Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 stating that the prior arts of record do not teach the amendment to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The non-persuasiveness is detailed in the rejection hereinafter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. [US PGPUB 20200013834] (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1 in view of Figs. 5 and 6 of Park (wherein FIG. 6 is an enlarged cross-sectional view of portion VI of FIG. 5 according to an exemplary embodiment, Para 33), Park teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (100, Fig. 5) on which a light emitting area (DA, 76) and an auxiliary electrode contact part (DMA, 69) are defined (Fig. 5);
an auxiliary electrode (510D, Para 90) formed on the substrate (Fig. 5/6) and electrically connected to a low potential driving power line (see annotated Fig. 5) and configured to directly receive low potential driving power (i.e., when the pixel circuit 200 provides driving current to drive pixels, a low voltage is provided and the auxiliary electrode directly receives a low potential driving power from the low potential driving power line);
a conductive layer (522, Para 82/83) formed on the auxiliary electrode in the auxiliary electrode contact part (Fig. 5/6);
an organic layer (524, Para 85/86) covering an edge region of the conductive layer (Fig. 6; i.e., region close the opening OP3); and
a cathode electrode (530 or 510/530, Para 81) formed on the organic layer (Fig. 6 –wherein Park discloses that The HIL allows holes to be emitted from an anode, and the HTL allows holes of the HIL to be transferred to the emission layer 520 (Para 82), thus, electrode 530 of the light-emitting element will be the cathode of the light-emitting element 500 or wherein electrode 510 and 530 can be referred to as a cathode),
wherein the conductive layer is formed of a material having a lower surface tension than that of the organic layer (wherein the conductive layer at least comprises polyaniline (Para 83) and the organic layer comprises Alq3 or TAZ (Para 86)),
wherein the organic layer comprises at least one opening which exposes at least one region of an upper surface of the conductive layer (Fig. 6; wherein the opening exposes surface of the sidewall of the conductive layer, and wherein the surface of the sidewall is an upper surface compared to surface of the conductive layer in contact with the auxiliary electrode 510D), and
wherein the cathode electrode is in direct contact with the at least one region of the upper surface of the conductive layer through the at least one opening (Fig. 6).
Annotated Fig. 5
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches a display device wherein the cathode electrode comprises:
a first cathode electrode (510, Fig. 6) formed on a region of the auxiliary electrode where the at least one opening is not formed (Fig. 6 –where “on” indicates a position above and/or supported by); and
a second cathode electrode (530, Fig. 6) covering the first cathode electrode (Fig. 6; at least covering a bottom surface of) and in direct contact with the upper surface of the conductive layer through the at least one opening (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches a display device wherein the conductive layer includes one of Nafion, PCPDT-2T and polyaniline (PANI) (Para 83).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches a display device wherein the organic layer includes at least one of an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer (Para 85).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a display device further comprising a bank layer (150, Fig. 5/6) which is formed on the auxiliary electrode (Fig. 5/6) and exposes a region of the auxiliary electrode in the auxiliary electrode contact part (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11 in view of Figs. 5 and 6 of Park (wherein FIG. 6 is an enlarged cross-sectional view of portion VI of FIG. 5 according to an exemplary embodiment, Para 33), Park teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (100, Fig. 5) where a light emitting area (DA, 76) and an auxiliary electrode contact part (DMA, 69) are defined (Fig. 5);
an auxiliary electrode (510D, Para 90) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 5/6) and electrically connected to a low potential driving power line (see annotated Fig. 5) and configured to directly receive low potential driving power (i.e., when the pixel circuit 200 provides driving current to drive pixels, a low voltage is provided and the auxiliary electrode directly receives a low potential driving power from the low potential driving power line);
a conductive layer (522, Para 82/83) disposed on the auxiliary electrode in the auxiliary electrode contact part (Fig. 5/6);
an organic layer (524, Para 85/86) having an opening which exposes at least one region of an upper surface of the conductive layer (Fig. 6, wherein the surface of the sidewall of the conductive layer is an upper surface compared to surface of the conductive layer in contact with the auxiliary electrode 510D) and covering an edge region of the conductive layer (Fig. 6; i.e., region close the opening OP3); and
a cathode electrode (530 or 510/530, Para 81) disposed on the organic layer and in direct contact with the at least one region of the upper surface of the conductive layer through the opening (Fig. 6 –wherein Park discloses that The HIL allows holes to be emitted from an anode, and the HTL allows holes of the HIL to be transferred to the emission layer 520 (Para 82), thus, electrode 530 of the light-emitting element will be the cathode of the light-emitting element 500 or wherein electrode 510 and 530 can be referred to as a cathode),
wherein the auxiliary electrode and the cathode electrode are connected to each other through the conductive layer in the auxiliary electrode contact part (Fig. 6, i.e., in view of portion of layers 522 and 524 protruding from the slope side wall and extending and extending to the opening –it should be noted that the claim does not exclude other therein between), and
wherein the conductive layer has a surface tension lower than the organic layer (wherein the conductive layer at least comprises polyaniline (Para 83) and the organic layer comprises Alq3 or TAZ (Para 86)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view Ahn et al. [US PGPUB 20170005294] (hereinafter Ahn).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the limitation of claim 5 upon which it depends.
Park does not specifically disclose a display device wherein an uppermost layer of the auxiliary electrode includes indium tin oxide (ITO).
Referring to the invention of Ahn, discloses that pixel electrode can be ones of numerous materials to included indium tin oxide (ITO) (Para 34).
In view of such teaching by Ahn, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Park comprise the teachings of Ahn at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B), such as, allowing light to be transmitted through it, in an instance such as light emission towards the substrate.
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the limitation of claim 8 upon which it depends.
Park does not specifically disclose a display device wherein at least a portion of a surface of the bank layer has hydrophobicity.
Referring to the invention of Ahn, Ahn teaches a display device wherein at least a portion of a surface of the bank layer (pixel-defining layer 20, Para 40) has hydrophobicity (Para 40).
In view of such teaching by Ahn, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Park comprise the teachings of Ahn in order to improve the forming of layers on and in the bank layer.
Regarding claim 10, Ahn teaches a display device wherein a surface of a central region of the conductive layer (sidewall surface along the center line –see annotated Fig. 6 hereinafter) is lower than a surface of an edge region of the conductive layer (see annotated Fig. 6 hereinafter).
Annotated Fig. 6
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISMAIL A MUSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812