DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xu et al. (US 2022/0320914), herein after Xu.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozakai (US 2012/0007439) and Xu (US 2022/0320914).
Regarding claim 1, Kozakai discloses a charging apparatus (fig. 1-3) comprising: a first coil driven with an AC voltage, (the power feeding portion 21 is stored in the first storage portion 222, for the purpose of receiving the original electric power, for example, an A.C. cable 40 is connected to the first storage portion 222., paragraph [0063]) with the first coil (coil 21, fig. 3) being disposed in a first structure (20, fig. 3) defining an opening configured to receive a second structure that is separate from the first structure (see the annotated fig. I);
Annotated fig. I
and a second coil (power receiving side has a coil, fig. 3) electromagnetically coupled to the first coil (the sympathetic resonance coil 312 and the sympathetic resonance coil 2112 show the magnetic field sympathetic resonance relationship. As a result, the electric power is efficiently received, paragraph [0082] Note: the second coil 312 and the first coil 2112 is electromagnetically couple), with the second coil integrated in sidewalls of the second structure (at least one second storage portion formed so as to be adapted to store or retrieve a power receiving apparatus as a storage object in or from the main body, paragraph [0021]the power receiving side with a coil is store in one of the wall of 223, fig. 3), and with the second structure engaged with the first structure (fig. 3A shows the engagement of the first structure 20 with second structure 30) and configured to contain receiver devices and to reversibly move into a position to charge the receiver devices(the second storage structure 223 power receiving box is first body, paragraph [0060] is capable of storing the receiver devices like 60 in fig. 17, paragraph [0040]-[0041]; [0154]-[0156]);
wherein the charging apparatus is tuned such that a current in the second coil remains stable irrespective of a number of the receiver devices contained inside the second structure (paragraph [0079]-[0084]Note: the rectifier 32 rectifier the AC voltage and the stabilizing circuit provides stable output voltage irrespective of receiver devices). However, Kozakai does not explicitly disclose that the power receiving apparatus is fixedly integrated in side walls of the structure.
Xu discloses a storage cabinet 1 where the power receiver device is integrated at the side wall of the cabinet (figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s charging system for the wearable device to fix the power receiver device at the wall of the drawer as taught by Xu, in order to reduce misalignment sensitivity, boosting efficiency, reducing heat, and ensuring reliable power transfer despite size constraints.
Regrading claim 2, Kozakai further discloses wherein the first structure is a frame defining the opening (a first storage portion 222 formed inside of the main body 22, paragraph [0059]Note; the 22 is the frame of the storage structure 20, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kozakai further discloses wherein the second structure comprises a drawer (the second storage portion 222 is formed as a drawer of a chest or a storage box, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Kozakai further discloses wherein the drawer and the frame have no electrical contacts between them (see the annotated fig below).
Regarding claim 7, Kozakai further discloses wherein one or more of the receiver devices are disposed in a smart garment (paragraph [0154]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 8, Kozakai further discloses wherein the frame has a ferrous surrounding (The magnetic material is mounted along the wall surface of the main body 221 of the storage body 22, paragraph [0114]; Note: magnetic materials often include ferrous materials like iron, cobalt, and nickel, as well as their alloys like steel, which are attracted to magnets).
Regarding claim 9, Kozakai further discloses an amplifier which is in communication with the coil (paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 10, Kozakai further discloses the charging apparatus can be fit in drawer too and the third coil can be the part of the second drawer similar to the first one (Chest 70, fig. 18).
Regarding claim 11, Kozakai discloses a method for wireless charging (fig. 1-3) comprising: energizing a first transmitter coil (power feeding portion 21 has a power transmitter coil 2112, figs.3-5 ) using an AC voltage (2112 is energized by the AC coil 2111, fig. 5), the first transmitter coil being disposed in a first structure (power feeding portion 21 has a power transmitter coil 2112, figs.3-5 ) defining an opening configured to receive a second structure that is separate from the first structure (see the annotated fig I);
magnetically coupling the first transmitter coil to a first relay coil (the power receiving side 30 has a receiving coil magnetically couple to transmitter coil 20, fig. 3; paragraph [0022]), the first relay coil integrated in sidewalls of the second structure (at least one second storage portion formed so as to be adapted to store or retrieve a power receiving apparatus as a storage object in or from the main body, paragraph [0021]the power receiving side with a coil is store in one of the wall of 223, fig. 3), and with the second structure engaged with the first structure (the first structure 30 is engaging with the second structure 20, fig. 3A) and configured to contain receiver devices and to reversibly move into a position to charge the receiver devices and transmitting wireless power from the first relay coil wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the receiver devices (the second storage structure 223 power receiving box is first body, paragraph [0060] is capable of storing the receiver devices like 60 in fig. 17, paragraph [0040]-[0041]; [0154]-[0156]); and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of the receiver devices contained inside the second structure (paragraph [0079]-[0084]Note: the rectifier 32 rectifier the AC voltage and the stabilizing circuit provides stable output voltage irrespective of receiver devices). However, Kozakai does not explicitly disclose that the power receiving apparatus is fixedly integrated in side walls of the structure.
Xu discloses a storage cabinet 1 where the power receiver device is integrated at the side wall of the cabinet (figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s charging system for the wearable device to fix the power receiver device at the wall of the drawer as taught by Xu, in order to reduce misalignment sensitivity, boosting efficiency, reducing heat, and ensuring reliable power transfer despite size constraints.
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2012/0007439) by multiple embodiments.
Regarding claim 12, Kozakai in its first embodiment in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 11. However, Kozakai’s first embodiment and Xu are silent over wherein the devices include an array of receiver coils.
Kozakai’s second embodiment discloses wherein the devices include an array of receiver coils (30-1, 30-2, fig. 10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s first embodiment in view of Xu to include plurality of power receiving coil to charge the electronic component as taught in Kozakai’s second embodiment, in order to charge the plurality of the smart garments as the same time.
Regarding claim 13, Kozakai in its first embodiment discloses the method further comprising storing the energy in storage devices (the clothing has the battery to store energy, paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 14, Kozakai in its first embodiment discloses wherein the first structure comprises a frame defining the opening, the method further comprising disposing the first transmitter coil in the frame(a first storage portion 222 formed inside of the main body 22 with a coil, paragraph [0059]Note; the 22 is the frame of the storage structure 20, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kozakai in its first embodiment discloses wherein the second structure comprises a drawer, the method further comprising disposing the first relay coil in the drawer (the second storage portion 222 with a power receiving coil is formed as a drawer of a chest or a storage box, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, Kozakai in its first embodiment discloses further comprising surrounding the frame with a highly conductive surrounding (the frame 22 has the coil 2112 making it highly conductive, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kozakai in its second embodiment discloses the method further comprising integrating a second relay coil in sidewalls of a second drawer (fig. 10 have the multiple drawers with the receiver coils).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s first embodiment in view of Xu to include plurality of power receiving coil to charge the electronic component as taught in Kozakai’s second embodiment, in order to charge the plurality of the smart garments as the same time.
Regarding claim 18, Kozakai in view of its fist embodiment in view of Xu and second embodiment discloses the method of claim 17, Kozakai in its second embodiment discloses the method further comprising disposing a second transmitter coil in the frame and driving the first transmitter coil and the second transmitter coil in phase (fig. 10 have the multiple drawers with the transmitter coil around the frame).
Regarding claim 19, Kozakai’s first embodiment in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 11. However, Kozakai’s first embodiment and Xu are silent over the method further comprising determining magnetic coupling based at least on a change in power.
Kozakai’s second embodiment discloses the method further comprising determining magnetic coupling based at least on a change in power (fig. 10 shows different magnetic coupling based on the ability of providing power from the power transmitter coil with distance; paragraph [0123]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s first embodiment in view of Xu to include plurality of power receiving coil to charge the electronic component as taught in Kozakai’s second embodiment, in order to charge the plurality of the smart garments as the same time.
Regarding claim 20, Kozakai’s first embodiment discloses a system for wirelessly charging (the first embodiment fig. 1-10), comprising: a transmitter coil disposed in a first structure(power feeding side has the coil 2112 in 21 fig. 3-5); defining an opening configured to receive a second structure that is separate from the first structure (see annotated fig. I above);
a first relay coil (the power receiving side 30 has the power receiving coil 312, fig. 3-5) magnetically coupled with the transmitter coil (the sympathetic resonance coil 2112 has a magnetic field sympathetic relationship with the sympathetic resonance coil 312. As a result, the electric power is efficiently fed, paragraph [0075]), with the first relay coil integrated in sidewalls of the second structure(at least one second storage portion formed so as to be adapted to store or retrieve a power receiving apparatus as a storage object in or from the main body, paragraph [0021]the power receiving side with a coil is store in one of the wall of 223, fig. 3) and with the second structure engaged with the first structure (fig. 3A shows the engagement of first structure 20 with the second structure 30) and configured to contain one or more smart garments and to reversibly move into a position to charge the one or more smart garments receiver devices(the second storage structure 223 power receiving box is first body, paragraph [0060] is capable of storing the receiver devices like 60 in fig. 17, paragraph [0040]-[0041]; [0154]-[0156]); Kozakai’s first embodiment substantially teaches all the elements, however, Kozakai’s first embodiment is silent about a second relay coil magnetically coupled with the transmitter coil, with the second relay coil integrated in the sidewalls of the second structure; and an array of receiver coils disposed in the one or more smart garments and configured to receive wireless power from at least one of the transmitter coil, the first relay coil, or the second relay coil; wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the one or more smart garments and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of receiver coils contained inside the second structure and Kozakai does not explicitly disclose that the power receiving apparatus is fixedly integrated in side walls of the structure.
Kozakai in its second embodiment (fig. 10) discloses a second relay coil (second coil in 30-2, fig. 10), magnetically coupled with the transmitter coil (30-2 is magnetically couple to 21, fig. 10, with the second relay coil integrated in the sidewalls of the second structure (30-1, and 30-2 both are disposed in the second storage portion, fig. 10, paragraph [0119]); and
an array of receiver coils disposed in the one or more smart garments (paragraph [0154]) and configured to receive wireless power from at least one of the transmitter coil, the first relay coil, or the second relay coil (fig. 10 shows that the coils (30-1, 30-2) are used to charge the electronics in the clothing, fig. 10, paragraph [0117]-[0119]; [0154]);
wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the one or more smart garments and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of receiver coils contain inside the second structure (the distance between the coils 30-1 – 30-3 are equal with the power feeding coil 21, thus, the transfer of power is stable to irrespective of the receiver, fig. 10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s first embodiment to include plurality of power receiving coil to charge the electronic component as taught in Kozakai’s second embodiment, in order to charge the plurality of the smart garments as the same time.
Xu discloses a storage cabinet 1 where the power receiver device is integrated at the side wall of the cabinet (figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s charging system for the wearable device to fix the power receiver device at the wall of the drawer as taught by Xu, in order to reduce misalignment sensitivity, boosting efficiency, reducing heat, and ensuring reliable power transfer despite size constraints.
Regarding claim 21, Kozakai’s sixth embodiment further discloses a second transmitter coil disposed in the first structure with the transmitter coil and the second transmitter coil in phase by an AC voltage (fig. 15 plural power feeding source coils 2112-1 to 2112-3 are disposed in the hinge portion HNG (paragraph [0146]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s first embodiment in view of Xu to include plurality of power receiving coil to charge the electronic component as taught in Kozakai’s sixth embodiment, in order to charge the plurality of the smart garments as the same time.
Regarding claim 22, Kozakai’s sixth embodiment further discloses a third relay coil (30-3, fig. 15) magnetically coupled with the second transmitter coil, with the third relay coil being disposed in a third structure that is separate from the first structure and is configured to engage with the first structure, wherein the array of receiver coils is further configured to receive wireless power from at least the third relay coil (the third relay coil 30-3, is magnetically couple with the 2112-2 as shown by the arrow in fig. 15, and capable of providing power to the receiver).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s first embodiment to include plurality of power receiving coil to charge the electronic component as taught in Kozakai’s sixth embodiment, in order to charge the plurality of the smart garments as the same time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859