Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) present have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new ground of rejection hereinafter.
Before proceeding with the rejection of the presented claims, the Office acknowledges that the was statutory error made when rejecting the previously presented claim in the Applicant’s response filed on 09/16/2025. That is, claims 7 and 11-12 should have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 and not under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) –although prior arts were properly applied, the statutory basis were incorrect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 4-6 are dependent on cancelled claim 3. Claims 5-6 are also rejected in view of their dependency on claim 4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For examination purpose, claim 4 will be understood to be dependent on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. [US PGPUB 20190019852] (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches display device comprising:
a substrate (100, PAra 56) on which a plurality of pixels (SP, Para 56) are arranged (Fig. 3/4);
a first bank (130, Para 58, Fig. 4) which is disposed on the substrate (Fig. 4), extended in row and column directions (3D structure, Fig. 4) and defining a light emitting area (Para 59; wherein light emitting layer 150 is formed within the boundaries of the first bank) of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 4), wherein:
the first bank defines an inner opening (Fig. 4; i.e., portion in bank 130 occupying layers 110/120/150) corresponding to the light emitting area (Fig. 4, Para 59),
the first bank comprises (i) a top portion (see annotated Fig. 4) defining a first width (W1; see annotated Fig. 4) of the inner opening and (ii) a bottom portion (see annotated Fig. 4) defining a second width (W2; see annotated Fig. 4) of the inner opening,
the first width is shorter than the second width such that the top portion creates an overhang extending inward beyond the bottom portion (see annotated Fig. 4), and
the first bank forms a hole (Fig. 4, i.e., region in which material 120 is formed) defined by a space located underneath the overhang between the first width and the second width (Fig. 4);
a second bank (140, Para 58) disposed on the first bank (Fig. 4), extended in the column direction (3D structure, Fig. 4), and separating adjacent pixel columns from each other (Fig. 4);
a third bank (120, Fig. 4; where material 120 is structurally capable of being referred to as a bank) disposed on both sides of the first bank (Fig. 4), wherein the third bank is disposed within the hole (Fig. 4); and
at least one thin film (150, Fig. 4) disposed in the light-emitting area and comprising a central region and an edge region disposed within the hole (see annotated Fig. 4), wherein a first height of a surface of the at least one thin film in the edge region is greater than a second height of a surface of the at least one thin film in the central region (Fig. 4).
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches a display device wherein the third bank comprises one surface (inner surface, Fig. 4; i.e., surface of the third bank contacting the first bank) which faces the top portion and the bottom portion of the first bank (Fig. 4), and another surface which is opposite to the first bank (outer surface, Fig. 4; surface of the third bank contacting layers 110 and 150).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches a display device wherein the one surface is disposed in contact with or adjacent to the first bank (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches a display device further comprising:
a first electrode (110, Para 56);
a light emitting layer (150, Para 56) formed on the first electrode (Fig. 4); and
a second electrode (160, Para 56) formed on the light emitting layer (Fig. 4),
wherein the light emitting layer has a multilayer thin film structure in which at least one thin film is stacked (Para 65).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches a display device wherein an edge region of an uppermost stacked thin film among the at least one thin film is in contact with the second bank (Fig. 4; wherein material 150’s side surface is in contact with bank 140), and a top surface comprising the edge region is formed flat (Fig. 4; in view of the flat sloped sidewall of bank 140).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding 5, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 4 upon which it depends.
In the embodiment of Fig. 4, Yang does not specifically disclose a display device wherein the another surface has a tapered shape or a concave shape.
Referring to the embodiment of Fig. 5/6A, Yang teaches forming bank 220, wherein the bank is depicted in Fig. 5 to have straight surface, however, in the enlarged figure, Fig. 6A, the bank has a tapered surface.
In view of such teaching by Yang according to the embodiment of Fig. 5/6A, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the another surface of the embodiment of Fig. 4 be at least tapered in order to allow for optimal deposition of material 150 to avoid airgaps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 22 are allowable.
Claims 7, 11, and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Claims 12 and 22 are allowed because all prior arts of record and related prior arts not of record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious a display device comprising:
the first bank forms a hole defined by a space located underneath the overhang between the first width and the second width; and
at least one thin film disposed in the light-emitting area and comprising a central region and an edge region disposed within the hole, wherein a first height of a surface of the at least one thin film in the edge region is greater than a second height of a surface of the at least one thin film in the central region. (as claimed in claim 12), in combination with the rest of claim limitations as claimed and defined by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812