DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 11-14, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozakai (US 2011/0175456), and Xu et al . (US 2022/0320914), herein after Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Kozakai discloses a charging apparatus (figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a first coil driven with an AC voltage (the power transmission device 30 has the first coil 311together with 312 connected to the power supply unit 70 through the cable 60, fig. 2), with the first coil being disposed in a first structure defining an opening configured to receive a second structure that is separate from the first structure (the structure 30 has the opening to accommodates the rakes 24, 25 26 with the frames 40 and 50, fig. 2); and
a resonant circuit disposed in the second structure (the second structure 40 has the resonant device with resonance coil 411, paragraph [0068]-[0069]), the resonant circuit comprising a second coil electromagnetically coupled to the first coil (paragraph [0070]), with the second coil fixedly integrated in one or more sidewalls of the second structure (coil 411 is fixed in the structure 40, fig. 1; paragraph [0068]), Kozakai further discloses the second structure engaged with the first structure and configured to contain one or more receiver devices (the second structure 40 engaged with the first structure 30 and provide wireless power to the receiver device 50, fig. 2)
Although, Kozakai discloses a charging apparatus to promote the contactless charging between plurality of devices. However, Kozakai does not explicitly disclose the second structure engaged with the first structure to reversibly move into a position to charge the one or more receiver devices with power wirelessly relayed, via the resonant circuit, from the first coil.
Xu discloses a contactless power supply system to charge the receiver devices. Xu discloses the system has the structure engaged with the first structure to reversibly move into a position to charge the one or more receiver devices with power wirelessly relayed, via the resonant circuit, from the first coil (the wireless power supply emitter 3 is paired with the wireless power supply receiver 2 of other cabinet body 1 or with power demand device 5 so as to realize wireless power supply from the cabinet body 1 to other cabinet body 1 or power demand device 5, paragraph [0072] the cabinet storge 1 can reversible move to receive the power demand device 5 like shoes, hat etc);
wherein the charging apparatus is tuned such that a current in the second coil remains stable irrespective of a number of the receiver devices contained inside the second structure (The storage cabinet is provided with the wireless power supply receiver 2, the wireless power supply emitter 3 and the energy accumulator 6, so that the storage cabinet itself is capable of being a power supply device 4. Where there is no power supply or power supply is inconvenient, the storage cabinets are capable of providing power supply between each other so as to realize their function., paragraph [0074]; the whole cabinet 1 can provide the power to load. Thus, it will remain stable irrespective of a number of the receiver devices contained inside the second structure).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in form of the removable storage cabinet to charge the power receiver devices as taught by Xu, in order to charge the plurality of the receiver devices in an organized way. It provided the key benefits of improved organization, reduced wear and tear on device ports, and the flexibility of charging the power devices.
Regarding claim 2, Kozakai further discloses wherein the first structure is a frame defining the opening (the first structure contains the transmitter coil is the frame 21, fig. 1; paragraph [0048] ).
Regarding claim 7, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the charging apparatus of claim 1. Kozakai is silent about the one or more of receiver devices are disposed in one or more smart garments.
Xu discloses the storage cabinet can charge one or more smart garments (paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in form of the removable storage cabinet to charge the power receiver devices such as smart garments as taught by Xu, in order to charge the plurality of the receiver devices in an organized way. It provided the key benefits of improved organization, reduced wear and tear on device ports, and the flexibility of charging the power devices.
Regarding claim 11, Kozakai discloses a method for wireless charging(figs. 1 and 2) comprising: energizing a first transmitter coil using an AC voltage(the power transmission device 30 has the first coil 311together with 312 connected to the power supply unit 70 through the cable 60, fig. 2), the first transmitter coil being disposed in a first structure defining an opening configured to receive a second structure that is separate from the first structure (the structure 30 has the opening to accommodates the rakes 24, 25 26 with the frames 40 and 50, fig. 2); magnetically coupling the first transmitter coil to a first relay coil of a resonant circuit(paragraph [0070]), disposed in the second structure, the first relay coil fixedly integrated in one or more sidewalls of the second structure(coil 411 is fixed in the structure 40, fig. 1; paragraph [0068]), Kozakai further discloses the second structure engaged with the first structure and configured to contain one or more receiver devices (the second structure 40 engaged with the first structure 30 and provide wireless power to the receiver device 50, fig. 2).
Although, Kozakai discloses a charging apparatus to promote the contactless charging between plurality of devices. However, Kozakai does not explicitly disclose the second structure engaged with the first structure and to reversibly move into a charging position and wirelessly relaying, via the resonant circuit, power from the first transmitter coil to charge the one or more receiver devices in response to the second structure reversibly moving into the charging position; wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the one or more receiver devices and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of the one or more receiver devices contained inside the second structure.
Xu discloses a contactless power supply system to charge the receiver devices. Xu discloses two structure engaged together to reversibly move into a charging position and wirelessly relaying, via the resonant circuit, power from the first transmitter coil to charge the one or more receiver devices in response to the second structure reversibly moving into the charging position(the wireless power supply emitter 3 is paired with the wireless power supply receiver 2 of other cabinet body 1 or with power demand device 5 so as to realize wireless power supply from the cabinet body 1 to other cabinet body 1 or power demand device 5, paragraph [0072] the cabinet storage box 1 can reversible move to receive the power demand device 5 like shoes, hat etc). Xu further discloses wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the one or more receiver devices and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of the one or more receiver devices contained inside the second structure(The storage cabinet is provided with the wireless power supply receiver 2, the wireless power supply emitter 3 and the energy accumulator 6, so that the storage cabinet itself is capable of being a power supply device 4. Where there is no power supply or power supply is inconvenient, the storage cabinets are capable of providing power supply between each other so as to realize their function., paragraph [0074]; the whole cabinet 1 can provide the power to load. Thus, it will remain stable irrespective of a number of the receiver devices contained inside the second structure).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in form of the removable storage cabinet to charge the power receiver devices such as smart garments as taught by Xu, in order to charge the plurality of the receiver devices in an organized way. It provided the key benefits of improved organization, reduced wear and tear on device ports, and the flexibility of charging the power devices.
Regarding claim 12, Kozakai further discloses wherein the one or more receiver devices include an array of receiver coils (the receiver device 50 has the plurality of coils, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 12. However, Kozakai does not explicitly disclose that the method further comprising storing the energy in storage devices.
Xu discloses an energy storage device to store the excessive energy in contactless power supply system (paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system to have an energy storage device connected to it as taught by Xu, in order to have uninterrupted, continuous power even when outside the charging zone.
Regarding claim 14, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 13. Kozakai further discloses wherein the first structure comprises a frame defining the opening, the method further comprising disposing the first transmitter coil in the frame (the frame 21 has transmitter coil 311, figs 1, and 2).
Regarding claim 19, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 11. Kozakai further discloses the method further comprising determining magnetic coupling based at least on a change in power (paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 20, Kozakai discloses a system for wirelessly charging (figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a first transmitter coil disposed in a first structure defining (the power transmission device 30 has the first coil 311together with 312 connected to the power supply unit 70 through the cable 60, fig. 2)an opening configured to receive a second structure that is separate from the first structure(the structure 30 has the opening to accommodates the rakes 24, 25 26 with the frames 40 and 50, fig. 2); at least one resonant circuit disposed within the second structure(the second structure 40 has the resonant device with resonance coil 411, paragraph [0068]-[0069]), the at least one resonant circuit comprising a first relay coil and a second relay coil that are both magnetically coupled with the first transmitter coil (the second structure 40 can have two resonance coil 411A, 411 magnetically couple to the transmitter coil 311 together with 312, fig. 10), with the first relay coil and the second relay coil fixedly integrated in one or more sidewalls of the second structure (the coils are fixed in the intermediate device 40,fig. 10), Kozakai further discloses the second structure engaged with the first structure and configured to contain one or more receiver devices (the second structure 40 engaged with the first structure 30 and provide wireless power to the receiver device 50, fig. 2)
Although, Kozakai discloses a charging apparatus to promote the contactless charging between plurality of devices. However, Kozakai does not explicitly disclose both the structure engaged together and configured to contain one or more smart garments and to reversibly move into a position to charge the one or more smart garments with power wirelessly relayed, via the at least one resonant circuit, from the first transmitter coil and an array of receiver coils disposed in the one or more smart garments and configured to receive the power wirelessly relayed, via the at least one resonant circuit, from the first transmitter coil; wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the one or more smart garments and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of receiver coils contained inside the second structure.
Xu discloses the structure engaged together and configured to contain one or more smart garments and to reversibly move into a position to charge the one or more smart garments with power wirelessly relayed, via the at least one resonant circuit, from the first transmitter coil and an array of receiver coils disposed in the one or more smart garments and configured to receive the power wirelessly relayed, via the at least one resonant circuit, from the first transmitter coil (The cabinet body 1 itself is provided with the wireless power supply emitter 3, the wireless power supply emitter 3 is paired with the wireless power supply receiver 2 of other cabinet body 1 or with power demand device 5 so as to realize wireless power supply from the cabinet body 1 to other cabinet body 1 or power demand device 5, various functional units meet the requirement of the storage of wearable device like shoes and hats, and also provide corresponding care for wearable device. paragraph [0072]); wherein the wireless power is configured to provide energy to the one or more smart garments and a current in the first relay coil remains stable irrespective of a number of receiver coils contained inside the second structure (paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in form of the removable storage cabinet to charge the power receiver devices such as smart garments as taught by Xu, in order to charge the plurality of the receiver devices in an organized way. It provided the key benefits of improved organization, reduced wear and tear on device ports, and the flexibility of charging the power devices.
Regarding claim 21, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the system of claim 20. Kozakai further discloses the system further comprising a second transmitter coil disposed in the first structure, with the first transmitter coil and the second transmitter coil in phase by an AC voltage (the first structure frame 21 has two coils 311 and the resonance coil 312, fig. 1 and 2 where both the coil provides the maximum output when they are in phase with AC voltage).
Regarding claim 22, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the system of claim 21. Kozakai does discloses the plurality of the coils are used to provide the wireless power to receiver devices. However, Kozakai is silent about a third relay coil magnetically coupled with the second transmitter coil, with the third relay coil being disposed in a third structure that is separate from the first structure and is configured to engage with the first structure, wherein the array of receiver coils is further configured to receive wireless additional power from wirelessly relayed, via at least the third relay coil, from the second transmitter coil.
Xu discloses a wireless power supply system where a third relay coil magnetically coupled with the second transmitter coil, with the third relay coil being disposed in a third structure that is separate from the first structure and is configured to engage with the first structure, wherein the array of receiver coils is further configured to receive additional power wirelessly relayed, via at least the third relay coil, from the second transmitter coil (plurality of the storage cabinet is present with coils to charge the plurality of the receiver devices, fig. 2; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in form of the removable storage cabinet to charge the power receiver devices such as smart garments as taught by Xu, in order to charge the plurality of the receiver devices in an organized way. It provided the key benefits of improved organization, reduced wear and tear on device ports, and the flexibility of charging the power devices.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8-10, 15-18is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozakai (US 2011/0175456), and Xu (US 2022/0320914), as applied above and further in view of Kozakai et al. (US 2012/0007439).
Regarding claim 4, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the charging apparatus of claim 2. Kozakai does disclose the second structure in the form of rack and frame, however, Kozakai and Xu does not disclose the second structure is the storage draw.
Kozakai et al. discloses a contactless power supply system can be applied to a storage body such as a chest of drawers (paragraph [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have the system in form of drawer as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to have superior organization, protection from dust and grease, and a cleaner, less cluttered aesthetic compared to open shelving.
Regarding claim 6, Kozakai in view of Xu an Kozakai et al. discloses the charging apparatus of claim 4. Kozakai further discloses the first structure (21, fig. 1) and the second structure (22, fig. 1) have no electrical contacts between them and the resonant circuit wirelessly relays the power without any wired connection between the second structure and a power source (21 and 22 has the coil 311, 31 and 411 respectively and there is no wired connection between 411 and 70, fig. 2).
Kozakai does disclose the second structure in the form of rack and frame, however, Kozakai and Xu does not disclose the second structure is the storage draw.
Kozakai et al. discloses a contactless power supply system can be applied to a storage body such as a chest of drawers (paragraph [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have the system in form of drawer as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to have superior organization, protection from dust and grease, and a cleaner, less cluttered aesthetic compared to open shelving.
Regarding claim 8, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the charging apparatus of claim 2. However, they are silent about the frame has a ferrous surrounding.
Kozakai et al. discloses a contactless power supply system where the frame has a ferrous surrounding (The magnetic material is mounted along the wall surface of the main body 221 of the storage body 22, paragraph [0114]; Note: magnetic materials often include ferrous materials like iron, cobalt, and nickel, as well as their alloys like steel, which are attracted to magnets).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have the system in form of drawer with ferrous surrounding as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to have increased efficiency and safety, preventing eddy currents from heating surrounding metal surfaces.
Regarding claim 9, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the charging apparatus of claim 2. However, they are silent about wherein the frame comprises an amplifier which is in electrical communication with the first coil.
Kozakai et al. discloses an amplifier which is in communication with the coil (paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have an amplifier with the coil as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to significantly improves the efficiency, distance, and stability of wireless power transfer (WPT) systems.
Regarding claim 10, Kozakai in view of Xu and Kozakai discloses the charging apparatus of claim 4, Kozakai further discloses the third coil is integrated into third structure (coil 51 in device 50 in the frame 23, fig. 1 and 2).
However, Kozakai and Xu are silent about the second drawer.
Kozakai et al. discloses a contactless power supply system can be applied to a storage body such as a chest of drawers (paragraph [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have the system in form of drawer as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to have superior organization, protection from dust and grease, and a cleaner, less cluttered aesthetic compared to open shelving.
Regarding claim 15, Kozakai in view of Xu discloses the method of claim 14. Kozakai further discloses the second structure contained the first relay (device 40 has the coil 411, figs. 1 and 2). However, Kozakai and Xu does not explicitly disclose that the second structure can be in the form of drawer.
Kozakai et al. discloses a contactless power supply system can be applied to a storage body such as a chest of drawers (paragraph [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have the system in form of drawer as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to have superior organization, protection from dust and grease, and a cleaner, less cluttered aesthetic compared to open shelving.
Regarding claim 16, Kozakai in view of Xu and Kozakai et al. discloses the method of claim 15. Kozakai further discloses the method further comprising surrounding the frame with a highly conductive surrounding (the frame 21 has the transmitter coil made it highly conductive surrounding, figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Kozakai in view of Xu and Kozakai discloses the method of claim 15. Xu discloses the plurality of the storage boxes has the wireless coil to receive the power and charge the power receiver devices (fig. 2; paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in form of the removable storage cabinet to charge the power receiver devices such as smart garments as taught by Xu, in order to charge the plurality of the receiver devices in an organized way. It provided the key benefits of improved organization, reduced wear and tear on device ports, and the flexibility of charging the power devices.
However, Kozakai and Xu are silent about the storage part is the form of drawer.
Kozakai et al. discloses a contactless power supply system can be applied to a storage body such as a chest of drawers (paragraph [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kozakai’s contactless wireless supply system in view of Xu to have the system in form of drawer as taught by Kozakai et al., in order to have superior organization, protection from dust and grease, and a cleaner, less cluttered aesthetic compared to open shelving.
Regarding claim 18, Kozakai in view of Xu and Kozakai et al. discloses the method of claim 15. Kozakai further discloses the method further comprising disposing a second transmitter coil in the frame and driving the first transmitter coil and the second transmitter coil in phase (the first structure frame 21 has two coils 311 and the resonance coil 312, fig. 1 and 2 where both the coil provides the maximum output when they are in phase with AC voltage).
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859