Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
This Office Action is responsive to Applicants' Amendment filed on December 18, 2025, in which claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 13, 16, 17 and 20 are amended. No claims have been newly added or cancelled. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the objection to claim 17 for a minor informality, claim 17 has been amended to correct the informality and thus the objection is withdrawn.
With regards to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 101 for being directed towards abstract ideas, Applicant’s arguments have been considered, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant first argues that at least claim 1 is eligible at least under Step 2A, Prong 2 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test at least by integrating any recited abstract ideas into a practical application. Applicant states on page 9 of the Remarks:
“Specifically, Applicant submits that the claims are directed to improvements in operations of data science models such as neural networks or decision trees on computer systems. The improvements in operations of the data science models improve the efficiency, performance, and adaptability of the data science models themselves and the computer systems operating the data science model.”
And Applicant further states on page 9 of the Remarks:
“The pending claims solve a technical problem of allowing the data science models to automatically and robustly compensate for deprecation of variables that no longer have data available without the need for user-implemented retraining or reforming of the entire data science model”.
Applicant further elaborates that claim 1 recites the technical solution of the invention by reciting limitations that adapt the determination of a risk assessment decision to depreciation of variables in a decision tree. Applicant finishes by citing paragraph [0034] of the instant application’s specification to show how the limitations recited in claim 1 provide the technical solution of the invention.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 1 is eligible at Step 2A, Prong 2 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test. Although Examiner does not dispute that the invention provides the described improvement, Examiner notes that MPEP 2106.04(d).III. states “Because a judicial exception alone is not eligible subject matter, if there are no additional claim elements besides the judicial exception, or if the additional claim elements merely recite another judicial exception, that is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application”, i.e. that an improvement provided solely by improving an abstract idea itself is ineligible. Examiner further notes that most limitations within claim 1 have been identified as reflecting an abstract idea, as a decision tree model is simple and straightforward enough to be conceptualized and operated purely mentally by a human mind, or with the aid of pen and paper, including pruning (i.e. disregarding) branches of the decision tree, as well as making a risk assessment decision using a decision tree.
The only further limitations within claim 1 that are not identified as abstract ideas relate to providing or receiving data, which reflect mere extra-solution activity and do not integrate any recited judicial exceptions into a practical application themselves, as shown in the 101 rejection below.
Applicant further argues that claim 1 is also eligible at Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for reciting significantly more than any recited judicial exceptions. Applicant states on pages 10 and 11 of the Remarks:
“the Office Action's asserted idea that ‘the additional limitations do not include significantly more than the underlying abstract idea; does not involve any of the various specific claim features discussed above, and those features impose meaningful limits on such a broad alleged idea. For example, the various features relating to pruning the decision tree after an intermediate node based on deprecation of at least one of the variables that no longer has accessible data and replacing the intermediate node with an output node that provides a decision result based on a majority of decision results made at the intermediate node before the pruning recite substantially more than an abstract idea”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 1 is eligible at Step 2B of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test. As stated previously, most of the limitations of claim 1 are identified as abstract ideas, as a decision tree can be created and used by the human mind purely mentally, or with the aid of pen and paper. Limitations identified as abstract ideas, which are judicial exceptions, are not considered at Step 2B, as stated in MPEP 2106.05.I.: “an ‘inventive concept’ is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception”. The only additional limitations within claim 1 that are not identified as abstract ideas relate to providing or receiving data, which reflect mere extra-solution activity and do not integrate any recited judicial exceptions into a practical application themselves, as shown in the 101 rejection below.
With regards to the rejections of claims 1-6 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0035908) in view of Vinayagasundaram et al. “Efficient Gaussian Decision Tree Method for Concept Drift Data Stream”, and with regards to the rejections of claims 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being unpatentable over Huang in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Barddal et al. “A survey on Feature Drift Adaptation”, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection of the claims, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, as presented below. However, with regards to the rejections of claims 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Huang in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Barddal, Examiner considers the new limitation wherein the at least one deprecated variable is the at least one variable that has its data removed from the dataset and unavailable to the computer system; to be taught adequately by Vinayagasundaram, as mapped below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
Step 1 - “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?”
Yes, the claim is directed towards a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1 - “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?”:
The limitation of determining, at the computer system, at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, wherein the at least one deprecated variable is a variable that no longer has any data accessible by the computer system recites an evaluation of variables within a dataset, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of in response to determining the at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, pruning at least one branch in the decision tree, wherein the decision tree is pruned after an intermediate node based on the at least one deprecated variable in the dataset recites a judgement of what to prune within the tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and wherein the intermediate node is replaced with an output node that provides a decision result based on a majority of decision results made at the intermediate node before the pruning recites an evaluation of pruning the tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determining distinct decision results at the output nodes recites an evaluation of the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determining a risk prediction based on a combination of the distinct decision results in the decision tree recites an evaluation of the result of the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and determining, by the computer system, the risk assessment decision for the user based on the determined risk prediction for the user recites evaluation of the result of the risk prediction, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Step 2A, Prong 2 - “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?”:
The limitation of receiving, by a computer system, a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation associated with a user, wherein the request includes a dataset of variables associated with the user recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
The limitation of providing the dataset to a decision tree, wherein the decision tree includes a plurality of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision tree beginning with one or more input nodes and ending with a plurality of output nodes having decision results recites the mere extra-solution activity of providing data to a decision tree for classification, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
Step 2B - “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”:
The limitation of receiving, by a computer system, a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation associated with a user, wherein the request includes a dataset of variables associated with the user recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.i.
The limitation of providing the dataset to a decision tree, wherein the decision tree includes a plurality of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision tree beginning with one or more input nodes and ending with a plurality of output nodes having decision results recites providing data to a decision tree for classification, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, (Kurama “An Introduction to Decision Trees” Pg. 1) “Decision trees are now widely used in many applications for predictive modeling, including both classification and regression”.
Therefore, claim 1 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 2,
Claim 2 adds the additional limitations to claim 1:
wherein the dataset of variables in the request has data for the at least one deprecated variable removed from the dataset recites a judgement on what to include within the dataset of variables, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
and wherein the at least one branch in the decision tree is pruned in response to the receiving the dataset without any data for the at least one deprecated variable recites a judgement on how to change the model in response to changing the dataset, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 2 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 3,
Claim 3 adds the additional limitation of wherein the intermediate node for the pruning is a node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable to claim 2, which recites mere additional details on the node that is pruned, without changing that and wherein the at least one branch in the decision tree is pruned in response to the receiving the dataset with the at least one deprecated variable, as recited in claim 2, is a judgement, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 3 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 4,
Claim 4 adds the additional limitations to claim 1:
deprecating the at least one variable in the dataset of variables in the request recites an evaluation of the request, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
wherein the at least one variable is deprecated based on changes in information available for determining the risk assessment decision recites an evaluation of the changes in information, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
and pruning the decision tree after the intermediate node, wherein the intermediate node for the pruning is a node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable recites a judgement on where to prune the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 4 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 5,
Claim 5 adds the additional limitations to claim 1:
wherein the decision tree includes a plurality of branches with intermediate nodes providing decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable recites mere additional details on the decision tree, without changing that providing the dataset to a decision tree, as recited in claim 1, is well-understood, routine, and convention extra-solution activity.
the method further comprising: pruning each of the branches in the decision tree, wherein the decision trees are pruned after the intermediate nodes providing decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable recites an evaluation of the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
and wherein the intermediate nodes are replaced with output nodes that provide decision results based on majorities of decision results made at the intermediate nodes before the pruning recites a judgement on how to prune the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 5 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 6,
Claim 6 adds the additional limitation of wherein pruning the at least one branch in the decision tree includes removing nodes that are downstream of the intermediate node on the pruned branch to claim 1, which recites mere additional details on the pruning, without changing that pruning at least one branch in the decision tree, wherein the decision tree is pruned after an intermediate node based on deprecation of at least one of the variables in the dataset that no longer has data accessible by the decision tree, as recited in claim 1, is a judgement, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 6 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 7,
Claim 7 adds the additional limitation of wherein the risk prediction is determined by averaging the distinct decision results in the decision tree to claim 1, which recites an evaluation of the distinct decision results of the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 7 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 8,
Claim 8 adds the additional limitation of wherein the risk prediction is determined by determining a majority decision result from the distinct decision results in the decision tree to claim 1, which recites an evaluation of the distinct decision results of the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 8 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 adds the additional limitation of further comprising pruning, after a set of decision results, one or more branches in the decision tree that lack prediction power in the set of decision results to claim 1, which recites a judgement of what to prune, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 9 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 10,
Claim 10 adds the additional limitation of wherein the decision tree includes a random selection of the variables at the input nodes for determining the branches interconnected to the nodes to claim 1, which recites a judgement of how to select variables for the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 10 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 11,
Step 1 - “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?”
Yes, the claim is directed towards a manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong 1 - “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?”:
The limitation of determining at least one deprecated variable in the data, wherein the at least one deprecated variable is a variable that does not have any accessible data recites an evaluation of variables within a dataset, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of in response to determining the at least one deprecated variable in the data, pruning at least one branch in at least one decision tree in the set of decision trees, wherein the at least one decision tree is pruned after an intermediate node based on the at least one deprecated variable in the data recites a judgement of what to prune within the trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and wherein the intermediate node is replaced with an output node that provides a decision result based on a majority of decision results previously made at the intermediate node prior to the pruning recites an evaluation of pruning the tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determining distinct decision results at the output nodes recites an evaluation of the decision trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determining a risk prediction based on a combination of the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees recites an evaluation of the result of the decision trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and determining the risk assessment decision for the user based on the determined risk prediction for the user recites an evaluation of the result of the risk prediction, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Step 2A, Prong 2 - “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?”:
The limitation of receiving a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation based on a plurality of variables associated with a user recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
The limitation of accessing data for the variables associated with the user recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
The limitation of providing the data to a set of decision trees, wherein the decision trees include pluralities of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision trees beginning with input nodes and ending with output nodes having decision results recites the mere extra-solution activity of providing data to a decision tree for classification, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
Step 2B - “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”:
The limitation of receiving a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation based on a plurality of variables associated with a user recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.i.
The limitation of accessing data for the variables associated with the user recites retrieving information in memory, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.iv.
The limitation of providing the data to a set of decision trees, wherein the decision trees include pluralities of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision trees beginning with input nodes and ending with output nodes having decision results recites providing data to an ensemble of decision trees for classification, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, (Ross “Why Do Tree Ensembles Work?” Pg. 1) “Ensembles of decision trees (e.g., the random forest and AdaBoost algorithms) are powerful and well-known methods of classification and regression”
Therefore, claim 11 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 adds the additional limitation of wherein the data for the variables is accessed in response to receiving the request to claim 11, which recites a judgement of when to access the data, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 12 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 12 adds the additional limitation of determining the at least one deprecated variable is deprecated based on the accessed data not including data for the at least one deprecated variable to claim 11, which recites a judgement of when a variable is deprecated, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Regarding claim 14,
Claim 14 adds the additional limitation of wherein the at least one decision tree is pruned after the intermediate node based on the intermediate node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable to claim 13, which recites a judgement of where to prune the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 14 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 15,
Claim 15 adds the additional limitations to claim 11:
receiving changes in information available for determining the risk assessment decision recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), and which recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.i.
deprecating at least one variable in the accessed data for the variables associated with the user, wherein the at least one variable is deprecated based on changes in information available for determining the risk assessment decision recites an evaluation of the variables, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
and pruning the decision tree after the intermediate node based on the intermediate node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable recites a judgement of where to prune the decision tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 15 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 16,
Step 1 - “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?”
Yes, the claim is directed towards a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1 - “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea?”:
The limitation of determining at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, wherein the at least one deprecated variable is the at least one variable that has its data removed from the dataset and unavailable to the computer system recites an evaluation of variables within a dataset, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and wherein distinct decision results for the decision trees are determined based on the decision results at the output nodes recites an evaluation of the decision trees and the decision results, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and wherein the set of decision trees includes at least: a first decision tree having at least one branch pruned after an intermediate node that provides a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable, the node at an end of the pruned branch providing a decision result based on a majority of previous decision results made at the intermediate node before the at least one branch has been pruned recites a judgement of what the set of decision trees should include and of what to prune within the first tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and a second decision tree without any intermediate nodes that provide decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable recites a judgement of what the set of decision trees should include, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determining a risk prediction based on a combination of the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees recites an evaluation of the result of the decision trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and determining, by the computer system, the risk assessment decision for the user based on the determined risk prediction recites an evaluation of the result of the risk prediction, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Step 2A, Prong 2 - “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?”:
The limitation of receiving, by a computer system, a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation associated with a user, wherein the request includes a dataset of variables associated with the user, and wherein the dataset of variables in the request has data for at least one variable removed from the dataset and being unavailable to the computer system recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
The limitation of providing the dataset to a set of decision trees, wherein the decision trees include pluralities of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision trees beginning with input nodes and ending with output nodes having decision results recites the mere extra-solution activity of providing data to a decision tree for classification, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g).
Step 2B - “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”:
The limitation of receiving, by a computer system, a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation associated with a user, wherein the request includes a dataset of variables associated with the user, and wherein the dataset of variables in the request has data for at least one variable removed from the dataset and being unavailable to the computer system recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.i.
The limitation of providing the dataset to a set of decision trees, wherein the decision trees include pluralities of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision trees beginning with input nodes and ending with output nodes having decision results recites providing data to an ensemble of decision trees for classification, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, (Ross “Why Do Tree Ensembles Work?” Pg. 1) “Ensembles of decision trees (e.g., the random forest and AdaBoost algorithms) are powerful and well-known methods of classification and regression”
Therefore, claim 16 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 adds the additional limitation of wherein the set of decision trees includes: a third decision tree having two or more branches pruned after intermediate nodes that provide decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable, the nodes at ends of the pruned branches providing decision results based on majorities of previous decision results made at the intermediate nodes before the two or more branches have been pruned to claim 16, which recites a judgement of what the set of decision trees should include and of what to prune within the third tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 17 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 18,
Claim 18 adds the additional limitation of wherein the risk prediction is determined by averaging the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees to claim 16, which recites an evaluation of the distinct decision results of the decision trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 18 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 adds the additional limitation of wherein the risk prediction is determined by determining a majority decision result from the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees to claim 16, which recites an evaluation of the distinct decision results of the decision trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 19 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 adds the additional limitations to claim 16:
The limitation of receiving, by the computer system, a second request to determine a second risk assessment decision for a second operation associated with a second user, wherein the request includes a second dataset of variables associated with the second user recites the mere extra-solution activity of data gathering, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), and which recites receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, MPEP 2106.05(d).II.i.
The limitation of and wherein the second dataset of variables in the second request has data for a second deprecated variable removed from the second dataset, the second deprecated variable being different than the at least one deprecated variable recites a judgement on what to include within the dataset of variables, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of providing the dataset to the set of decision trees recites the mere extra-solution activity of providing data to a decision tree for classification, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application, MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), and which recites providing data to an ensemble of decision trees for classification, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional, (Ross “Why Do Tree Ensembles Work?” Pg. 1) “Ensembles of decision trees (e.g., the random forest and AdaBoost algorithms) are powerful and well-known methods of classification and regression”
The limitation of wherein the set of decision trees includes: a third decision tree having at least one branch pruned after an intermediate node that provides a decision result based on the second deprecated variable, the node at an end of the pruned branch providing a decision result based on a majority of previous decision results made at the intermediate node before the at least one branch has been pruned recites a judgement of what the set of decision trees should include and of what to prune within the third tree, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of determining a second risk prediction based on the combination of the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees recites an evaluation of the result of the decision trees, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
The limitation of and determining, by the computer system, the second risk assessment decision for the second user based on the second determined risk prediction recites an evaluation of the result of the risk prediction, which is a mental process, which is an abstract idea, regardless of if it’s performed on a generic computer.
Therefore, claim 20 is found to be ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0035908), hereinafter Huang, in view of Vinayagasundaram et al. “Efficient Gaussian Decision Tree Method for Concept Drift Data Stream”, hereinafter Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Globerson and Roweis “Nightmare at Test Time: Robust Learning by Feature Deletion”, hereinafter Globerson.
Regarding claim 1,
Huang teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation associated with a user, ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”)
wherein the request includes a dataset of variables ((Huang [0010]) “A graphical user interface may be generated based on the risk classification, and may allow a user to evaluate risk impacts for various request features”) associated with the user; ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a dataset of variables associated with a user includes a set of request features for a user’s request)
providing the dataset to a decision tree, ((Huang [0020]) “In some implementations, the decision tree model may be traversed by comparing the request features of the received IT change request to the attribute tests represented by the non-leaf nodes of the decision tree model”)
wherein the decision tree includes a plurality of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision tree beginning with one or more input nodes and ending with a plurality of output nodes having decision results; (Huang Fig. 3A shows a decision tree with a plurality of nodes, including a beginning input node (Success Rate > 90%), and several ending output nodes with decision results (L, M, or H))
determining distinct decision results at the output nodes; ((Huang [0019]) “a non-leaf node of the tree, may correspond to a binary test (e.g., ‘yes’ or ‘no,’ ‘true’ or ‘false,’ etc.)”, (Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category (e.g., high, medium, low), a number (e.g., 0.8, 0.5, etc.), or in any other form”, both non-leaf (intermediate) nodes and leaf nodes have distinct decision results)
determining a risk prediction based on a combination of the distinct decision results in the decision tree; ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category ( e.g., high, medium, low), a number (e.g., 0.8, 0.5, etc.), or in any other form”, Huang Fig. 3A shows the ultimate risk prediction is based on a combination of the distinct decision results throughout the path to the leaf node, broadest reasonable interpretation of a risk prediction includes a risk score, combining the distinct decision results is interpreted as either combining both decisions of non-leaf (intermediate) nodes and leaf nodes or combining the leaf nodes arrived at for each subtree of a decision tree, as shown in Fig. 10 of the instant application)
and determining, by the computer system, the risk assessment decision ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category (e.g., high, medium, low)”) for the user based on the determined risk prediction for the user ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a risk assessment decision for a user includes a risk classification of a request made by a user)
Vinayagasundaram teaches the following further limitations that Huang does not teach:
determining, at the computer system, at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 1) “A data stream is an prearranged sequence of instances arriving at a rate that prevents them to permanently be accumulated them in memory…The key data stream characteristics entails the following constraints:…iii. The distribution that is generating the items will change over time. Thus, data from the past becomes irrelevant or harmful for the current samples…The vital point in constructing the decision tree is choosing the finest attribute to split the considered node”, instances with attributes that cannot be permanently stored and that have distributions that change over time correspond to deprecation of dataset variables)
in response to determining the at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, pruning at least one branch in the decision tree, wherein the decision tree is pruned after an intermediate node ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a branch) based on the at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 1) “A data stream is an prearranged sequence of instances arriving at a rate that prevents them to permanently be accumulated them in memory…The key data stream characteristics entails the following constraints:…iii. The distribution that is generating the items will change over time. Thus, data from the past becomes irrelevant or harmful for the current samples…The vital point in constructing the decision tree is choosing the finest attribute to split the considered node”, instances with attributes that cannot be permanently stored and that have distributions that change over time correspond to deprecation of dataset variables)
and wherein the intermediate node is replaced with an output node that provides a decision result based on a majority of decision results made at the intermediate node before the pruning; ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics”, a leaf is an output node, the statistically most common class at a node corresponds to a decision result based on a majority of decision results)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang and Vinayagasundaram by taking the decision tree for risk prediction taught by Huang, and adding the use of pruning of branches of the decision tree based on variable deprecation due to concept drift in a data stream taught by Vinayagasundaram, as Vinayagasundaram teaches: (Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”. Such a combination would be obvious.
Globerson teaches the following further limitations that neither Huang nor Vinayagasundaram teach:
wherein the at least one deprecated variable is a variable that no longer has any data accessible by the computer system; ((Globerson Pg. 2) “All the above examples describe a scenario where features that were present when constructing the classifier (i.e., in the training data), are potentially deleted at some future point in time. Such deletion may manifest itself differently depending on the particular domain: a deleted feature may be known to be unavailable or unmeasured”, (Globerson Pg. 4) “We can also consider an alternative formulation where once a feature is chosen to be deleted it is deleted uniformly from all data points simultaneously”, a feature in a classifier that is unavailable due to uniform deletion from all data points corresponds to a deprecated variable that no longer has any data accessible)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson by taking the decision tree for risk prediction with branches pruned based on variable deprecation, jointly taught by Huang and Vinayagasundaram, and having the variable deprecation consist of no data for a variable/feature being available taught by Globerson, as Globerson teaches: (Globerson Pg. 1) “As another example, consider a digital camera whose output is fed to a face recognition system. Due to hardware or transmission failures, a few pixels may ‘die’ over the course of time…Any classifier which attached too much weight to any single pixel would suffer a substantial performance loss in this case”, that is, that variable/feature deprecation where no data at all is available for a feature occurs in some real world situations such as hardware sensor failures, and accounting for these situations increases the robustness of a model, resulting in a lower chance of failure. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 2,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Huang further teaches:
wherein the dataset of variables in the request has data for the at least one [deprecated] variable removed from the dataset ((Huang [0033]) “In other examples, the controls 335 may be used to manually add or remove request features from the decision tree model”, Vinayagasundaram teaches variable deprecation)
and wherein the at least one branch in the decision tree is [pruned] in response to the receiving the dataset without [any data for] the at least one [deprecated] variable ((Huang [0033]) “Further, adding and/or removing request features may cause the decision tree model to be automatically re-trained according to the new set of request features”, Vinayagasundaram teaches pruning and variable deprecation, Globerson teaches deprecated variables without any data)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson for the parent claim of claim 2, claim 1. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 3,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 2,
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
wherein the intermediate node for the pruning is a node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “AGDT periodically scans the GDT and all the alternate trees glancing for internal node's statistics to indicate some new attribute that would be a best attribute than the chosen split attribute…In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”, an internal node that splits on an attribute, where the attribute is no longer the best attribute to split on, resulting in the node being pruned corresponds to pruning an intermediate node that provides a decision based on a deprecated variable)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson for the parent claim of claim 3, claim 2. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 4,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
deprecating the at least one variable in the dataset of variables in the request ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “AGDT periodically scans the GDT and all the alternate trees glancing for internal node's statistics to indicate some new attribute that would be a best attribute than the chosen split attribute”, broadest reasonable interpretation of deprecating a variable corresponds to choosing to not use it for a decision it was previously used for)
wherein the at least one variable is deprecated based on changes in information available for determining the [risk assessment] decision ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”, change in concept corresponds to changes in information, Huang teaches risk assessment decisions)
pruning the decision tree after the intermediate node, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing an internal node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning the decision tree after the intermediate node)
wherein the intermediate node for the pruning is a node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “AGDT periodically scans the GDT and all the alternate trees glancing for internal node's statistics to indicate some new attribute that would be a best attribute than the chosen split attribute…In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”, an internal node that splits on an attribute, where the attribute is no longer the best attribute to split on, resulting in the node being pruned corresponds to pruning an intermediate node that provides a decision based on a deprecated variable)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson for the parent claim of claim 4, claim 1. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 5,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
wherein the decision tree includes a plurality of branches with intermediate nodes providing decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “If the concept is shifting, some split samples will no longer appear to be best because new data may provide more gain than previous one. In such circumstances, AGDT creates an alternative sub-tree to find best attribute at root…AGDT periodically scans the GDT and all the alternate trees glancing for internal node's statistics to indicate some new attribute that would be a best attribute than the chosen split attribute”, the decision tree having several alterative sub-trees with splits at internal nodes based on attributes that are losing relevant corresponds to a decision tree with a plurality of branches with intermediate nodes that decide based on deprecated variables)
the method further comprising: pruning each of the branches in the decision tree ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, checking every node split and replacing nodes that splits into branches with leaf nodes, i.e. output nodes, corresponds to pruning each branch)
wherein the decision trees are pruned after the intermediate nodes providing decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a branch)
and wherein the intermediate nodes are replaced with output nodes that provide decision results based on majorities of decision results made at the intermediate nodes before the pruning ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics”, a leaf is an output node, the statistically most common class at a node corresponds to a decision result based on a majority of decision results)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson for the parent claim of claim 5, claim 1. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 6,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
wherein pruning the at least one branch in the decision tree includes removing nodes that are downstream of the intermediate node on the pruned branch ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to removing the nodes that were previously downstream on the former branch)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson for the parent claim of claim 6, claim 1. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 9,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
further comprising pruning, after a set of decision results, one or more branches in the decision tree that lack prediction power in the set of decision results ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “AGDT periodically scans the GDT and all the alternate trees glancing for internal node's statistics to indicate some new attribute that would be a best attribute than the chosen split attribute…In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”, replacing internal nodes that split on an attribute, where the attribute is no longer the best attribute to split on, with leaf nodes corresponds to pruning branches of the decision tree that lack prediction power)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson for the parent claim of claim 9, claim 1. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Claims 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Globerson, further in view of Tsou et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,315,045), hereinafter Tsou.
Regarding claim 7,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Tsou teaches the following further limitation that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Globerson teach:
wherein the [risk] prediction is determined by averaging the distinct decision results in the decision tree ((Tsou Col. 15, lines 31-39) “A random forest may be considered an ensemble model based on multiple decision trees...an ensemble may include a voting algorithm, in which each model provides a vote and a majority, plurality, mean, or median vote may be adopted as the aggregate result of the collection of models”, mean voting would be averaging the decision tree results, determining a majority decision from decision results in the decision tree is interpreted as combining the leaf nodes arrived at for each subtree of a decision tree, as shown in Fig. 10 of the instant application, in a manner similar to combining the leaf nodes arrived at in each decision tree of an ensemble, Huang teaches risk prediction)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Tsou by taking the decision tree for risk prediction, where nodes related to depreciated variables are pruned, jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson, and using it within an ensemble of decision subtrees where the final result is determined by averaging the predictions of each tree, as taught by Tsou, as doing so is a well-known technique within the art for combining the simplicity and efficiency of simple machine learning models with the accuracy of more complex machine learning models, and producing a final result from such an ensemble. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 8,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Tsou teaches the following further limitation that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Globerson explicitly teach:
wherein the [risk] prediction is determined by determining a majority decision result from the distinct decision results in the decision tree ((Tsou Col. 15, lines 31-39) “A random forest may be considered an ensemble model based on multiple decision trees...an ensemble may include a voting algorithm, in which each model provides a vote and a majority, plurality, mean, or median vote may be adopted as the aggregate result of the collection of models”, majority voting would be determining a majority decision result from the decision tree results, determining a majority decision from decision results in the decision tree is interpreted as combining the leaf nodes arrived at for each subtree of a decision tree, as shown in Fig. 10 of the instant application, in a manner similar to combining the leaf nodes arrived at in each decision tree of an ensemble, Huang teaches risk prediction)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Tsou by taking the decision tree for risk prediction, where nodes related to depreciated variables are pruned, jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson, and using it within an ensemble of decision subtrees where the final result is determined by the majority vote of the predictions of each tree, as taught by Tsou, as doing so is a well-known technique within the art for combining the simplicity and efficiency of simple machine learning models with the accuracy of more complex machine learning models, and producing a final result from such an ensemble. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 10,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson jointly teach The method of claim 1,
Tsou teaches the following further limitation that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Globerson explicitly teaches:
wherein the decision tree includes a random selection of the variables at the input nodes for determining the branches interconnected to the nodes ((Tsou Col. 15, lines 49-52) “Training a decision tree can involve randomly selecting features to assist in reducing the amount of generated 50 positives in training time. Indeed, through sub-featuring, the size of the training data domain may be reduced”, broadest reasonable interpretation of random selection of variables at input nodes includes randomly choosing a subset of the variables to use in the tree, including immediately after the input nodes)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Tsou by taking the decision tree for risk prediction, where nodes related to depreciated variables are pruned, as jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson, and randomly applying the variables at the nodes and branches of the tree, as taught by Tsou, as Tsou teaches: (Tsou Col. 15, lines 42-48) “each decision tree may be trained by…sub-featuring (e.g., random selecting training features), to ensure that sufficient variety exists in the various decision trees implementing a proposed random forest model (e.g., to improve the results derived through the ensemble).” Such a combination would be obvious.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0035908), hereinafter Huang, in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Globerson, further in view of Barddal et al. “A Survey on Feature Drift Adaptation”, hereinafter Barddal.
Regarding claim 11,
Huang teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executable by a computing device to perform operations, comprising: ((Huang [0038]) “The process 400 may be implemented in hardware or machine-readable instructions (e.g., software and/or firmware). The machine-readable instructions are stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as an optical, semiconductor, or magnetic storage device”)
receiving a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation based on a plurality of variables associated with a user ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”)
accessing data for the variables (Huang [0026]) “the decision tree model may be traversed by comparing the request features of the received IT change request to the attribute tests represented by the non-leaf nodes of the decision tree”, comparing the request features would require accessing data for them, associated with the user (Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user”, broadest reasonable interpretation of variables associated with a user includes a set of request features for a user’s request)
wherein the decision trees include pluralities of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision trees beginning with input nodes and ending with output nodes having decision results (Huang Fig. 3A shows a decision tree with multiple nodes connected by branches, with an input node (Success Rate > 90%), and several output nodes with decision results (risk scores of low, medium, or high))
determining distinct decision results at the output nodes ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category ( e.g., high, medium, low), a number (e.g., 0.8, 0.5, etc.), or in any other form”)
and determining the risk assessment decision ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category ( e.g., high, medium, low”) for the user based on the determined risk prediction for the user ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a risk assessment decision for a user includes a risk classification of a request made by a user)
Vinayagasundaram teaches the following further limitations that Huang does not teach:
determining at least one deprecated variable in the data, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 1) “A data stream is an prearranged sequence of instances arriving at a rate that prevents them to permanently be accumulated them in memory…The key data stream characteristics entails the following constraints:…iii. The distribution that is generating the items will change over time. Thus, data from the past becomes irrelevant or harmful for the current samples…The vital point in constructing the decision tree is choosing the finest attribute to split the considered node”, instances with attributes that cannot be permanently stored and that have distributions that change over time correspond to deprecation of data variables)
in response to determining the at least one deprecated variable in the data, pruning at least one branch in at least one decision tree [in the set of decision trees], wherein the at least one decision tree is pruned after an intermediate node ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a branch, Vinayagasundaram does not teach a set of decision trees) based on the at least one deprecated variable in the data, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 1) “A data stream is an prearranged sequence of instances arriving at a rate that prevents them to permanently be accumulated them in memory…The key data stream characteristics entails the following constraints:…iii. The distribution that is generating the items will change over time. Thus, data from the past becomes irrelevant or harmful for the current samples…The vital point in constructing the decision tree is choosing the finest attribute to split the considered node”, instances with attributes that cannot be permanently stored and that have distributions that change over time correspond to deprecation of data variables)
and wherein the intermediate node is replaced with an output node that provides a decision result based on a majority of decision results previously made at the intermediate node prior to the pruning; ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics”, a leaf is an output node, the statistically most common class at a node corresponds to a decision result based on a majority of decision results)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang and Vinayagasundaram by taking the decision tree for risk prediction taught by Huang, and adding the use of pruning of branches of the decision tree based on variable deprecation due to concept drift in a data stream taught by Vinayagasundaram, as Vinayagasundaram teaches: (Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”. Such a combination would be obvious.
Globerson teaches the following further limitations that neither Huang nor Vinayagasundaram teach:
wherein the at least one deprecated variable is a variable that does not have any accessible data; ((Globerson Pg. 2) “All the above examples describe a scenario where features that were present when constructing the classifier (i.e., in the training data), are potentially deleted at some future point in time. Such deletion may manifest itself differently depending on the particular domain: a deleted feature may be known to be unavailable or unmeasured”, (Globerson Pg. 4) “We can also consider an alternative formulation where once a feature is chosen to be deleted it is deleted uniformly from all data points simultaneously”, a feature in a classifier that is unavailable due to uniform deletion from all data points corresponds to a deprecated variable that no longer has any data accessible)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson by taking the decision tree for risk prediction with branches pruned based on variable deprecation, jointly taught by Huang and Vinayagasundaram, and having the variable deprecation consist of no data for a variable/feature being available taught by Globerson, as Globerson teaches: (Globerson Pg. 1) “As another example, consider a digital camera whose output is fed to a face recognition system. Due to hardware or transmission failures, a few pixels may ‘die’ over the course of time…Any classifier which attached too much weight to any single pixel would suffer a substantial performance loss in this case”, that is, that variable/feature deprecation where no data at all is available for a feature occurs in some real world situations such as hardware sensor failures, and accounting for these situations increases the robustness of a model, resulting in a lower chance of failure. Such a combination would be obvious.
Barddal teaches the following further limitations that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Globerson teach:
providing the data to a set of decision trees, ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Since a random forest is an ensemble classifier, the classification of each new instance is the fusion of the votes of the containing trees”, an instance is data, and a random forest includes a set of decision trees)
determining a [risk] prediction based on a combination of the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Since a random forest is an ensemble classifier, the classification of each new instance is the fusion of the votes of the containing trees”, combining the distinct decision results is interpreted as either combining only the final decision for each tree in the ensemble or combining the leaf nodes arrived at for each subtree of each decision tree within the ensemble, as shown in Fig. 10 of the instant application, Huang teaches risk prediction)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal by taking the decision tree for risk prediction, which is pruned based on variable deprecation, jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Globerson, and using multiple of them within an ensemble, as taught by Barddal, as using an ensemble of several simple machine learning models, such as decision trees, and combining each of their results for a given input to make a final prediction is a well-known technique within the art for combining the simplicity and efficiency of simple machine learning models with the accuracy of more complex machine learning models. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 12,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal jointly teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11,
Huang further teaches:
wherein the data for the variables is accessed in response to receiving the request ((Huang [0026]) “In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request using the decision tree model...the decision tree model may be traversed by comparing the request features of the received IT change request to the attribute tests represented by the non-leaf nodes of the decision tree”, comparing the variables/features to the attribute tests requires accessing the data for the variables/features)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal for the parent claim of claim 12, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 13,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal jointly teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, further comprising:
Globerson further teaches:
determining the at least one deprecated variable is deprecated based on the accessed data not including data for the at least one deprecated variable ((Globerson Pg. 1) “The distribution of words in spam email, for example, changes very rapidly and keywords which are highly predictive of class in the training set (e.g. ‘hurricane’) may not be indicative or even present in the test data…All the above examples describe a scenario where features that were present when constructing the classifier (i.e., in the training data), are potentially deleted at some future point in time”, considering a variable/feature to be deleted because it is not present in test data corresponds to determining a deprecated variable based on accessed data not including it)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal for the parent claim of claim 13, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 14,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal jointly teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13,
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
wherein the at least one decision tree is pruned after the intermediate node ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing an internal node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning the decision tree after the intermediate node)
based on the intermediate node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “AGDT periodically scans the GDT and all the alternate trees glancing for internal node's statistics to indicate some new attribute that would be a best attribute than the chosen split attribute”)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal for the parent claim of claim 14, claim 13. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Regarding claim 15,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal jointly teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, further comprising:
Barddal further teaches:
receiving changes in information available for determining the [risk assessment] decision ((Barddal Pg. 2) “Due to the inherent temporal aspect of data streams, their underlying data distribution is expected to dynamically change over time, implying in changes in the concept to be learned, phenomenon named concept drift”, (Barddal Pg. 2) “Feature drifts occur whenever the relevance of a feature Di...grows or shrinks for incoming instances”, Huang teaches risk assessment decisions)
deprecating at least one variable in the accessed data for the variables [associated with the user] ((Barddal Abstract) “In this work, we focus on one specific kind of concept drift that has not been extensively addressed in the literature, namely feature drift. A feature drift happens when changes occur in the set of features, such that a subset of features become, or cease to be, relevant to the learning problem”, broadest reasonable interpretation of deprecation of a variable/feature includes the variable/feature no longer being relevant, Huang teaches variables/features associated with users)
wherein the at least one variable is deprecated based on changes in information available for determining the [risk assessment] decision ((Barddal Pg. 2) “Due to the inherent temporal aspect of data streams, their underlying data distribution is expected to dynamically change over time, implying in changes in the concept to be learned, phenomenon named concept drift”, (Barddal Pg. 2) “Feature drifts occur whenever the relevance of a feature Di...grows or shrinks for incoming instances”, Huang teaches risk assessment decisions)
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
and pruning the decision tree after the intermediate node based on the intermediate node providing a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a decision tree after the intermediate node)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Globerson, and Barddal for the parent claim of claim 15, claim 11. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0035908), hereinafter Huang, in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Barddal.
Regarding claim 16,
Huang teaches A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a request to determine a risk assessment decision for an operation associated with a user ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”)
wherein the request includes a dataset of variables ((Huang [0010]) “A graphical user interface may be generated based on the risk classification, and may allow a user to evaluate risk impacts for various request features”) associated with the user ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a dataset of variables associated with a user includes a set of request features for a user’s request)
and wherein the dataset of variables in the request has data for at least one variable removed from the dataset [and unavailable to the computer system] ((Huang [0033]) “In other examples, the controls 335 may be used to manually add or remove request features from the decision tree model”, Huang does not teach variable data removal causing the data to be unavailable to the computer system)
wherein the decision trees include pluralities of nodes interconnected by branches, the decision trees beginning with input nodes and ending with output nodes having decision results (Huang Fig. 3A shows a decision tree with multiple nodes connected by branches, with an input node (Success Rate > 90%), and several output nodes with decision results (risk scores of low, medium, or high))
and wherein distinct decision results for the decision trees are determined based on the decision results at the output nodes ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category ( e.g., high, medium, low), a number (e.g., 0.8, 0.5, etc.), or in any other form”)
and determining, by the computer system, the risk assessment decision ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category ( e.g., high, medium, low”) for the user based on the determined risk prediction ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a risk assessment decision for a user includes a risk classification of a request made by a user)
Vinayagasundaram teaches the following further limitations that Huang does not teach:
data for at least one variable removed from the dataset and unavailable to the computer system; ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 1) “A data stream is an prearranged sequence of instances arriving at a rate that prevents them to permanently be accumulated them in memory…The key data stream characteristics entails the following constraints:…iii. The distribution that is generating the items will change over time. Thus, data from the past becomes irrelevant or harmful for the current sample”, instances with attributes that cannot be permanently stored and that have distributions that change over time corresponds to data of dataset variables that is unavailable to the computer system)
determining at least one deprecated variable in the dataset, wherein the at least one deprecated variable is the at least one variable that has its data removed from the dataset and unavailable to the computer system; ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 1) “A data stream is an prearranged sequence of instances arriving at a rate that prevents them to permanently be accumulated them in memory…The key data stream characteristics entails the following constraints:…iii. The distribution that is generating the items will change over time. Thus, data from the past becomes irrelevant or harmful for the current samples…The vital point in constructing the decision tree is choosing the finest attribute to split the considered node”, instances with attributes that cannot be permanently stored and that have distributions that change over time correspond to deprecation of dataset variables with data removed from the dataset and being unavailable to the computer system at a current time)
a first decision tree having at least one branch pruned after an intermediate node that provides a decision result based on the at least one deprecated variable, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a branch)
the node at an end of the pruned branch providing a decision result based on a majority of previous decision results made at the intermediate node before the at least one branch has been pruned; ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics”, a leaf is an output node, the statistically most common class at a node corresponds to a decision result based on a majority of decision results)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang and Vinayagasundaram by taking the decision tree for risk prediction taught by Huang, and adding the use of pruning of branches of the decision tree based on variable deprecation due to concept drift in a data stream taught by Vinayagasundaram, as Vinayagasundaram teaches: (Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics. This policy assures that GDT will always remain as current as possible with respect to the underlying stream generating distribution”. Such a combination would be obvious.
Barddal teaches the following further limitations that neither Huang nor Vinayagasundaram teach:
providing the dataset to a set of decision trees, ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Since a random forest is an ensemble classifier, the classification of each new instance is the fusion of the votes of the containing trees”, an instance is data, and a random forest includes a set of decision trees)
and wherein the set of decision trees includes at least:…a second decision tree without any intermediate nodes that provide decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable; ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Random forests are ensembles of decision trees”, (Barddal Pg. 7) “Through randomness and combinatorics, implicit approaches adapt to feature drifts by assigning different feature subsets and dynamic weights to experts of an ensemble. These approaches’ rationale is that experts associated with most discriminative subsets of features will present higher accuracy rates”, an ensemble of trees where some of the trees in the ensemble have the most discriminative subsets of features will have no depreciated features in their subset)
determining a [risk] prediction based on a combination of the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees; ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Since a random forest is an ensemble classifier, the classification of each new instance is the fusion of the votes of the containing trees”, combining the distinct decision results is interpreted as either combining only the final decision for each tree in the ensemble or combining the leaf nodes arrived at for each subtree of each decision tree within the ensemble, as shown in Fig. 10 of the instant application, Huang teaches risk prediction)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal by taking the decision tree for risk prediction, which is pruned based on variable deprecation, jointly taught by Huang and Vinayagasundaram, and using multiple of them within an ensemble, including trees that are not pruned due to not having deprecated variables, as taught by Barddal, as using an ensemble of several simple machine learning models, such as decision trees, and combining each of their results for a given input to make a final prediction is a well-known technique within the art for combining the simplicity and efficiency of simple machine learning models with the accuracy of more complex machine learning models. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 17,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal jointly teach The method of claim 16, wherein the set of decision trees includes:
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
a [third] decision tree having two or more branches pruned after intermediate nodes that provide decision results based on the at least one deprecated variable ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a branch, pruning more than one branch could occur, Barddal teaches an ensemble of decision trees which could include at least three trees)
the nodes at ends of the pruned branches providing decision results based on majorities of previous decision results made at the intermediate nodes before the two or more branches have been pruned ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics”, a leaf is an output node, the statistically most common class at a node corresponds to a decision result based on a majority of decision results)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine the method jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal for the parent claim of claim 17, claim 16. No new embodiments are introduced, so the reason to combine is the same as for the parent claim.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Barddal, further in view of Tsou.
Regarding claim 18,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal jointly teach The method of claim 16,
Tsou teaches the following further limitation that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Barddal teaches:
wherein the [risk] prediction is determined by averaging the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees ((Tsou Col. 15, lines 31-39) “A random forest may be considered an ensemble model based on multiple decision trees...an ensemble may include a voting algorithm, in which each model provides a vote and a majority, plurality, mean, or median vote may be adopted as the aggregate result of the collection of models”, mean voting would be averaging the decision tree results, Huang teaches risk prediction)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Barddal, and Tsou by taking the ensemble of decision tree for risk prediction, where nodes related to depreciated variables are pruned, jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal, and having the final result determined by averaging the predictions of each tree, as taught by Tsou, as doing so is a well-known technique within the art for producing a final result from an ensemble of trees, which is useful for fine-grained numerical data in which different trees in the ensemble getting precisely the same results is unlikely. Such a combination would be obvious.
Regarding claim 19,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal jointly teach The method of claim 16,
Tsou teaches the following further limitation that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Barddal explicitly teaches:
wherein the [risk] prediction is determined by determining a majority decision result from the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees ((Tsou Col. 15, lines 31-39) “A random forest may be considered an ensemble model based on multiple decision trees...an ensemble may include a voting algorithm, in which each model provides a vote and a majority, plurality, mean, or median vote may be adopted as the aggregate result of the collection of models”, majority voting would be determining a majority decision result from the decision tree results, Huang teaches risk prediction)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Barddal, and Tsou by taking the ensemble of decision tree for risk prediction, where nodes related to depreciated variables are pruned, as jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal, and having the final result determined by majority vote of the outputs of each tree, as taught by Tsou, as doing so is a well-known technique within the art for producing a final result from an ensemble of trees, which is useful when handling discrete data for which averaging would not yield a coherent result. Such a combination would be obvious.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, further in view of Vinayagasundaram, further in view of Barddal, further in view of Mislove (International Patent Application Publication No. 2013/138514), hereinafter Mislove.
Regarding claim 20,
Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal jointly teach The method of claim 16, further comprising:
Huang further teaches:
wherein the request includes a [second] dataset of variables ((Huang [0010]) “A graphical user interface may be generated based on the risk classification, and may allow a user to evaluate risk impacts for various request features”) associated with the [second] user ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a dataset of variables associated with a user includes a set of request features for a user’s request, a second user is taught by Mislove)
and wherein the [second] dataset of variables in the [second] request has data for a [second] [deprecated] variable removed from the [second] dataset ((Huang [0033]) “In other examples, the controls 335 may be used to manually add or remove request features from the decision tree model”, Vinayagasundaram and Barddal teach variable deprecation, a second request is taught by Mislove)
and determining, by the computer system, the [second] risk assessment decision ((Huang [0020]) “the destination node (i.e., the leaf node that is reached by traversing the decision tree model) may indicate a risk score for the received IT change request. The risk score may be represented as a category ( e.g., high, medium, low”) for the [second] user based on the [second] determined risk prediction ((Huang [0020]) “the request module 132 may receive or detect a new IT change request. For example, the request module 132 may receive an indication of a new IT change request created by a user interacting with the GUI 145. In response to the new IT change request, the request module 132 may perform or initiate a risk classification of the change request”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a risk assessment decision for a user includes a risk classification of a request made by a user, a second user is taught by Mislove)
Vinayagasundaram further teaches:
a [third] decision tree having at least one branch pruned after an intermediate node that provides a decision result based on the second deprecated variable, ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “In the internal nodes of GDT validity at each node split is checked from time to time…Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf”, replacing a node that splits into a branch with a leaf, i.e. an output node, corresponds to pruning a branch, Barddal teaches an ensemble of decision trees which could include at least three trees)
the node at an end of the pruned branch providing a decision result based on a majority of previous decision results made at the intermediate node before the at least one branch has been pruned; ((Vinayagasundaram Pg. 3) “Let us consider a node 'n' where a change in concept is detected. One solution to handle this concept change is to replace this node with a leaf predicting the most common class in node's sufficient statistics”, a leaf is an output node, the statistically most common class at a node corresponds to a decision result based on a majority of decision results)
Barddal further teaches:
the second deprecated variable being different than the at least one deprecated variable ((Barddal Abstract) “A feature drift happens when changes occur in the set of features, such that a subset of features become, or cease to be, relevant to the learning problem”, a subset of features becoming irrelevant can include more than one feature becoming irrelevant)
providing the dataset to the set of decision trees, wherein the set of decision trees includes: a third decision tree ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Since a random forest is an ensemble classifier, the classification of each new instance is the fusion of the votes of the containing trees”, an instance is part of a dataset, and a random forest includes a set of decision trees, of which there can be at least three)
determining a second [risk] prediction based on the combination of the distinct decision results in the set of decision trees ((Barddal Pg. 4) “Since a random forest is an ensemble classifier, the classification of each new instance is the fusion of the votes of the containing trees”, there can be more than one instance to be classified, Huang teaches risk prediction)
Mislove teaches the following further limitation that neither Huang, nor Vinayagasundaram, nor Barddal explicitly teaches:
receiving, by the computer system, a second request to determine a second risk assessment decision for a second operation associated with a second user ((Mislove [0010]) “the method includes receiving, by the data processing system from a third user, a second request to conduct a second transaction with the second user…The method can also include generating, based on the determination, an indication of a high level of risk associated with the second transaction”, broadest reasonable interpretation of a request to determine a risk assessment includes a request where a risk level is determined for the request)
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to combine Huang, Vinayagasundaram, Barddal, and Mislove by taking the ensemble of decision tree for risk prediction, where nodes related to depreciated variables are pruned, as jointly taught by Huang, Vinayagasundaram, and Barddal, and using the method to produce a risk prediction for a second request associated with a second user, as taught by Mislove, as it is well-known within the art that a robust method for prediction is able to accommodate multiple requests for a prediction to be made, and which imparts the predictable benefit of a wider range of uses for the method. Such a combination would be obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jordan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0174264) teaches the training and use of tree-based machine learning models, including random forests, for applications such as risk prediction.
Steele et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,339,465) teaches techniques for optimizations during the training of decision tree models.
/V.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2124
/Kevin W Figueroa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2124