DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 12/29/2025. Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claim(s) 14 have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-21 are pending examination. This action is made final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following argument(s) regarding the previous office action:
Applicant asserts that the 35 USC 101 rejection of the claims is improper. Applicant asserts that independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are not rejectable under 35 USC 101 and therefore the rejection should be withdrawn.
Applicant asserts that the 35 USC 103 rejection of the claims is improper. Applicant asserts that the prior art fails to teach all claim limitations of independent claims 1, 8, and 15. Therefore the claims would be allowable. Accordingly dependent claims would also be allowable.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-11, "Claim Rejections under 35 USC 101", filed 12/29/2025, with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-13 and 15-21 has been withdrawn.
Regarding applicant’s argument A, the examiner is persuaded to view to claims as including a practical application. Regarding independent claim 1, when all claim limitations are examiner as a whole, the limitations of “provide…turn-by-turn navigation instructions for the first driving route;” and “transmit…at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input,” appear to provide the claim with a practical application. The system of claim 1 is providing an output to the user as well as transmitting a different output to a separate system. This is a practical use for the abstract ideas presented in the claims, therefore the 101 rejection of claim 1 would be remove. Claims 8 and 15 would have their rejections removed for a similar rationale as recited above. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-13, and 16-21 would also have their 101 rejections removed due to their dependence on their respective independent claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s argument B, the examiner finds it moot. The applicant’s assertion that independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are allowable rely on the amended limitation that recites, “in response to:…determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location.” Upon further search and consideration the examiner would rely on a newly cited portion of Redueld. Looking at [0049] Redueld teaches the vehicle location can be known, as the system stores that the vehicle is at the “parking place.” This information is determined by the system after the “user…select[s] a parking lot the second to last destination in his most recent navigation journey.” The system is clearly determining that the vehicle is in a predetermined location, i.e. a parking lot. It may also display the name of said lot, [0053]. But as stated in [0053] the parking location does not have to be a parking lot, rather that is a single type of location that the system can store and present to the user. Taken in conjunction with the other prior art cited the examiner would maintain the 35 USC 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 8, and 15 based on this. Dependent claims would remain rejected at least due to their dependence on rejected subject matter. See below, “Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US PG Pub 2022/0163334) in view of Yuan, (US PG Pub 2020/0064150) Redueld, (CN-102200443-B) and Tang (US PG Pub 2012/0131212).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an in-vehicle navigation system for a vehicle ([0183] teaches a vehicle navigation system), comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 2, item 180 teaches a controller) and a memory (Fig. 2 item 170 teaches a memory) storing computer-executable instructions ([0131] teaches the memory storing computer readable instructions) that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, via a first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system of the vehicle ([0183] teaches the system may be an in vehicle navigation device) a first destination input for the vehicle; ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination)
based on the first destination input, determine, via the first navigation application, a multi-modal route ([0184] teaches a multi-modal routing determination) including a first driving route to a first driving destination from a first location of the vehicle (Fig. 8 and [0238] teaches a vehicle route from initial location to a destination for the vehicle) and a first pedestrian route to a first pedestrian destination from the first driving destination; (Fig. 8 and [0240] teaches a pedestrian route from the vehicle destination to the pedestrian destination)
provide, via the first navigation application, turn-by-turn driving navigation instructions for the first driving route; ([0186] teaches providing driving directions to the vehicle)
provide data for the first pedestrian route to (Fig. 17 and [0275] teach turn-by-turn directions for the pedestrian route)
receive, via the second navigation application being executed by the at least one processor of the mobile device, a second destination input; ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination on the mobile device of the user)
upon receiving the second destination input ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination on the mobile device of the user) and in response to
Jung does not teach a second navigation application being executed by at least one processor of a mobile device associated with the user; (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location, obtain a second pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the current location of the vehicle when the second destination input was received, and transmit, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.
However, Yuan teaches “a second navigation application being executed by at least one processor of a mobile device associated with the user.” (Fig. 1 item 120 and [0049] teach providing a mobile device with a separate navigation application and processor, with last mile navigation data to enable pedestrian navigation)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung with Yuan; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to systems that enable the last-mile navigation of pedestrians from car locations. As Yuan teaches in the abstract and [0001]-[0002] this system allows for a driver to use both navigation systems and ensure a seamless transition as a user parks their vehicle. This enables a person to move from possibly further parking lots or other areas to a last mile-destination for themselves. This can help a user navigate a strip mall or other difficult to navigate areas.
Neither Jung or Yuan teach (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location, obtain a second pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the current location of the vehicle when the second destination input was received, and transmit, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.
However, Redueld teaches “(i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle comprises a predetermined type of location, obtain a second pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the current location of the vehicle when the second destination input was received;” ([0005] teaches that the navigation device has a GPS component that can determine the location of the navigation device, i.e. mobile device. [0053], [0056], and [0070] teach a user inputting a destination input and upon determining that the user is not located at the same spot as the vehicle, determining a first pedestrian route to the vehicle and a second driving route to be executed when the user transitions from walking to driving. [0049] teaches that the system determines that the vehicle is at a specific location by determining that the user has input the vehicle to be at a parking lot previously. [0053] in particular teaches that the system can save and determine the location that the vehicle is it, i.e. a parking lot. This can be shown to the user and/or used to determine if the new route is needed)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung and Yuan with Redueld; and have a reasonable expectation of success. All relate to navigational systems provided in mobile devices and vehicles. Guiding a user to their vehicle is advantageous as it allows for a user to park a further distance away and/or find their way to their vehicle when they are apart. As it is just a reverse leg of the teachings of Jung it would be obvious to try. It is a simple recombination of the route directions in the reverse order of Jung. As Redueld teaches in [0005]-[0007] there is a need to be able to return to their vehicle before continuing along a trip. This may occur when a future destination is sufficiently far from the current location.
The combination of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld does not teach transmit, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.
However, Tang teaches “transmit, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.” ([0035] teaches a navigation session including destinations, POIs, schedules, and route information. [0038] teaches this route having a starting point and a destination. [0039] teaches the segmentation of a route between modes of travelling. [0022]-[0024] teach transferring the navigation session between devices including a mobile terminal to a vehicle integrated device; this can be achieved via a wireless network)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld with Tang; and have a reasonable expectation of success. All relate to navigational systems provided in mobile devices and vehicles. As Tang teaches in [0002]-[0005] there exists a need for a seamless transfer between devices along a multi-modal route. This system allows for a secure transfer of all routing information. It creates a quick and seamless transfer that allows for a first device to transfer to a plethora of secondary devices including a vehicle. This would allow for fast and efficient routing along a route with a series of legs all of which contain different modes of transportation, i.e. walking, driving, biking, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to provide the data for the first pedestrian route to the mobile device (Fig. 3 and [0185] teaches transition of guidance between devices) based on a forwarding condition ([0018]-[0019] teaches a forwarding condition) including at least one condition chosen from receiving a selection for a user to send the data for the first pedestrian route to the mobile device, ([0020] teaches user input based on vehicle sensor information) arrival of the vehicle at the first driving destination, ([0019] teaches the vehicle having stopped) determining that the user and mobile device has exceeded a predetermined distance threshold from the vehicle, ([0019] teaches that the user has moved beyond the vehicle) and the vehicle being within a predetermined distance of the first driving destination. ([0019] teaches a combination of sensor information which could include distance to destination)
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to provide the data for the first pedestrian route to the mobile device by pushing the data by a technique chosen from directly via short-range radio communication ([0142] teaches using short wave radio to exchange information) and indirectly via a cloud system associated with the in-vehicle navigation system. (Fig. 1 and [0057] teach an exchange of data via a cloud service)
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 3, wherein the data is pushed to a vehicle control application associated with the vehicle and running on the mobile device, ([0131] teaches an application running on the mobile device that is associated with the vehicle) and wherein the vehicle control application is configured to perform a process chosen from providing the turn-by-turn pedestrian navigation for the first pedestrian route (Fig. 17 and [0275] teach turn-by-turn directions for the pedestrian route) and providing the data to a navigation application running on the mobile device. ([0240] teaches the mobile device running a navigation system)
Regarding claim 7, Jung teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 1, wherein the data for the first pedestrian route includes at least one type of data chosen from pedestrian destination data, (Fig. 8 and [0240] teach a pedestrian destination) driving destination data, ([0239] teaches the vehicle destination as part of route navigation) and turn-by-turn pedestrian navigation data. ([0240] teaches providing the pedestrian with route navigation)
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches a method for multi-modal navigation, ([0183] teaches a vehicle navigation system) comprising: receiving, at a first navigation applicant being executed by an in-vehicle navigation system of a vehicle, ([0183] teaches the system may be an in vehicle navigation device) a first destination input for the vehicle; ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination)
based on the first destination input, determining, by the first navigation application of the in-vehicle navigation system, a multi-modal route ([0184] teaches a multi-modal routing determination) including a first driving route to a first driving destination from a first location of the vehicle (Fig. 8 and [0238] teaches a vehicle route from initial location to a destination for the vehicle) and a first pedestrian route to a pedestrian destination from the first driving destination; (Fig. 8 and [0240] teaches a pedestrian route from the vehicle destination to the pedestrian destination)
providing, by the first navigation application of the in-vehicle navigation system, turn-by-turn driving navigation for the first driving route; ([0186] teaches providing driving directions to the vehicle) and
providing data for the first pedestrian route to (Fig. 17 and [0275] teach turn-by-turn directions for the pedestrian route)
receive, via the second navigation application being executed by the at least one processor of the mobile device, a second destination input; ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination on the mobile device of the user)
upon receiving the second destination input ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination on the mobile device of the user) and in response to:
.
Jung does not teach a second navigation application being executed by at least one processor of a mobile device associated with the user, (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the vehicle, (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a first predetermined type of location, (iii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is not a second predetermined type of location, obtain a second pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the current location of the vehicle when the second destination input was received; and transmitting, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.
However, Yuan teaches “a second navigation application being executed by at least one processor of a mobile device associated with the user.” (Fig. 1 item 120 and [0049] teach providing a mobile device with a separate navigation application and processor, with last mile navigation data to enable pedestrian navigation)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung with Yuan; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to systems that enable the last-mile navigation of pedestrians from car locations. As Yuan teaches in the abstract and [0001]-[0002] this system allows for a driver to use both navigation systems and ensure a seamless transition as a user parks their vehicle. This enables a person to move from possibly further parking lots or other areas to a last mile-destination for themselves. This can help a user navigate a strip mall or other difficult to navigate areas.
Neither Jung or Yuan teach (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the vehicle, (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a first predetermined type of location, (iii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is not a second predetermined type of location, obtain a second pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the current location of the vehicle when the second destination input was received; and transmitting, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.
However, Redueld teaches “(i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the vehicle, (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a first predetermined type of location, (iii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is not a second predetermined type of location, obtain a second pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the current location of the vehicle when the second destination input was received” ([0005] teaches that the navigation device has a GPS component that can determine the location of the navigation device, i.e. mobile device. [0053], [0056], and [0070] teach a user inputting a destination input and upon determining that the user is not located at the same spot as the vehicle, determining a first pedestrian route to the vehicle and a second driving route to be executed when the user transitions from walking to driving. [0049] teaches that the system determines that the vehicle is at a specific location by determining that the user has input the vehicle to be at a parking lot previously, determining that the vehicle is at a first type location would be the same as determining the vehicle is not at a second type of location. [0053] in particular teaches that the system can save and determine the location that the vehicle is it, i.e. a parking lot. This can be shown to the user and/or used to determine if the new route is needed)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung and Yuan with Redueld; and have a reasonable expectation of success. All relate to navigational systems provided in mobile devices and vehicles. Guiding a user to their vehicle is advantageous as it allows for a user to park a further distance away and/or find their way to their vehicle when they are apart. As it is just a reverse leg of the teachings of Jung it would be obvious to try. It is a simple recombination of the route directions in the reverse order of Jung. As Redueld teaches in [0005]-[0007] there is a need to be able to return to their vehicle before continuing along a trip. This may occur when a future destination is sufficiently far from the current location.
The combination of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld does not teach transmitting, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.
However, Tang teaches “transmitting, via a wireless network and to the first navigation application being executed by the in-vehicle navigation system, at least one of a second driving route and a second driving destination corresponding to the second destination input.” ([0035] teaches a navigation session including destinations, POIs, schedules, and route information. [0038] teaches this route having a starting point and a destination. [0039] teaches the segmentation of a route between modes of travelling. [0022]-[0024] teach transferring the navigation session between devices including a mobile terminal to a vehicle integrated device; this can be achieved via a wireless network)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld with Tang; and have a reasonable expectation of success. All relate to navigational systems provided in mobile devices and vehicles. As Tang teaches in [0002]-[0005] there exists a need for a seamless transfer between devices along a multi-modal route. This system allows for a secure transfer of all routing information. It creates a quick and seamless transfer that allows for a first device to transfer to a plethora of secondary devices including a vehicle. This would allow for fast and efficient routing along a route with a series of legs all of which contain different modes of transportation, i.e. walking, driving, biking, etc.
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches the method of claim 8, wherein providing the data for the first pedestrian route to the mobile device is initiated (Fig. 3 and [0185] teaches transition of guidance between devices) based on at least one condition ([0018]-[0019] teaches a forwarding condition) chosen from receiving a selection for a user to send the data for the first pedestrian route to the mobile device, ([0020] teaches user input based on vehicle sensor information) arrival of the vehicle at the first driving destination, ([0019] teaches the vehicle having stopped) determining that the user and mobile device has exceeded a predetermined distance threshold from the vehicle, ([0019] teaches that the user has moved beyond the vehicle) and the vehicle being within a predetermined distance of the first driving destination. ([0019] teaches a combination of sensor information which could include distance to destination)
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the data for the first pedestrian route is provided to a vehicle control application associated with the vehicle and running on the mobile device, ([0131] teaches an application running on the mobile device that is associated with the vehicle) and wherein the method includes the vehicle control application performing a process chosen from providing the turn-by-turn pedestrian navigation for the first pedestrian route (Fig. 17 and [0275] teach turn-by-turn directions for the pedestrian route) and providing the data to a navigation application running on the mobile device. ([0240] teaches the mobile device running a navigation system)
Regarding claim 13, Jung teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the data for the first pedestrian route includes at least one type of data chosen from pedestrian destination data, (Fig. 8 and [0240] teach a pedestrian destination) driving destination data, ([0239] teaches the vehicle destination as part of route navigation) and turn-by-turn pedestrian navigation data. ([0240] teaches providing the pedestrian with route navigation)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 1.
The combination of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld does not teach transmitting at least one of the second driving route and the second driving destination to the first navigation application is performed based on determining that the mobile device (i) is at least one of a threshold distance away from the vehicle, or (ii) a short-range communication connection is established between the mobile device and the vehicle.
However, Tang teaches “transmitting at least one of the second driving route and the second driving destination to the first navigation application is performed based on determining that the mobile device (i) is at least one of a threshold distance away from the vehicle, or (ii) a short-range communication connection is established between the mobile device and the vehicle.” ([0045] teaches transferring the navigation data in the event that the first device 102 is within a threshold distance of a further device, i.e. the mobile device and the vehicle are within a certain distance of each other)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, and Beaurepaire with Tang; and have a reasonable expectation of success. All relate to navigational systems provided in mobile devices and vehicles. As Tang teaches in [0002]-[0005] there exists a need for a seamless transfer between devices along a multi-modal route. This system allows for a secure transfer of all routing information. It creates a quick and seamless transfer that allows for a first device to transfer to a plethora of secondary devices including a vehicle. This would allow for fast and efficient routing along a route with a series of legs all of which contain different modes of transportation, i.e. walking, driving, biking, etc. The use of a threshold distance would additionally be obvious as it allows the devices to only send information, when necessary, i.e. the user is close to switching legs of a trip and thus are switching transport modalities.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, Yuan, Redueld, and Tang in view of Gearhart (US PG Pub 2015/0204685).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to, ([0050] teaches the display of amenities for selection at a point along a driving route) and based on the selection, determine the pedestrian route, the first pedestrian destination being a nearby amenity selected. ([0240] teaches guiding a pedestrian from a driving destination to a secondary destination)
Jung does not teach upon receipt of the first driving destination in a user interface, display one or more nearby amenities in the user interface for selection thereof.
However, Gearhart teaches “upon receipt of the first driving destination in a user interface, display one or more nearby amenities in the user interface for selection thereof” ([0050] teaches the display of amenities for selection at a point along a driving route)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, Redueld, and Tang with Gearhart; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to the routing of vehicles and navigation to a location from a starting point. Gearhart teaches the use of amenities along a driving route as a place for a person to stop at. In [0004] and [0005] Gearhart teaches that showing amenities along routes allow for new and exciting trips for people in places they already know as well as showing an individual a place they may want to visit. The display of amenities is advantageous to the user and allows for a better travel experience.
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches the in-vehicle navigation system of claim 5,
Jung does not teach wherein the one or more nearby amenities is automatically displayed on the user interface upon receipt of the first driving destination in response to the first driving destination being a predetermined type of destination.
However, Gearhart teaches “wherein the one or more nearby amenities is automatically displayed on the user interface upon receipt of the first driving destination in response to the first driving destination being a predetermined type of destination.” ([0053] teaches the amenities being based on the type of destination inputted)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, Redueld, and Tang with Gearhart; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to the routing of vehicles and navigation to a location from a starting point. The amenities being specific to a destination allows for the user to get the best experience at a stop. By preventing frivolous or otherwise worthless amenities from showing, it prevents users from wasting their time. As taught in [0053] the type of amenity being based on a secondary factor such as weather or type of destination ensures only the best amenities are shown.
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising:
based on the selection, obtaining the pedestrian route, the first pedestrian destination being a nearby amenity selected. ([0240] teaches guiding a pedestrian from a driving destination to a secondary destination)
Jung does not teach upon receipt of the first driving destination in a user interface, displaying one or more nearby amenities in the user interface for selection thereof.
However, Gearhart teaches “upon receipt of the first driving destination in a user interface, displaying one or more nearby amenities in the user interface for selection thereof.” ([0050] teaches the display of amenities for selection at a point along a driving route)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, Redueld, and Tang with Gearhart; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to the routing of vehicles and navigation to a location from a starting point. Gearhart teaches the use of amenities along a driving route as a place for a person to stop at. In [0004] and [0005] Gearhart teaches that showing amenities along routes allow for new and exciting trips for people in places they already know as well as showing an individual a place they may want to visit. The display of amenities is advantageous to the user and allows for a better travel experience.
Regarding claim 12, Jung teaches the method of claim 11,
Jung does not teach wherein the one or more nearby amenities is automatically displayed on the user interface upon receipt of the first driving destination in response to the first driving destination being a predetermined type of destination.
However, Gearhart teaches “wherein the one or more nearby amenities is automatically displayed on the user interface upon receipt of the first driving destination in response to the first driving destination being a predetermined type of destination.” ([0053] teaches the amenities being based on the type of destination inputted)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, Redueld, and Tang with Gearhart; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to the routing of vehicles and navigation to a location from a starting point. The amenities being specific to a destination allows for the user to get the best experience at a stop. By preventing frivolous or otherwise worthless amenities from showing, it prevents users from wasting their time. As taught in [0053] the type of amenity being based on a secondary factor such as weather or type of destination ensures only the best amenities are shown.
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Yuan, Redueld in view of Schunder (US PG Pub 2012/0004841).
Regarding claim 15, Jung teaches a method for multi-modal navigation, ([0183] teaches a vehicle navigation system) comprising: obtaining a driving destination for an associated vehicle; ([0184] teaches the user inputting a destination)
based on the driving destination, determining a driving route to the driving destination from a location of the associated vehicle; (Fig. 8 and [0238] teaches a vehicle route from initial location to a destination for the vehicle)
in response to;
providing, via the first navigation application of the mobile device, turn-by-turn pedestrian navigation from the current location of the mobile device to the associated vehicle; (Fig. 17 and [0275] teach turn-by-turn directions for the pedestrian route) and
([0186] teaches providing driving directions to the vehicle)
Jung does not teach (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the associated vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location, determining, via a first navigation application being executed by at least one processor of the mobile device, a pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the location of the associated vehicle when the current location of the mobile device was determined to be different than the location of the associated vehicle; and providing, via the first navigation application of the mobile device data for the driving route to a second navigation application being executed by the one or more processors of an in-vehicle navigation system of the associated vehicle.
However, Yuan teaches “providing, via the first navigation application of the mobile device and via a wireless network, data for the driving route to a second navigation application being executed by the one or more processors of an in-vehicle navigation system of the associated vehicle” (Fig. 1, items 102 and 120 and [0049] teach providing a mobile device with a separate navigation application and processor, with last mile navigation data to enable pedestrian navigation)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung with Yuan; and have a reasonable expectation of success. Both relate to systems that enable the last-mile navigation of pedestrians from car locations. As Yuan teaches in the abstract and [0001]-[0002] this system allows for a driver to use both navigation systems and ensure a seamless transition as a user parks their vehicle. This enables a person to move from possibly further parking lots or other areas to a last mile-destination for themselves. This can help a user navigate a strip mall or other difficult to navigate areas. Additionally, it would be obvious to try to reverse the direction that the navigation information is sent. If the system is designed for multi-modal navigation the system would be capable of both ways to transmit the data.
Neither Jung or Yuan teach (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the associated vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location, determining, via a first navigation application being executed by at least one processor of the mobile device, a pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the location of the associated vehicle when the current location of the mobile device was determined to be different than the location of the associated vehicle.
However, Schunder teaches “determining via a first navigation application being executed by at least one processor of the mobile device, a pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the location of the associated vehicle” ([0042] teaches a route from a first location to a second mode of transportation, including a vehicle)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung and Yuan with Schunder; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to multi-modal trip planning. Schunder teaches the additional steps of starting outside of a vehicle and specifically guiding a person to their vehicle as a first step. As Schunder teaches in [0024]-00026] multi-modal transport is advantageous in many aspects and allows people to reach destination they wouldn’t normally be able to navigate to. By guiding a person form a start to an associated vehicle it allows them to travel further than they would normally be allowed.
The combination of Jung, Yuan, and Schunder does not teach (i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the associated vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location, and when the current location of the mobile device was determined to be different than the location of the associated vehicle
However, Redueld teaches “(i) determining, via a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, that a current location of the mobile device is different than a current location of the associated vehicle, and (ii) determining that the current location of the vehicle is a predetermined type of location,” ([0005], [0053], [0056], and [0070] teach a user inputting a destination input and the device determining that the user is not at the same location as the vehicle) and “when the current location of the mobile device was determined to be different than the location of the associated vehicle.” ([0005] teaches that the navigation device has a GPS component that can determine the location of the navigation device, i.e. mobile device. [0053], [0056], and [0070] teach a user inputting a destination input and upon determining that the user is not located at the same spot as the vehicle, determining a first pedestrian route to the vehicle and a second driving route to be executed when the user transitions from walking to driving. [0049] teaches that the system determines that the vehicle is at a specific location by determining that the user has input the vehicle to be at a parking lot previously. [0053] in particular teaches that the system can save and determine the location that the vehicle is it, i.e. a parking lot. This can be shown to the user and/or used to determine if the new route is needed)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, and Schunder with Redueld; and have a reasonable expectation of success. All relate to navigational systems provided in mobile devices and vehicles. Guiding a user to their vehicle is advantageous as it allows for a user to park a further distance away and/or find their way to their vehicle when they are apart. As it is just a reverse leg of the teachings of Jung it would be obvious to try. It is a simple recombination of the route directions in the reverse order of Jung. As Redueld teaches in [0005]-[0007] there is a need to be able to return to their vehicle before continuing along a trip. This may occur when a future destination is sufficiently far from the current location.
Regarding claim 16, Jung teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: obtaining a second pedestrian route from the driving destination to a pedestrian destination; (Fig. 8 and [0240] teaches a pedestrian route from the vehicle destination to the pedestrian destination) and
initiating the second pedestrian route on the mobile device (Fig. 3 and [0185] teaches transition of guidance between devices) upon arrival at the driving destination. ([0019] teaches the vehicle having stopped)
Regarding claim 17, Jung teaches the method of claim 15,
Jung does not teach wherein the determining of the pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the location of the associated vehicle is initiated automatically based on a determination that the mobile device is in a different location than the associated vehicle.
However, Schunder teaches “wherein the determining of the pedestrian route from the current location of the mobile device to the location of the associated vehicle is initiated automatically based on a determination that the mobile device is in a different location than the associated vehicle.” ([0042] teaches the determination of a different GPS data causing the routing to select a pedestrian route first)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld with Schunder; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to multi-modal trip planning. Schunder teaches the additional steps of starting outside of a vehicle and specifically guiding a person to their vehicle as a first step. As Schunder teaches in [0067] the determination of a difference in location allows the routing engine to optimize the trip from a starting point. Knowing that a user is starting and needing to navigate to a vehicle allows the routing engine from the beginning to route effectively and not try to use a vehicle in routing when it is not available.
Regarding claim 18, Jung teaches the method of claim 17, wherein
Jung does not teach the determination that the mobile device is in a different location than the associated vehicle is based on the mobile device being a predetermined distance from the associated vehicle.
However, Schunder teaches “the determination that the mobile device is in a different location than the associated vehicle is based on the mobile device being a predetermined distance from the associated vehicle.” ([0042] teaches the routing is based on a distance)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate the teachings of Jung, Yuan, and Redueld with Schunder; and have a reasonable expectation of success. The arts relate to multi-modal trip planning. Schunder teaches the additional steps of starting outside of a vehicle and specifically guiding a person to their vehicle as a first step. As Schunder teaches in [0067] the determination of a difference in location allows the routing engine to optimize the trip from a starting point. Knowing that a user is starting and needing to navigate to a vehicle allows the routing engine from the beginning to route effectively and not try to use a vehicle in routing when it is not available. Knowing the distance from a user location to an associated vehicle ensure that the route is optimal.
Regarding claim 19, Jung teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the data for the driving route is provided to the in-vehicle navigation system by pushing the data by a technique chosen from directly from the mobile device via short-range radio communication ([0142] teaches using short wave radio to exchange information) and indirectly via a cloud system associated with the in-vehicle navigation system. (Fig. 1 and [0057] teach an exchange of data via a cloud service)
Regarding claim 20, Jung teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the data for the pedestrian route includes at least one type of data chosen from driving destination data ([0239] teaches the vehicle destination as part of route navigation) and turn-by-turn driving navigation data. ([0186] teaches providing driving directions to the vehicle)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665