DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
To summarize the current election, the applicant elected group I and the species where paclitaxel is the first therapeutic agent, sirolimus is the second therapeutic. Both therapeutic agents are located in each nanoparticle, and the nanoparticles have surface functionalization.
Claims 17, 20, and 29-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the polymeric matrix” however the parent claim recites “a water-soluble polymeric matrix”. Consistent terminology should be employed for the composition components throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 102657899 – English translation referenced for citations – previously cited) as evidenced by Pillai et al. (Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces 2015 136:1058-1066 – previously cited).
Yang et al. disclose a stent with a coating that comprises polymer nanoparticles in which paclitaxel and rapamycin are encapsulated in each particle at a 1:1 mass ratio (see example 3; instant claims 1, 9-11, 14, and 19). The polymer is poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA) and the nanoparticles are made via oil-in-water emulsion with poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) in the aqueous phase (see instant claims 2-3). The result of this technique is PVA on the surface of the nanoparticles; thereby yielding surface functionalized nanoparticles (see Pillai et al. page 1058 second column last partial paragraph-page 1059 first column second full paragraph; instant claim 4). Yang et al. further teach the PLGA to have a size of 100-200 nm (see paragraph 59; instant claims 8). Therefore claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, and 19 are anticipated by Yang et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Yerlikaya et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 2013 102:3748-3761 – previously cited) as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Yang et al. disclose a stent with a coating that comprises polymer nanoparticles in which paclitaxel and rapamycin are encapsulated in each particle at a 1:1 mass ratio (see example 3; instant claims 1, 9-11, 14, and 19). The polymer is poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA) and the nanoparticles are made via oil-in-water emulsion with poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) in the aqueous phase (see instant claims 2-3). The result of this technique is PVA on the surface of the nanoparticles; thereby yielding surface functionalized nanoparticles (see Pillai et al. page 1058 second column last partial paragraph-page 1059 first column second full paragraph; instant claim 4). Yang et al. further teach the PLGA to have a size of 100-200 nm (see paragraph 59; instant claims 8). Paclitaxel and rapamycin are able to be in amorphous, semi-crystalline, or crystalline forms; however the form in the PLGA particles is not detailed.
Yerlikaya et al. teach PLGA nanoparticles encapsulating paclitaxel (see abstract). The nanoparticles are made via much the same method as those of Yang et al. (see page 3749 first column last paragraph). Yerlikaya et al. go on to characterize the form of paclitaxel in the produced particles and note that it is amorphous (see page 3755 first column first full paragraph). They further detail that the form impacts the speed of dissolution, where amorphous forms release faster than crystalline, thereby permitting tuning of release kinetics (see page 3759 second column first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select an amorphous form for the paclitaxel in the PLGA nanoparticles of Yang et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. This choice would have been obvious because it is likely the form they obtain during their production, in light of Yerlikaya et al., and was one of only three options for structural forms. It additionally would have been obvious in light of Yerlikaya et al. in order to permit tuning of the release kinetics as desired by the artisan of ordinary skill to meet design preferences. Therefore claims 1-4, 8-11, 14-15, and 19 are obvious over Yang et al. in view of Yerlikaya et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Claims 1-11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Chevalier et al. (European Polymer Journal 2017 95:348–357 - previously cited) as evidenced by Pillai et al. and Yamamoto et al. (JP 06276931 – English translation referenced for citations - previously cited).
Yang et al. disclose a stent with a coating that comprises polymer nanoparticles in which paclitaxel and rapamycin are encapsulated in each particle at a 1:1 mass ratio (see example 3; instant claims 1, 9-11, 14, and 19). The polymer is poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA) and the nanoparticles are made via oil-in-water emulsion with poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) in the aqueous phase (see instant claims 2-3). The result of this technique is PVA on the surface of the nanoparticles; thereby yielding surface functionalized nanoparticles (see Pillai et al. page 1058 second column last partial paragraph-page 1059 first column second full paragraph; instant claim 4). Yang et al. further teach the PLGA to have a size of 100-200 nm (see paragraph 59; instant claims 8). While PVA is on the surface of the paclitaxel and rapamycin containing PLGA nanoparticles, poly(L-lysine) (PLL) is not discussed as also being present on the surface.
Chevalier et al. teach PLGA nanoparticles conferred with an improved ability to deliver their drug cargo into cells due to surface modification with a cationic charge (see abstract). Here the nanoparticles are provided with PLL on their surface to yield a cationic surface charge (see page 349 third-fourth full paragraphs and figure 1). The nanoparticles have a cationic zeta potential and superior efficacy at delivery of the anti-proliferative effect of their cargo as compared to those without PLL (see page 355-356, figure 7, and table 3; instant claims 5-7). PLL acts as cationic surfactant in water, therefore it also meets the instant limitations of a cationic surfactant (see Yamamoto et al. abstract and page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the PLL along with the PVA already present on the surface of the nanoparticles of Yang et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. to improve the efficacy of their anti-proliferative drug cargo. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-11, 14, and 19 are obvious over Yang et al. in view of Chevalier et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. and Yamamoto et al.
Claims 1-4, 8-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Toner et al. (US Patent No. 8,057,816 - previously cited) as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Yang et al. disclose a stent with a coating that comprises polymer nanoparticles in which paclitaxel and rapamycin are encapsulated in each particle at a 1:1 mass ratio (see example 3; instant claims 1, 9-11, 14, and 19). The polymer is poly(lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA) and the nanoparticles are made via oil-in-water emulsion with poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) in the aqueous phase (see instant claims 2-3). The result of this technique is PVA on the surface of the nanoparticles; thereby yielding surface functionalized nanoparticles (see Pillai et al. page 1058 second column last partial paragraph-page 1059 first column second full paragraph; instant claim 4). Yang et al. further teach the PLGA to have a size of 100-200 nm (see paragraph 59; instant claims 8). Paclitaxel and rapamycin are present at a 1:1 mass ratio; however a variation of their relative proportions is not discussed.
Toner et al. teach medical devices, such as stents, that provide a combination of paclitaxel and rapamycin or a derivative to address undesired restenotic activity (see abstract, column 1 lines 36-44, column 23 lines 30-36, and claims 1 and 11). They detail a mass ratio of 7:10 to 0.1:10 as suitable for this purpose (see column 23 lines 36-50; instant claims 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the range of ratios of paclitaxel to rapamycin, detailed by Toner et al., on the stent of Yang et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. This modification would have been obvious because they were known to be useful for this drug combination. The result is a range that overlaps or embraces those instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1-4, 8-14, and 19 are obvious over Yang et al. in view of Toner et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US PGPub No. 2006/0045901 – previously cited) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis 2011 54:807-811 – previously cited).
Weber teaches a stent with a hydrophilic coating that includes nanoparticles in which a therapeutic agent(s) is encapsulated (see abstract and paragraph 22). The presence of the coating on the stent surface requires the coating to adhere to this implantable device to some degree (see instant claim 21). The coating material is exemplified as PVA and the coating may be present as multiple layers containing different concentrations of the same therapeutic agent (see paragraphs 19 and 127; instant claims 3, 24, and 27). An example details the nanoparticles as encapsulating paclitaxel (see paragraphs 126-128). Weber teaches the nanoparticles to be multilayered particles that encapsulate the therapeutic agent in a core surrounded by layers of biocompatible polymers that alternate positive or negative charge in a layer by layer fashion (see paragraphs 47, 76, and 83; instant claims 1, 7, and 21). These nanoparticles therefore have a functionalized surface, given their positive or negative surface charge (see instant claims 4 and 6). They further teach the nanoparticles to have a size that ranges from 1 to 1000 nm (see paragraph 46; instant claim 8). Additionally, therapeutic agents envisioned in the nanoparticles include both paclitaxel and rapamycin (see paragraph 52; instant claims 9-11). Non-polymeric components are also envisioned in the nanoparticles, including fatty acids (see paragraph 90; instant claim 16). While combinations of therapeutic agents are envisioned, a mixture of paclitaxel and rapamycin is not explicitly detailed.
Ma et al. teach the combination of paclitaxel and rapamycin provided at a 1:1 mass ratio in a polymer coating on a stent (see abstract and page 808 second full paragraph). They note the known synergistic relationship between the two anti-proliferative compounds against tumor cells and recognized utility against restenosis that may also experience a similar synergistic impact (see page 807-page 808 first column first partial paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate rapamycin at 1:1 as taught by Ma et al. into the exemplified nanoparticles in the PVA coated stent of Weber to improve the efficacy of their anti-proliferative drug cargo. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The combination is additionally obvious because both compounds are anti-proliferative. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). The application of the particle size and incorporation of a fatty acid in the nanoparticles would follow due to their suggestion by Weber. The result is a range of sizes that overlap those instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05; instant claims 8 and 26). The application of two such PVA layers with different therapeutic concentrations would also follow from the suggestion of Weber. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27 are obvious over Weber in view of Ma et al.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in view of Ma et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Mohsin et al. (Materials Science and Engineering A 2011 528:925–930 – previously cited), Mohsin B. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science 2011 122:3102-3109 – previously cited), and Dave (US PGPub No. 2007/0200268 - previously cited).
Weber in view of Ma et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27. The combination of teachings provide an embodiment with a two layered arrangement composed of PVA that contains polymer nanoparticles encapsulating paclitaxel and rapamycin. The presence of a sugar and glycerol in the outer layer is not detailed.
Mohsin er al. teach of the use of PVA in biomedical applications and the benefit of including glycerol as a plasticizer (see abstract and page 3102). Specifically, they detail that the inclusion of the plasticizer confers elasticity to films cast from PVA as indicated by the lowered elastic modulus (see page 3103 first column last partial paragraph-second column first partial paragraph and page 3106 second column first-second full paragraphs and table III).
Mohsin B also teach of the benefit of plasticized PVA for biomedical applications (see abstract and page 925). Here they teach sorbitol as an effective plasticizer that confers elasticity to films cast from PVA as indicated by the lowered elastic modulus (see page 926 first column third full paragraph, page 929, and table 3).
Dave teaches a stent that includes a polymer that may be present in a coating, where one or a mixture of plasticizers can be included (see abstract and paragraphs 56, 82, and 114). Sorbitol and glycerol are envisioned plasticizers (see paragraph 82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sorbitol and glycerol as plasticizers in the PVA layers of Weber in view of Ma et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The inclusion of a combination of plasticizers is obvious in light of the suggestion of Dave and because they are employed for the same purpose. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). The coating layers of Weber are films of PVA and would be expected to benefit from added elasticity, given that the stent expands during use. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-24, and 26-28 are obvious over Weber in view of Ma et al., Mohsin et al. Mohsin B, and Dave.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, 26-27, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in view of Ma et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Hossainy et al. (US Patent No. 6,153,252).
Weber in view of Ma et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, and 26-27. The presence of a topcoat and basecoat is not detailed.
Hossainy et al. teach a stent coated with polymer coating that includes a drug for delivery (see abstract and column 7 lines 55-60). They additionally teach applying a drug free primer/base coat under a drug containing layer to better adhere the drug releasing matrix to the stent surface as well as an overlying topcoat to delay release of the drug (see column 7 lines 13-21). The polymer in the layers can be different or could be the same (examples 1 and 7; instant claims 27 and 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PVA primer/base coat and topcoat in the coating configuration of the modified device of Weber et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-22, 24, 26-27, and 47 are obvious over Weber in view of Ma et al. and Hossainy et al.
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, 19, 21-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (Bulletin of the Korean Chemical Society 2009 30(5):1085-1087) in view of Ma et al. and Weber as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Joo et al. teach stents coated with a dispersion PLGA particles that encapsulate paclitaxel (see abstract and page 1086 first column first paragraph; instant claims 1-2 and 21-23). The particles are made via oil-in-water emulsion with PVA in the aqueous phase (see page 1085 second column first full paragraph; instant claims 2-3). The result of this technique is PVA on the surface of the nanoparticles; thereby yielding surface functionalized nanoparticles (see Pillai et al. page 1058 second column last partial paragraph-page 1059 first column second full paragraph; instant claim 4). Joo et al. further teach the PLGA nanoparticles to have a size of 311 nm (see page 1086 first column last partial paragraph; instant claims 8 and 26). They do not teach a PVA matrix in which the nanoparticles are dispersed or the presence of rapamycin in the nanoparticles.
Ma et al. teach the combination of paclitaxel and rapamycin provided at a 1:1 mass ratio in a polymer coating on a stent (see abstract and page 808 second full paragraph; instant claims 9, 14, and 19). They note the known synergistic relationship between the two anti-proliferative compounds against tumor cells and recognized utility against restenosis that may also experience a similar synergistic impact (see page 807-page 808 first column first partial paragraph).
Weber teaches a stent with a hydrophilic coating that includes nanoparticles in which a therapeutic agent(s) is encapsulated (see abstract and paragraph 22). The presence of the coating on the stent surface requires the coating to adhere to this implantable device to some degree (see instant claim 21). The coating material is exemplified as PVA and the coating may be present as multiple layers containing different concentrations of the same therapeutic agent (see paragraphs 19 and 127; instant claims 3, 24, and 27). An example details the nanoparticles as encapsulating paclitaxel (see paragraphs 126-128). They envision the coating configuration with PVA to provide a hydrophilic matrix in which is dispersed nanoparticles with a hydrophilic outer layer and an hydrophobic interior layer/core and drug (see paragraph 131). The design is configured to have the hydrophilic matrix dissolve to expose the hydrophilic outer layer of a nanoparticle, which then dissolves and exposes the hydrophobic nanoparticle interior that is rejected from the hydrophilic coating and released (see paragraph 131). They teach this arrangement as providing a defined release rate from a coating that is more biocompatible than those that are more hydrophobic (e.g., uncoated hydrophobic drug) (see paragraph 131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate rapamycin at 1:1 with paclitaxel as taught by Ma et al. into the nanoparticles of Joo et al. to improve the efficacy of their anti-proliferative drug cargo. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The combination is additionally obvious because both compounds are anti-proliferative. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). It additionally would have been obvious the include PVA in the coating dispersion of Joo et al. in view of Weber et al., given the similar construction of their respective paclitaxel loaded nanoparticles. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The application of two such PVA layers with different therapeutic concentrations would also follow from the suggestion of Weber and provide the initial layer coated with an outer layer of PVA (see instant claim 27). Therefore claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, 19, 21-24, and 26-27 are obvious over Joo et al. in view of Weber and Ma et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al.
Claims 1-11, 14, 19, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. in view of Weber and Ma et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, 19, 21-24, and 26-27 above, and further in view of Chevalier et al.
Joo et al. in view of Weber and Ma et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-4, 8-11, 14, 19, 21-24, and 26-27 where the PLGA nanoparticles have PVA on their surface. The presence of PLL on the PLGA nanoparticle surface is not detailed.
Chevalier et al. teach PLGA nanoparticles conferred with an improved ability to deliver their drug cargo into cells due to surface modification with a cationic charge (see abstract). Here the nanoparticles are provided with PLL on their surface to yield a cationic surface charge (see page 349 third-fourth full paragraphs and figure 1). The nanoparticles have a cationic zeta potential and superior efficacy at delivery of the anti-proliferative effect of their cargo as compared to those without PLL (see page 355-356, figure 7, and table 3; instant claims 5-7 and 25). PLL acts as cationic surfactant in water, therefore it also meets the instant limitations of a cationic surfactant (see Yamamoto et al. abstract and page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the PLL along with the PVA already present on the surface of the nanoparticles of Joo et al. in view of Weber and Ma et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. to improve the efficacy of their anti-proliferative drug cargo. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-11, 14, 19, and 21-27 are obvious over Joo et al. in view of Weber, Ma et al., and Chevalier et al. as evidenced by Pillai et al. and Yamamoto et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 2, 2026 have been fully considered. In light of the amendment, rejections over Yang et al. have been adjusted to reflect the broadened claim scope. New grounds of rejection are detailed that address the modified claim scope. The applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The applicant is reminded to update the claim status identifiers to reflect the claims under examination.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC over Yang et al. alone or in view of others:
The applicant argues that the teachings of Rypacek cannot be combined with those of Yang et al. because Yang et al. bind their nanoparticles to a stent surface while Rypacek teaches the release of their nanoparticles. In light of the amendment to the claims, this argument is moot because the broadened claim scope permits Yang et al. to now anticipate numerous instant claims. In addition, the argument is unpersuasive because it presumes one must insert the totality of the teachings of Rypacek into those of Yang et al. in order to rely on their combination. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The applicant appears to also argue that the teaching of PLL coating, according to Chevalier, on a nanoparticle surface with PVA already on its sur does not meet the limitations of nanoparticles surface functionalized with PVA and PLL. It is not apparent why PLGA nanoparticles with residual PVA on their surface that are also coated with PLL do not have a surface functionalized with both PVA and PLL, given that both compounds are on the PLGA nanoparticle surface as a series of layers or as a mixed layer.
The applicant also argues that the faster dissolution of amorphous paclitaxel than crystalline paclitaxel may not occur when encapsulated in PLGA. The applicant offers no evidence that this functionality of amorphous paclitaxel discussed by Yerlikaya et al. is negated by the inclusion of the paclitaxel in a PLGA nanoparticle. The applicant also argues that particular conditions are needed to avoid crystallization of paclitaxel when present with another drug. There are no claim limitations about any such “conditions”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). According to MPEP 2144 IV, “[t]he reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).”
The applicant also argus that Toner teaches so many polymer coatings and therapeutic agents that discerning any that provide a beneficial impact would be undue experimentation. This argument presumes that no particular application of the teachings of Toner is possible because they provide a variety of teachings. To the contrary, Toner explicitly teaches weight ratios for combinations of paclitaxel and rapamycin on stents. Thus the artisan could readily discern suitable ratios of these compounds to be employed from these teachings.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC over Weber in view of Ma et al. and further in view of others:
The applicant argues that the claims are drawn to include only water soluble adhesive polymer as the polymer matrix. This interpretation is incorrect, given the open claim language recited in claim 21 that states an “implantable medical device is coated with pharmaceutical composition… comprising polymeric nanoparticles dispersed within a water-soluble adhesive polymeric matrix”.
The applicant also argue that Weber does not detail how their nanoparticle configuration provides balanced and sustained drug release of two different drugs with different characteristics. There are no claim limitations concerning this issue. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). According to MPEP 2144 IV, “[t]he reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).”
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARALYNNE E HELM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/MELISSA S MERCIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615