or more other references (emphasis added). Since the rejection is based on obviousness, it is unnecessary for every claim limitation to be taught and/or suggested by a single reference. Additionally, the Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In the instant case, as discussed above in the 103 rejection, the teachings of Levy, Just, Dimarchi and Caslo are suggestive of the claim limitations as recited in instant claims 6-15, 18, 24-26, 29-30 and 34. Levy teaches a GIP analog peptide comprising the formula D-L-C-S, where each region of the formula represents a sequence that include modifications and substitutions such as N-terminal modifications, L-amino acids, D-amino acids, proteinogenic and non-proteinogenic amino acids. Levy’s modifications can be combined with at least one other change such as a change that imparts DPP-IV resistance, reduces or eliminates oxidation, reduces renal clearance, improves receptor binding, or improves receptor activation. In particular, Levy teaches modifications at specific positions that read on the claim limitations recited in instant claims 6-9.
Just teaches GIP analogues that comprise non-conservative substitutions at one or more of amino acid positions 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, and 30 of the wild-type GIP sequence in combination with Ile, Gln, Lys, Arg or Glu in position 17. Just adds that the non-conservative and non-obvious substitution of Ile for Lys in position 17 may enhance GLP-1 receptor activity and in addition provide a handle for acylation to prolong half-life of the peptide.
Dimarchi teaches a glucagon analog peptide where positions such as instant A21 are substituted by Aib or Lys. Dimarchi’s teachings include a spacer comprising the claimed gEgE C14-C18 monoacid or diacid. And Caslo teaches types of linkers which are commonly used between active groups and a peptide sequence (i.e., OEG or minipig). As such, the question is whether a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and/or expected to arrive at the claimed invention after reading the teachings of Levy, Just, Dimarchi, and Caslo. The Examiner maintains that the answers to these questions are yes in light of the teachings of Levy, Just, Dimarchi, and Caslo.
With respect to Applicants’ argument pertaining to the significant differences between the teachings of Dimarchi and Levy and Dimarchi and the current application; in addition to lack of clear direction by Dimarchi to teach the invention to one of skill in the art (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 19, last two paragraphs and top of pg. 20); it is found unpersuasive.
Applicants are respectfully reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicants are comparing the prior art references to each other, and asserting that since some of the features taught by one are not present in the other, then the art fails to teach or suggest the claimed invention. However, Applicants reasoning is not persuasive because as previously stated, the rejection is based on obviousness and obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention. In the instant case, the teachings of Levy (i.e., base reference) are supplemented with the teachings and motivation of Just, Dimarchi, and Caslo, in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to the motivation to alter Levy with the teachings of Dimarchi: one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because substituting the amino acid residue at position A21 with a modified lysine such as Lys-2OEGgEgE-C15DA was known to cause the GIP agonist peptide to have a prolonged half-life in circulation, a delayed onset of action, an extended duration of action, an improved resistance to proteases and an increase potency at any one or more of the GIP receptor, GLP-receptor, and glucagon receptor as taught by Dimarchi.
In response to Applicants’ first, second and third arguments regarding the teachings of Dimarchi (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 19 and 20), have been considered and are found unpersuasive.
Dimarchi was not relied upon for the features of Levy. The teachings of Dimarchi complement the teachings of Levy; therefore comparing the teachings of Dimarchi to the teachings of Levy is not a persuasive argument to overcome the obviousness rejection.
With respect to Applicants’ four argument, regarding the teachings of Dimarchi and Levy (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 20, last paragraph and pg. 21); have been considered and are found unpersuasive.
It is the Examiner’s understanding that Applicants’ arguments are against Dimarchi and Levy individually. Pursuant to MPEP 2142 (IV), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the instant case, Applicant’s arguments are limited to a subset of what Dimarchi teaches or fails to teach in relation to the teachings of Levy instead of the instantly claimed invention. As such, the arguments fail to establish a persuasive motive that demonstrates that the instantly claimed invention would be patentable over the teachings of Levy (i.e., base reference) in view of Dimarchi and Caslo.
In response to Applicants’ argument the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 26 (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 22), have been considered and are unpersuasive.
Applicants assert that Levy, nor Dimarchi, nor Caslo, nor their combination teach or suggest a GIPR agonist peptide of claim 6, wherein position 17 (i.e., A17) represents Aib, Lys, or Lys(R) (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 22, 4th paragraph). Applicants also assert that Levy 2 does not provide the missing teachings and that the current application does not teach or suggest the referenced frog GLP-1 tail or other frog tail and exendin tail chimera (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 22, 5th paragraph).
MPEP 2144.09 states that a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). MPEP also states that if such a prior art species or subgenus is structurally similar to that claimed, its disclosure may provide a reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the claimed species or subgenus from the genus, based on the reasonable expectation that structurally similar species usually have similar properties. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 1558, 34 USPQ2d 1210, 1214 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ("Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. See MPEP 2144.08, subsection II.A.4(c). In the instant case, Levy teaches YAEGTFISDYSIAMDKIRQQDFVNWLLAQK-Linker, as well as motivation or suggestion to modify/substitute residues at different positions. While it is true that Levy does not teach wherein position 17 is represented by Aib, Lys or Lys(R); the teachings of Just cure this deficiency and provide a motivation to substitute. As previously mentioned, Just teaches GIP analogues comprise non-conservative substitutions at one or more of amino acid positions 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, and 30 of the wild-type GIP sequence in combination with Ile, Gln, Lys, Arg or Glu in position 17; and that the non-conservative and non-obvious substitution of Ile for Lys in position 17 may enhance GLP-1 receptor activity and in addition provide a handle for acylation to prolong half-life of the peptide. As such, Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because it is prima facie obvious that an ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to modify position A17 as taught by Just. Furthermore, the close structural similarity between Levy’s sequence and the instantly claimed GIP receptor agonist peptide would exhibit similar properties/functions (i.e., solubility of 15 mg/mL or greater).
With respect to Applicants’ argument, i.e., the current application does not teach or suggest the referenced frog GLP-1 tail or other frog tail and exendin tail chimera (see Remarks, filed 09/02/2025, pg. 22, 5th paragraph); it is found unpersuasive.
Pursuant to MPEP § 2144, a difference in objectives, if any, does not defeat the case for obviousness because the “reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) …; In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) …” As such, the reason (i.e., incorporation of the exemplary “tail” modifications of Levy 2), an ordinary skilled artisan would substitute P2 (i.e., -OH) taught by Levy for an exemplary tail such as the one taught by Levy 2 does not preclude a finding of obviousness.
Moreover, the teachings of Levy 2 when combined with the teachings of Levy suggest the claim limitations recited in instant claim 26. The applied teachings of Levy 2 cure the deficiencies in Levy. As such, the current application does not have to “teach” or suggest the reference frog GLP-1 tail or other frog tail and exendin tail chimera, nor the amino acid sequence modifications of the non-tail region because Levy 2’s exemplary peptide (e.g., 0601GIP4233, SEQ ID NO: 186 and SEQ ID NO: 836) do not preclude a finding of obviousness.
Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claims 6-13, 15, 18, 24-32, 34 and 37 has been maintained.
In response to Applicants’ argument, i.e., applicants will address any remaining double patenting rejections that remain when the claims are deemed to be allowable (see Remarks, filed on 09/02/2025, pg. 23), it is found unpersuasive.
Applicants are respectfully reminded that a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Furthermore, the MPEP states that If a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is the only rejection remaining in an application having the earlier patent term filing date, the Examiner should withdraw the rejection in the application having the earlier patent term filing date and permit that application to issue as a patent, thereby converting the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection in the other application into a nonstatutory double patenting rejection upon issuance of the patent. Please refer to MPEP, 804B(i). Thus, contrary to Applicants’ argument, claims 6-15, 18, 24-26, 29-30, 34 and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over co-pending Application No. 17/914,013; US 12,122,815 B2; and Copending Application No. 17/279,228.
As such, the double-patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CLAUDIA ESPINOSA/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654