Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4, 11-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (10293230) in view of Miller (7435186).
Regarding claim 1, Davis (Figure 5) teaches a golf club grip with reminder rib, comprising: a hollow main body (Fig. 5, Part No. 2) that defines an outermost surface of the golf club grip (Col. 1, Lines 38-46), the hollow main body defining an outer diameter and defining an inner diameter configured to fit to a shaft (Fig. 5, Part No. 5) (Col. 1, Lines 38-46), wherein the golf club grip comprises a protruding feature (Fig. 5, Part No. 3) that extends along a length of the hollow main body, wherein the protruding feature protrudes outwardly radially past the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body (See fig. 5) (Col. 1, Lines 38-46), which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip, without requiring the shaft to be inserted in the hollow main body (See fig. 5).
Davis (Figure 5) does not teach wherein the entire protruding feature is formed of a different elastomeric material having a durometer hardness greater than that of the hollow main body, wherein the elastomeric material of the protruding feature extends to the inner diameter defined by the hollow main body, forming a rib section of the golf club grip that is distinct from the hollow main body, wherein the rib section defines a rib section length that extends along a majority of the length of the hollow main body, wherein the rib section is flush with a surrounding inner diameter defined by the hollow main body along the entire length of the rib section which extends along a majority of the length of the hollow main body.
Davis (Figures 1-4) teaches the entire protruding feature (18) is formed (Col. 3, Lines 34-35) of a different elastomeric material having a durometer hardness greater than that of the hollow main body (14) (Col. 4, Lines 3-8), wherein the elastomeric material of the protruding feature extends to the inner diameter defined by the hollow main body (14) (See fig. 2), forming a rib section of the golf club grip that is distinct from the hollow main body, wherein the rib section defines a rib section length that extends along a majority of the length of the hollow main body (See fig. 1-2).
Miller teaches the rib section (Fig. 4-5 and 6B, Part No. 29) is flush with a surrounding inner diameter defined by the hollow main body along the entire length of the rib section which extends along a majority of the length (See fig. 2-3) of the hollow main body (22) (Col. 6, Lines 43-63) (See fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Davis (Figure 5) with the entire protruding feature is formed of a different elastomeric material having a durometer hardness greater than that of the hollow main body as taught by Davis (Figure 1-4) as a means of providing a golf club grip with a protruding feature formed of an elastomeric material having a stiffness at least ten percent (10%) greater than that of material of the tubular body (Davis: Col. 4, Lines 3-8), and to provide Davis (Figure 5) with the rib section is flush with a surrounding inner diameter defined by the hollow main body as taught by Miller as a means of providing a sports grip with a rib that does not extend to an interior of a hollow body (Miller: Col. 6, Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the protruding feature (3) protrudes above an outer diameter of the hollow main body (See fig. 5).
Davis (Figure 5) does not teach the protruding feature protrudes above an outer diameter of the hollow main body by about 0.040 inches.
Davis (Figures 1-4) teaches the protruding feature (18) protrudes above an outer diameter of the hollow main body by about 0.040 inches (Col. 2, Lines 55-65).
It is noted that the term “about” is being interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) to mean “near; close to”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Davis (Figure 5) with the protruding feature protrudes above an outer diameter of the hollow main body by about 0.040 inches as taught by Davis (Figures 1-4) as a means of providing a protruding feature of a gold club grip that extends an amount of about 1 mm (Davis: Col. 2, Lines 55-65), and also as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where the court held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the elastomeric material inherently having a durometer hardness (Col. 2, Lines 48-54).
The modified Davis (Figure 5) does not teach the elastomeric material of the protruding feature has a durometer hardness of between 60 Shore A and 90 Shore A.
Davis (Figures 1-4) teaches the elastomeric material of the protruding feature has a durometer hardness of between 60 Shore A and 90 Shore A (Col. 4, Lines 3-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Davis (Fig. 5) with the protruding feature has a durometer hardness of between 60 Shore A and 90 Shore A as taught by Davis (Fig. 1-4) as a means of providing an elastomeric rib with a durometer hardness in the range of 65 to 80 on the Shore “A” scale (Davis: Col. 4, Lines 13-17), and also as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where the court held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the golf club grip comprises a protruding feature (Fig. 5, Part No. 3) that extends along a length of the hollow main body.
The modified Davis (Fig. 5) does not teach a first groove in the outer surface of the hollow main body adjacent a first side of the protruding feature; and a second groove in the outer surface of the hollow main body adjacent a second side of the protruding feature.
Davis (Figures 1-4) teaches a first groove (Fig. 2 and 4, Part No. 56) in the outer surface of the hollow main body adjacent a first side of the protruding feature (18); and a second groove (58) in the outer surface of the hollow main body adjacent a second side of the protruding feature (18) (Col. 3, Lines 38-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Davis (Fig. 5) with a first groove in the outer surface of the hollow main body adjacent a first side of the protruding feature as taught by Davis (Fig. 1-4) to further identify the rib and provide isolation from the grip body, which further enhances the presence of the rib (Davis: Col. 2, Lines 13-16; Col. 3, Lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the protruding feature (3) has a rounded cross-section (See fig. 5).
Regarding claims 13-14, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the hollow main body comprises a protruding feature (3) that extends along a length of the hollow main body (See fig. 5) (Col. 1, Lines 38-46).
The modified Davis (Fig. 5) does not teach the protruding feature has a triangular cross-section, and the protruding feature has a trapezoidal cross-section.
It is noted that the claim recitation in claim 13 of “the protruding feature has a triangular cross-section” and the recitation in claim 14 of “the protruding feature has a trapezoidal cross-section” is directed to the shape/cross section of the protruding feature. Changing the shape of the protruding feature of Davis would have been obvious as a matter of mere design choice (See: In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Regarding claim 21, Davis (Figures 1-4) teaches a method of forming a reminder rib on a golf club grip, the method comprising: providing a hollow main body (14) that defines an outermost surface of the golf club grip, the hollow main body defining an outer diameter and defining an inner diameter configured to fit to a shaft (17) (Col. 2, Lines 48-54), wherein the hollow main body extends along a length defined by the hollow main body; providing a rib section (Fig. 1-4, Part No. 18) (Col. 3, Lines 34-38) on the golf club grip that is distinct from the hollow main body; the rib section defining a rib section length that extends along a majority of the length of the hollow main body (See fig. 1), the rib section (18) defining a protruding feature, wherein the entire rib section is formed of a different elastomeric material having a durometer hardness greater than that of the hollow main body (Col. 4, Lines 3-8).
Davis (Fig. 1-4) does not teach the rib section defining a protruding feature that protrudes outwardly relative to the hollow main body above the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip, wherein the rib section extends radially to the inner diameter defined by the hollow main body and is flush with a surrounding inner diameter defined by the hollow main body along an entire length of the rib section.
Davis (Figure 5) teaches the rib section defining a protruding feature (3) that protrudes outwardly relative to the hollow main body (2) above the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip (See fig. 5) (Col. 1, Lines 38-46).
Miller (Figure 5) teaches the rib section (Fig. 4-5 and 6B, Part No. 29) extends radially to the inner diameter defined by the hollow main body and is flush with a surrounding inner diameter defined by the hollow main body (22) along an entire length of the rib section (Col. 6, Lines 43-63) (See fig. 5) which extends along a majority of the length (See fig. 2-3) of the hollow main body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Davis (Fig. 1-4) with a protruding feature that protrudes outwardly relative to the hollow main body as taught by Davis (Fig. 5) as a means of providing a golf grip with an exterior rib strip that extends above an outermost portion of a grip body (Davis: Col. 1, Lines 38-46), and to provide Davis with the rib section is flush with a surrounding inner diameter defined by the hollow main body as taught by Miller as a means of providing a sports grip with a rib that does not extend to an interior of a hollow body (Miller: Col. 6, Lines 43-63).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis in view of Miller, further in view of Kobe (20030203155).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the protruding feature (3) has a first tier with a rounded cross section.
The modified Davis does not teach the protruding feature has a two-tiered protrusion, wherein a second tier of the two-tiered protrusion protrudes from a first tier of the two-tiered protrusion, wherein both the first tier and the second tier protrude from the outer surface of the hollow main body without requiring the shaft to be inserted in the hollow main body.
Kobe (Figures 1-11) teaches the protruding feature has a two-tiered protrusion, wherein a second tier (Fig. 3, Part No. 56; Para. 0034) (Fig. 2, Part No. 46; Para. 0033) (Fig. 1, Part No. 26) of the two-tiered protrusion protrudes from a first tier (54; Para. 0034) (44; Para. 0033) (21; Para. 0027) of the two-tiered protrusion, wherein both the first tier and the second tier protrude from the outer surface of the hollow main body without requiring the shaft to be inserted in the hollow main body (Para. 0022, 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Davis with the protruding feature has a two-tiered protrusion as taught by Kobe as a means of providing a sports grip having ribs that comprise two portions connected to each other (Kobe: Para. 0024, 0033-0034).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the first tier has a rounded cross-section (See fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17-18, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the protruding feature (3) has a first tier with a rounded cross section.
The modified Davis does not teach the first tier has a box cross-section, and the first tier has a trapezoidal cross-section.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the first tier has a box cross-section, and the first tier has a trapezoidal cross-section” is directed to the shape/cross section of the protruding feature. Changing the shape of the protruding feature of Davis would have been obvious as a matter of mere design choice (See: In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the protruding feature (3) has a first tier with a rounded cross section.
The modified Davis does not teach the second tier is a single bead along a length of the first tier.
Kobe (Figures 1-11) teaches the second tier is a single bead (Fig. 2, Part No. 46; Para. 0033 along a length of the first tier (44; Para. 0033) (Para. 0022, 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Davis with the second tier is a single bead along a length of the first tier as taught by Kobe as a means of providing a sports grip having ribs that comprise two portions connected to each other (Kobe: Para. 0024, 0033-0034).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Davis (Figure 5) teaches the protruding feature (3) has a first tier with a rounded cross section.
The modified Davis does not teach the second tier comprises at least two beads along a length of the first tier.
Kobe (Figures 1-11) teaches the second tier comprises at least two beads (Fig. 1, Part No. 26) along a length of the first tier (21) (Para. 0022, 0024, 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Davis with the second tier comprises at least two beads along a length of the first tier as taught by Kobe as a means of providing a sports grip having ribs that comprise two portions connected to each other (Kobe: Para. 0024, 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the recitation in claim 1 of “the protruding feature protrudes outwardly radially past the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body, which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip, without requiring the shaft to be inserted in the hollow main body”, and 21 of “the rib section defining a protruding feature that protrudes outwardly relative to the hollow main body above the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip”, this is not found persuasive because Davis (Fig. 5) teaches (to claim 1) the protruding feature protrudes outwardly radially past the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body (See fig. 5) (Col. 1, Lines 38-46), which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip, without requiring the shaft to be inserted in the hollow main body (See fig. 5). Regarding claim 21, Davis (Fig. 5) teaches the rib section defining a protruding feature (3) that protrudes outwardly relative to the hollow main body (2) above the outer diameter defined by every point on the hollow main body which defines the outermost surface of the golf club grip (See fig. 5) (Col. 1, Lines 38-46). Applicant argues that Davis (Fig. 1-4) does not teach the recited limitations, however, it is noted that figure 5 of Davis teaches the recited limitations (see rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103). Applicant argues that figure 5 of Davis does not teach “the entire protruding material is formed of a different elastomeric material”, this is not found persuasive because figures 1-4 of Davis teaches the entire protruding feature (18) is formed (Col. 3, Lines 34-35) of a different elastomeric material having a durometer hardness greater than that of the hollow main body (14) (Col. 4, Lines 3-8) (see rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 103).
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a rib that is molded monolithically or integrally formed with the rest of the body, this is not found persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a rib that is molded monolithically or integrally formed with the rest of the body) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, it is noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (See: In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Applicant argues that the prior art of Miller does not teach the rib section formed of a different elastomeric material, this is not found persuasive because the prior art of Davis is being used to teach a rib section formed of a different elastomeric material. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711